Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
os-prober acting up on custom kernel
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
GBember
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Apr 2024
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Fri May 03, 2024 9:54 pm    Post subject: os-prober acting up on custom kernel Reply with quote

Hi! I recently started using my own kernel config, but I'm having some problems with os-prober that I didn't have with gentoo-kernel.
If I run it, it somehow detects the running system as a separate one.
Code:
sudo os-prober
Password:
/dev/nvme0n1p3:Gentoo Linux:Gentoo:linux
/dev/sda1@/efi/Microsoft/Boot/bootmgfw.efi:Windows Boot Manager:Windows:efi


Then if I use grub-mkconfig, I get duplicate entries for Gentoo.

Here is my dmesg output and here is my kernel config
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
linux_os2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Aug 2018
Posts: 234
Location: Zedelgem Belgium

PostPosted: Sat May 04, 2024 7:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pls. post output of
Code:
ls /boot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GBember
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Apr 2024
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sat May 04, 2024 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

linux_os2 wrote:
Pls. post output of
Code:
ls /boot


With gentoo-kernel, it didn't matter if it was the only installed kernel or my custom config was there too, I used to have both Installed, but now I only have my custom one.
Code:
drwxr-xr-x    - root  3 May 19:02 grub
.rw-r--r-- 125k root  3 May 19:01 config-6.6.21-gentoo
.rw-r--r-- 125k root  3 May 16:42 config-6.6.21-gentoo.old
.rw-r--r-- 4.2M root  3 May 19:01 System.map-6.6.21-gentoo
.rw-r--r-- 4.2M root  3 May 16:42 System.map-6.6.21-gentoo.old
.rw-r--r--  17M root  3 May 19:01 vmlinuz-6.6.21-gentoo
.rw-r--r--  17M root  3 May 16:42 vmlinuz-6.6.21-gentoo.old
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GBember
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Apr 2024
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sat May 04, 2024 2:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

linux_os2 wrote:
Pls. post output of
Code:
ls /boot

This might be helpful too, nvme0n1 is the Gentoo system, sda is windows and sdb is just some data

Code:
NAME        MAJ:MIN RM   SIZE RO TYPE MOUNTPOINTS
sda           8:0    0 447.1G  0 disk
├─sda1        8:1    0   100M  0 part
├─sda2        8:2    0    16M  0 part
├─sda3        8:3    0 446.3G  0 part
└─sda4        8:4    0   768M  0 part
sdb           8:16   0   1.8T  0 disk
└─sdb1        8:17   0   1.8T  0 part /hdd
nvme0n1     259:0    0 465.8G  0 disk
├─nvme0n1p1 259:1    0     1G  0 part /efi
├─nvme0n1p2 259:2    0    24G  0 part [SWAP]
└─nvme0n1p3 259:3    0 440.8G  0 part /
[/profile]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
logrusx
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Feb 2018
Posts: 1587

PostPosted: Sat May 04, 2024 3:47 pm    Post subject: Re: os-prober acting up on custom kernel Reply with quote

GBember wrote:

Then if I use grub-mkconfig, I get duplicate entries for Gentoo.


What do you mean by duplicate entries?

Best Regards,
Georgi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GBember
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Apr 2024
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sat May 04, 2024 4:08 pm    Post subject: Re: os-prober acting up on custom kernel Reply with quote

logrusx wrote:
GBember wrote:

Then if I use grub-mkconfig, I get duplicate entries for Gentoo.


What do you mean by duplicate entries?

Best Regards,
Georgi


Thanks for the reply! I can't access my pc right now, but I get a Gentoo Linux entry, a Windows entry for the other drive, and another Gentoo entry, as if it was another Gentoo install, but the same as my main (kinda confusing, I know). If I get snippets from the grub.cfg file it might be easier to understand.

The right Linux entry
Code:
menuentry 'Gentoo GNU/Linux' --class gentoo --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-simple-7505b872-f8e8-4306-a75a-338b3c0570ce' {
        load_video
        if [ "x$grub_platform" = xefi ]; then
                set gfxpayload=keep
        fi
        insmod gzio
        insmod part_gpt
        insmod xfs
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 7505b872-f8e8-4306-a75a-338b3c0570ce
        echo    'Loading Linux 6.6.21-gentoo ...'
        linux   /boot/vmlinuz-6.6.21-gentoo root=PARTUUID=4f68bce3-e8cd-4db1-96e7-fbcaf984b709 ro rootfstype=xfs amd-pstate=active quiet cpufreq.default_governor=performance
}


The wrong one, it detects as if it was some other system, this and the next one are on the /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober section
Code:
menuentry 'Gentoo Linux (on /dev/nvme0n1p3)' --class gentoo --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'osprober-gnulinux-simple-7505b872-f8e8-4306-a75a-338b3c0570ce' {
        insmod part_gpt
        insmod xfs
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 7505b872-f8e8-4306-a75a-338b3c0570ce
        linux /boot/vmlinuz-6.6.21-gentoo root=PARTUUID=4f68bce3-e8cd-4db1-96e7-fbcaf984b709 ro rootfstype=xfs amd-pstate=active quiet cpufreq.default_governor=performance
}


And windows
Code:
menuentry 'Windows Boot Manager (on /dev/sda1)' --class windows --class os $menuentry_id_option 'osprober-efi-5AB5-8F7D' {
        insmod part_gpt
        insmod fat
        set root='hd0,gpt1'
        if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
          search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,gpt1 --hint-efi=hd0,gpt1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,gpt1  5AB5-8F7D
        else
          search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 5AB5-8F7D
        fi
        chainloader /efi/Microsoft/Boot/bootmgfw.efi
}
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
logrusx
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Feb 2018
Posts: 1587

PostPosted: Sat May 04, 2024 4:55 pm    Post subject: Re: os-prober acting up on custom kernel Reply with quote

GBember wrote:
logrusx wrote:
GBember wrote:

Then if I use grub-mkconfig, I get duplicate entries for Gentoo.


What do you mean by duplicate entries?

Best Regards,
Georgi


Thanks for the reply! I can't access my pc right now, but I get a Gentoo Linux entry, a Windows entry for the other drive, and another Gentoo entry, as if it was another Gentoo install, but the same as my main (kinda confusing, I know).


That has happened to me in the past when I had two bootable partitions in a BIOS/MBR system.

GBember wrote:
The wrong one, it detects as if it was some other system, this and the next one are on the /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober section
Quote:
menuentry 'Gentoo Linux (on /dev/nvme0n1p3)' --class gentoo --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'osprober-gnulinux-simple-7505b872-f8e8-4306-a75a-338b3c0570ce' {
insmod part_gpt
insmod xfs
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 7505b872-f8e8-4306-a75a-338b3c0570ce
linux /boot/vmlinuz-6.6.21-gentoo root=PARTUUID=4f68bce3-e8cd-4db1-96e7-fbcaf984b709 ro rootfstype=xfs amd-pstate=active quiet cpufreq.default_governor=performance
}




Do you see the bold text?

I'm not sure what's going on as your system appears to be too new to have BIOS/MBR boot, but you have nvme0n1p3 bootable. The output of grub-mkconfig might be more informative.

Code:
fdisk -l /dev/nvme0n1


might confirm that, also the output of blkid might be useful.

Best Regards,
Georgi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GBember
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Apr 2024
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sat May 04, 2024 5:37 pm    Post subject: Re: os-prober acting up on custom kernel Reply with quote

logrusx wrote:
GBember wrote:
logrusx wrote:
GBember wrote:

Then if I use grub-mkconfig, I get duplicate entries for Gentoo.


What do you mean by duplicate entries?

Best Regards,
Georgi


Thanks for the reply! I can't access my pc right now, but I get a Gentoo Linux entry, a Windows entry for the other drive, and another Gentoo entry, as if it was another Gentoo install, but the same as my main (kinda confusing, I know).


That has happened to me in the past when I had two bootable partitions in a BIOS/MBR system.

GBember wrote:
The wrong one, it detects as if it was some other system, this and the next one are on the /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober section
Quote:
menuentry 'Gentoo Linux (on /dev/nvme0n1p3)' --class gentoo --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'osprober-gnulinux-simple-7505b872-f8e8-4306-a75a-338b3c0570ce' {
insmod part_gpt
insmod xfs
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 7505b872-f8e8-4306-a75a-338b3c0570ce
linux /boot/vmlinuz-6.6.21-gentoo root=PARTUUID=4f68bce3-e8cd-4db1-96e7-fbcaf984b709 ro rootfstype=xfs amd-pstate=active quiet cpufreq.default_governor=performance
}




Do you see the bold text?

I'm not sure what's going on as your system appears to be too new to have BIOS/MBR boot, but you have nvme0n1p3 bootable. The output of grub-mkconfig might be more informative.

Code:
fdisk -l /dev/nvme0n1


might confirm that, also the output of blkid might be useful.

Best Regards,
Georgi


I don't think that's the problem, I didn't have it with the standard gentoo-kernel

Code:
sudo fdisk -l /dev/nvme0n1                                                              Disk /dev/nvme0n1: 465.76 GiB, 500107862016 bytes, 976773168 sectors                    Disk model: WDS500G1XHE-00AFY0                                                          Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes                                                   Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes                                   I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes                                       Disklabel type: gpt                                                                     Disk identifier: 7255DB58-2F0F-4D3A-BE02-2E9406A60D82                                                                                                                           Device            Start       End   Sectors   Size Type                                 /dev/nvme0n1p1     2048   2099199   2097152     1G EFI System                           /dev/nvme0n1p2  2099200  52430847  50331648    24G Linux swap                           /dev/nvme0n1p3 52430848 976773119 924342272 440.8G Linux root (x86-64)


Code:
Generating grub configuration file ...                                                  Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-6.6.21-gentoo                                          Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-6.6.21-gentoo.old                                      Warning: os-prober will be executed to detect other bootable partitions.                Its output will be used to detect bootable binaries on them and create new boot entries.Found Gentoo Linux on /dev/nvme0n1p3                                                    Found Windows Boot Manager on /dev/sda1@/efi/Microsoft/Boot/bootmgfw.efi                Adding boot menu entry for UEFI Firmware Settings ...                                   done


Code:
/dev/nvme0n1p3: UUID="7505b872-f8e8-4306-a75a-338b3c0570ce" BLOCK_SIZE="512" TYPE="xfs" PARTUUID="4f68bce3-e8cd-4db1-96e7-fbcaf984b709"                                         /dev/nvme0n1p1: UUID="8B2A-5EC8" BLOCK_SIZE="512" TYPE="vfat" PARTUUID="c12a7328-f81f-11d2-ba4b-00a0c93ec93b"                                                                   /dev/nvme0n1p2: UUID="f9c0897f-54ea-4749-aef6-e2b69c244291" TYPE="swap" PARTUUID="0657fd6d-a4ab-43c4-84e5-0933c84b4f4f"                                                         /dev/sdb1: UUID="01ed2331-80da-4480-b6ab-f14826f9bba1" BLOCK_SIZE="4096" TYPE="ext4" PARTUUID="567e2ee7-c1d3-0540-8409-1a4f2a3f5dc8"                                            /dev/sda4: BLOCK_SIZE="512" UUID="82F04D59F04D5517" TYPE="ntfs" PARTUUID="940bba5f-662f-4878-b1ce-4c42dbaf04ee"                                                                 /dev/sda3: BLOCK_SIZE="512" UUID="C86AC8ED6AC8D978" TYPE="ntfs" PARTLABEL="Basic data partition" PARTUUID="4e481160-2d2d-40e7-942a-ad6374d182d3"                                /dev/sda1: UUID="5AB5-8F7D" BLOCK_SIZE="512" TYPE="vfat" PARTLABEL="EFI system partition" PARTUUID="b2cf4848-4ee6-4c9a-b795-24b99f0c9994"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
logrusx
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Feb 2018
Posts: 1587

PostPosted: Sat May 04, 2024 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

GBember wrote:

Code:
sudo fdisk -l /dev/nvme0n1                                                             
Disk /dev/nvme0n1: 465.76 GiB, 500107862016 bytes, 976773168 sectors                   
Disk model: WDS500G1XHE-00AFY0                                                         
Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes                                                   
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes                                   
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes                                       

Disklabel type: gpt                                                                     
Disk identifier: 7255DB58-2F0F-4D3A-BE02-2E9406A60D82                                                                                                                           

Device            Start       End   Sectors   Size Type                                 
/dev/nvme0n1p1     2048   2099199   2097152     1G EFI System                           
/dev/nvme0n1p2  2099200  52430847  50331648    24G Linux swap                           
/dev/nvme0n1p3 52430848 976773119 924342272 440.8G Linux root (x86-64)


Code:
Generating grub configuration file ...                                                 
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-6.6.21-gentoo                                         
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-6.6.21-gentoo.old                                     
Warning: os-prober will be executed to detect other bootable partitions.               
Its output will be used to detect bootable binaries on them and create new boot entries.
Found Gentoo Linux on /dev/nvme0n1p3                                                   
Found Windows Boot Manager on /dev/sda1@/efi/Microsoft/Boot/bootmgfw.efi               
Adding boot menu entry for UEFI Firmware Settings ...                                   
done


Code:
/dev/nvme0n1p3: UUID="7505b872-f8e8-4306-a75a-338b3c0570ce" BLOCK_SIZE="512" TYPE="xfs" PARTUUID="4f68bce3-e8cd-4db1-96e7-fbcaf984b709"                                         
/dev/nvme0n1p1: UUID="8B2A-5EC8" BLOCK_SIZE="512" TYPE="vfat" PARTUUID="c12a7328-f81f-11d2-ba4b-00a0c93ec93b"                                                                   
/dev/nvme0n1p2: UUID="f9c0897f-54ea-4749-aef6-e2b69c244291" TYPE="swap" PARTUUID="0657fd6d-a4ab-43c4-84e5-0933c84b4f4f"                                                         
/dev/sdb1: UUID="01ed2331-80da-4480-b6ab-f14826f9bba1" BLOCK_SIZE="4096" TYPE="ext4" PARTUUID="567e2ee7-c1d3-0540-8409-1a4f2a3f5dc8"                                           
/dev/sda4: BLOCK_SIZE="512" UUID="82F04D59F04D5517" TYPE="ntfs" PARTUUID="940bba5f-662f-4878-b1ce-4c42dbaf04ee"                                                                 
/dev/sda3: BLOCK_SIZE="512" UUID="C86AC8ED6AC8D978" TYPE="ntfs" PARTLABEL="Basic data partition" PARTUUID="4e481160-2d2d-40e7-942a-ad6374d182d3"                               
/dev/sda1: UUID="5AB5-8F7D" BLOCK_SIZE="512" TYPE="vfat" PARTLABEL="EFI system partition" PARTUUID="b2cf4848-4ee6-4c9a-b795-24b99f0c9994"



You've messed up formatting, everything is on one line, code tags are useless that way.

I fixed them but please be careful not to do that in the future when asked for information.

I haven't messed up with disk partitions for quite a while and I don't have much experience with GPT, so I maybe asked you for the not so relevant output.

Try with `parted -l`, I hope it gives us more info but I'm pretty sure you have a bootable nvme0n1p3 and if you select the redundant Gentoo entry you will enter another grub instance possibly with the same menu. You can verify that by selecting the redundant option again and if it continues to give you a new grub instance with the same menu you can be certain that's the case.

Best Regards,
Georgi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GBember
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Apr 2024
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sat May 04, 2024 6:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

logrusx wrote:
You've messed up formatting, everything is on one line, code tags are useless that way. Also, judging by your earlier post what's on the nvme, this doesn't look like complete output of blkid to me.

Please fix your post, I'm not even trying to read it that way.

Best Regards,
Georgi

Sorry, I'm on my phone trying to do this trough ssh, I'll try to send it again.

Code:
sudo fdisk -l /dev/nvme0n1
Disk /dev/nvme0n1: 465.76 GiB, 500107862016 bytes, 976773168 sectors
Disk model: WDS500G1XHE-00AFY0
Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disklabel type: gpt
Disk identifier: 7255DB58-2F0F-4D3A-BE02-2E9406A60D82
Device            Start       End   Sectors   Size Type
/dev/nvme0n1p1     2048   2099199   2097152     1G EFI System
/dev/nvme0n1p2  2099200  52430847  50331648    24G Linux swap
/dev/nvme0n1p3 52430848 976773119 924342272 440.8G Linux root (x86-64)


Code:
Generating grub configuration file ...
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-6.6.21-gentoo
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-6.6.21-gentoo.old
Warning: os-prober will be executed to detect other bootable partitions.
Its output will be used to detect bootable binaries on them and create new boot entries.
Found Gentoo Linux on /dev/nvme0n1p3
Found Windows Boot Manager on /dev/sda1@/efi/Microsoft/Boot/bootmgfw.efi
Adding boot menu entry for UEFI Firmware Settings ...
done


Code:
/dev/nvme0n1p3: UUID="7505b872-f8e8-4306-a75a-338b3c0570ce" BLOCK_SIZE="512" TYPE="xfs" PARTUUID="4f68bce3-e8cd-4db1-96e7-fbcaf984b709"

/dev/nvme0n1p1: UUID="8B2A-5EC8" BLOCK_SIZE="512" TYPE="vfat" PARTUUID="c12a7328-f81f-11d2-ba4b-00a0c93ec93b"

/dev/nvme0n1p2: UUID="f9c0897f-54ea-4749-aef6-e2b69c244291" TYPE="swap" PARTUUID="0657fd6d-a4ab-43c4-84e5-0933c84b4f4f"

/dev/sdb1: UUID="01ed2331-80da-4480-b6ab-f14826f9bba1" BLOCK_SIZE="4096" TYPE="ext4" PARTUUID="567e2ee7-c1d3-0540-8409-1a4f2a3f5dc8"

/dev/sda4: BLOCK_SIZE="512" UUID="82F04D59F04D5517" TYPE="ntfs" PARTUUID="940bba5f-662f-4878-b1ce-4c42dbaf04ee"

/dev/sda3: BLOCK_SIZE="512" UUID="C86AC8ED6AC8D978" TYPE="ntfs" PARTLABEL="Basic data partition" PARTUUID="4e481160-2d2d-40e7-942a-ad6374d182d3"

/dev/sda1: UUID="5AB5-8F7D" BLOCK_SIZE="512" TYPE="vfat" PARTLABEL="EFI system partition" PARTUUID="b2cf4848-4ee6-4c9a-b795-24b99f0c9994"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grknight
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 20 Feb 2015
Posts: 1695

PostPosted: Sat May 04, 2024 7:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

GBember wrote:
Code:
Generating grub configuration file ...
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-6.6.21-gentoo
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-6.6.21-gentoo.old
Warning: os-prober will be executed to detect other bootable partitions.
Its output will be used to detect bootable binaries on them and create new boot entries.
Found Gentoo Linux on /dev/nvme0n1p3
Found Windows Boot Manager on /dev/sda1@/efi/Microsoft/Boot/bootmgfw.efi
Adding boot menu entry for UEFI Firmware Settings ...
done
This is the expected output when using os-prober. It will always show what grub finds for Linux (using /etc/grub.d/10_linux) and what os-prober finds as a program (using /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober). Grub does not have a way to eliminate things found in both places.
If you don't like this, then take the output for windows and stick it in /boot/grub/custom.cfg to be persistent (which is loaded by /etc/grub.d/41_custom) and discontinue os-prober usage. (Or find your own creative way to edit the GRUB config)


Last edited by grknight on Sat May 04, 2024 7:53 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
logrusx
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Feb 2018
Posts: 1587

PostPosted: Sat May 04, 2024 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

GBember wrote:
logrusx wrote:
You've messed up formatting, everything is on one line, code tags are useless that way. Also, judging by your earlier post what's on the nvme, this doesn't look like complete output of blkid to me.

Please fix your post, I'm not even trying to read it that way.

Best Regards,
Georgi

Sorry, I'm on my phone trying to do this trough ssh, I'll try to send it again.


It looks like you replied to my earlier post. I already fixed it. You don't need to torture yourself that way. See my replay and take your time, do it in a convenient way, that's not an urgent issue.

EDIT: grknight already replied with a solution

Best Regards,

Georgi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GBember
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Apr 2024
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sat May 04, 2024 8:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

grknight wrote:
This is the expected output when using os-prober. It will always show what grub finds for Linux (using /etc/grub.d/10_linux) and what os-prober finds as a program (using /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober). Grub does not have a way to eliminate things found in both places.
If you don't like this, then take the output for windows and stick it in /boot/grub/custom.cfg to be persistent (which is loaded by /etc/grub.d/41_custom) and discontinue os-prober usage. (Or find your own creative way to edit the GRUB config)

I see, if I can't find why this only happens with my custom config, I'll go this route, do you have any idea why os-prober would output just windows when using gentoo-kernel?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grknight
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 20 Feb 2015
Posts: 1695

PostPosted: Sat May 04, 2024 8:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

GBember wrote:
grknight wrote:
This is the expected output when using os-prober. It will always show what grub finds for Linux (using /etc/grub.d/10_linux) and what os-prober finds as a program (using /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober). Grub does not have a way to eliminate things found in both places.
If you don't like this, then take the output for windows and stick it in /boot/grub/custom.cfg to be persistent (which is loaded by /etc/grub.d/41_custom) and discontinue os-prober usage. (Or find your own creative way to edit the GRUB config)

I see, if I can't find why this only happens with my custom config, I'll go this route, do you have any idea why os-prober would output just windows when using gentoo-kernel?

os-prober looks for certain things. If what gentoo-kernel installs goes beyond any fingerprint that os-prober has knowledge of, then it will be skipped.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GBember
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Apr 2024
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sat May 04, 2024 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

grknight wrote:
os-prober looks for certain things. If what gentoo-kernel installs goes beyond any fingerprint that os-prober has knowledge of, then it will be skipped.

The problem isn't on what gentoo-kernel installs, even with both my custom config and gentoo-kernel installed, os-prober would only return windows when running gentoo-kernel and both windows and Gentoo when running my custom config
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
logrusx
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 22 Feb 2018
Posts: 1587

PostPosted: Sun May 05, 2024 7:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

GBember wrote:
grknight wrote:
os-prober looks for certain things. If what gentoo-kernel installs goes beyond any fingerprint that os-prober has knowledge of, then it will be skipped.

The problem isn't on what gentoo-kernel installs, even with both my custom config and gentoo-kernel installed, os-prober would only return windows when running gentoo-kernel and both windows and Gentoo when running my custom config


grknight wrote:

If you don't like this, then take the output for windows and stick it in /boot/grub/custom.cfg to be persistent (which is loaded by /etc/grub.d/41_custom) and discontinue os-prober usage. (Or find your own creative way to edit the GRUB config)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GBember
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Apr 2024
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sun May 05, 2024 1:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

logrusx wrote:
GBember wrote:
grknight wrote:
os-prober looks for certain things. If what gentoo-kernel installs goes beyond any fingerprint that os-prober has knowledge of, then it will be skipped.

The problem isn't on what gentoo-kernel installs, even with both my custom config and gentoo-kernel installed, os-prober would only return windows when running gentoo-kernel and both windows and Gentoo when running my custom config


grknight wrote:

If you don't like this, then take the output for windows and stick it in /boot/grub/custom.cfg to be persistent (which is loaded by /etc/grub.d/41_custom) and discontinue os-prober usage. (Or find your own creative way to edit the GRUB config)


I found out this is actually a bug that was reported on the Gentoo package page, 1.81-r1 works on my system, but from what I read there, there isn't a version of this package that works for everyone.
Thanks for the suggestion!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum