GPG signature checks for upstream tarballs
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
tithom
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri May 03, 2024 8:44 pm    Post subject: GPG signature checks for upstream tarballs Reply with quote

Hello all,

I tried to search on the wiki and this forum but could not find answers easily, so I hope that it's not a duplicate.

I have two related questions regarding security of upstream releases following the xz backdoor. I use Fedora on my main laptop, and I have some experience with OpenBSD, Arch and Gentoo. When comparing how each deal with upstream, hopefully not making any major mistakes:
- OpenBSD, I try to keep it as vanilla as possible, eg. not install any additional packages although that is less easy to do on a work laptop. The package makefiles seem to be quite similar to the ebuilds of Gentoo with the sha256 of the package recorded though I'm not sure where are the packages built.
- Arch Linux downloads the tarball, check the GPG signature (see for instance makepkg of KeepassXC here with the validpgpkeys array and compile on either dev machines or some dedicated build machine. I have not yet found some comprehensive information on this topic, see one such post that I could find. Some issues could then happen at build time but they are also well advanced with reproducible build, see there. So if the GPG checks out (when provided by upstream) and the build checks out, I'd assume that the binary is relatively "safe". Then remains the fact that the binaries are very recent with Arch and so if something like the xz backdoor happens, odds are that it won't be caught up in time.