View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Gruguuru n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 20 May 2004 Posts: 27 Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
|
Posted: Thu May 27, 2004 3:24 pm Post subject: iwconfig essid problem |
|
|
Hello,
I have a problem with iwconfig. I want to set my essid. I tried doing it in the console and it didn't work (no error, but typing iwconfig returned wlan0 with ESSID=""). I did it several times and it didn't work. Then I started X, and it worked! I was able to set my ESSID from an xterm by typing the exact same command. Of course, it also can't connect to the AP on booting (using the script that I found on this forum).
I can't scan because the ESSID is not broadcasted (and I don't want to broadcast it). I thought specifying the ESSID manually would work (and it does in X). I'm not using WEP either. What did I do wrong? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
codergeek42 Bodhisattva
![Bodhisattva Bodhisattva](/images/ranks/rank-bodhisattva.gif)
Joined: 05 Apr 2004 Posts: 5142 Location: Anaheim, CA (USA)
|
Posted: Thu May 27, 2004 3:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Have you tried Code: | # /sbin/iwconfig wlan0 essid YourNetworkName | ? _________________ ~~ Peter: Programmer, Mathematician, STEM & Free Software Advocate, Enlightened Agent, Transhumanist, Fedora contributor
Who am I? :: EFF & FSF |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Gruguuru n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 20 May 2004 Posts: 27 Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
|
Posted: Thu May 27, 2004 3:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
There's no iwconfig in my /sbin, only in /usr/sbin (that's the one that's run when i type iwconfig) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
helfrez n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 14 Apr 2004 Posts: 14
|
Posted: Thu May 27, 2004 4:26 pm Post subject: clarification |
|
|
I believe wut coderg meant was have u tried it with the full syntax
iwconfig wlan0 essid YourAPName
you need to add the AP name after the essid call..In addition to that u man need the "enc" option for encrpytion... Lets say you acces points name is AccessPoint1 and your wep key is 1234567890...you command would be:
iwconfig wlan0 essid AccessPoint1 enc 1234567890
Hope this helps... |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Gruguuru n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 20 May 2004 Posts: 27 Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
|
Posted: Thu May 27, 2004 4:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
As I said, I don't use WEP, so no encryption key. And yes, the command that I typed was:
Code: | iwconfig wlan0 essid <myapname> |
I'm pretty sure it's the right command since it worked when I was in X (I know that X is probably not the reason why it worked, there's something else that I don't see). |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
UberLord Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/16007251014200867ea775c.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
Posted: Thu May 27, 2004 6:10 pm Post subject: Re: iwconfig essid problem |
|
|
Gruguuru wrote: |
I can't scan because the ESSID is not broadcasted (and I don't want to broadcast it) |
Actually, you can scan even if the ESSID is not being broadcast - the MAC address of the AP is always broadcast.
My scripts allow MAC->ESSID mapping, so effectively if the know which MAC address is which AP then scanning works
Some drivers don't allow ESSID being set when the interface is up which may be your problem. Try my scripts out - they may help you!
Good luck ![Smile :)](images/smiles/icon_smile.gif) _________________ Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Gruguuru n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 20 May 2004 Posts: 27 Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
|
Posted: Fri May 28, 2004 8:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
I am actually using your scripts, which are great. I tried what you said (MAC -> ESSID mapping) but it says wlan0 doesn't support scanning (it does in Windows, but I'm using NDISwrapper so I don't know).
Still no luck with setting the ESSID. There's a '-' in the ESSID, could that be a problem? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
UberLord Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/16007251014200867ea775c.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Gruguuru n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 20 May 2004 Posts: 27 Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
|
Posted: Fri May 28, 2004 9:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
Removing the dash in the ESSID didn't work either.
Here's my /etc/conf.d/wireless:
Code: |
# /etc/conf.d/wireless:
# Global wireless config file for net.* rc-scripts
##############################################################################
# HINTS
##############################################################################
# Remember to change eth0 to your wireless interface which may be
# eth0, eth1, wlan0, ath0 - you get the idea. If you're not sure
# you can type "iwconfig" at the command prompt and it will tell you which
# interfaces are wireless.
# Say that your wireless interface is ath0 - the line
# #essid_eth0="any"
# becomes
# #essid_ath0="any"
#
# Remember to change ESSID to your ESSID.
# Say that your ESSID is My NET - the line
# #key_ESSID="s:passkey"
# becomes
# #key_My_NET="s:passkey"
# Notice that the space has changed to an underscore.
#
# Clear? Good. Now configure your wireless network below
#########################################################
##############################################################################
# SETTINGS
##############################################################################
# Hard code an ESSID to an interface
# This needs to be done when the driver doesn't support scanning
# Set to "any" to connect to any ESSID
# This may work for drivers that don't support scanning but you need automatic
# AP association
#essid_eth0="any"
essid_wlan0="gnolu-gulu"
# Set the mode of the interface (ad-hoc or managed). Managed is default
# If it's ad-hoc you also need to specify the channel below
#mode_eth0="Managed"
mode_wlan0="Managed"
# If managed mode fails, drop to ad-hoc mode with the below ESSID?
# If this is set, then remember to configure wireless options such as ifconfig
# for the specified ESSID. Channel can be set (1-14), but defaults to 3 if
# not set.
#
# The below is taken verbatim from the BSD wavelan documentation found at
# http://www.netbsd.org/Documentation/network/wavelan.html
# There are 14 channels possible; We are told that channels 1-11 are legal for
# North America, channels 1-13 for most of Europe, channels 10-13 for France,
# and only channel 14 for Japan. If in doubt, please refer to the documentation
# that came with your card or access point. Make sure that the channel you
# select is the same channel your access point (or the other card in an ad-hoc
# network) is on. The default for cards sold in North America and most of Europe
# is 3; the default for cards sold in France is 11, and the default for cards
# sold in Japan is 14.
#adhoc_essid_eth0="WLAN"
#adhoc_channel_eth0="3"
# Setup any other config commands. This is basically the iwconfig argument
# without the iwconfig $iface
#iwconfig_eth0=""
#iwconfig_wlan0="192.168.1.103 broadcast 192.168.0.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"
# Set private driver ioctls. This is basically the iwpriv argument without
# the iwpriv $iface
#iwpriv_eth0=""
# We can define various timeouts here.
#sleep_scan_eth0="1"
#sleep_associate_eth0="5"
# Some driver/card combinations need to scan in Ad-Hoc mode
# After scanning, the mode is reset to the one defined above
#scan_mode_eth0="Ad-Hoc"
# Below you can define private ioctls to run before and after scanning
# Format is the same as the iwpriv_eth0 above
# This is needed for the HostAP drivers
#iwpriv_scan_pre_eth0="host_roaming 2"
#iwpriv_scan_post_eth0="host_roaming 0"
# Define a WEP key per ESSID
# IMPORTANT: any characters that are NOT in a_z A_Z 0_9 should be
# replaced with the _ character.
# For example #123 becomes _123
# The below examples use ESSID - change it to yours.
# You can't use "any" for an ESSID here
#key_ESSID="open 1234-1234-1234-1234-1234-1234-56"
# or you can use strings. Passphrase IS NOT supported
#key_ESSID="open s:foobar"
# You can also override the interface settings here - even provide
# a nameserver/domain per ESSID
#ifconfig_ESSID="192.168.1.110"
#dhcpcd_ESSID="-t 5"
#inet6_ESSID=""
#routes_ESSID=""
#gateway_ESSID="192.168.0.1"
#nameserver_ESSID="192.168.0.1"
#domain_ESSID="some.domain"
# LEAP users will want to use the preassociate setting to specify
# an authentication script
#preassociate_ESSID="/run/this/script"
# Map a MAC address to an ESSID
# This is used when the Access Point is not broadcasting it's ESSID
# WARNING: This will override the ESSID being broadcast due to some
# Access Points sending an ESSID even when they have been configured
# not too!
# Change 001122334455 to the MAC address and ESSID to the ESSID
# it should map to
# Some characters may need to be escaped, such as " with \"
#essid_001122334455="ESSID"
#essid_00904B13CC4F="gnolu-gulu"
# This lists the preferred ESSIDs to connect to in order
# ESSID's can contain any characters here as they must match the broadcast
# ESSID exactly. Some characters may need to be escaped, such as " with \"
# Surround each ESSID with the " character and seperate them with a space
# If the first ESSID isn't found then it moves onto the next
# If this isn't defined then it connects to the first one found
#preferred_aps=("ESSID 1" "ESSID 2")
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
UberLord Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/16007251014200867ea775c.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Gruguuru n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 20 May 2004 Posts: 27 Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
|
Posted: Fri May 28, 2004 10:16 am Post subject: |
|
|
Like I said in my first post, it has a very weird behaviour. Here's the exact steps I took after rebooting the computer and the output given:
1. Login as root
2. iwconfig wlan0 essid gnolu-gulu
iwconfig wlan0
Code: |
wlan0 IEEE 802.11g ESSID:""
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.462GHz Access Point: FF:FF:FF:FF:FF:FF
Bit Rate:54Mb/s Tx-Power:24 dBm
RTS thr:2347 B Fragment thr:2346 B
Encryption key:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality:100/100 Signal level:-10 dBm Noise level:-256 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:2 Invalid misc:7831 Missed beacon:0
|
3. Logout
4. Login as a regular user
5. startx
6. Open an xterm
7. su
8. iwconfig wlan0 essid gnolu-gulu
iwconfig wlan0
Code: |
wlan0 IEEE 802.11g ESSID:"gnolu-gulu"
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.437GHz Access Point: 00:90:4B:13:CC:4F
Bit Rate:54Mb/s Tx-Power:13 dBm
RTS thr:2347 B Fragment thr:2346 B
Encryption key:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality:100/100 Signal level:-45 dBm Noise level:-256 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:2 Invalid misc:21316 Missed beacon:0
|
So it does connect after all, but what should I do to make it work right from the beginning? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
UberLord Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/16007251014200867ea775c.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Gruguuru n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 20 May 2004 Posts: 27 Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
|
Posted: Fri May 28, 2004 12:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
UberLord wrote: | Do you get wlan0 starting up at boot?
Do you get the same effect with Code: | /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 restart | in a console and in X?
|
No. In the console:
Code: |
* Running preup function
* Configuring wireless network for wlan0
* Connecting to "gnolu-gulu" (WEP disabled)... [!!]
* wlan0 requires an ESSID to be set to operate in Ad-Hoc mode
* Failed to configure wireless for wlan0
* preup wlan0 failed
|
In X:
Code: |
* Running preup function
* Configuring wireless network for wlan0
* Connecting to "gnolu-gulu" (WEP disabled)... [ ok ]
* wlan0 connected to "gnolugulu" in managed mode
* on channel 06 (WEP disabled)
* Bringing wlan0 up (192.168.1.103)... [ ok ]
|
I'll try your new ebuild now
Edit: As you expected, the new ebuild didn't fix my problem.
Edit2: To answer your first question, at boot I get the same error as in the console. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
UberLord Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/16007251014200867ea775c.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Gruguuru n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 20 May 2004 Posts: 27 Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
|
Posted: Fri May 28, 2004 3:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
No, it works if i quit X. The whole thing seems really bizarre to me. Do you think you know what's going on? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
UberLord Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/16007251014200867ea775c.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Gruguuru n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 20 May 2004 Posts: 27 Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
|
Posted: Fri May 28, 2004 4:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
UberLord wrote: | How about if you reboot and leave things for 10 mins or so, come back and try starting wlan0 without starting X.
Same error still? |
Yes |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
UberLord Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/16007251014200867ea775c.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Gruguuru n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 20 May 2004 Posts: 27 Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
|
Posted: Fri May 28, 2004 4:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I don't know either how X can "fix" my wireless...
I do have the right version of your script (0.4.6), the ad-hoc error appeared because I still had version 0.4.4 at that time.
dmesg seems right, except for these two lines (but I don't think they have anything to do with that problem):
Code: |
atkbd.c: Spurious ACK on isa0060/serio0. Some program, like XFree86, might be trying access hardware directly.
atkbd.c: Spurious ACK on isa0060/serio0. Some program, like XFree86, might be trying access hardware directly.
|
If you want I'll post the output of dmesg in its entirety. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
UberLord Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/16007251014200867ea775c.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Gruguuru n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 20 May 2004 Posts: 27 Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
|
Posted: Fri May 28, 2004 8:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Sorry, I'm away from my Linux box for the weekend (going back home ). I'll do this on Sunday evening. Thank you for your help. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Gruguuru n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 20 May 2004 Posts: 27 Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
|
Posted: Mon May 31, 2004 8:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
UberLord wrote: | OK, without booting X I want you to do the following commands
Code: | iwconfig wlan0 essid gnolu-gulu
iwconfig iwlan0
sleep 10
iwconfig iwlan0
sleep 10
iwconfig iwlan0
sleep 10
iwconfig iwlan0
sleep 10
iwconfig iwlan0
sleep 10
cat /proc/net/wireless
|
and post the results please. |
Ok, here you go. Sorry for the wait. Instead of iwconfig iwlan0 you meant iwconfig wlan0 right?
Here's the output:
Code: |
wlan0 IEEE 802.11g ESSID:""
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.462GHz Access Point: FF:FF:FF:FF:FF:FF
Bit Rate:54Mb/s Tx-Power:24 dBm
RTS thr:2347 B Fragment thr:2346 B
Encryption key:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality:100/100 Signal level:-10 dBm Noise level:-256 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:19950 Missed beacon:0
wlan0 IEEE 802.11g ESSID:""
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.462GHz Access Point: FF:FF:FF:FF:FF:FF
Bit Rate:54Mb/s Tx-Power:24 dBm
RTS thr:2347 B Fragment thr:2346 B
Encryption key:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality:100/100 Signal level:-10 dBm Noise level:-256 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:26202 Missed beacon:0
wlan0 IEEE 802.11g ESSID:""
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.462GHz Access Point: FF:FF:FF:FF:FF:FF
Bit Rate:54Mb/s Tx-Power:24 dBm
RTS thr:2347 B Fragment thr:2346 B
Encryption key:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality:100/100 Signal level:-10 dBm Noise level:-256 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:31646 Missed beacon:0
wlan0 IEEE 802.11g ESSID:""
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.462GHz Access Point: FF:FF:FF:FF:FF:FF
Bit Rate:54Mb/s Tx-Power:24 dBm
RTS thr:2347 B Fragment thr:2346 B
Encryption key:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality:100/100 Signal level:-10 dBm Noise level:-256 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:37331 Missed beacon:0
wlan0 IEEE 802.11g ESSID:""
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.462GHz Access Point: FF:FF:FF:FF:FF:FF
Bit Rate:54Mb/s Tx-Power:24 dBm
RTS thr:2347 B Fragment thr:2346 B
Encryption key:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality:100/100 Signal level:-10 dBm Noise level:-256 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:43130 Missed beacon:0
Inter-| sta-| Quality | Discarded packets | Missed | WE
face | tus | link level noise | nwid crypt frag retry misc | beacon | 16
wlan0: 0000 100 246 0 0 0 0 0 51250 0
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
UberLord Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/16007251014200867ea775c.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Gruguuru n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 20 May 2004 Posts: 27 Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
|
Posted: Tue Jun 01, 2004 9:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
Ok, thanks for trying to help... I'm going to try the last CVS version of NDISwrapper, maybe they've fixed something. If it doesn't work, I'll ask on their mailing list. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
emmCee n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/14245799903e5bda80dc5c7.jpg)
Joined: 04 Jan 2003 Posts: 20 Location: York, UK
|
Posted: Fri Aug 13, 2004 8:41 pm Post subject: same problem |
|
|
i have the same problem with my setup, however unlike Gruguuru mentioned to me, it wasn't fixed by unpluging (or disabling) the onboard ethernet.
it works fine as long as the iwconfig is executed from X. outside X it doesn't seem to work at all.
for the record my card is the belkin F5D7000 (i think). it uses the broadcom chipset 94306, which is supported by ndiswrapper.
gav |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|