View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
ArturasB n00b
Joined: 20 Sep 2002 Posts: 47 Location: Vilnius, Lithuania
|
Posted: Thu Nov 14, 2002 11:12 am Post subject: Phoenix. Where and how ;) |
|
|
Hi everyone.
Question about Phoenix - from where can I download it ?
And - how can I merge this into portage ?
I found some discussions about it, but links to the Phoenix
didn't work for me....
Please, point me to the right direction
Thanks in advance.
BR,
Arturas B. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jondkent Apprentice
Joined: 26 Jul 2002 Posts: 289 Location: London
|
Posted: Thu Nov 14, 2002 11:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
Its available as an ebuild called phoenix-bin as the only offical release for this is a binary build. There is source available if you that way inclined though, but not through an ebuild.
Phoenix information is available on www.mozilla.org under projects
Jon |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ronmon Veteran
Joined: 15 Apr 2002 Posts: 1043 Location: Key West, FL
|
Posted: Thu Nov 14, 2002 11:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
Right here, about four posts below yours on the same page. Part way down the first page is an ebuild that pulls the nightly and CVS. Works like a charm, I'm posting from it now. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jondkent Apprentice
Joined: 26 Jul 2002 Posts: 289 Location: London
|
Posted: Thu Nov 14, 2002 11:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
great I didn't know that, last time I looked it weren't available
er...is this an "offical" ebuild 'cos it don't look like it?
Jon |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ronmon Veteran
Joined: 15 Apr 2002 Posts: 1043 Location: Key West, FL
|
Posted: Thu Nov 14, 2002 4:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
No, it's not official but it works. I copy and paste it into /usr/local/portage/net-www/phoenix/phoenix-0.5.0.ebuild and add PORTDIR_OVERLAY=/usr/local/portage/ to /etc/make.conf. Create the digest and emerge it. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jdm n00b
Joined: 14 Nov 2002 Posts: 9
|
Posted: Fri Nov 15, 2002 11:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
Which of the two ebuilds is the best to use? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ronmon Veteran
Joined: 15 Apr 2002 Posts: 1043 Location: Key West, FL
|
Posted: Fri Nov 15, 2002 12:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
nempo's worked for me while the other one did not. BTW, if you want to build it against gtk2 you can replace:
Code: | --enable-toolkit-gtk \
--enable-default-toolkit-gtk \ |
with
Code: | --disable-toolkit-gtk \
--enable-toolkit-gtk2 \
--enable-default-toolkit-gtk2 \ |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
butters Guru
Joined: 13 May 2002 Posts: 427 Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
|
Posted: Fri Nov 15, 2002 6:01 pm Post subject: MOZILLA_FIVE_HOME env var |
|
|
In nempo's ebuild he mentions setting the variable MOZILLA_FIVE_HOME to get phoenix to work. Is this necessary? What do you mean by "digest"?
Side note - Why doesn't the Phoenix team release source for its release builds? Not until 1.0? _________________ If tugboats were bigger, they'd be the ones getting tugged. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ronmon Veteran
Joined: 15 Apr 2002 Posts: 1043 Location: Key West, FL
|
Posted: Fri Nov 15, 2002 6:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
To make it really easy, add the following line to your ~/.bashrc. This won't bother any other Mozilla or Galeon builds, they will figure it out on their own:
Code: | unset MOZILLA_FIVE_HOME |
Now, by the numbers:
Code: | mkdir /usr/local/portage
mkdir /usr/local/portage/net-www
mkdir /usr/local/portage/net-www/phoenix
cd /usr/local/portage/net-www/phoenix
nano -w phoenix-0.5.0.ebuild |
Make sure auto indent is turned off, Alt-i toggles this. Copy and paste nempo's ebuild into this file and save it (Ctl-o). Edit it to use gtk2 if you wish or leave it as it and Ctl-x to close.
Now:
Code: | mkdir files
ebuild phoenix-0.5.0.ebuild digest
(This will download the mozilla nightly source and create a digest file containing the MD5SUM for said source)
emerge -p phoenix-0.5.0.ebuild |
If it looks good, then:
Code: | emerge phoenix-0.5.0.ebuild |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
nempo Guru
Joined: 16 Apr 2002 Posts: 360 Location: Linkoping, Sweden
|
Posted: Fri Nov 15, 2002 7:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ohhh, I'm famous =)) In my ebuild it IS necessary to set the MOZILLA_FIVE_HOME, this is done automatically for you in the 'upgraded' one by vers_iq. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
karl11 Guru
Joined: 25 Jun 2002 Posts: 469 Location: Raleigh, NC
|
Posted: Fri Nov 15, 2002 8:19 pm Post subject: galeon-cvs and phoenix-cvs (0.5) |
|
|
Will this mess with my building of galeon from cvs everyday?
Karl |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Delphiki Guru
Joined: 04 Oct 2002 Posts: 337 Location: A2
|
Posted: Fri Nov 15, 2002 8:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It shouldn't. The most likely issue is with the MOZILLA_FIVE_HOME variable and if you set this in the startup scripts for each browser or something like that you shouldn't have a problem. _________________ Excellent.. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ronmon Veteran
Joined: 15 Apr 2002 Posts: 1043 Location: Key West, FL
|
Posted: Sat Nov 16, 2002 12:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
You should be famous nempo. Nice job with the ebuild!
For some reason, it works for me with unset MOZILLA_FIVE_HOME in my .bashrc. I'm posting this from Galeon 1.2.6 and have Phoenix open at the same time. Both are started from launchers with no startup script. Don't know why it works like that but I'm not complaining. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Delphiki Guru
Joined: 04 Oct 2002 Posts: 337 Location: A2
|
Posted: Sat Nov 16, 2002 6:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
The phoenix startup script which you must be using (you are if you execute with the phoenix command) will not change the MOZILLA_FIVE_HOME if it is already set, but if it is not then it will set it for correct use with phoenix, which would be why unset MOZILLA_FIVE_HOME works. I believe the mozilla shell script does the same thing and I am guessing from your results that the Galeon script does as well. _________________ Excellent.. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
butters Guru
Joined: 13 May 2002 Posts: 427 Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
|
Posted: Mon Nov 25, 2002 6:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Alright, so I'm finally getting around to doing this . . .
When I do ebuild phoenix-0.5.0.ebuild digest, I get an error that says that there is no file or directory called /usr/portage/net-www/phoenix-0.5.0.ebuild, which is true, because we created the directory /usr/local/portage/net-www/phoenix-0.5.0.ebuild. Am I supposed to move the ebuild to the regular /usr/portage tree? _________________ If tugboats were bigger, they'd be the ones getting tugged. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Delphiki Guru
Joined: 04 Oct 2002 Posts: 337 Location: A2
|
Posted: Tue Nov 26, 2002 2:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
did you remember to set the PORTDIR_OVERLAY in your make.conf? Otherwise it might assume the only place the ebuild should be located is in the /usr/portage dir _________________ Excellent.. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
yannick n00b
Joined: 17 May 2002 Posts: 23 Location: Brussels, Belgium
|
Posted: Tue Nov 26, 2002 9:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
butters wrote: | When I do ebuild phoenix-0.5.0.ebuild digest, I get an error that says that there is no file or directory called /usr/portage/net-www/phoenix-0.5.0.ebuild |
Instead of Code: | ebuild phoenix-0.5.0.ebuild digest | it is safer to do Code: | ebuild /usr/local/portage/net-www/phoenix/phoenix-0.5.0.ebuild digest | so that ebuild knows exactly where your file is.
Yannick |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ales n00b
Joined: 20 Nov 2002 Posts: 19
|
Posted: Wed Dec 04, 2002 9:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
ronmon wrote: | No, it's not official but it works. I copy and paste it into /usr/local/portage/net-www/phoenix/phoenix-0.5.0.ebuild and add PORTDIR_OVERLAY=/usr/local/portage/ to /etc/make.conf. Create the digest and emerge it. |
Just wanna add a small detail... noting that the specified directory has to contain quotation " " marks or else it may not work (as in my case)... hence, it has to look like this in your /etc/make.conf :
Code: |
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/local/portage"
|
ales |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|