View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
codergeek42 Bodhisattva
Joined: 05 Apr 2004 Posts: 5142 Location: Anaheim, CA (USA)
|
Posted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 8:15 pm Post subject: [HOW-TO] Get a nice linux logo with console login. |
|
|
If you're like me, I'm pretty sure that you don't like that the "computer-name login:" text comes right after the startup messages. I was ecently made aware of a program called linux_logo which give a nice ASCII art linux logo. Here's what you do:
1. Download,compile, and install linux-logo by using the all-powerful 'emerge' command: Code: | # emerge linux-logo |
2. Add it to the default runlevel, like so: Code: | # rc-update add linux-logo default |
3. Change the config file if you want, to show different text, or a different logo, etc. Code: | # nano /etc/conf.d/linux-logo | (I use nano both to stay consistent with the manual, and to attempt to be neutral witht the vi/emacs flamewars) I myself prefer not to show the uptime, as you have to restart linux-logo to change it, so I remove the #O from the format string. I also like to use the "-L 5 -f" )(-f = cover fullscreeen, -L 5 = use a purple-on-black ASCII "Gentoo" logo) options.
4. Now, whenever you login in console mode, you should see the Linux logo (either the word "Linux" with the red italicized i and Tux, or the Gentoo ASCII art) followed by some system stats (the tty#, computer name, kernel version, some hardware info, etc.).
I hope this is useful to someone! _________________ ~~ Peter: Programmer, Mathematician, STEM & Free Software Advocate, Enlightened Agent, Transhumanist, Fedora contributor
Who am I? :: EFF & FSF |
|
Back to top |
|
|
furkan Guru
Joined: 11 Dec 2003 Posts: 520 Location: Montreal CA
|
Posted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 8:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
thanks for that how-to |
|
Back to top |
|
|
codergeek42 Bodhisattva
Joined: 05 Apr 2004 Posts: 5142 Location: Anaheim, CA (USA)
|
Posted: Mon Jun 14, 2004 11:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
You're welcome. i just thought that some othrs woud find it mildly useful, even if it is pretty simple/straightforward. _________________ ~~ Peter: Programmer, Mathematician, STEM & Free Software Advocate, Enlightened Agent, Transhumanist, Fedora contributor
Who am I? :: EFF & FSF |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Putrifier n00b
Joined: 29 Jun 2004 Posts: 46
|
Posted: Sun Jul 04, 2004 8:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
great one. thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
aridhol Guru
Joined: 20 Jan 2003 Posts: 509 Location: Stockholm, Sweden
|
Posted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 12:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thank you _________________ 72 of Pitcairn Islands 49 inhabitants use Seti@Home
"If you buy a DVD you have a copy. If you want a backup copy you buy another one."
"Anyone who is capable of getting themselves made President should on no account be allowed to do the job." |
|
Back to top |
|
|
strestout1 n00b
Joined: 04 Jun 2004 Posts: 14
|
Posted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 2:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
just tried it and love it, except in my version, the logo ur talking about is -L 3 not 5. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
codergeek42 Bodhisattva
Joined: 05 Apr 2004 Posts: 5142 Location: Anaheim, CA (USA)
|
Posted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 3:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
strestout1 wrote: | just tried it and love it, except in my version, the logo ur talking about is -L 3 not 5. | is -L 3 the one with the ASCII penguin and "Linux" with a cool curvy 'i'? I like that one, too..but I always switch it back to the purple-on-black "Gentoo"... _________________ ~~ Peter: Programmer, Mathematician, STEM & Free Software Advocate, Enlightened Agent, Transhumanist, Fedora contributor
Who am I? :: EFF & FSF |
|
Back to top |
|
|
strestout1 n00b
Joined: 04 Jun 2004 Posts: 14
|
Posted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 3:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
codergeek42 wrote: | strestout1 wrote: | just tried it and love it, except in my version, the logo ur talking about is -L 3 not 5. | is -L 3 the one with the ASCII penguin and "Linux" with a cool curvy 'i'? I like that one, too..but I always switch it back to the purple-on-black "Gentoo"... |
no. -L 3 is the black back with purple Gentoo letters. -L 4 is grey back with red Gentoo letters. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
codergeek42 Bodhisattva
Joined: 05 Apr 2004 Posts: 5142 Location: Anaheim, CA (USA)
|
Posted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 4:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
strestout1 wrote: | codergeek42 wrote: | strestout1 wrote: | just tried it and love it, except in my version, the logo ur talking about is -L 3 not 5. | is -L 3 the one with the ASCII penguin and "Linux" with a cool curvy 'i'? I like that one, too..but I always switch it back to the purple-on-black "Gentoo"... |
no. -L 3 is the black back with purple Gentoo letters. -L 4 is grey back with red Gentoo letters. | Proof that I /still/ have no idea what I'm doing... _________________ ~~ Peter: Programmer, Mathematician, STEM & Free Software Advocate, Enlightened Agent, Transhumanist, Fedora contributor
Who am I? :: EFF & FSF |
|
Back to top |
|
|
floam Veteran
Joined: 27 Oct 2002 Posts: 1067 Location: Vancouver, WA USA
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
yoyoned n00b
Joined: 19 Sep 2003 Posts: 13
|
Posted: Tue Jul 06, 2004 3:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Looks like Slackware. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kamagurka Veteran
Joined: 25 Jan 2004 Posts: 1026 Location: /germany/munich
|
Posted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 12:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
umm, some explanation as to what FORMAT and FORMATNET mean?
what are valid values for OPTIONS? what do they mean? _________________ If you loved me, you'd all kill yourselves today.
--Spider Jerusalem, the Word |
|
Back to top |
|
|
codergeek42 Bodhisattva
Joined: 05 Apr 2004 Posts: 5142 Location: Anaheim, CA (USA)
|
Posted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 1:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
kamagurka wrote: | umm, some explanation as to what FORMAT and FORMATNET mean?
what are valid values for OPTIONS? what do they mean? | If I understand correctly, FORMAT is for login prompts for local logins, and FORMATNET is for remote logins, such as SSH and what-not. OPTIONS are the command-line things passwed to the linux-log program to actually make the login prompt like that. _________________ ~~ Peter: Programmer, Mathematician, STEM & Free Software Advocate, Enlightened Agent, Transhumanist, Fedora contributor
Who am I? :: EFF & FSF |
|
Back to top |
|
|
beandog Bodhisattva
Joined: 04 May 2003 Posts: 2072 Location: /usa/utah
|
Posted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 2:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
And if you want to get rid of the linux-logo on bootup -- rc-update del linux-logo isn't enough. Delete /etc/issue and it will be gone. _________________ If it ain't broke, tweak it. dvds | blurays | blog | wiki |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Y n00b
Joined: 01 Jul 2004 Posts: 14 Location: Hanover Park, IL (US)
|
Posted: Tue Jul 13, 2004 6:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
what...no ANSI art?? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
beandog Bodhisattva
Joined: 04 May 2003 Posts: 2072 Location: /usa/utah
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
sleepingsun Guru
Joined: 03 May 2006 Posts: 463 Location: Bosnia
|
Posted: Sun Jul 01, 2018 7:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I know that is old topic i just install this linux-logo and works fine but have problem with uptime not showing anything ? _________________ Gentoo is Rocks |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bunder Bodhisattva
Joined: 10 Apr 2004 Posts: 5937
|
Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2018 12:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
I doubt this actually works anymore, this thread was written 14 years ago _________________
Neddyseagoon wrote: | The problem with leaving is that you can only do it once and it reduces your influence. |
banned from #gentoo since sept 2017 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dmpogo Advocate
Joined: 02 Sep 2004 Posts: 3437 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2018 5:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
bunder wrote: | I doubt this actually works anymore, this thread was written 14 years ago |
Works fine, including uptime info |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sleepingsun Guru
Joined: 03 May 2006 Posts: 463 Location: Bosnia
|
Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2018 7:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
dmpogo wrote: | bunder wrote: | I doubt this actually works anymore, this thread was written 14 years ago |
Works fine, including uptime info |
and how to configure that i have uptime info ?
Its show UPTIME but now stat ... other things abot cpu speed memory kernel works fine ... _________________ Gentoo is Rocks |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dmpogo Advocate
Joined: 02 Sep 2004 Posts: 3437 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Tue Jul 03, 2018 4:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
sleepingsun wrote: | dmpogo wrote: | bunder wrote: | I doubt this actually works anymore, this thread was written 14 years ago |
Works fine, including uptime info |
and how to configure that i have uptime info ?
Its show UPTIME but now stat ... other things abot cpu speed memory kernel works fine ... |
Not sure, it worked out of the box for me. Really it just rewrites /etc/issue - what is written there ? And does 'uptime' works from command line for you ?
And the last thing will be to check syntax of /etc/conf.d/linux-logo |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sleepingsun Guru
Joined: 03 May 2006 Posts: 463 Location: Bosnia
|
Posted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 11:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
/etc/conf.d/linux-logo
Code: | # Seq Description Output
# ----------------------------------------------------------------
# ## #
# #B Bogomips 374.37
# #C Compiled Date #47 Fri Jan 8 10:37:09 EST 1999
# #E User Text My Favorite Linux Distribution
# Displayed with -t
# #H Hostname deranged
# #L Load average Load average 0.04, 0.01, 0.01
# #M Megahertz 188Mhz
# where supported
# #N Number of CPU's Two
# #O OS Name Linux
# #P Processor or Processors Processor
# #R Ram 64M
# in Megabytes
# #S Plural s
# #T Type of CPU K6
# #U Uptime Uptime 10 hours 59 minutes
# #V Version of OS 2.2.0-pre5
# #X CPU Vendor AMD
# \\n carriage return
LOGO="-L gentoo"
FORMAT="Gentoo #O `cat /etc/gentoo-release | awk '{ print $5,$6 }'`\n#O #V, Compiled #C\n#N #X #T #M CPU#S, #R RAM, #B Bogomips\n#U\n#H / \l \n"
FORMATNET="Gentoo #O `cat /etc/gentoo-release | awk '{ print $5,$6 }'`\n#O #V, Compiled #C\n#N #X #T #M CPU#S, #R RAM, #B Bogomips\n#U\n#H\n"
OPTIONS="-f -u"
|
/etc/issue
have some symbols cant see anything ?
When i clear /etc/issue it show uptime in that moment but after that not updating just show same uptime when i clean /etc/issue ?
on terminal uptime works fine but on this linux-logo not working well ! _________________ Gentoo is Rocks |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dmpogo Advocate
Joined: 02 Sep 2004 Posts: 3437 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Sat Jul 21, 2018 4:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
sleepingsun wrote: | /
/etc/issue
have some symbols cant see anything ?
When i clear /etc/issue it show uptime in that moment but after that not updating just show same uptime when i clean /etc/issue ?
on terminal uptime works fine but on this linux-logo not working well ! |
But indeed, it runs update only once, when /etc/init.d/linux-logo is run, i.e on boot. All further use just shows the same /etc/issue. Update is on reboot |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|