View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
kalisphoenix Apprentice
Joined: 28 Sep 2003 Posts: 211 Location: Ohio
|
Posted: Sat Jul 17, 2004 8:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Same problem.
My kernel was working fine until I decided to get a USB mass storage camera to work, so I recompiled the kernel with USB as a module, the MS file systems as modules... and I think that's it.
It's been freezing, actually -- I get a shit-ton of the "hogging interrupts" messages and then it freezes. It's only been on this kernel and seems to happen at a different time past booting on each time. Usually I get into Xorg and thought the problem was there, but this time I didn't start it, just waited.
I've been having a lot of trouble with IRQs on this system, and before when my onboard NIC wasn't working, fiddling with the USB seemed to help. Given the error message, I'm going to recompile the kernel and leave as much in as possible and only module a few things. I'll report back if this solves the problem.
I'm thinking it might be the combination of a few seemingly unrelated factors.
EDIT: I recompiled (make clean && make && make modules_install) and rebooted. So far, it seems to be fine.
Just for reference, I'm using 2.6.7-r11, if I remember correctly. What I did (explicitly) to the kernel was recompile with USB support and EHCI and OHCI in the kernel. I left mass storage and printer support as modules. I believe that's all.
I didn't change BIOS settings or any other kernel parameters, etc etc etc.
Hope that helps. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
thaldyron Apprentice
Joined: 25 Sep 2002 Posts: 227 Location: On Earth
|
Posted: Mon Jul 19, 2004 4:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
kalisphoenix wrote: | S
Just for reference, I'm using 2.6.7-r11, if I remember correctly. What I did (explicitly) to the kernel was recompile with USB support and EHCI and OHCI in the kernel. I left mass storage and printer support as modules. I believe that's all.
|
I did exactly the same but unfortunately it didn't work for me...sigh
I really hope this was the first and last version skip (2.6.6 was left out) of the gentoo-dev-sources - a lot of problems occur in 2.6.7-rX and no one knows if they were introduced in 2.6.6 or 2.6.7. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dkaplowitz Guru
Joined: 22 Nov 2003 Posts: 596 Location: Philadelphia, PA
|
Posted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 3:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
herring wrote: | MSI K8N Neo platinum, AMD64 3200+
Could it be this driver, or xorg-x11 itself being task-intensive ? |
I've got a similar system to you, K8T Neo...blah blah, with the GeForce4 ti4600 and am having the same issue. I also run flux, not that I think that really matters in this case b/c I only really seem to see the errors around boot time. I've been tailing /var/log/messages for some time with X running and I can't get the date/interrupt hog error to happen. (I even tried running glxgears as you'd indicated, but that's not producing the error). I think it's something else.
I didn't have this error on 2.6.7-gentoo-r8. I took a break from Gentoo on this box, installed FBSD 5.2.1, then decided I wanted Gentoo back and this error started happening. So I've skipped 3 kernel revisions and am getting this error. I think I have a backup of 2.6.7-gentoo-r8 somewhere. Maybe I'll try loading that up. I'll post back.
P.S. I also manually ran ntpdate against an external time server since booting, so that might also help me not to be able to reproduce this error.
Edit -- Oops...I just realized that kernel didn't have XFS support and I'm using XFS on / now. I'm not ambitious enough to seek out the old src and recompile, so that's out. _________________ http://dkap.info |
|
Back to top |
|
|
vyzivus Apprentice
Joined: 05 Jul 2004 Posts: 173 Location: Slovakia
|
Posted: Sun Jul 25, 2004 8:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I had this problem with kernel 2.6.7-gentoo-r8 also. Maybe you had something set in your kernel .config file. Can you post the file, I'll compare it with my .config and post the results. _________________ I thought what I'd do was, I'd pretend I was one of those deaf-mutes or should I? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Dephyler n00b
Joined: 01 Jun 2004 Posts: 31
|
Posted: Mon Jul 26, 2004 6:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
being a noob, i still don't know emerge all that well. i have never had problems with the ticks until r11. is there a way to tell emerge to get the r8 kernel?
deph |
|
Back to top |
|
|
thaldyron Apprentice
Joined: 25 Sep 2002 Posts: 227 Location: On Earth
|
Posted: Tue Jul 27, 2004 9:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
Dephyler wrote: | being a noob, i still don't know emerge all that well. i have never had problems with the ticks until r11. is there a way to tell emerge to get the r8 kernel?
deph |
Code: |
emerge /usr/portage/sys-kernel/gentoo-dev-sources/gentoo-dev-sources-2.6.7-r8.ebuild
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Dephyler n00b
Joined: 01 Jun 2004 Posts: 31
|
Posted: Tue Jul 27, 2004 7:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
thank you! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
thaldyron Apprentice
Joined: 25 Sep 2002 Posts: 227 Location: On Earth
|
Posted: Wed Jul 28, 2004 8:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
I just tried the mm-sources (2.6.7-mm6) with the same configuration (if possible) and the problem dissappeared. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dangertools Apprentice
Joined: 29 Dec 2003 Posts: 278 Location: Saalfelden, Austria
|
Posted: Sat Jul 31, 2004 11:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
i had the same problem on my aspire 1501Lmi. with the latest gentoo-dev-sources /var/log/messages got filled up with these errormessages. then i switched to the mm-sources. the ticks have gone but i had a new problem with usb. when there was a usb-device attached during boot the system hang when initializing the usb-devices.
I'm now using developement-sources and there are no ticks which are getting lost and my usb-devices work too.
dangertools |
|
Back to top |
|
|
PrakashP Veteran
Joined: 27 Oct 2003 Posts: 1249 Location: C.C.A.A., Germania
|
Posted: Sat Jul 31, 2004 11:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
AFAIK, if you change the Mhz of your CPU the onbe or the other way, you have to use a different tiemsoruce than tsc. This simply won't work out. ie
Code: |
dmesg|grep timesource
Using tsc for high-res timesource
|
won't work for variable clocked CPUs. The ACPI pm_timer would be a solution, but it was said it isn't available in 64bit. Why not? hw limitation or just buggy driver? I would ask at lkml what to do in 64bits and using variably CPU clock. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
vyzivus Apprentice
Joined: 05 Jul 2004 Posts: 173 Location: Slovakia
|
Posted: Sat Jul 31, 2004 9:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I have aspire 1501LMi also. When I tried the mm sources then the error was resolved however I had to resolve some minor things like not-working keyboard. However the synaptics driver lacked some functionality: double-click on the trackpad area didn't move windows, for example. I didn't had the problem dangertools described with the USB: my USB mouse worked flawlessly, no system hangs.
Which kernel are u using, dangertools? I'm using gentoo-dev-sources-2.6.7-r11 and the ticks thing is still present.
I tried to turn the CPU freq changer off, but the problem didn't disappear - only the "Checking if CPU freq. changed" line disappeared. _________________ I thought what I'd do was, I'd pretend I was one of those deaf-mutes or should I? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dangertools Apprentice
Joined: 29 Dec 2003 Posts: 278 Location: Saalfelden, Austria
|
Posted: Sun Aug 01, 2004 12:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I have tried the following kernels:
gentoo-dev-sources-2.6.7-r11:
The ticks were present but everything else worked good
mm-sources-2.6.7-rc2:
the ticks were away but the usb thing was here.
development-sources-2.6.8-r2:
everything fine. no ticks, no usb problems
dangertools |
|
Back to top |
|
|
AntiTheus n00b
Joined: 02 Aug 2004 Posts: 6 Location: Belgium
|
Posted: Mon Aug 02, 2004 10:11 am Post subject: Re: Asus K8V SE Deluxe, or any VIA chipset board. |
|
|
jman wrote: | I have a hunch that most of you are using a VIA chipset board. I have an Asus K8V SE Deluxe, and as soon as I recompiled my kernel with VIA VP IDE support, and disabled all of the other IDE drivers the problem is gone. I was having a lot of stability issues as well, but they seem to have cleared up. For those with notebooks, it's the speed-step type feature that is causing problems. There is a setting somewhere in the kernel options to fix it. For those with desktops, I guess the "Cool-n-Quiet" feature could cause the same kind of issues, but it's enabled on my system and it seems to be fine. In closing, I'm not so sure this is as much a kernel issue as it is a configuration issue. With new technology we have to worry about bugs in the code, and in our configuration. Good luck everyone. There is no question that Gentoo is the best way to flex your AMD64's muscles! |
I have the same board and got a lot of lost ticks, but then I added VIA IDE support and they disapeared.
Gessing it is a driver issue _________________ Abiit, excessit, evasit, erupit |
|
Back to top |
|
|
thaldyron Apprentice
Joined: 25 Sep 2002 Posts: 227 Location: On Earth
|
Posted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 6:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
dangertools wrote: | I have tried the following kernels:
gentoo-dev-sources-2.6.7-r11:
The ticks were present but everything else worked good
mm-sources-2.6.7-rc2:
the ticks were away but the usb thing was here.
development-sources-2.6.8-r2:
everything fine. no ticks, no usb problems
|
Since I have the same notebook (Aspire 1501LMi) and no problems at all with the mm-sources 2.6.7-r6 I will post my config.
Maybe the other 1501LMi users could do the same so we can compare
http://stud3.tuwien.ac.at/~e9827102/.config
A question for the Aspire 1501LMi users: do you always take out the battery when it is completely loaded as recommended in the manual or leave it inside all the time? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dangertools Apprentice
Joined: 29 Dec 2003 Posts: 278 Location: Saalfelden, Austria
|
Posted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
Here is my config:
http://members.inode.at/g.schild/DIV/config
thaldyron wrote: | A question for the Aspire 1501LMi users: do you always take out the battery when it is completely loaded as recommended in the manual or leave it inside all the time? |
Normally you should remove the battery when you don't need it for longer. i have mine removed at the moment because the laptop stands here on this place since about a week. but normally my battery is in.
dangertools |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nitroburn n00b
Joined: 26 Jan 2004 Posts: 32
|
Posted: Wed Aug 04, 2004 6:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
fumtu99
I have same problem. The tick error message, have disabled this and that to no avail. A previous person said the no problems with developments-sources(vanilla I am assuming) and no problems..it was a .8 ...hopefully they fixed it and everything will be fine with version bump. I have an HP laptop with no floppy drive and can't flash bios...the synaptics driver is really fishy on this I have to restart syndaemon and then wait forever for it to decide to work.l |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bverheg n00b
Joined: 01 Sep 2002 Posts: 39 Location: Vlaanderen
|
Posted: Thu Aug 05, 2004 1:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Same problems here on an Aspire 1501 LMi.
In my case (most of) the messages are gone when I remove the thermal module (I have subparts of ACPI compiled as modules).
With the thermal module loaded I had "lost ticks" messages repeating every 5 seconds!
Loading the battery module still produces a few messages, but these are non-repeating. The same happens on removing/inserting the battery.
At some times I had the messages repeating every minute, but I am not able to reproduce this configuration.
My config file is here. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
thaldyron Apprentice
Joined: 25 Sep 2002 Posts: 227 Location: On Earth
|
Posted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 7:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
I would advise the Aspire 1501 LMi users to give the mm-sources (2.6.7-r6) a try. No lost ticks messages and IMHO a lot more stable than the gentoo-dev-sources. I posted my mm-sources config for my notebook above if you want to try it.
Cheers
Last edited by thaldyron on Fri Aug 06, 2004 11:48 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bverheg n00b
Joined: 01 Sep 2002 Posts: 39 Location: Vlaanderen
|
Posted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 7:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
uname -r
tail /var/log/syslog
Code: | Aug 6 21:29:00 bumpy Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
Aug 6 21:29:00 bumpy warning: many lost ticks.
Aug 6 21:29:00 bumpy Your time source seems to be instable or some driver is hogging interupts
Aug 6 21:29:00 bumpy Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
Aug 6 21:29:05 bumpy warning: many lost ticks.
Aug 6 21:29:05 bumpy Your time source seems to be instable or some driver is hogging interupts
Aug 6 21:29:05 bumpy Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
Aug 6 21:29:05 bumpy warning: many lost ticks.
Aug 6 21:29:05 bumpy Your time source seems to be instable or some driver is hogging interupts
Aug 6 21:29:05 bumpy Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
|
This only happens when I have the thermal module loaded. I'll try now with compiling it into the kernel. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dangertools Apprentice
Joined: 29 Dec 2003 Posts: 278 Location: Saalfelden, Austria
|
Posted: Sat Aug 07, 2004 10:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
Give the development-sources a try. They work fine with everything built in. No ticks to see.
dangertools |
|
Back to top |
|
|
wolfger Apprentice
Joined: 09 Jun 2003 Posts: 254 Location: New Baltimore, MI
|
Posted: Sat Aug 07, 2004 12:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
No, the dev sources are a problem too. In fact, I believe the initial post was regarding dev sources... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dangertools Apprentice
Joined: 29 Dec 2003 Posts: 278 Location: Saalfelden, Austria
|
Posted: Sun Aug 08, 2004 8:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
wolfger wrote: | No, the dev sources are a problem too. In fact, I believe the initial post was regarding dev sources... |
The initial post was regarding 2.6.7-r6 which are the gentoo-dev-sources not the development-sources. I think that one of the gentoopatches has a problem with some amd64 hardware. The vanilla-kernel (development-sources) works fine same as the mm-sources where gentoo has done nothing too.
dangertools |
|
Back to top |
|
|
wolfger Apprentice
Joined: 09 Jun 2003 Posts: 254 Location: New Baltimore, MI
|
Posted: Sun Aug 08, 2004 2:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Right. Thanks for clearing up the difference between development sources and gentoo-dev sources. I was confused on that point. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
darksaidin Apprentice
Joined: 04 Oct 2003 Posts: 150
|
Posted: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
If you have the AMD64 cool&silent feature activated in your bios or use some other kind of frequency scaling, you will most likely need to enable frequency scaling for your CPU type in your kernel. CPU ticks are not a viable timesource if the CPU changes it's frequency all the time and the software isn't informed about the change. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
thaldyron Apprentice
Joined: 25 Sep 2002 Posts: 227 Location: On Earth
|
Posted: Wed Aug 11, 2004 1:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Now this is driving me nuts!!
I just upgraded from mm-sources-2.6.7-r6 (no problems) to mm-sources-2.6.8rc3-r2 and guess what's appearing in my dmesg:
Code: |
Your time source seems to be instable or some driver is hogging interupts
rip acpi_ec_write+0xdc/0x124
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
Losing some ticks... checking if CPU frequency changed.
|
So I'm back to the same problem I had with gentoo-dev-sources-2.6.7-rx and don't know what to do... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|