View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
ThorstenHirsch Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
![](images/avatars/958667743434446a3d71d1.png)
Joined: 25 Sep 2003 Posts: 111
|
Posted: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:07 pm Post subject: how to use a proxy that needs authentication? |
|
|
Hi.
I'm installing Gentoo within a company's network, that uses a proxy with user authentication for internet access. Therefore I've put a line with my proxy settings into /etc/profiles, but it doesn't work.
I've tried all of these lines:
Code: |
export http_proxy="proxy.comany.net:8080"
export http_proxy="user:password@proxy.company.net:8080"
export http_proxy="user:password@proxy.company.net"
|
and every line again with HTTP_PROXY instead of http_proxy, but I had no luck. The network works fine for the company's network, I'm absolutely sure that the problem is the proxy and/or the authentication at the proxy. DNS also works.
Any ideas?
Btw, there's no ftp proxy, so I'm forced to use http and therefore I've chosen a http-mirror to use in my GENTOO_MIRRORS in /etc/make.conf.
Regards,
Thorsten |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
sobers_2002 Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/83391048742c9f4cf11ba5.jpg)
Joined: 16 Mar 2004 Posts: 1128
|
Posted: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
is the proxy port 8080 or 80?.........in either case u have to specify it.......also if u type this in shell it'll work only for that session, so u might wanna add it to
luck!
Saurabh |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
ThorstenHirsch Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
![](images/avatars/958667743434446a3d71d1.png)
Joined: 25 Sep 2003 Posts: 111
|
Posted: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
As I mentioned, I've put it in /etc/profile, as the gentoo handbook suggests.
Okay, meanwhile I've customized* the FETCHCOMMAND in /etc/make.conf for wget and now I'm able to download packages, so emerge is working well as long as I've a recent portage tree...and that's my next problem: only wget can use my proxy so far. An emerge-webrsync doesn't work either, it doesn't report any errors, but it's running only a few seconds and nothing happens.
*="... --proxy-user=username --proxy-passwd=password ...", and in /etc/profile the line export http_proxy="proxy.company.net:8080" is the right one; it looks like that the syntax with the username and password in /etc/profile isn't supported. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
think4urs11 Bodhisattva
![Bodhisattva Bodhisattva](/images/ranks/rank-bodhisattva.gif)
![](images/avatars/8534934054bad29b51e5fa.jpg)
Joined: 25 Jun 2003 Posts: 6659 Location: above the cloud
|
Posted: Wed Jul 28, 2004 5:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
set username/password for your proxy in /etc/wget/wgetrc
HTH
T. _________________ Nothing is secure / Security is always a trade-off with usability / Do not assume anything / Trust no-one, nothing / Paranoia is your friend / Think for yourself |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
imacomputa n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 05 May 2004 Posts: 18
|
Posted: Wed Jul 28, 2004 8:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi.
I do the same thing, and this is what I do:
export http_proxy="http://username:password@proxy.domain.suffix"
note that I prepend http:// to the proxy url. _________________ Hey kid! I'm a computa'. Stop all the downloadin'. Help computa'. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
To Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/106869468452b5c7dd8e5d.png)
Joined: 12 Apr 2003 Posts: 1145 Location: Coimbra, Portugal
|
Posted: Thu Jul 29, 2004 9:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
That's how I solved my problem at work too.
Tó
imacomputa wrote: | Hi.
I do the same thing, and this is what I do:
export http_proxy="http://username:password@proxy.domain.suffix"
note that I prepend http:// to the proxy url. |
_________________
------------------------------------------------
Linux Gandalf 3.2.35-grsec
Gentoo Base System version 2.2
------------------------------------------------ |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
ThorstenHirsch Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
![](images/avatars/958667743434446a3d71d1.png)
Joined: 25 Sep 2003 Posts: 111
|
Posted: Thu Jul 29, 2004 10:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thx guys and especially to Think4UrS11. With the settings in wgetrc emerge-webrsync is now also working. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
aerotux n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 22 Jan 2004 Posts: 20 Location: Argentina
|
Posted: Fri Jul 30, 2004 8:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
if the mirrors are all ftp://... then it would also help to define ftp_proxy with the same string that http_proxy.
Bye! _________________ --
Tux rules! |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
RayDude Advocate
![Advocate Advocate](/images/ranks/rank-G-1-advocate.gif)
![](images/avatars/132281152442769cccbb403.jpg)
Joined: 29 May 2004 Posts: 2094 Location: San Jose, CA
|
Posted: Thu Sep 23, 2004 5:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
This worked for me too, thanks much!
imacomputa wrote: | Hi.
I do the same thing, and this is what I do:
export http_proxy="http://username:password@proxy.domain.suffix"
note that I prepend http:// to the proxy url. |
_________________ Some day there will only be free software. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|