View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
bingobob Apprentice
Joined: 05 Apr 2004 Posts: 296 Location: Hertfordshire, UK
|
Posted: Fri Sep 17, 2004 4:25 pm Post subject: "mounting" an ftp location |
|
|
Is it possible to "mount" or similar an ftp location. I'm thinking in a similar way that in window$ you can map a network drive. Reason I ask is I have another machine on my network I am constantly ftping stuff to etc, would be nice to just copy stuff to it.
I tried it in Gnome but it didnt work (I found gnome rubbish anyway).
I am now in fluxbox.
gftp works fine but is there a smarter solution? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54817 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Fri Sep 17, 2004 4:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
bingobob,
Can you use nfs?
Then the other location is mapped into your filesystem, like this:-
Code: | /dev/hda10 97403640 31035800 61419824 34% /home
none 518304 0 518304 0% /dev/shm
eccles:/home 1976492 1336592 539496 72% /mnt/eccles
|
eccles:/home is the /home on a remote PC called eccles. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tuxmin l33t
Joined: 24 Apr 2004 Posts: 838 Location: Heidelberg
|
Posted: Fri Sep 17, 2004 5:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Linux automount/autofs has such a feature (but I can't remember if it is read only or not) or have a look at LUFS
The 3rd thing might be suitable is konqueror's ftp plugin on a per user basis -- works really nice.
Hth, Alex!!! _________________ ALT-F4 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tagwar Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 11 Aug 2004 Posts: 147 Location: Karlsruhe
|
Posted: Fri Sep 17, 2004 10:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
there was a program called ftp-mount once, but must be about two years ago or so.
Anyways, can't find it on the net right now, so here's something better.
Two things possible
1) You can use Konqui with the fish:/ kioslave. This is actualy something like doing ftp, but works over ssh, like scp.
2) Even better, since you can realy "mount" your directorys, try a "emerge net-fs/shfs" this is the ssh-fs. Guess that should be a lot like what you're looking for. And it's even secure over the net...
I haven't tried shfs yet, but it looks very promising.It's on my todo... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sobers_2002 Veteran
Joined: 16 Mar 2004 Posts: 1128
|
Posted: Sat Sep 18, 2004 12:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
adding a bit off the topic thing.......since i am noob to this thing(nfs etc).......plz guide me what all i will need to have for this...... Code: | mount -t smbfs -o username=sumit_k,port=139 //bighome.iitb.ac.in/sumit_k /home/cms/big |
this is a facility given to us in insti....i have smbfs built in the kernel but i can't m,ount.......do i need nfs also?? also do i need to emerge samba too?
thnx in adv
Saurabh _________________ Pdict - dockable dictionary client for linux
FREE97WIN: Use this code on Dreamhost and you get $97 off !! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tagwar Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 11 Aug 2004 Posts: 147 Location: Karlsruhe
|
Posted: Sat Sep 18, 2004 5:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
You don't need nfs, but need to emerge samba. That should leave you with all you need. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bingobob Apprentice
Joined: 05 Apr 2004 Posts: 296 Location: Hertfordshire, UK
|
Posted: Sat Sep 18, 2004 7:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
Gone a little OT with all this NFS, samba and ssh talk what not (but interesting none the less). My fault for not being specific enough. The machine in question is a modded xbox which runs an ftp server and it can "read" from samba shares (a samba client i suppose). The ftp server is filezilla on an app called xbmc (its a beautiful thing).
Basically what I'm saying is that the solution needs to be a pure ftp solution.
I will try out konqueror (scuse spelling), sounds the best.
thanks ppl.
bb. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tagwar Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 11 Aug 2004 Posts: 147 Location: Karlsruhe
|
Posted: Sat Sep 18, 2004 8:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
Okay, the ftp-mount thingy I was talking about earlier seems to be obsoleted.. however, there is a new project, doing, I think, exactly what you want..
http://lufs.sourceforge.net/lufs/
hth
Tom |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sobers_2002 Veteran
Joined: 16 Mar 2004 Posts: 1128
|
Posted: Sat Sep 18, 2004 8:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
also will i need to emerge it with ldap use variable??.....'cauz the server is asking 4 authorization(ldap is and pass). _________________ Pdict - dockable dictionary client for linux
FREE97WIN: Use this code on Dreamhost and you get $97 off !! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tagwar Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 11 Aug 2004 Posts: 147 Location: Karlsruhe
|
Posted: Sat Sep 18, 2004 8:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
afaik not, the ldap use flag is only for the server (correct me if i'm wrong..)
Anyways, before doing a complete samba install with ldap enabled, i'd try it without. You can always reemerge samba with USE="ldap" but i'd try without first, for using this use flag will install the complete ldap package on your system. You can use ccache, so if you have to reemerge, it won't be too much of a time wasting...
Tom |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bingobob Apprentice
Joined: 05 Apr 2004 Posts: 296 Location: Hertfordshire, UK
|
Posted: Sat Sep 18, 2004 6:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Just so you know i stopped short of using the full mounting solution. In the end I tried knqueror, and it did the job just fine.
cheers
bb |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Danuvius Guru
Joined: 18 Sep 2004 Posts: 375 Location: Toronto
|
Posted: Sat Sep 18, 2004 7:04 pm Post subject: LUFS on Gentoo |
|
|
LUFS allows you to mount ftp sites onto your local filesystem. The last time I needed this, it involved:
# emerge lufs
# man lufs
... and reading a bit to figure out how exactly call the command "lufsmount" so it does just what you want.
You should probably double-check that this really is the best way (for you, at least) to achieve the ends you seek; mounting ftp sites is entirely possible and quite easy with Gentoo.[/list] |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bingobob Apprentice
Joined: 05 Apr 2004 Posts: 296 Location: Hertfordshire, UK
|
Posted: Sat Sep 18, 2004 9:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
OK OK, you talked me into it!
but then this happened.....
Code: |
checking OS... Linux
checking kernel... 2.6.8-gentoo-r2
checking kernel support... configure: error: 2.6 not supported!
!!! ERROR: sys-fs/lufs-0.9.5 failed.
!!! Function econf, Line 362, Exitcode 1
!!! econf failed
|
oh well..... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Danuvius Guru
Joined: 18 Sep 2004 Posts: 375 Location: Toronto
|
Posted: Sat Sep 18, 2004 9:35 pm Post subject: Kernel 2.6 - Curse of the Bleeding Edge |
|
|
bingobob wrote: |
Code: |
checking OS... Linux
checking kernel... 2.6.8-gentoo-r2
checking kernel support... configure: error: 2.6 not supported!
!!! ERROR: sys-fs/lufs-0.9.5 failed.
!!! Function econf, Line 362, Exitcode 1
!!! econf failed
|
oh well..... |
I think this might be the curse of the bleeding edge...
VMWare also does not seem work under kernel 2.6--that in itself drove me back to 2.4. I guess LUFS is another 2.4-er.
You might still be able to install it manually. The website ( http://lufs.sourceforge.net/lufs/ ) states "fixed 2.6 build issues" (as of v0.9.7 released last year). This suggests to me that the ebuild could be "fixed" as well. (though such things are far outside my expertise) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|