View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
dhewton Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/The Matrix/movie_the_matrix_neo_2.gif)
Joined: 14 Aug 2004 Posts: 461 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:52 pm Post subject: can't get printer to work locally or over network |
|
|
Hi guys,
I have installed KDE on all my team memebers desks, but the 1 thing left that is a big challenge.
I cannot get printing to work. I have cupsd running. It just does not detect the printer locally so therefore I cannot set it to print over the network.
Thanks
Dan _________________ DannyBoy |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
gentoo_dude l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Simpsons/Simpsons_-_Homer.jpg)
Joined: 08 May 2004 Posts: 645 Location: Washington, DC
|
Posted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 7:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Did you configure your parallel port in the kernel? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
dhewton Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/The Matrix/movie_the_matrix_neo_2.gif)
Joined: 14 Aug 2004 Posts: 461 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 8:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
gentoo_dude wrote: | Did you configure your parallel port in the kernel? |
I do believe I did. Is there a way to check? _________________ DannyBoy |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
oumpah-pah Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/743855687425ffcbfe320d.jpg)
Joined: 18 Jul 2004 Posts: 575 Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
|
Posted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
You can check it with:
Code: | grep -i parport /usr/src/linux/.config |
And which method did you use to configure your printer: command line or web interface? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
dhewton Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/The Matrix/movie_the_matrix_neo_2.gif)
Joined: 14 Aug 2004 Posts: 461 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Tue Oct 05, 2004 12:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
oumpah-pah wrote: | You can check it with:
Code: | grep -i parport /usr/src/linux/.config |
And which method did you use to configure your printer: command line or web interface? |
Neither, I just go through the conrol center of kde and do the printer management but it does not detect it.
I did as you said with the above command and this is the output:
grep -i parport /usr/src/linux/.config
CONFIG_PARPORT=m
CONFIG_PARPORT_PC=m
CONFIG_PARPORT_PC_CML1=m
CONFIG_PARPORT_SERIAL=m
CONFIG_PARPORT_PC_FIFO=y
CONFIG_PARPORT_PC_SUPERIO=y
# CONFIG_PARPORT_PC_PCMCIA is not set
# CONFIG_PARPORT_OTHER is not set
CONFIG_PARPORT_1284=y
I would not mind knowing what the command line is, or if there is a simple way to get it up. I tried also through webmin then the swat interface but it just does not detect it. do I need to load the module as it was configured as a module. Perhaps it is not loading the module.
Dan _________________ DannyBoy |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
gentoo_dude l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Simpsons/Simpsons_-_Homer.jpg)
Joined: 08 May 2004 Posts: 645 Location: Washington, DC
|
Posted: Tue Oct 05, 2004 1:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
this is for kernel 2.6.x
Code: |
Device Drivers -> Parallell Port Support ->
<*>Parallel port support
<*> PC-Style Hardware
|
Code: |
Device Drivers -> Character devices ->
<*> Parallel printer support
|
Enable those selections in your kernel. Compile it again. boot from the new image and see if it detects your printer. This is only if you use to connect your printer using the lp0 port, not USB. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
dhewton Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/The Matrix/movie_the_matrix_neo_2.gif)
Joined: 14 Aug 2004 Posts: 461 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Tue Oct 05, 2004 1:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
Can I not just load the modules I have already compiled?
dan _________________ DannyBoy |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
gentoo_dude l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Simpsons/Simpsons_-_Homer.jpg)
Joined: 08 May 2004 Posts: 645 Location: Washington, DC
|
Posted: Tue Oct 05, 2004 2:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
You can, but I know that this way it works. I never tried with the modules. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
dhewton Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/The Matrix/movie_the_matrix_neo_2.gif)
Joined: 14 Aug 2004 Posts: 461 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Tue Oct 05, 2004 2:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
gentoo_dude wrote: | You can, but I know that this way it works. I never tried with the modules. |
So what would I be loading as a module for the printers. I understand nvidia, and other modules, but what is the printermodule called and how do I load it?
Thanks
Dan _________________ DannyBoy |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
gentoo_dude l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Simpsons/Simpsons_-_Homer.jpg)
Joined: 08 May 2004 Posts: 645 Location: Washington, DC
|
Posted: Tue Oct 05, 2004 2:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
That's what I am not sure of. That's why I compile it build in. probably it's lp something.
try the following
the lp module should be under /lib/modules/2.6.x-version/kernel/drivers/char/lp0 |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
oumpah-pah Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/743855687425ffcbfe320d.jpg)
Joined: 18 Jul 2004 Posts: 575 Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
|
Posted: Tue Oct 05, 2004 8:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
You should use modprobe instead of insmod. Insmod is a trivial program, and modprobe is much more clever. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
dhewton Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/The Matrix/movie_the_matrix_neo_2.gif)
Joined: 14 Aug 2004 Posts: 461 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Tue Oct 05, 2004 4:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
gentoo_dude wrote: | That's what I am not sure of. That's why I compile it build in. probably it's lp something.
try the following
the lp module should be under /lib/modules/2.6.x-version/kernel/drivers/char/lp0 |
I have done everything suggested by everyone. I have also added parport to autoloaded modules and it says it got loaded.
Can you tell me how I can from the command line I can activate the printer? Do I need to run cupsd.. I am, but it does not seem to make a difference.
Thanks.
DAn _________________ DannyBoy |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
gentoo_dude l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Simpsons/Simpsons_-_Homer.jpg)
Joined: 08 May 2004 Posts: 645 Location: Washington, DC
|
Posted: Tue Oct 05, 2004 5:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It should get your printer recognized. Check the /var/log/messages and see if it says anything about your printer after you load the modules.
Also the suggestion of using modprobe instead of insmod is correct. I usually use modprobe to load a module, but everywhere I looked on the web about loading these modules had "insmod" command instead of modprobe, that is the reason why I put "insmod". |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|