View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
zambizzi Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/14240361324367f474eab70.jpg)
Joined: 28 Aug 2004 Posts: 581 Location: Boise Idaho
|
Posted: Tue Nov 02, 2004 7:35 pm Post subject: BIND - setup a simple domain |
|
|
I'm having problems w/ BIND, mostly because I'm new to it and not sure if I'm doing this right.
I'm trying to setup a simple domain; manicuremagic.tv
Here's my vhosts in apache:
Code: |
NameVirtualHost manicuremagic.tv:80
<VirtualHost manicuremagic.tv:80>
DocumentRoot /var/www/localhost/htdocs/manicuremagic.tv
ServerName manicuremagic.tv:80
ErrorLog /var/www/localhost/htdocs/manicuremagic.tv/logs/manicuremagic_tv_log
</VirtualHost>
NameVirtualHost www.manicuremagic.tv:80
<VirtualHost www.manicuremagic.tv:80>
DocumentRoot /var/www/localhost/htdocs/manicuremagic.tv
ServerName manicuremagic.tv:80
ErrorLog /var/www/localhost/htdocs/manicuremagic.tv/logs/manicuremagic_tv_log
</VirtualHost>
|
Here's my named.conf entry:
Code: |
zone "manicuremagic.tv" IN {
type master;
file "pri/manicuremagic.tv.zone";
allow-update { none; };
notify no;
};
|
Here's my zone file:
Code: |
$TTL 604800
@ IN SOA manicuremagic.tv. hostmaster.manicuremagic.tv. (
2002081601 ; Serial
28800 ; Refresh
14400 ; Retry
604800 ; Expire - 1 week
86400 ) ; Minimum
IN NS ns1.mbcchosting.com.
IN NS ns2.mbcchosting.com.
IN MX 10 mail.mbcchosting.com.
IN A 204.225.92.134
manicuremaigc.tv IN A 204.225.92.134
www IN CNAME manicuremagic.tv.
|
I tried this w/o the "manicuremaigc.tv IN A 204.225.92.134" line (second from the bottom) but it made no difference.
I can get manicuremagic.tv to work but not www.manicuremagic.tv (it times out)....what am I doing wrong??
Thanks![/b] |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
liber! Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
Joined: 05 Aug 2004 Posts: 123 Location: EU, Antwerp
|
Posted: Tue Nov 02, 2004 7:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
remove the IN before CNAME, then it should work...
Greetings,
Nathan |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
zambizzi Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/14240361324367f474eab70.jpg)
Joined: 28 Aug 2004 Posts: 581 Location: Boise Idaho
|
Posted: Tue Nov 02, 2004 7:45 pm Post subject: nope... |
|
|
liber! wrote: | remove the IN before CNAME, then it should work...
Greetings,
Nathan |
I mentioned in my post that I had tried that and it doesn't work. I just tried again, just to be sure, and it isn't working - you can see for yourself by going to these domains via http. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
DaveArb Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
Joined: 29 Apr 2004 Posts: 510 Location: Texas, USA
|
Posted: Tue Nov 02, 2004 8:57 pm Post subject: Re: BIND - setup a simple domain |
|
|
zambizzi wrote: | Code: |
manicuremaigc.tv IN A 204.225.92.134 |
|
manicuremaigc.tv, or manicuremagic.tv?
Dave |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
zambizzi Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/14240361324367f474eab70.jpg)
Joined: 28 Aug 2004 Posts: 581 Location: Boise Idaho
|
Posted: Tue Nov 02, 2004 9:03 pm Post subject: Re: BIND - setup a simple domain |
|
|
DaveArb wrote: | zambizzi wrote: | Code: |
manicuremaigc.tv IN A 204.225.92.134 |
|
manicuremaigc.tv, or manicuremagic.tv?
Dave |
Argh...dumb spelling error, however, I had already removed that line and it hadn't fixed it.
I put it back in w/ correct spelling, restarted named, and it still doesn't work.
This is maddening!
I've been googling up and down and by all means, it looks like I'm doing it correctly...
The book I have here also says I've got it right... |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
DaveArb Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
Joined: 29 Apr 2004 Posts: 510 Location: Texas, USA
|
Posted: Tue Nov 02, 2004 9:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
On to next then...
Code: | @ IN SOA manicuremagic.tv. hostmaster.manicuremagic.tv. ( |
The "Cricket Book" uses this example (I changed the domain names for standards compliance):
Code: | @ IN SOA terminator.movie.example. al.robocop.movie.example. ( |
With regard to `terminator.movie.example`, they say "is the name of the primary master name server for the movie.example zone." You have listed the domain name, and I haven't the first idea if that's an error or not. My zone master files list a specific host in this field.
Somewhere stuck in my dusty old brain, I want to recall that the right-hand side of a CNAME record needs to be a hostname, you have a domain name listed. Can't find it quickly in the book, and I can't even remember how good my memory used to be, so could easily be mistaken.
It is at least odd looking to me that you don't have any A records for a specific host name. Again don't know if it's an error, but I can't recall ever seeing a zone master that didn't have one.
Dave |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
liber! Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
Joined: 05 Aug 2004 Posts: 123 Location: EU, Antwerp
|
Posted: Tue Nov 02, 2004 10:32 pm Post subject: Re: nope... |
|
|
zambizzi wrote: | liber! wrote: | remove the IN before CNAME, then it should work...
Greetings,
Nathan |
I mentioned in my post that I had tried that and it doesn't work. I just tried again, just to be sure, and it isn't working - you can see for yourself by going to these domains via http. |
No you didn't point it out in your first post...
Quote: | I tried this w/o the "manicuremaigc.tv IN A 204.225.92.134" line (second from the bottom) but it made no difference. | this is about the A record.
But it's okay now...
Nathan |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
zambizzi Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/14240361324367f474eab70.jpg)
Joined: 28 Aug 2004 Posts: 581 Location: Boise Idaho
|
Posted: Tue Nov 02, 2004 11:29 pm Post subject: ahh! |
|
|
Ok, this is really strange, I shut named off and nothing changed...I can still resolve the site w/o the "www", but not with it...just like before.
It would appear named was never interacting w/ Apache to begin with, what's going on here? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
liber! Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
Joined: 05 Aug 2004 Posts: 123 Location: EU, Antwerp
|
Posted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 12:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
Don't forget dns is cached on all servers, so it might take a wile before you see your new changes. But if you see on the same server still the old version, there is something wrong.
And yes, bind and apache don't interact.
And also your apache vhost settings I would do them different...
Code: |
NameVirtualHost 204.225.92.134:80
<VirtualHost 204.225.92.134:80>
DocumentRoot /var/www/localhost/htdocs/manicuremagic.tv
ServerName manicuremagic.tv
ServerAlias www
ErrorLog /var/www/localhost/htdocs/manicuremagic.tv/logs/manicuremagic_tv_log
</VirtualHost>
|
It is no use creating 2 virtualhosts if you only need one alias.
B.T.W. Checking directly on your dns server gives me this (I bypased the slow isp caches with the @). It means that your zone isn't loaded in named. Did you do a rndc reload (not just a rndc reload zone)?
Code: |
nathan@socrates nathan $ dig manicuremagic.tv @204.225.92.134
; <<>> DiG 9.2.3 <<>> manicuremagic.tv @204.225.92.134
;; global options: printcmd
;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached
nathan@socrates nathan $
|
Hope I helped,
Nathan |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
zambizzi Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/14240361324367f474eab70.jpg)
Joined: 28 Aug 2004 Posts: 581 Location: Boise Idaho
|
Posted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 12:21 am Post subject: ....... |
|
|
Ok, here's what I did, I started fresh with a domain that has been pointing to my domain servers for a LONG time but was never configured, I'm having the same problem.
I registered two domain name servers w/ go daddy, they are:
ns1.mbcchosting.com
ns2.mbcchosting.com
...both point to 204.225.92.134 (I was asked to do it this way, don't point at me )
Here is the vhost entry for mbcchosting.com:
Code: |
NameVirtualHost mbcchosting.com:80
<VirtualHost 204.225.92.134:80>
DocumentRoot /var/www/localhost/htdocs/mbcchosting.com
ServerName mbcchosting.com
ServerAlias www
ErrorLog /var/www/localhost/htdocs/mbcchosting.com/logs/mbcchosting_com_log
</VirtualHost>
|
...and the named.conf entry:
Code: |
zone "mbcchosting.com" IN {
type master;
file "pri/mbcchosting.com.zone";
allow-update { none; };
notify no;
};
|
...and the zone record:
Code: |
$TTL 604800
@ IN SOA mbcchosting.com. hostmaster.mbcchosting.com. (
2002081601 ; Serial
28800 ; Refresh
14400 ; Retry
604800 ; Expire - 1 week
86400 ) ; Minimum
IN NS ns1.mbcchosting.com.
IN MX 10 mail.mbcchosting.com.
IN A 204.225.92.134
www IN CNAME 204.225.93.134
|
Again, the exact same results...doesn't work w/ "www".
I might just go sit in the corner and freak out for a while... ![Shocked 8O](images/smiles/icon_eek.gif) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
zambizzi Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/14240361324367f474eab70.jpg)
Joined: 28 Aug 2004 Posts: 581 Location: Boise Idaho
|
Posted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 1:26 am Post subject: pinga |
|
|
When I ssh into the server and try to ping my nameservers (ns1.mbcchosting.com and ns2...) I get "ping: unknown host ns1.mbcchosting.com"...and the same for ns2.
Does this tell anyone anything?
It's odd because I can ping them from my local box and from another remote (windows) server on a different network......
![Question :?:](images/smiles/icon_question.gif) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
zambizzi Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/14240361324367f474eab70.jpg)
Joined: 28 Aug 2004 Posts: 581 Location: Boise Idaho
|
Posted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 4:55 am Post subject: Meanwhile...back at the ranch.... |
|
|
Ok, here's where I'm at. I can get mbcchosting.com and www.mbcchosting.com to work, both pointing to the correct directory.
I can get manicuremagic.tv and manicure-magic.com to work but both of those with "www" in front of them is broken!
Summary (bold = incorrect):
mbcchosting.com -> mbcchosting.com
www.mbcchosting.com -> mbcchosting.com
manicuremagic.tv -> manicuremagic.tv
www.manicuremagic.tv -> mbcchosting.com
manicure-magic.com -> manicure-magic.com
www.manicure-magic.com -> DEAD, GOES NOWHERE
Remember, ns1.mbcchosting.com & ns2.mbcchosting.com are my name servers, both registered with the IP 204.225.92.134
Here's my vhosts.conf:
Code: |
#mbcchosting.com
NameVirtualHost 204.225.92.134:80
<VirtualHost 204.225.92.134:80>
DocumentRoot /var/www/localhost/htdocs/mbcchosting.com
ServerName mbcchosting.com
ServerAlias www
ErrorLog /var/www/localhost/htdocs/mbcchosting.com/logs/mbcchosting_com_log
</VirtualHost>
#manicuremagic.tv
NameVirtualHost 204.225.92.134:80
<VirtualHost 204.225.92.134:80>
DocumentRoot /var/www/localhost/htdocs/manicuremagic.tv
ServerName manicuremagic.tv
ServerAlias www
ErrorLog /var/www/localhost/htdocs/manicuremagic.tv/logs/manicuremagic_tv_log
</VirtualHost>
#manicure-magic.com
NameVirtualHost 204.225.92.134:80
<VirtualHost 204.225.92.134:80>
DocumentRoot /var/www/localhost/htdocs/manicure-magic.com
ServerName manicure-magic.com
ServerAlias www
ErrorLog /var/www/localhost/htdocs/manicure-magic.com/logs/manicure-magic_com_log
</VirtualHost>
|
...named.conf
Code: |
options {
directory "/var/bind";
// uncomment the following lines to turn on DNS forwarding,
// and change the forwarding ip address(es) :
//forward first;
//forwarders {
// 123.123.123.123;
// 123.123.123.123;
//};
listen-on-v6 { none; };
listen-on { 127.0.0.1; 204.225.92.134; 204.225.92.135; 204.225.92.137; };
// to allow only specific hosts to use the DNS server:
//allow-query {
// 127.0.0.1;
//};
// if you have problems and are behind a firewall:
//query-source address * port 53;
pid-file "/var/run/named/named.pid";
};
zone "." IN {
type hint;
file "named.ca";
};
zone "localhost" IN {
type master;
file "pri/localhost.zone";
allow-update { none; };
notify no;
};
zone "127.in-addr.arpa" IN {
type master;
file "pri/127.zone";
allow-update { none; };
notify no;
};
//primary domain for entire server mbcchosting.com
zone "mbcchosting.com" IN {
type master;
file "pri/mbcchosting.com.zone";
allow-update { none; };
notify no;
};
//primary domain for entire server manicuremagic.tv
zone "manicuremagic.tv" IN {
type master;
file "pri/manicuremagic.tv.zone";
allow-update { none; };
notify no;
};
//primary domain for entire server manicure-magic.com
zone "manicure-magic.com" IN {
type master;
file "pri/manicure-magic.com.zone";
allow-update { none; };
notify no;
};
|
...mbcchosting.com, manicuremagic.tv, and manicure-magic.com zone files, respectively. You'll notice where I added ns1 and ns2 for mbcchosting.com (not even sure if this is correct?)
Code: |
$TTL 604800
@ IN SOA mbcchosting.com. hostmaster.mbcchosting.com. (
2002081601 ; Serial
28800 ; Refresh
14400 ; Retry
604800 ; Expire - 1 week
86400 ) ; Minimum
IN NS ns1.mbcchosting.com.
IN NS ns2.mbcchosting.com.
IN MX 10 mail.mbcchosting.com.
IN A 204.225.92.134
ns1 IN A 204.225.92.134
ns2 IN A 204.225.92.134
www IN A 204.225.92.134
|
Code: |
$TTL 604800
@ IN SOA manicuremagic.tv. hostmaster.manicuremagic.tv. (
2002081601 ; Serial
28800 ; Refresh
14400 ; Retry
604800 ; Expire - 1 week
86400 ) ; Minimum
IN NS ns1.mbcchosting.com.
IN NS ns2.mbcchosting.com.
IN MX 10 mail.manicuremagic.tv.
IN A 204.225.92.134
www IN A 204.225.92.134
|
Code: |
$TTL 604800
@ IN SOA manicure-magic.com. hostmaster.manicure-magic.com. (
2002081601 ; Serial
28800 ; Refresh
14400 ; Retry
604800 ; Expire - 1 week
86400 ) ; Minimum
IN NS ns1.mbcchosting.com.
IN NS ns2.mbcchosting.com.
IN MX 10 mail.manicure-magic.com.
IN A 204.225.92.134
www IN A 204.225.93.134
|
I keep reading about using CNAME records for www but what would I point them to??
I'm at a complete standstill and I have no idea what to do to make this work. I can't find any literature telling me that this is incorrect but I also can't find anything specific to setting up your own DNS servers and then trying to host sites on them like I've done here.
If someone could please post some examples of this type of example that works, it would be GREATLY appreciated!!
Thanks again everyone! |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
MrBlc n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 16 Mar 2004 Posts: 30
|
Posted: Wed Nov 10, 2004 5:08 pm Post subject: hmm.. |
|
|
From what i can see, there's a reason why you didn't get this working..
I'm trying to teach myself DNS nowadays, and from the examples i can see, this line is wrong:
Code: |
www IN A 204.225.92.134
|
as liber! posted in the first response.. (although a bit cryptic, and from what i can see, also misunderstood by you...)
The correct line would be:
Code: |
www A 204.225.92.134
|
hope that solves your issues.. (it should..)
-lordblc[/code] |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|