Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Wireless card associates, but won't get dhcp or ping
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
maserding
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Feb 2004
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Sun Jan 02, 2005 9:40 pm    Post subject: Wireless card associates, but won't get dhcp or ping Reply with quote

Hello,

I have a cisco 350 wireless card, it will scan for AP's and associate with the correct one. But when I try to get an IP via dhcp, or even set the IP manually then ping the router, it won't work.

Any ideas?

Thanks!
Jordan Wilberding
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pem
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2004
Posts: 390
Location: France

PostPosted: Sun Jan 02, 2005 10:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What are the results of iwconfig?
_________________
Registered user #30505
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
maserding
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Feb 2004
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2005 4:24 am    Post subject: iwconfig results Reply with quote

Code:

bash-2.05b# iwconfig
lo        no wireless extensions.

eth0      no wireless extensions.

eth1      IEEE 802.11-DS  ESSID:"fightwardrivingnotwardrivings"
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.442 GHz  Access Point: 00:80:C8:15:54:73
          Bit Rate:11 Mb/s   Tx-Power=20 dBm   Sensitivity=0/65535
          Retry limit:16   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality=53/10  Signal level=-50 dBm  Noise level=-77 dBm
          Rx invalid nwid:17  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:11232   Missed beacon:0

wifi0     IEEE 802.11-DS  ESSID:"fightwardrivingnotwardrivings"
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.442 GHz  Access Point: 00:80:C8:15:54:73
          Bit Rate:11 Mb/s   Tx-Power=20 dBm   Sensitivity=0/65535
          Retry limit:16   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality=53/10  Signal level=-50 dBm  Noise level=-77 dBm
          Rx invalid nwid:17  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:11232   Missed beacon:0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pem
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2004
Posts: 390
Location: France

PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2005 7:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mines are:
Code:
iwconfig
lo        no wireless extensions.

dummy0    no wireless extensions.

wlan0     IEEE 802.11g  ESSID:"cheriland" 
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.437 GHz  Access Point: 00:06:25:EA:87:E0   
          Bit Rate:54 Mb/s   Tx-Power:13 dBm   
          RTS thr:2347 B   Fragment thr:2346 B   
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality:100/100  Signal level:-44 dBm  Noise level:-256 dBm
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:11  Invalid misc:1848   Missed beacon:0

sit0      no wireless extensions.

So, as you see mines are called wlan0 and only show once. Yours are duplicated (or maybe aliased). This may be tricking the Gentoo's configuration files. I assume your eth0 is an already configured card.

Anyway, let us try to toy a bit with them. If I check my net config, it gives me:
Code:
ifconfig
lo        Lien encap:Boucle locale 
          inet adr:127.0.0.1  Masque:255.0.0.0
          adr inet6: ::1/128 Scope:Hôte
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:258 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:258 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 lg file transmission:0
          RX bytes:18574 (18.1 Kb)  TX bytes:18574 (18.1 Kb)

wlan0     Lien encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0C:41:13:C5:5C 
          inet adr:192.168.1.111  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Masque:255.255.255.0
          adr inet6: fe80::20c:41ff:fe13:c55c/64 Scope:Lien
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:1824 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:1421 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 lg file transmission:1000
          RX bytes:2028830 (1.9 Mb)  TX bytes:116846 (114.1 Kb)
          Interruption:19 Mémoire:dfffe000-dfffffff

Could you try to set manually an IP address to your card direclty via ifconfig and feedback your results?
Code:
ifconfig wifi0 down
ifconfig wifi0 192.168.1.10 up
ifconfig

EDITED NOTE
Your issue is maybe only a routing problem but I would like to check few things before playing with traceroute.
_________________
Registered user #30505
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
maserding
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Feb 2004
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2005 1:41 am    Post subject: Here are my ifconfig results Reply with quote

I tried it both with eth1 and wifi0, here you go, thanks for the help so far by the way!

Code:

bash-2.05b# ifconfig
lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:10 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:10 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:652 (652.0 b)  TX bytes:652 (652.0 b)

bash-2.05b# ifconfig eth1 192.168.0.105 up
bash-2.05b# ifconfig
eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0C:CE:5A:53:EC
          inet addr:192.168.0.105  Bcast:192.168.0.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:54 errors:23 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:23
          TX packets:1 errors:3 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:48 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:16979 (16.5 Kb)  TX bytes:782 (782.0 b)
          Interrupt:5 Base address:0x100

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:10 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:10 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:652 (652.0 b)  TX bytes:652 (652.0 b)

bash-2.05b# ifconfig eth1 down
bash-2.05b# ifconfig wifi0  192.168.0.105 up
bash-2.05b# ifconfig
lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:10 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:10 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:652 (652.0 b)  TX bytes:652 (652.0 b)

wifi0     Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 00-0C-CE-5A-53-EC-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
          inet addr:192.168.0.105  Bcast:192.168.0.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:2312  Metric:1
          RX packets:61 errors:45 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:45
          TX packets:1 errors:3 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:48 txqueuelen:100
          RX bytes:19205 (18.7 Kb)  TX bytes:782 (782.0 b)
          Interrupt:5 Base address:0x100

bash-2.05b#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pem
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2004
Posts: 390
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2005 7:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

According to your first ifconfig, I guess I can say that it's not a routing issue ... :wink: .
maserding wrote:
Code:
wifi0     Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 00-0C-CE-5A-53-EC-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
          inet addr:192.168.0.105  Bcast:192.168.0.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:2312  Metric:1
          RX packets:61 errors:45 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:45
          TX packets:1 errors:3 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:48 txqueuelen:100
          RX bytes:19205 (18.7 Kb)  TX bytes:782 (782.0 b)
          Interrupt:5 Base address:0x100

I'm more concerned about the Link encap et HWaddr. It seems to me that you're working on IPV6 (I'm on IPV4 but I've seen these kind of value assigned once).
Just as a reference value here's mine:
Code:
ifconfig
lo        Lien encap:Boucle locale 
          inet adr:127.0.0.1  Masque:255.0.0.0
          adr inet6: ::1/128 Scope:Hôte
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:121 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:121 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 lg file transmission:0
          RX bytes:11730 (11.4 Kb)  TX bytes:11730 (11.4 Kb)

wlan0     Lien encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0C:41:13:C5:5C 
          inet adr:192.168.1.111  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Masque:255.255.255.0
          adr inet6: fe80::20c:41ff:fe13:c55c/64 Scope:Lien
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:1339 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:1384 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 lg file transmission:1000
          RX bytes:899561 (878.4 Kb)  TX bytes:141278 (137.9 Kb)
          Interruption:19 Mémoire:dfffe000-dfffffff

I hope that rings a bell.
_________________
Registered user #30505
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
maserding
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Feb 2004
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2005 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

I shouldn't be using IPv6, that is why I was wondering why wifi0 uses that as a HW Addr, but eth1 does not(they are both pointing to the same thing)?

Also, I am wondering, why are there so many TX/RX errors?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pem
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2004
Posts: 390
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2005 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm a bit dry ... What I still don't get is why your interface is not called wlan0 but wifi0 and why there's an alias set to eth1? I'm checking my conf files trying to get some relevant info on this.
_________________
Registered user #30505
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
maserding
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Feb 2004
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2005 9:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The weird thing is, this card worked on my laptop at one point, about 3 months or so ago. But I went through a few different kernels since then, and a total gentoo reinstall, and when I went to try the card again it doesn't work, it works on other laptops though. So I am just dumbfounded.

Using the card with the gentoo livecd names it was wifi0/eth0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pem
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2004
Posts: 390
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2005 7:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

:idea: By the way, did you check your /var/log/messages when you raise the network?
_________________
Registered user #30505
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum