Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Can't connect to the net
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
xburritox
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jan 2005
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2005 11:42 pm    Post subject: Can't connect to the net Reply with quote

Alright my set up is

Modem - router - pc

I set eth0="dhcp"

but on boot I get an error:
Code:

ERROR: Problem starting needed services!
netmount was not started.


Now a known issue before I installed gentoo was that my router would get the same ip as my modem which would cause conflict not letting me connect to the net, I dont know if this could be the issue. Although my other pc and xbox are connected to the internet :x. When I put in the livecd I can connect to the internet fine as well ><;


Last edited by xburritox on Fri Jan 07, 2005 12:28 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xburritox
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jan 2005
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 12:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

also

Code:
ifconfig eth0

returns: no device found @ eth0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jerri
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Apr 2003
Posts: 353

PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 12:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

does your kernel recognized your network card?

perhaps you forgot to compile the correct driver...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xburritox
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jan 2005
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 1:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay I checked and the livecd recognizes it Im not sure on how to get the kernel to, I did compile the kernel with the ethernet card that was pre selected. Someone help plss :(

ifconfig says:
lo is found
but not
eth0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jerri
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Apr 2003
Posts: 353

PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 3:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, you have to ensure that you have selected the correct driver for you particular network card, below is an example of what menuconfig looks like for my setup (under device drivers / networking support / Ethernet (10 or 100Mbit) )

if you selected to compile the driver as a module, remeber to put the name of it in /etc/modules.autoload/kernel-2.6

in my case, i compiled it right into the kernel, so i don't have to bother.


you can also try 'lsmod' to see which modules were loaded when booting from the live cd, this might give you an indication of driver is required..


Code:

[*] Ethernet (10 or 100Mbit)                                 
< >   Generic Media Independent Interface device support     
< >   Sun Happy Meal 10/100baseT support                                 
< >   Sun GEM support                                                           
[ ]   3COM cards                                                   
      Tulip family network device support  --->                       
< > HP 10/100VG PCLAN (ISA, EISA, PCI) support   
[*] EISA, VLB, PCI and on board controllers               
< >   AMD PCnet32 PCI support                               
< >   AMD 8111 (new PCI lance) support                   
< >   Adaptec Starfire/DuraLAN support                     
< >   Broadcom 4400 ethernet support (EXPERIMENTAL)   
<*>   Reverse Engineered nForce Ethernet support (EXPERIMENTAL)                                           
< >   Digi Intl. RightSwitch SE-X support                                             
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xburritox
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jan 2005
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 4:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

8139too was what lsmod said for my eth0, but when I compile that driver with gentoo the same thing still happens, I can't connect :/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jerri
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Apr 2003
Posts: 353

PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 7:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I gather that you tried compiling the driver as a module and then inserted the module into your kernel without errors,
(lsmod reports 8319too)

you then try

Code:
dhcpcd eth0


but you are still unable to assign an ip address to eth0 ?

well, i'm making some serious assumptions that your router even using dhcp... perhaps thats a problem, but then you said it works properly when you boot the livecd.

Its hard to offer more addvice, when your post lacks details.. try and explain with more detail, then we might get somewhere.

Also, there are about a half million posts on this exact subject... get friendly with the search.

One more thing, have you started /etc/init.d/net.eth0 ?

have you configured /etc/conf.d/net properly... you said you have eth0="dhcp"

I might be mistaken, but i think the line in /etc/conf.d/net should be
Code:
iface_eth0="dhcp"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tblock
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jan 2005
Posts: 7
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 10:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
ERROR: Problem starting needed services!
netmount was not started.


I had this one too when instlalling 2004.3. I have a setup the same as yours.

Check the line above your error. I got something about dhcpcd not being a file or directory. You need to boot with the live cd (to get your network working) and do an
Code:
#emerge dhcpdcd


I read in an earlier post that dhcpd was included in the system package for 2004.2 but not in 2004.3 so that dialup users didnt have to download packages they didnt need. This is probably why it is not yet in the handbook.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShiftyEyes
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jan 2005
Posts: 20
Location: Champaign, IL

PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2005 4:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also have this problem, but mine has DHCP installed. I am pretty sure it's something with the driver, but I'm a Linux noob and I don't know how to install the driver I need (Windows uses "Realtek RTL8169/8110 Family Gigabit Ethernet NIC"). Another thread I found by searching mentions the menuconfig thing but I thought I had to recompile the Kernel if I changed that... I'd rather not recompile the kernel :) . It's been a battle to get this far, and now I've kinda hit a brick wall. Any advice?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Duck-Billed Platypus
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Jun 2003
Posts: 576
Location: Los Angeles, California, United States of America

PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2005 5:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

compiling kernels are not that hard. you just have to get used to it. and make menuconfig is rather straightforward, so if you mess up you can always exit and not save changes.
_________________
Dentists are evil.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShiftyEyes
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jan 2005
Posts: 20
Location: Champaign, IL

PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2005 5:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What else would I have to do again after recompiling the kernel? Would I need to reinstall grub or anything else? Or would I just make menuconfig, compile the kernel, and copy it to the boot drive?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Duck-Billed Platypus
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Jun 2003
Posts: 576
Location: Los Angeles, California, United States of America

PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2005 5:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yup that should be it. if you compile it as a module of course youll have to load it somehow.
_________________
Dentists are evil.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum