Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
USB Hard Drive mount [solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nirax
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jul 2004
Posts: 319
Location: Germany, old Europe

PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2004 10:26 am    Post subject: USB Hard Drive mount [solved] Reply with quote

Hi all,

i bought a Western Digital USB 2.0 External 200gb Hard Drive and want to use it under gentoo also not only under win2k.
I compiled USB support and SCSI in Kernel. The drive is also found correctly
fdisk -l shows the drive but upon trying to mount it i get an error message.
please see the messages, maybe someone figures out the problem:

Code:

Disk /dev/sda: 200.0 GB, 200049647616 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 24321 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1               1       24321   195358401    c  W95 FAT32 (LBA)
dinu root # mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/dosc/
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/sda1,
       or too many mounted file systems
dinu root # mount -t vfat /dev/sda1 /mnt/dosc/
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/sda1,
       or too many mounted file systems



dmesg | grep usb* gives following output:

Code:

Linux version 2.6.9-gentoo-r1 (root@dinu) (gcc version 3.3.4 20040623 (Gentoo Linux 3.3.4-r1, ssp-3.3.2-2, pie-8.7.6)) #2 SMP Sun Nov 14 21:10:16 Local time zone must be set--see zic
 BIOS-e820: 0000000000000000 - 00000000000a0000 (usable)
 BIOS-e820: 0000000000100000 - 000000003fff0000 (usable)
ACPI: INT_SRC_OVR (bus 0 bus_irq 0 global_irq 2 dfl dfl)
ACPI: INT_SRC_OVR (bus 0 bus_irq 9 global_irq 9 high level)
ACPI: IRQ0 used by override.
ACPI: IRQ2 used by override.
ACPI: IRQ9 used by override.
per-CPU timeslice cutoff: 1462.71 usecs.
PCI: PCI BIOS revision 2.10 entry at 0xfb770, last bus=3
PCI: Probing PCI hardware (bus 00)
usbcore: registered new driver usbfs
usbcore: registered new driver hub
mice: PS/2 mouse device common for all mice
ide: Assuming 33MHz system bus speed for PIO modes; override with idebus=xx
hda: cache flushes not supported
 /dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0: p1
hdd: cache flushes supported
 /dev/ide/host0/bus1/target1/lun0: p1 p2 p3
usbcore: registered new driver usblp
drivers/usb/class/usblp.c: v0.13: USB Printer Device Class driver
usbcore: registered new driver usb-storage
usbcore: registered new driver usbhid
drivers/usb/input/hid-core.c: v2.0:USB HID core driver
usbcore: registered new driver hci_usb
intel8x0_measure_ac97_clock: measured 49294 usecs
oprofile: using NMI interrupt.
Freeing unused kernel memory: 220k freed
ohci1394: fw-host0: SelfID received outside of bus reset sequence
ohci_hcd 0000:00:02.0: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 1
ohci_hcd 0000:00:02.1: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 2
agpgart: Maximum main memory to use for agp memory: 816M
usb 1-1: new full speed USB device using address 2
usb 1-2: new low speed USB device using address 3
input: USB HID v1.00 Mouse [Microsoft Microsoft IntelliMouse� Explorer] on usb-0000:00:02.0-2
usb 2-3: new full speed USB device using address 2
 /dev/scsi/host0/bus0/target0/lun0: p1


does someone has an idea how to successfully mount the drive ?

thanks in advance for any help.

greetings,
nirax
_________________
quot licet iovi non licet bovi


Last edited by nirax on Fri Dec 31, 2004 10:27 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54799
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2004 12:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nirax,

I had something similar, it was because the codepage containg the symbol set the filesystem uses was not loaded/built. The defualt is codepage 437 but you may choose any available by using
Code:
 -o codepage=nnn
at mount time.
Check your kernel config to see what you built.
Using strange codepages will cause incorrect symbols to be displayed in filenames.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nirax
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jul 2004
Posts: 319
Location: Germany, old Europe

PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2004 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi,
thanks for the reply !
i checked my current kernel config and found out to use the standard:

Code:


#
# DOS/FAT/NT Filesystems
#
CONFIG_FAT_FS=y
CONFIG_MSDOS_FS=y
CONFIG_VFAT_FS=y
CONFIG_FAT_DEFAULT_CODEPAGE=437
CONFIG_FAT_DEFAULT_IOCHARSET="iso8859-1"
CONFIG_NTFS_FS=y
# CONFIG_NTFS_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_NTFS_RW=y



seems perfectly ok for me

mounting was tried using

mount -t vfat /dev/sda1 /mnt/dosc -o codepage=437

greetings,
nirax
_________________
quot licet iovi non licet bovi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pgf
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Dec 2004
Posts: 121
Location: Toronto, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2004 8:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Possibly a stupid question, but you didn't say for sure: does the disk have a filesystem on it? You can't mount it until it does. Have you formatted it under Windows or done the UN*X equivalent (mkfs)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54799
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2004 9:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nirax,

That config entry tells vfat what to use by default. You also have to choose to make that codepage under Native Language Support, a little further down the config.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nirax
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jul 2004
Posts: 319
Location: Germany, old Europe

PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2004 10:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi Neddy,

that was the solution.
my NLS codepage was 850.
with
mount -t vfat /dev/sda1 /mnt/usbhd -o codepage=850
it worked flawless !

thanks pgf also for reply, hd was formatted.

thanks all and happy new year !!

greetings,
nirax
_________________
quot licet iovi non licet bovi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RockChops
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jul 2004
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2005 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello all,

I have an external HDD as well and I've managed to mount it so far. Or at least half of it. It is a 120 GB drive partitioned into two 60 GB parts, both NTFS, since I'm a loser and started out with winXP.

I have two problems really. First, I cannot change the permision of the directory where I mounted it using chmod.

I mounted it with
Code:
 mount -t ntfs /dev/sda1 /mnt/usbdrv


and when I try chmod -ing it I get
Code:
chmod -v 555 usbdrv/
failed to change mode of `usbdrv/' to 0555 (r-xr-xr-x)
chmod: changing permissions of `usbdrv/': Read-only file system


I realize NTFS is read only, I compiled that feature into my kernel (2.6.1). but all I'm asking it for is read and execute permissions.

I even tried umask and that seems to do nothing as well.

of course, my other problem is how do I mount the second partition? mounting sda1 only mounts one of the partitions.

any help appreciated!
Thank you very much for your help in advance! :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pgf
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Dec 2004
Posts: 121
Location: Toronto, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2005 9:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After the filesystem is mounted RO the chmod will not work, as you have found out. I have never tried executing files from an NTFS partition, but you will need t make sure that you use the "exec" option when you mount it. The man page says that is the default, but try it explicitly.

If your first partition is at /dev/sda1, then the second should be at /dev/sda2. If there are "hidden" partitions you are unaware of, then it may be sda3, sda4, etc.

You should be able to see the partitions by doing "fdisk -l /dev/sda"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RockChops
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jul 2004
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2005 9:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

awesome, thanks pgf! :) :) :)

I got the permissions working right, by modeling it after my fstab line which mounts my windows partition (which is still a mystery as to why ONLY this set of options works :? )

Code:
mount -t ntfs -o noatime,umask=022 /dev/sda1 /mnt/usbdrv/


and you were also correct about sda2

Thank you so much once again! :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum