Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
DHCPCD timeout using madwifi & wpa_supplicant
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bryanb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jan 2005
Posts: 16
Location: Brissel, UK

PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2005 11:37 am    Post subject: DHCPCD timeout using madwifi & wpa_supplicant Reply with quote

Hi,

I am using a D-Link DWL-G650 to connect my Tecra 8100 to a safecom SWBR-5400 wireless router. Everything worked fine with no encryption using the madwifi driver (just to test it worked!), but now that I have merged and setup wpa_supplicant the DHCPCD client hits the timeout (1 minute A.T.M.) 'waiting for a valid DHCP response from the server'

Any ideas? Config file snippets as follows...

/etc/conf.d/net
Code:

#-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
# WIRELESS (802.11 support)
# Wireless can be provided by iwconfig or wpa_supplicant
...
...
# wpa_supplicant
# emerge net-wireless/wpa-supplicant
# Wireless options are held in /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
# Consult the sample file /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf.example for instructions
# To choose wpa_supplicant over iwconfig
modules=( "wpa_supplicant" )
# To configure wpa_supplicant
wpa_supplicant_ath0="-dddd -Dmadwifi" # For Atheros based cards
# Consult wpa_supplicant for more drivers
# By default we give wpa_suppliant 60 seconds to associate and authenticate
wpa_timeout_ath0=60


/etc/conf.d/wireless
Code:

# You can also override the interface settings found in /etc/conf.d/net
# per ESSID - which is very handy if you use different networks a lot
config_brewery=( "dhcp" )
dhcpcd_brewery="-d -S -t 60"


(EDIT - I have tried with and without the dhcpcd -S and -r switches)

/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
Code:

network={
        ssid="brewery"
        proto=WPA
        key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
        #psk="A3c5B10g9C6b5E5f9B"
        psk=9B6DCEB83DD838E042E0DDC61fA7A9C9574005DEB1995B7863E3CA9DF6763C1E
        pairwise=CCMP TKIP
        group=CCMP TKIP WEP104 WEP40
        priority=2
}


I have check the PSK and it matches on the router, and as far as I can tell wpa_supplicant is starting up fine. The only debug info I get from DHCPCD is the mac address before it times out.

I have these merged :

* net-wireless/madwifi-driver
Latest version installede: 0.1_pre20050106
* net-wireless/madwifi-tools
Latest version installed: 0.1_pre20050106
* net-wireless/wpa_supplicant
Latest version installed: 0.3.3
* sys-apps/baselayout
Latest version installed: 1.11.8

The base layout has the patch from this bug applied...

https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=74637

Another interesting side effect is that once this has failed my router is locked up and refuses to route for an wired machine already setup, I have to turn it off/on to get it working again! :roll:

Thanks in advance for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2005 1:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try using another dhcp client - we support 3 others :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bryanb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jan 2005
Posts: 16
Location: Brissel, UK

PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2005 3:48 pm    Post subject: DHCPCD timeout using madwifi & wpa_supplicant Reply with quote

Ha, typical! I had merged udhcp last night - I thought I had tried it, but in my sleepiness I must have not :oops:

Sending this using wireless, thanks UberLord. One last question tho :

I have this in my /etc/conf.d/wireless (forgot to include it in my last post)

Code:

preferred_aps=( "brewery" )
associate_order="any"


I thought this would mean that the scripts would attempt to connect to 'brewery' before anything else.
However, i have connected and gained an IP address :

Code:

kronenbourg ~ # ifconfig ath0
ath0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0F:3D:A9:A4:0C
          inet addr:192.168.2.9  Bcast:192.168.2.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:100 errors:257 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:257
          TX packets:114 errors:42 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:199
          RX bytes:74875 (73.1 Kb)  TX bytes:12669 (12.3 Kb)
          Interrupt:11 Memory:d0e80000-d0e90000

kronenbourg ~ # iwconfig ath0
ath0      IEEE 802.11g  ESSID:"belkin54g"  Nickname:"belkin54g"
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.462 GHz  Access Point: 00:11:50:3D:BF:E9
          Bit Rate:36 Mb/s   Tx-Power:50 dBm   Sensitivity=0/3
          Retry:off   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality=2/94  Signal level=-93 dBm  Noise level=-95 dBm
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:42  Invalid misc:42   Missed beacon:9


This is telling me I have connected to my neighbours (presumably unsecure) access point, isn't it? What should I do to force connection to 'brewery' before any other available APs?

Cheers, Bry.

Better see if I can find out whose got the unsecure AP too (maybe)
:twisted:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bryanb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jan 2005
Posts: 16
Location: Brissel, UK

PostPosted: Sun Jan 09, 2005 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Right, it appears the reason that udhcpc was working was because it was attaching to an alternative AP. I've set it to only use the preferred (my) AP and now udhcp fails with 'No lease, failing'.

Time for a web-browse methinks...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2005 9:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That sounds like it's either refusing a connect to your AP or there's a problem with your DHCP server.

Try setting RC_VERBOSE=yes in /etc/conf.d/rc and seeing what happens - you get a more detailed output when starting net.ethx scripts.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bryanb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jan 2005
Posts: 16
Location: Brissel, UK

PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2005 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bah! Have managed to break my installation after updating to kernel 2.6.10 (really should try fixing one thing at a time) The wireless networking will have to go hiatus f.t.m. :cry:

No doubt I'll be hassling you over this in about a weeks time...thanks for your time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2005 10:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please note that wpa_supplicant uses it's own configuration - /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf

It does not use anything from /etc/conf.d/wireless
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bryanb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jan 2005
Posts: 16
Location: Brissel, UK

PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2005 4:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm, I knew that wpa_suplicant had its own configuration file - I was assuming that both the conf.d/wireless and wpa_supplicant.conf would need to be configure for my wirelss to work correctly, is this not the case? Do I only need wpa_supplicant.conf?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Fri Jan 14, 2005 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bryanb wrote:
Do I only need wpa_supplicant.conf?


Yes

You can configure network settings per ESSID though
Code:
config_WPA_AccessPoint=( "192.168.0.2/24" )


for example - but blacklisting, preferred_aps, etc have zero affect
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mOjO_420
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jun 2003
Posts: 71
Location: Suburbs of Chicago, IL, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2005 8:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

same exact issue here...

btw to bryanb,
(theres a patch for 2.6.10-r4 on the forums somewhere to get madwifi drivers working again, i didnt bookmark it though)
although i get kernel panics every now and then so i'm probably going to go back to latest 2.6.9 until a new madwifi ver. comes out.

but about this dhcp thing...
starting wpa_supplicant init script works fine but i then have to type 'dhcpcd ath0' and it pulls an IP fine. i have the exact same card DWL-G650 (but a DWL-2100AP) and the drivers get loaded by hotplug just fine. i've got latest masked baselayout version.

i'll try setting debug option in /etc/rc and see what i get.
_________________
http://thegeekclub.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mOjO_420
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jun 2003
Posts: 71
Location: Suburbs of Chicago, IL, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2005 9:03 am    Post subject: wpa_supplicant/bselayout issue Reply with quote

heres attempt to start with debug options set in /etc/conf.d/rc and also wpa_supplicant is getting run in debug mode.

Code:
mingus ~ # /etc/init.d/net.ath0 restart
 * Starting ath0
 *    Loading networking modules for ath0
 *       modules: wpa_supplicant essidnet iptunnel ifconfig dhcpcd apipa
 *          wpa_supplicant provides wireless
 *          ifconfig provides interface
 *          dhcpcd provides dhcp
 *    Running preup function
 *    Starting wpa_supplicant on ath0 ...
Initializing interface 'ath0' conf '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf' driver 'madwifi'
Configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf' -> '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf'
Reading configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf'
ctrl_interface='/var/run/wpa_supplicant'
ctrl_interface_group=100 (from group name 'users')
eapol_version=2
ap_scan=1
fast_reauth=1
Line: 68 - start of a new network block
ssid - hexdump_ascii(len=7):
     6d 6f 6a 6f 6e 65 74                              mojonet
PSK (ASCII passphrase) - hexdump_ascii(len=8): [REMOVED]
priority=5 (0x5)
PSK (from passphrase) - hexdump(len=32): [REMOVED]
Priority group 5
   id=0 ssid='mojonet'
Initializing interface (2) 'ath0'
EAPOL: SUPP_PAE entering state DISCONNECTED
EAPOL: KEY_RX entering state NO_KEY_RECEIVE
EAPOL: SUPP_BE entering state INITIALIZE
EAP: EAP entering state DISABLED
EAPOL: External notification - portEnabled=0
EAPOL: External notification - portValid=0
Own MAC address: 00:11:95:49:b1:a6
wpa_driver_madwifi_set_wpa: enabled=1
wpa_driver_madwifi_del_key: keyidx=0
wpa_driver_madwifi_del_key: keyidx=1
wpa_driver_madwifi_del_key: keyidx=2
wpa_driver_madwifi_del_key: keyidx=3
wpa_driver_madwifi_set_countermeasures: enabled=0
wpa_driver_madwifi_set_drop_unencrypted: enabled=1
Setting scan request: 0 sec 100000 usec
Daemonize..
 *       Waiting for association
 *       timed out
 *       [ !! ]
mingus ~ #


/var/log/messages only shows "rc-scripts: timed out"

interesting thing is that it IS associating and authenticating fine, because i can set the timeout really high and switch to a different VC and run wpa_cli and do a status and it said this (this is while the init script is hanging on "waiting for association" forever.)

Code:
mingus ~ # wpa_cli
wpa_cli v0.3.2 - Copyright (c) 2004, Jouni Malinen <jkmaline@cc.hut.fi>

This program is free software. You can distribute it and/or modify it
under the terms of the GNU General Public License version 2.

Alternatively, this software may be distributed under the terms of the
BSD license. See README and COPYING for more details.


Selected interface 'ath0'

Interactive mode

> status
bssid=00:0f:3d:ac:3b:f0
ssid=mojonet
pairwise_cipher=CCMP
group_cipher=TKIP
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
wpa_state=COMPLETED
Supplicant PAE state=AUTHENTICATED
suppPortStatus=Authorized
EAP state=SUCCESS
>

mingus ~ #


also if i switch to another console and run 'dhcpcd ath0' it will pull an IP.

or i can kill the init script with CTRL-C and it leaves the ath0 interface up so i can run 'dhcpcd ath0' and it works fine. meaning that there is no problem with wpa_supplicant. it seems the init script just isnt quite figuring out that wpa_supplicant is associated so maybe its not moving on to the next step of running dhcp

any suggestions?

i'm going to emerge sync and look for newer baselayout and wpa_supplicant now.. just realized that its been a few days.
_________________
http://thegeekclub.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mOjO_420
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jun 2003
Posts: 71
Location: Suburbs of Chicago, IL, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2005 10:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

there was a newer ver. of wpa_supplicant so i emerged it. didnt fix the problem but now i get a whole bunch of additional errors when i try to start net.ath0

Code:
*     Waiting for association
Failed to connect to wpa_supplicant - wpa_ctrl_open: No such file or directory
(then it has like 50 more of these and then)
*     timed out                       [!!]


i cant find any wpa_ctrl_open file anywhere... and i grepped /etc/init.d/* for that string and got no hits either.
_________________
http://thegeekclub.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mOjO_420
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jun 2003
Posts: 71
Location: Suburbs of Chicago, IL, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2005 10:53 am    Post subject: FIXED! Reply with quote

OK.. thanks to some other posts pointing me towards what files to look at i got it resolved.

seems to be that your not getting the expected results from your wpa_cli results in wpa_supplicant_associated() function in /lib/rcscripts/net.modules.d/wpa_supplicant

i added the line:
Code:
wpa_cli -i${1} status | awk -F='/^key_mgmt|^wpa_state|^decision/ { print $2 }' > /root/wpa_error

to that function and got this in /root/wpa_error:
Code:
# cat /root/wpa_error
WPA-PSK
COMPLETED


so i modified it to be the following and it worked great.
Code:

wpa_supplicant_associated() {
        local -a status=( $( wpa_cli -i${1} status | awk -F='/^key_mgmt|^wpa_state|^decision/ { print $2 }' ) )

        if [[ ${status[0]} == NONE ]]; then
                [[ ${status[1]} == ASSOCIATED ]]
        else
#               [[ ${status[2]} == COND_SUCC ]]
                [[ ${status[1]} == COMPLETED ]]
        fi
        return $?
}


i'm sure you'd rather handle that more elegantly so please post what i should alter it to.

thanks.
_________________
http://thegeekclub.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bryanb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jan 2005
Posts: 16
Location: Brissel, UK

PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2005 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

'friad that doesn't seem to be my problem. Here's the output...

Code:

kronenbourg net.modules.d # /etc/init.d/net.ath0 restart
 * Starting ath0
 *    Loading networking modules for ath0
 *       modules: wpa_supplicant essidnet iptunnel ifconfig dhcpcd apipa
 *          wpa_supplicant provides wireless
 *          ifconfig provides interface
 *          dhcpcd provides dhcp
 *    Starting wpa_supplicant on ath0 ...
Initializing interface 'ath0' conf '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf' driver 'madwifi'
Configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf' -> '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf'
Reading configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf'
ctrl_interface='/var/run/wpa_supplicant'
ctrl_interface_group=0
Line: 242 - start of a new network block
ssid - hexdump_ascii(len=7):
     62 72 65 77 65 72 79                              brewery
proto: 0x1
key_mgmt: 0x2
PSK - hexdump(len=32): [REMOVED]
pairwise: 0x18
group: 0x1e
priority=2 (0x2)
Priority group 2
   id=0 ssid='brewery'
Initializing interface (2) 'ath0'
EAPOL: SUPP_PAE entering state DISCONNECTED
EAPOL: KEY_RX entering state NO_KEY_RECEIVE
EAPOL: SUPP_BE entering state INITIALIZE
EAP: EAP entering state DISABLED
EAPOL: External notification - portEnabled=0
EAPOL: External notification - portValid=0
Own MAC address: 00:0f:3d:a9:a4:0c
wpa_driver_madwifi_set_wpa: enabled=1
wpa_driver_madwifi_del_key: keyidx=0
wpa_driver_madwifi_del_key: keyidx=1
wpa_driver_madwifi_del_key: keyidx=2
wpa_driver_madwifi_del_key: keyidx=3
wpa_driver_madwifi_set_countermeasures: enabled=0
wpa_driver_madwifi_set_drop_unencrypted: enabled=1
Setting scan request: 0 sec 100000 usec
Daemonize..
 *       Waiting for association                                                                    [ ok ]
 *       ath0 connected to "brewery" at 00:50:18:32:98:10
 *       using WPA-PSK/TKIP
 *    Configuring ath0 for "brewery" ...                                                            [ ok ]
 *    Bringing up ath0
 *       Configuration not set for ath0 - assuming dhcp
 *       dhcp
 *          Running dhcpcd ...                                                                      [ !! ]


It is associating okay but timing out on the DHCP. I'm going to try static addresses to see if that works, it'll either show the problem is at DHCP level and get my wireless working, or show that it is not DHCP at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bryanb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jan 2005
Posts: 16
Location: Brissel, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2005 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Right have finally made some time for this. I've tried the following combinations and have come to the conclusion that wpa_supplicant is not playing ball in some way :

No encryption + DHCP => works
No encryption + Static IP => works
128 WEP + DHC => works
128 WEP + Static IP => works
WPA + DHCP => not work :cry:
WPA + Static IP => not work :cry:

Either wpa_supplicant isn't working with madwif or it doesn't like my AP (or vice versa).

Any ideas? I'll post on the wpa_supplicant forum also.

Thanks for the help so far!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2005 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You guys may find the patch on the below bug of interest

https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=78367
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bryanb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jan 2005
Posts: 16
Location: Brissel, UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2005 8:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm, my router went pop recently and I've replaced it with a D-Link DI-624+. WPA is working fine with thihs combination! Thanks for your input guys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kenyon
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Dec 2004
Posts: 155
Location: Southern California

PostPosted: Sun Apr 16, 2006 7:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having the exact same problem as mOjO_420 above in post https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-1982718.html#1982718 except I'm using the latest stable baselayout, version 1.11.14-r7.

If I use the ctrl-c trick like mojo explained, then manually run dhcpcd, I can get an IP and the interface works fine. Here's the output of wpa_cli status after that:
Code:
# wpa_cli status
Selected interface 'ath0'
bssid=00:0f:b5:98:7d:11
ssid=radium
pairwise_cipher=TKIP
group_cipher=TKIP
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
wpa_state=COMPLETED
ip_address=192.168.0.103
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 8:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kenyon wrote:
except I'm using the latest stable baselayout, version 1.11.14-r7


Should be fixed in 1.11.14-r8
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
windy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 May 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2006 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are a couple of know bugs/fixes for this in madwifi and wpa_supplicant.

http://hostap.epitest.fi/bugz/show_bug.cgi?id=63
http://article.gmane.org/gmane.linux...ifi.devel/1275

For whatever reason madwifi is not decoding the encrypted dchp reply.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum