View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
onegative Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 12 Feb 2004 Posts: 136 Location: Québec, Canada
|
Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 5:11 pm Post subject: Matlab installation step by step help needed. |
|
|
Hello,
I'm trying to install matlab R13 on gentoo.
Here is what I have done so far:
1- mkdir /usr/local/matlabR13
2- I have put my license file in the directory
3- mount cdrom
4- /mnt/cdrom/install* & (as documentation says)
Code: |
bash: /mnt/cdrom/install: /bin/bash: bad interpreter: Permission denied
|
Matlab support site is not the best concerning installtion ressources so any help would be appreciated.
Thanks
o-negative _________________ My favorite thing about the Internet is that you get to go into the private world of real creeps without having to smell them.
My blog :twowordz.blogspot.com |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kenthepostman Apprentice
Joined: 02 Jul 2004 Posts: 245 Location: Stanford, CA
|
Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 5:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Did you check to see if the CD actually mounted? You should change to that directory to see if you can see the install script. Also does bash work for other things? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
onegative Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 12 Feb 2004 Posts: 136 Location: Québec, Canada
|
Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 5:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yes the CD is mounted and bash works.
o-neg _________________ My favorite thing about the Internet is that you get to go into the private world of real creeps without having to smell them.
My blog :twowordz.blogspot.com |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kenthepostman Apprentice
Joined: 02 Jul 2004 Posts: 245 Location: Stanford, CA
|
Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 5:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
One more possibly simple fix. Are you running the script as root? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kenthepostman Apprentice
Joined: 02 Jul 2004 Posts: 245 Location: Stanford, CA
|
Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 5:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
One other idea, try running the code like this instead:
Code: |
/bin/bash /mnt/cdrom/install* &
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
onegative Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 12 Feb 2004 Posts: 136 Location: Québec, Canada
|
Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 6:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ok here is the output:
Code: |
bash-2.05b# /bin/bash /mnt/cdrom/install* &
[1] 9301
bash-2.05b# -------------------------------------------------------------------
An error status was returned by the program 'xsetup',
the X Window System version of 'install'. The following
messages were written to standard error:
/mnt/cdrom/install: line 90: /mnt/cdrom/update/bin/glnx86/xsetup: Permission non accordée
Attempt to fix the problem and try again. If X is not available
or 'xsetup' cannot be made to work then try the terminal
version of 'install' using the command:
install* -t or INSTALL* -t
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Sorry! Setup aborted . . .
|
And then:
Code: |
bash-2.05b#/bin/bash /mnt/cdrom/install* -t
/mnt/cdrom/install: line 83: /mnt/cdrom/update/bin/glnx86/tsetup: Permission denied
|
I am logged as root.
o-neg _________________ My favorite thing about the Internet is that you get to go into the private world of real creeps without having to smell them.
My blog :twowordz.blogspot.com |
|
Back to top |
|
|
onegative Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 12 Feb 2004 Posts: 136 Location: Québec, Canada
|
Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 6:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
All right I copied all of the cdrom content to a temp folder and now it works... go figure.
I ll let you know the outcome.
thx
o-neg _________________ My favorite thing about the Internet is that you get to go into the private world of real creeps without having to smell them.
My blog :twowordz.blogspot.com |
|
Back to top |
|
|
onegative Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 12 Feb 2004 Posts: 136 Location: Québec, Canada
|
Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 9:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I finally installed matlab.
I had to put a script in /etc/init.d/ and edit it to make the flexlm license manager run with the user's rights.
Anyone managed to install it without having flexlm?
Another weird problem that I have is that if I run it from an icon or by execute command in kde, the matlab slash screen apears and then nothing more happens. It runs fine from the console.
I also get font.properties errors at startup but it doesn't affect usability. If anyone knows a workaround it would be great.
o-negative _________________ My favorite thing about the Internet is that you get to go into the private world of real creeps without having to smell them.
My blog :twowordz.blogspot.com |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kenthepostman Apprentice
Joined: 02 Jul 2004 Posts: 245 Location: Stanford, CA
|
Posted: Tue Jan 25, 2005 2:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
Is it a shared license, like an academic copy or something? If so I think you have to choice but to use the flexlm license manager. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
olof Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 07 Dec 2004 Posts: 78 Location: Japan
|
Posted: Tue Jan 25, 2005 7:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
The problem with not being able to install it from the cd is probably that you haven't mounted it as executable. It was for me when I installed matlab.
If you still want to run script files without mounting it as executable, you can do do as suggested above, /bin/bash /mnt/cdrom/install*. However, you got an error when that script tried to run another script. You have to run that one too manually to get it running, like so: /bin/bash /mnt/cdrom/update/bin/glnx86/tsetup
Just thought I'd try to clear it up. However, I have no solution to your current problems. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
malone Apprentice
Joined: 19 Feb 2004 Posts: 159 Location: The p-n junction.
|
Posted: Tue Jan 25, 2005 2:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
onegative wrote: | I also get font.properties errors at startup but it doesn't affect usability. If anyone knows a workaround it would be great. |
I tried for a long time one night to fix this error, but couldn't. Since it didn't seem to affect anything I gave up. If you do find a way to fix it, pass it along. _________________ malone |
|
Back to top |
|
|
onegative Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 12 Feb 2004 Posts: 136 Location: Québec, Canada
|
Posted: Tue Jan 25, 2005 2:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ken: Well, I think you can use it both way but for linux I don't know. Since this is a laptop I am running the flexlm server on it...
olof: Thanks for the explanation, I'm going to read about it.
malone: Yeah that's what happened to me too. I saw an article on www.mathworks.com about it they say it is fixed in release 14.
Thanks for your help
o-neg _________________ My favorite thing about the Internet is that you get to go into the private world of real creeps without having to smell them.
My blog :twowordz.blogspot.com |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|