View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Pseud Apprentice
Joined: 19 Mar 2004 Posts: 273 Location: Bangalore, India
|
Posted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 11:57 am Post subject: Networking just two computers: how? |
|
|
This is possibly the most elementary networking question possibe, so please pardon the evident abundance of my ignorance.
I have two computers with network cards and a hub and some patch cables. This, I suppose, would be the bare minimum needed to connect two computers (well, in the absense of crosswire cables).
(If I'm mistaken, please enlighten me )
I have Gentoo installed on the first one; I'd like to connect up the two and simply make an exact replica of the files on the first hard disk for the second one. This is because they are identical machines and I'll be saving a lot of compilation time, etc.
Can I boot up the second machine using the Live CD, do some manual network configuration on both the machines, run sshd or something on the first machine, and copy over the files? If this is possible, please let me know how. Basically I don't know what kind of IP/network configuration would be required. There is no ethernet/LAN that I can make use of ... just the cables and a hub. Thanks a ton in advance! _________________ eschew obfuscation |
|
Back to top |
|
|
LeTene Guru
Joined: 02 Mar 2004 Posts: 348 Location: Ah'll glass ye!
|
Posted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 12:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
G4L provides a "Click 'n' Clone" ability which might be what you want - see http://freshmeat.net/projects/g4l/. It's provided as a bootable ISO CD. _________________ Docs, Tips & Tricks at the Gentoo Wiki page. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
expat_iain Guru
Joined: 09 Jan 2004 Posts: 361 Location: Malta GC
|
Posted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 1:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yes. Boot each machine into the LiveCD, start ssh, mount the required partitions and simply
Code: | scrp -r /mnt/source user@remote:/mnt/dest |
Be sure to install grub at the end.
Regs.
Iain. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Pseud Apprentice
Joined: 19 Mar 2004 Posts: 273 Location: Bangalore, India
|
Posted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 2:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Iain,
What kind of IP configuration do I need to do that? I guess I could give two randomly picked IPs to the two machines, etc., but I'm not sure where I'd give these settings and what else I'd have to set up ... _________________ eschew obfuscation |
|
Back to top |
|
|
expat_iain Guru
Joined: 09 Jan 2004 Posts: 361 Location: Malta GC
|
Posted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 3:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Pseud wrote: | What kind of IP configuration do I need to do that? I guess I could give two randomly picked IPs to the two machines, etc., but I'm not sure where I'd give these settings and what else I'd have to set up ... |
Easiest way, just give one:
Code: | ifconfig eth0 10.10.10.10 netmask 255.255.255.0 up |
...and the other:
Code: | ifconfig 10.10.10.11 netmask 255.255.255.0 up |
As long as they're on the same segment, you *should* have no issues.
Regs.
Iain. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Pseud Apprentice
Joined: 19 Mar 2004 Posts: 273 Location: Bangalore, India
|
Posted: Sat Jan 29, 2005 5:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
Iain,
I tried what you said and have a small problem. scp -r goes into infinite loops when it encounters recursively linked directories .. like /boot/boot which is a symbolic link to /boot
Is there a way to avoid this?
Thanks! _________________ eschew obfuscation |
|
Back to top |
|
|
expat_iain Guru
Joined: 09 Jan 2004 Posts: 361 Location: Malta GC
|
Posted: Mon Jan 31, 2005 8:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
Yes, dont have recursive linked directories! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|