View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
kox n00b
Joined: 07 Jan 2005 Posts: 30 Location: Czech Republic
|
Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2005 9:11 am Post subject: libperl error by emerging sys-libs/db-4.1.25_p1-r4 - SOLVED |
|
|
While doing stage1 bootstrap I get following error:
./libtool: line 1: g++: command not found
make: *** [cxx_db.lo] Error 1
!!! Error: sys-libs/db-4.1.25_p1-r4 failed.
!!! Function src_compile, Line 96, Exitcode 2
Can somebody help me plz?
I just found thread in german about exactly this problem but still have no functional solution:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=278895
Just use:
USE="static" emerge --nodeps gcc
and than bootstrap. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
3nd3r n00b
Joined: 25 Aug 2004 Posts: 38 Location: /dev/null
|
Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 1:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
welll, ill try this way on the lappy. hopefully i can keep gentoo up on it longer than a week this time |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Kaddy n00b
Joined: 27 Jan 2005 Posts: 29
|
Posted: Thu Jan 27, 2005 2:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ali3n, thanks for all of your help that you have managed to throw into that little tutorial
lucky for you, I am trying to learn more about it so that everyone isn't hanging all over you asking questions on IRC
as well, a slight mdoification to your one-liner, and, I know that this might seem really annoying with me always letting you know things, however, the addition of etc-update would be nice, just so that they don't have to freak out about it saying that there is one file to be updated.
just a thought |
|
Back to top |
|
|
househead n00b
Joined: 30 Oct 2003 Posts: 70 Location: Manchester, UK
|
Posted: Thu Feb 03, 2005 10:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Is it worth you including the userlocales flag for building glibc? It cuts the compile time down. Taken from the stage 1 on 3 howto
Quote: | 6.7 Activate User Locales
When compiling glibc (we'll do this in an upcoming step), Gentoo's default behavior is to compile a full set of all of the available user locales. We will activate the userlocales local USE flag to limit the compilation of userlocales to those that we specify. Limiting the scope of userlocales will save us a tremendous amount of time while compiling glibc.
6.7.1 Activate the userlocales USE flag for glibc
Code:
# cat /etc/portage/package.use
sys-libs/glibc userlocales
6.7.2 Specify the user locales to build.
Create the /etc/locales.build file with your favorite editor. I'm located in the USA, so I'll use the following values.
Code:
# cat /etc/locales.build
en_US/ISO-8859-1
en_US.UTF-8/UTF-8 |
I'm in the UK and using
Quote: |
en_GB/ISO-8859-1
en_GB/ISO-8859-15
en_GB.UTF-8/UTF-8
|
_________________ Athlon 2000 XP | 512MB DDR | GeForce MX440 | 200GB ATA133
AJP 888e Clevo | P4 2.53gHz | 512Mb DDR | Radeon 9000M | 40Gb HD
Last edited by househead on Fri Feb 04, 2005 9:18 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bob P Advocate
Joined: 20 Oct 2004 Posts: 3374 Location: USA
|
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 6:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
househead wrote: | Is it worth you including the userlocales flag for building glibc? It cuts the compile time down. Taken from the stage 1 on 3 howto
Quote: | [code]6.7 Activate User Locales
When compiling glibc (we'll do this in an upcoming step), Gentoo's default behavior is to compile a full set of all of the available user locales. We will activate the userlocales local USE flag to limit the compilation of userlocales to those that we specify. Limiting the scope of userlocales will save us a tremendous amount of time while compiling glibc.
6.7.1 Activate the userlocales USE flag for glibc
Code:
# cat /etc/portage/package.use
sys-libs/glibc userlocales
6.7.2 Specify the user locales to build.
Create the /etc/locales.build file with your favorite editor. I'm located in the USA, so I'll use the following values.
Code:
# cat /etc/locales.build
en_US/ISO-8859-1
en_US.UTF-8/UTF-8 |
|
Gza, Oktane and Hobbit discussed the idea of implementing userlocales on on Pages 11 and 18 of this thread back in November:
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=189250&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=256
but the topic seems to have died off without any fanfare.
technically, you don't have to go to the trouble of creating a local (package-specific) use flag statement by creating the /etc/portage/package.use file as i did in the Stage 1 on 3 guide.
if you want to configure userlocales support using this tut using a global use flag, all that you need to do is to add "userlocales" to your global use flags in make.conf, and edit /etc/locales.build to have the appropriate values for your location. then when you compile glibc you'll be all set.
the only reason that i used package-specific use flags the way that i did in the Stage 1 on 3 guide was to use it as an example for configuration of /etc/portage/package.use, and because it makes your make.conf file a bit "cleaner" by "hiding" one use flag. you don't need to do it that way if you don't want to. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
househead n00b
Joined: 30 Oct 2003 Posts: 70 Location: Manchester, UK
|
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 9:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
Bob P wrote: |
if you want to configure userlocales support using this tut using a global use flag, all that you need to do is to add "userlocales" to your global use flags in make.conf, and edit /etc/locales.build to have the appropriate values for your location. then when you compile glibc you'll be all set.
the only reason that i used package-specific use flags the way that i did in the Stage 1 on 3 guide was to use it as an example for configuration of /etc/portage/package.use, and because it makes your make.conf file a bit "cleaner" by "hiding" one use flag. you don't need to do it that way if you don't want to. |
Is "userlocales" used in any other package compiles, or is there a command I can run to find out?
apologies if this is off-topic _________________ Athlon 2000 XP | 512MB DDR | GeForce MX440 | 200GB ATA133
AJP 888e Clevo | P4 2.53gHz | 512Mb DDR | Radeon 9000M | 40Gb HD |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kimchi_sg Advocate
Joined: 26 Nov 2004 Posts: 3038
|
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 11:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
househead wrote: | Is "userlocales" used in any other package compiles, or is there a command I can run to find out? |
Read /usr/portage/profiles/use.local.desc |
|
Back to top |
|
|
househead n00b
Joined: 30 Oct 2003 Posts: 70 Location: Manchester, UK
|
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 6:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
kimchi_sg wrote: | househead wrote: | Is "userlocales" used in any other package compiles, or is there a command I can run to find out? |
Read /usr/portage/profiles/use.local.desc |
Thanks.
Thats a no then for interested parties.
BobP > I recently did your stage 1 on 3 howto, system was tip top, I did a few "emerge -uD --newuse world"s and now when I try and emerge certain packages (such as xfce4 and Ooo), and sometimes also when using the cdrom, the kernel would panic and reboot.
I'm not asking for support, as I know your head is pecked, and I doubt very much it has anything to do with your install guide (which was v good IMO). In fact I'm currently rebuilding using this very howto as a guide (which is also very good). I have done this install a few times, and it has come off well in the past.
I am like many people on these kinda topics, I build a speed-demon of a system, then optimise and update until I break it! Ya gotta love gentoo for that, the possibilities are endless! _________________ Athlon 2000 XP | 512MB DDR | GeForce MX440 | 200GB ATA133
AJP 888e Clevo | P4 2.53gHz | 512Mb DDR | Radeon 9000M | 40Gb HD |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bob P Advocate
Joined: 20 Oct 2004 Posts: 3374 Location: USA
|
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 8:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i've never thought that it was a good idea to over-update a stable working gentoo system, as b0rkage typically results. if your system is stable and the packages that you need to work properly are working properly, its kind of pointless to continually update. in doing that sort of thing, you are putting a perfectly functional system at risk of breakage, to gain what? if your packages already work, all that you gain is "bragging rights" about having the most up to date gentoo system on your block. in contrast, i'd rather brag about having a gentoo system that never breaks. you won't find any sort of emerge updates in my cron files -- other than emerge --sync. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
househead n00b
Joined: 30 Oct 2003 Posts: 70 Location: Manchester, UK
|
Posted: Sun Feb 06, 2005 6:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Bob P wrote: | i've never thought that it was a good idea to over-update a stable working gentoo system, as b0rkage typically results. if your system is stable and the packages that you need to work properly are working properly, its kind of pointless to continually update. in doing that sort of thing, you are putting a perfectly functional system at risk of breakage, to gain what? if your packages already work, all that you gain is "bragging rights" about having the most up to date gentoo system on your block. in contrast, i'd rather brag about having a gentoo system that never breaks. you won't find any sort of emerge updates in my cron files -- other than emerge --sync. |
I guess we live and learn! Since my recent nightmare, I am much more inclined to update individual packages for more features or bugfixes, rather than just because there is a newer version. I wouldn't dream of updating through a cron-job, that's just silly! _________________ Athlon 2000 XP | 512MB DDR | GeForce MX440 | 200GB ATA133
AJP 888e Clevo | P4 2.53gHz | 512Mb DDR | Radeon 9000M | 40Gb HD |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kimchi_sg Advocate
Joined: 26 Nov 2004 Posts: 3038
|
Posted: Sun Feb 06, 2005 11:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
househead wrote: | I wouldn't dream of updating through a cron-job, that's just silly! |
Not if you are a server admin who is too busy with other things and cannot remember to update, or even to check for updates. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
househead n00b
Joined: 30 Oct 2003 Posts: 70 Location: Manchester, UK
|
Posted: Mon Feb 07, 2005 12:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
kimchi_sg wrote: | househead wrote: | I wouldn't dream of updating through a cron-job, that's just silly! |
Not if you are a server admin who is too busy with other things and cannot remember to update, or even to check for updates. |
You'd really have to mask the toolchain elements in that situation then surely!? _________________ Athlon 2000 XP | 512MB DDR | GeForce MX440 | 200GB ATA133
AJP 888e Clevo | P4 2.53gHz | 512Mb DDR | Radeon 9000M | 40Gb HD |
|
Back to top |
|
|
iverasp n00b
Joined: 11 Oct 2004 Posts: 58
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
LunarFault n00b
Joined: 24 Feb 2005 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2005 6:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I just want to say to all those who doubt this is great. I have noticed around 50% preformance gain from bootstraping this way. Thanks Ali3nx.
Lunar Fault |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ProtectionFault Apprentice
Joined: 14 Nov 2003 Posts: 170 Location: /dev/zero
|
Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 3:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Great Howto!
I've only a short addition: as of 2005.0 there is no linux26-headers merge needed, as the headers are allready incorporated into the new release... _________________ ASUS Z87-PLUS, i7-4770, 2x8GB DDR3-1600, 700W OCZ Power Supply, EVGA GTX760 4GB, 3TB HDD, Gentoo ~amd64 (3.10.10, dm-crypt full disk, awesome) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
apberzerk Apprentice
Joined: 11 Jan 2004 Posts: 278 Location: kansas...
|
Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 5:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Should I be using linux-headers ~x86 or linux-headers -* in my package.keywords if I want to use nptl? I can't remember what -* means.... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ali3nx l33t
Joined: 21 Sep 2003 Posts: 731 Location: Winnipeg, Canada
|
Posted: Sun Apr 10, 2005 5:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
well after a long time it's 2005.0! Updates to this toturial are underway for the new release. I've just updated the hostnames and domainnames section with new code examples. More to come shortly! _________________ Compiling Gentoo since version 1.4
Thousands of Gentoo Installs Completed
Emerged on every continent but Antarctica
Compile long and Prosper! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ali3nx l33t
Joined: 21 Sep 2003 Posts: 731 Location: Winnipeg, Canada
|
Posted: Mon Jul 18, 2005 6:24 am Post subject: 2005.0 revamp |
|
|
Completely updated for current installation methods. 118,000 views and growing says to me that people using this deserve to have it updated. To those i promised i would update it "now" my apologies. Some monolithic things are best left to brood.
Added: lxnay RR4 series installation media information.
Added : Bush sucks flame out to georgie
Updated: oneliner install technique to reflect current use flag filtering in stage1 installations
Added: ??? hmmm i'll brood on it some more =]
Results: Slowly growing to one of the most ever used tutorials on gentoo forums. Inspirational! _________________ Compiling Gentoo since version 1.4
Thousands of Gentoo Installs Completed
Emerged on every continent but Antarctica
Compile long and Prosper! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ali3nx l33t
Joined: 21 Sep 2003 Posts: 731 Location: Winnipeg, Canada
|
Posted: Tue Aug 09, 2005 9:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Updated for 2005.1! Enjoy _________________ Compiling Gentoo since version 1.4
Thousands of Gentoo Installs Completed
Emerged on every continent but Antarctica
Compile long and Prosper! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Jedidiah n00b
Joined: 16 Nov 2004 Posts: 13
|
Posted: Tue Aug 16, 2005 9:36 pm Post subject: First try at a stage one |
|
|
Hey this is my first shot at a stage one install, i started the "one liner" runnning last night, and it ran most of it (i think) but when i woke up it had errored out while trying to install aspell (the exact error message is bellow). I am not entirely sure how much of the one liner i need to run to have it do the rest of the install, and i am not sure exactly what the problem is. is it due to bad USE Flags on my part? did my c compiller not compile correctly?
thanks
jedidiah
Code: |
>>> emerge (11 of 84) app-text/aspell-0.60.3 to /
>>> md5 files ;-) aspell-0.60.2.ebuild
>>> md5 files ;-) aspell-0.50.5-r4.ebuild
>>> md5 files ;-) aspell-0.60.3.ebuild
>>> md5 files ;-) files/digest-aspell-0.60.2
>>> md5 files ;-) files/digest-aspell-0.60.3
>>> md5 files ;-) files/01-gcc3.3-assert.patch
>>> md5 files ;-) files/aspell-quotechar-fix.patch
>>> md5 files ;-) files/digest-aspell-0.50.5-r4
>>> md5 files ;-) files/aspell-buffer-fix.patch
>>> md5 files ;-) files/aspell-0.50.5-charcount.patch
>>> md5 files ;-) files/aspell-0.60.3-templateinstantiations.patch
>>> md5 files ;-) files/02-gcc3.3-constcast.patch
>>> md5 src_uri ;-) aspell-0.60.3.tar.gz
>>> Unpacking source...
>>> Unpacking aspell-0.60.3.tar.gz to /var/tmp/portage/aspell-0.60.3/work
* Applying aspell-0.60.3-templateinstantiations.patch ... [ ok ]
>>> Source unpacked.
* Patching ${S}/ltmain.sh ...
* Applying portage-1.5.10.patch ...
* Applying sed-1.5.6.patch ...
* Applying fix-relink-1.5.0.patch ...
* Applying uClibc/libtool patches ...
* econf: updating aspell-0.60.3/config.guess with /usr/share/gnuconfig/config.guess
* econf: updating aspell-0.60.3/config.sub with /usr/share/gnuconfig/config.sub
./configure --prefix=/usr --host=i686-pc-linux-gnu --mandir=/usr/share/man --infodir=/usr/share/info --datadir=/usr/share --sysconfdir=/etc --localstatedir=/var/lib --build=i686-pc-linux-gnu --disable-static --sysconfdir=/etc/aspell --enable-docdir=/usr/share/doc/aspell-0.60.3
checking build system type... i686-pc-linux-gnu
checking host system type... i686-pc-linux-gnu
checking target system type... i686-pc-linux-gnu
checking for a BSD-compatible install... /bin/install -c
checking whether build environment is sane... yes
checking for gawk... gawk
checking whether make sets $(MAKE)... yes
checking whether to enable maintainer-specific portions of Makefiles... no
checking for i686-pc-linux-gnu-g++... i686-pc-linux-gnu-g++
checking for C++ compiler default output file name... configure: error: C++ compiler cannot create executables
See `config.log' for more details.
!!! Please attach the config.log to your bug report:
!!! /var/tmp/portage/aspell-0.60.3/work/aspell-0.60.3/config.log
!!! ERROR: app-text/aspell-0.60.3 failed.
!!! Function econf, Line 485, Exitcode 0
!!! econf failed
!!! If you need support, post the topmost build error, NOT this status message.
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
ali3nx l33t
Joined: 21 Sep 2003 Posts: 731 Location: Winnipeg, Canada
|
Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 9:25 pm Post subject: Re: First try at a stage one |
|
|
Jedidiah wrote: | Hey this is my first shot at a stage one install, i started the "one liner" runnning last night, and it ran most of it (i think) but when i woke up it had errored out while trying to install aspell (the exact error message is bellow). I am not entirely sure how much of the one liner i need to run to have it do the rest of the install, and i am not sure exactly what the problem is. is it due to bad USE Flags on my part? did my c compiller not compile correctly?
thanks
jedidiah
Code: |
>>> emerge (11 of 84) app-text/aspell-0.60.3 to /
>>> md5 files ;-) aspell-0.60.2.ebuild
>>> md5 files ;-) aspell-0.50.5-r4.ebuild
>>> md5 files ;-) aspell-0.60.3.ebuild
>>> md5 files ;-) files/digest-aspell-0.60.2
>>> md5 files ;-) files/digest-aspell-0.60.3
>>> md5 files ;-) files/01-gcc3.3-assert.patch
>>> md5 files ;-) files/aspell-quotechar-fix.patch
>>> md5 files ;-) files/digest-aspell-0.50.5-r4
>>> md5 files ;-) files/aspell-buffer-fix.patch
>>> md5 files ;-) files/aspell-0.50.5-charcount.patch
>>> md5 files ;-) files/aspell-0.60.3-templateinstantiations.patch
>>> md5 files ;-) files/02-gcc3.3-constcast.patch
>>> md5 src_uri ;-) aspell-0.60.3.tar.gz
>>> Unpacking source...
>>> Unpacking aspell-0.60.3.tar.gz to /var/tmp/portage/aspell-0.60.3/work
* Applying aspell-0.60.3-templateinstantiations.patch ... [ ok ]
>>> Source unpacked.
* Patching ${S}/ltmain.sh ...
* Applying portage-1.5.10.patch ...
* Applying sed-1.5.6.patch ...
* Applying fix-relink-1.5.0.patch ...
* Applying uClibc/libtool patches ...
* econf: updating aspell-0.60.3/config.guess with /usr/share/gnuconfig/config.guess
* econf: updating aspell-0.60.3/config.sub with /usr/share/gnuconfig/config.sub
./configure --prefix=/usr --host=i686-pc-linux-gnu --mandir=/usr/share/man --infodir=/usr/share/info --datadir=/usr/share --sysconfdir=/etc --localstatedir=/var/lib --build=i686-pc-linux-gnu --disable-static --sysconfdir=/etc/aspell --enable-docdir=/usr/share/doc/aspell-0.60.3
checking build system type... i686-pc-linux-gnu
checking host system type... i686-pc-linux-gnu
checking target system type... i686-pc-linux-gnu
checking for a BSD-compatible install... /bin/install -c
checking whether build environment is sane... yes
checking for gawk... gawk
checking whether make sets $(MAKE)... yes
checking whether to enable maintainer-specific portions of Makefiles... no
checking for i686-pc-linux-gnu-g++... i686-pc-linux-gnu-g++
checking for C++ compiler default output file name... configure: error: C++ compiler cannot create executables
See `config.log' for more details.
!!! Please attach the config.log to your bug report:
!!! /var/tmp/portage/aspell-0.60.3/work/aspell-0.60.3/config.log
!!! ERROR: app-text/aspell-0.60.3 failed.
!!! Function econf, Line 485, Exitcode 0
!!! econf failed
!!! If you need support, post the topmost build error, NOT this status message.
|
|
Unfortunately the current aspell build has a problem. remove spell and gpm from your use flags and then emerge --newuse -uD system. Ncurses and it's dependancies in the make.conf i've not edited properly depend on aspell and gpm which ends up becoming a circular problem. I currently have a bad chest cold but i've made a note to fix the use flags on my local copy. _________________ Compiling Gentoo since version 1.4
Thousands of Gentoo Installs Completed
Emerged on every continent but Antarctica
Compile long and Prosper! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Jedidiah n00b
Joined: 16 Nov 2004 Posts: 13
|
Posted: Thu Aug 18, 2005 1:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for the tip, i ended up finding another post in the forum that said to strip the use flags down to next to nothing, so i did that, and it seems to have worked, i am emergeing the kernel sources as we speak.
from a newbie (to stage 1 installs) your guide is excellent, though you may consider listing somewhere, what the bare minimum use flags are that one needs for an ntpl build (aka nptl and ntplonly, and any others), and then instructing the user to add program specific use flags, after the initial stage1 compile
good job & thanks, i'll make that change for the next computer i stage1 and give it another shot
jedidiah |
|
Back to top |
|
|
vipernicus Veteran
Joined: 17 Jan 2005 Posts: 1462 Location: Your College IT Dept.
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
vfox n00b
Joined: 17 Aug 2005 Posts: 9
|
Posted: Sat Aug 20, 2005 1:02 pm Post subject: Similar error |
|
|
HIYA! first post
I have a similar error to Jedidiah's but it's not quite the same. I'm using ali3nx's make.conf ALMOST to a T (I didn't change any of the USE flags). I ran the one liner last night and woke up to this:
Code: |
* Applying uClibc/libtool pathces ...
* Fixing ${S}/ltconfig ...
>>> Source unpacked.
* econf: updating file-4.15/config.guess with /usr/share/gnuconfig/config.guess
* econf: updating file-4.15/config.sub with /usr/share/gnuconfig/sub.guess
.configure --prefix=/usr --host=i686-pc-linux-gnu --mandir=/usr/share/man --infodir=/usr/share/info --datadir=/usr/share --sysconfdir=/etc --localstatedir=/var/lib --build=i686-pc-linux-gnu --datadir=/usr/share/misc
checking for a BSD-compatibale install... /bin/install -c
checking whether build environment is sane... configure: error: newly created file is older than distributed files!
Check your system clock |
I've narrowed it down to the emerge --newuse -uD system command. (Still got 140 packages to go.....) Any clue? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
vfox n00b
Joined: 17 Aug 2005 Posts: 9
|
Posted: Sat Aug 20, 2005 1:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
HA! Figured it out. Apparently I didn't set a time zone last night. As soon as I set it and reset the time to the REAL time, the configure went through perfectly.
By the way, very nice guide ali3nx. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|