View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
martincox n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 27 Feb 2005 Posts: 30
|
Posted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 8:51 pm Post subject: Belkin wireless G card |
|
|
Im having a really hard time trying to get my wireless card to work. So far I have emerge'd ndiswrapper...
ndiswrapper -i /mnt/cdrom/drivers/bcmlw5a.inf (worked ok)
ndiswrapper -l (bcmwl5a driver present, hardware present)
modprobe ndiswrapper ( seemed ok)
/etc/init.d/net.eth0 start
*Bringing up eth0 (192.168.0.2)...
SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
eth0: unknown interface: no such device
SIOCSIFBRDADDR: No such device
eth0: unknown interface: no such device
SIOCSIFNETMASK: No such device
I have no idea what this means, can anybody shed any light on what I am doing wrong? Is my card incompatible? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
GordSki Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/5492044474381f3049f52f.jpg)
Joined: 18 Oct 2004 Posts: 329
|
Posted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 9:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Try doing the following as root:
Code: |
# ln -s /etc/init.d/net.eth0 /etc/init.d/net.wlan0
# /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 start
|
I think ndiswrapper use 'wlan0' as the name for the interface, rather then 'eth0'. The above commands setup the startup script to use that name instead. You'll also need to look at '/etc/conf.d/net' and change all the references to 'eth0' to wlan0'.
G. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
j3ff3r n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 23 Feb 2005 Posts: 27
|
Posted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
also, add the line:
Code: | alias wlan0 ndiswrapper |
into /etc/modules.d/aliases (I'm not at a linux machine, so that might not be exactly correct, but the filename is something like that) and then run
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
UberLord Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/16007251014200867ea775c.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
Posted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 11:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
aliases are bad - some wifi drivers install themselves as eth, wlan or ra.
You can alias the driver to wlan0 all you like, but if the driver wants eth0, it gets eth0 (or 1, 2, 3, etc) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
martincox n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 27 Feb 2005 Posts: 30
|
Posted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 11:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
After posting I went back into Gentoo and did both of the previous things. When I did /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 start it said that it had started fine, but, I was unable to ping / connect to anything on my network?? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
plonka2000 Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
![](images/avatars/487564537421e545bbd559.gif)
Joined: 02 Dec 2004 Posts: 160 Location: UK, Surrey
|
Posted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 11:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
martincox wrote: | After posting I went back into Gentoo and did both of the previous things. When I did /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 start it said that it had started fine, but, I was unable to ping / connect to anything on my network?? |
Whenever I bring up my wlan0, it doesnt log me onto my default AP and I need to tell it:
Code: | iwconfig wlan0 essid myessid |
This is very annoying, and I suspect its what is causing your problem too.
Does anyone know where to edit the default config for ndiswrapper so that i can edit it manually? _________________ -Do not be afraid of what is different.
-Do not be afraid of being different.
-After all, ignorance is not an excuse.
Using Gentoo and Windows XPee.
Check my site here |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
GordSki Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/5492044474381f3049f52f.jpg)
Joined: 18 Oct 2004 Posts: 329
|
Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2005 2:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
To configure my wireless card at boot I created a script called '/etc/init.d/wireless' with the following in it:
Code: |
#!/sbin/runscript
start(){
ebegin "Configuring wireless interface"
$IWCONFIG $IFACE essid $ESSID
$IWCONFIG $IFACE mode Managed
$IWCONFIG $IFACE key restricted $WEP_KEY
eend $?
}
|
then copy (not symlink) '/etc/init.d/net.eth0' to '/etc/init.d/net.wlan0' and add 'wireless' to the depend section:
Code: |
# For pcmcia users. note that pcmcia must be added to the same
# runlevel as the net.* script that needs it.
depend() {
use wireless hotplug pcmcia
}
|
final create a file called '/etc/conf.d/wireless' and put the following information in it:
Code: |
IWCONFIG=/usr/sbin/iwconfig # Path the your iwconfig prog
IFACE=wlan0 # Interface that the wireless card is on
ESSID=INSECURE_WLAN # Your AP's ESSID
WEP_KEY=1234567890 # Your WEP key
|
It's not a very clever script but it does what I need.
G. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
plonka2000 Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
![](images/avatars/487564537421e545bbd559.gif)
Joined: 02 Dec 2004 Posts: 160 Location: UK, Surrey
|
Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2005 10:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks GordSki, you're the man.
I'll try that right away.
Also, I wrote a complete howto on how to setup a ndiswrapper-supported card here. Its only my 3rd howto so if it is a bit rubbish, please tell me any problems with it.
Have a look though. I think I will integrate your script onto the end if thats ok. ![Smile :)](images/smiles/icon_smile.gif) _________________ -Do not be afraid of what is different.
-Do not be afraid of being different.
-After all, ignorance is not an excuse.
Using Gentoo and Windows XPee.
Check my site here |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
GordSki Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/5492044474381f3049f52f.jpg)
Joined: 18 Oct 2004 Posts: 329
|
Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2005 11:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
NP plonka!
You might want to use this instead, makes it useful for ad-hoc and WEP-less configs:
Code: |
#!/sbin/runscript
start(){
ebegin "Configuring wireless interface $IFACE"
$IWCONFIG $IFACE essid $ESSID
if [ "$MANAGED" == "true' ]
then
$IWCONFIG $IFACE mode Managed
fi
if [ "$WEP_KEY" != "" ]
then
$IWCONFIG $IFACE key restricted $WEP_KEY
fi
eend $?
}
|
Only difference in the config is that if your using an infrastructure (ie. access point based system) add the following line to '/etc/conf.d/wireless':
EDIT: Might look into making this work for multiple wireless interfaces too.......
G. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
plonka2000 Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
![](images/avatars/487564537421e545bbd559.gif)
Joined: 02 Dec 2004 Posts: 160 Location: UK, Surrey
|
Posted: Fri Mar 11, 2005 5:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi,
Thats great... I was trying your initial script this morning and i'll try your amended version as soon as I get my daily WoW fix.
I know this is a silly question, but I'm currently using this command to get my wlan0 connection on boot:
Code: | rc-update add net.wlan0 default |
Is this correct, because my wlan0 card still is refusing to start at boot...
Thanks. ![Smile :)](images/smiles/icon_smile.gif) _________________ -Do not be afraid of what is different.
-Do not be afraid of being different.
-After all, ignorance is not an excuse.
Using Gentoo and Windows XPee.
Check my site here |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
GordSki Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/5492044474381f3049f52f.jpg)
Joined: 18 Oct 2004 Posts: 329
|
Posted: Sat Mar 12, 2005 12:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
Yeah. That should set up the plain network side of the configuration (ie the stuff that's the same as any other network card, IP address, etc.). You need to make sure that your 'ndiswrapper' module is loaded before this script is run. AFAIK if you stick the module into /etc/modules/autoload.d/kernel-2.x it should load before the net.wlan0 script is run.
Also, its been my experience that you need to do the wireless side of the config (ie ESSID, WEP key, etc), before the plain network config will work (hence the 'wireless' entry in the 'depend' section of net.wlan0). I think this is perticularly the case with DHCP configuration.
G. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
plonka2000 Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
![](images/avatars/487564537421e545bbd559.gif)
Joined: 02 Dec 2004 Posts: 160 Location: UK, Surrey
|
Posted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 6:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi,
I did all that already. I input the 'ndiswrapper' line into /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6.
I also know ndiswrapper is starting first because I can see it listed while booting.
This was set just after installing the card. However, its just not launching at boot.
It works perfectly if I boot up then issue these commands:
Code: | # iwconfig essid mywlan
# dhcpcd wlan0 |
If I use those two commands, it gets the card up perfectly and grabs an IP, however, it will just not carry this out at boot using:
Code: | rc-update add net.wlan0 default |
Would there be another way? _________________ -Do not be afraid of what is different.
-Do not be afraid of being different.
-After all, ignorance is not an excuse.
Using Gentoo and Windows XPee.
Check my site here |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
GordSki Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/5492044474381f3049f52f.jpg)
Joined: 18 Oct 2004 Posts: 329
|
Posted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 7:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Is the wireless script running?
You should see this at start-up:
Quote: |
* Configuring wireless interface... [ ok ]
|
or what ever message you put in your script.
The wireless script has to be added to default run level too. The depend section of the script doesn't force the loading of the script, it just makes sure it is loaded before the net.wlan0 scripts.
G. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|