View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
NatuNobilis Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Feb 2003 Posts: 88 Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
|
Posted: Tue Feb 25, 2003 2:09 am Post subject: HDD just disappeared from /dev |
|
|
I've been running Gentoo for a week now, and yesterday, when I tried to mount a linux partirion in another HDD, I got the message
Code: | mount: special device /dev/discs/disc1/part2 does not exist |
So, I tried it manually, not asking fstab to be read:
Code: | mount /dev/discs/disc1/part2 /mnt/otherlinux -t ext3 |
I got the same message again. So, I checked the /dev directories.
/dev/discs/disc1 had suddenly disappeared!
I had pointed a link (/dev/hdg2) to this partition I wanted to mount. The link is also gone!
Some more details: My gentoo HDD is on ide3 (onboard RAID controller, channel 1), ant the other linux partition is on ide4 (onboard RAID, channel 2).
Plugged to the normal IDEs, I have a cdburner (hdc) and a cdrom (hdd).
Now, it seems gentoo calls my cdburner hdg, and my cdrom hdh (i.e., it exchanged the order of the IDE controllers). Alright, it should be okay, but no device has been created to call for my other HDD (which should now be hdc, right?).
I looked for the links in /dev/ide/host2/bus1/target1/lun0/ and so, but the links to my other HDD have all gone.
Can anyone please help?
Thx in advance.
NatuNobilis
PS: Yes, devfs is compiled into my 2.4.20 kernel, and I had mounted the other HDD many times before this "accident".[/b][/code] _________________ Don't read my sig, please. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fifo Guru


Joined: 14 Jan 2003 Posts: 437
|
Posted: Tue Feb 25, 2003 2:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
Is the devfs filesystem actually mounted (check with "mount")? What does "ls -l /dev/ide/hd" say? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
NatuNobilis Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Feb 2003 Posts: 88 Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
|
Posted: Tue Feb 25, 2003 2:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
Yes, devfs is mounted, and "ls -l /dev/ide/hd says this:
Quote: |
total 0
lr-xr-xr-x 1 root root 31 Feb 24 18:32 c0b0t0u0 -> ../host0/bus0/target0/lun0/disc
lr-xr-xr-x 1 root root 32 Feb 24 18:32 c0b0t0u0p1 -> ../host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part1
lr-xr-xr-x 1 root root 32 Feb 24 18:32 c0b0t0u0p2 -> ../host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part2
lr-xr-xr-x 1 root root 32 Feb 24 18:32 c0b0t0u0p3 -> ../host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part3
lr-xr-xr-x 1 root root 32 Feb 24 18:32 c0b0t0u0p4 -> ../host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part4
lr-xr-xr-x 1 root root 32 Feb 24 18:32 c0b0t0u0p5 -> ../host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part5
lr-xr-xr-x 1 root root 32 Feb 24 18:32 c0b0t0u0p6 -> ../host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part6
lr-xr-xr-x 1 root root 32 Feb 24 18:32 c0b0t0u0p7 -> ../host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part7
lr-xr-xr-x 1 root root 32 Feb 24 18:32 c0b0t0u0p8 -> ../host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part8
|
Also, "cat /proc/ide/pdc202xx" says:
Quote: |
PROMISE Ultra series driver Ver 1.20.0.7 2002-05-23 Adapter: Ultra Series
--------------- Primary Channel ---------------- Secondary Channel -------------
enabled enabled
66 Clocking enabled enabled
Mode MASTER MASTER
--------------- drive0 --------- drive1 -------- drive0 ---------- drive1 ------
DMA enabled: yes no no no
UDMA Mode: 5 0 0 0
PIO Mode: 4 0 0 0
|
Drive0 in Secondary channel should be "yes"!!! I know there is a HDD there (I can boot my other linux!).
"cat /proc/ide/hdc/model" returns its model (Maxtor blablabla).
And "cat /proc/ide/hda/model" also returns the other HDD's model (Seagate blablabla).
If I run MAKEDEV update, will I possibly ruin it all?
Thank you so much for the quick response.
NatuNobilis _________________ Don't read my sig, please. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fifo Guru


Joined: 14 Jan 2003 Posts: 437
|
Posted: Tue Feb 25, 2003 2:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
You shouldn't need to use MAKEDEV with devfs. This seem strange, are you sure you didn't change any settings that might be related to the ide controllers--perhaps in the bios or kernel? What do the hd/ide kernel messages when booting look like? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
NatuNobilis Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Feb 2003 Posts: 88 Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
|
Posted: Tue Feb 25, 2003 3:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
Oh, man, I'd just done that. We were thinking alike.
I got it solved. I remembered I had added the line
Code: | hdc=ide-scsi hdd=ide-scsi |
to my menu.lst before all this mess began.
I checked my dmesg, and noticed that something strange happened when the hdds were detected, and when the scsi drivers joined the game.
So, I just took that damn line from my menu.lst, and everything is right the way it should be.
Except for one thing: How will I burn CDs then, if I can't load ide-scsi drivers? Should I put something else into that damn line? Is there any other way to get my cdburner burning? (sorry for changing subjects )
fifo, my friend, thanks a lot for your help.
And congratulations to all people in this forum. It really rocks!
NatuNobilis _________________ Don't read my sig, please. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fifo Guru


Joined: 14 Jan 2003 Posts: 437
|
Posted: Tue Feb 25, 2003 3:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
This probably isn't the answer, but you could try using "hdc=scsi hdd=scsi" instead. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
NatuNobilis Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Feb 2003 Posts: 88 Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
|
Posted: Tue Feb 25, 2003 1:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
oookay, thanks again. I'll try it as soon as I get home. _________________ Don't read my sig, please. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
NatuNobilis Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Feb 2003 Posts: 88 Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
|
Posted: Tue Mar 25, 2003 7:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hehe... Seems like it took me 1 month to get home.
Just kidding. I had actually forgotten this problem, since it was a minor one (there were so many that had to be solved before this one!).
But now I got it to work. Looks like grub doesn't pass the parameters "hdc=ide-scsi hdd=ide-scsi" or "hdc=scsi hdd=scsi" to the kernel. Or, at least it doesn't try to modprobe the necessary modules (which is named ide-scsi).
What I did:
I left grub with the usual parameters ("hdc=ide-scsi hdd=ide-scsi"), and added the line
modprobe ide-scsi
to local.start. It worked okay, and I'm now ripping a CD.
Thanks a lot!
NatuNobilis
Now I'll move to the next problem...  _________________ Don't read my sig, please. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|