Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How can I set default IPV6 gateway in /etc/conf.d/net ?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sailer_sh
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jan 2005
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 1:25 am    Post subject: How can I set default IPV6 gateway in /etc/conf.d/net ? Reply with quote

3ffe:302:11:2:2e0:4cff:fec9:89c5 is my IPV6 router.

In Gentoo Linux client, I set in this file:
Code:
gateway="eth0/3ffe:302:11:2:2e0:4cff:fec9:89c5"

When boot, it said unknow host 3ffe:302:11:2:2e0:4cff:fec9:89c5

Then I set:
Code:
gateway="inet6 eth0/3ffe:302:11:2:2e0:4cff:fec9:89c5"

When boot, no errors showed, but when I "ip -6 route show", I cannot see the IPV6 address of IPV6 router.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sailer_sh
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jan 2005
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 6:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now I use this command:
Code:
ip -6 route add 3ffe:302:11:2::/64 via 3ffe:302:11:2:2e0:4cff:fec9:89c5 dev eth0


Then "route -A inet6","3ffe:302:11:2:2e0:4cff:fe67:3cb9" is address of this host, :
Code:

Kernel IPv6 routing table
Destination                                 Next Hop                                Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
::1/128                                     ::                                      U     0      1        0 lo
3ffe:302:11:2:2e0:4cff:fe67:3cb9/128        ::                                      U     0      4278       0 lo
3ffe:302:11:2::/64                          ::                                      UA    256    3023       0 eth0
3ffe:302:11:2::/64                          3ffe:302:11:2:2e0:4cff:fec9:89c5        UG    1024   0        0 eth0
fe80::2e0:4cff:fe67:3cb9/128                ::                                      U     0      21       0 lo
fe80::/64                                   ::                                      U     256    0        0 eth0
ff02::1/128                                 ff02::1                                 UC    0      4        0 eth0
ff00::/8                                    ::                                      U     256    0        0 eth0
::/0                                        fe80::20a:ebff:fe7b:222                 UGDA  1024   1        0 eth0


It's looks the "3ffe:302:11:2:2e0:4cff:fec9:89c5" is not the default route.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 8:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

To get IPv6 routes to work you'll need baselayout-1.11.10-r6 or better.

See the net.example file in /etc/conf.d for examples of howto setup routes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sailer_sh
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jan 2005
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 12:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

UberLord wrote:
To get IPv6 routes to work you'll need baselayout-1.11.10-r6 or better.

See the net.example file in /etc/conf.d for examples of howto setup routes.


Thanks for help.
In baselayout-1.11.10-r6/etc/conf.d/net.example, it said:
Code:
# Here's how todo routing if you need it - the below sets the default gateway
#routes_eth0=(
#       "default via 192.168.0.1"
#       "default via 4321:0:1:2:3:4:567:89ab"
#)


So it's my /etc/conf.d/net :
Code:
config_eth0=(
        "3ffe:302:11:2:2e0:4cff:fe67:3cb9"
)

routes_eth0=(
       "default via 3ffe:302:11:2:2e0:4cff:fec9:89c5"
)


But when reboot it said:
Code:
*  Adding routes
*    default via 3ffe:302:11:2:2e0:4cff:fec9:89c5...
Usage: inet_route [-vF] del ...........................
           inet_route [-vF] add ...........................
           inet_route [FC] flush         NOT supported                           [!!]


So it's looks set default route failed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 10:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try with baselayout-1.12.0-alpha1 - it should handle IPv6 routes a bit better
(It's package.masked atm and DOES have a few issues)

Also, according to my tests you config does not work - it drops out with a
RTNETLINK answers: No route to host
ifconfig drops out with a different error, but both commands are now synatically correct.

BTW, if you've know of a nice n00bie IPv6 howto for home networks (simulating 192.168.0.x subnet) I'd appreciate it as I'm pretty clueless about IPv6 mysef! :oops:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum