View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
mghumphrey n00b
Joined: 19 Feb 2003 Posts: 20
|
Posted: Fri Mar 07, 2003 11:20 pm Post subject: Java users, please check out my ebuild for JRockit |
|
|
I posted an ebuild for the JRockit JVM from BEA/WebLogic. This JVM was supposedly developed by BEA because of stability and performance issues from the Sun and Blackdown-developed JVMs. It is designed for enhanced stability, performance, and managability.
I've posted an ebuild for it to Bugzilla. If you are at all interested in this JVM, you can help get it included in the Gentoo repository by trying out the ebuild and posting your comments to Bugzilla.
Here is a link to the Bugzilla "bug" (#16206) that contains the ebuild:
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=16206
Also, I'm interested in any feedback you have on the JVM itself. We're currently trying to move our Java apps off Solaris and onto Linux, and so far have been somewhat put off by the poor stability of the JVMs. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Skydive n00b
Joined: 19 Nov 2002 Posts: 23 Location: Belgium
|
Posted: Sat Mar 08, 2003 9:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
I don't usually use custom-made ebuilds so I may have done something wrong. Here's what I did:
Code: |
emerge /root/ebuilds/jrockit/jrockit-8.0.ebuild
|
The result:
Code: |
Calculating dependencies \emerge: create(): aux_get() error on ebuilds/jrockit-8.0; aborting...
|
Oh, and am I going to have to register somewhere in order to be able to download the JDK? _________________ Check out the FreeCol project at http://www.freecol.org |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mghumphrey n00b
Joined: 19 Feb 2003 Posts: 20
|
Posted: Sat Mar 08, 2003 9:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Here's what I did to use:
Put the entire directory (ebuild plus other assorted files) in /usr/local/portage/dev-java/jrockit.
Edit make.conf and uncomment/edit this line:
PORTDIR_OVERLAY=/usr/local/portage
This tells portage that you keep your own ebuilds underneath /usr/local/portage.
Then do this:
# emerge jrockit |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Skydive n00b
Joined: 19 Nov 2002 Posts: 23 Location: Belgium
|
Posted: Sun Mar 09, 2003 10:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
OK, that seemed to work. The ebuild worked fine and I left a comment at Bugzilla (as lwillems). I too am having stability problems with the some of the JDK's (Sun's JDK and Blackdown's JDK).
I mainly have problems when running GUI applications, though. I've never had any problem with a J2EE application.
I'll be testing JRockit over the next few days (never used it before) and I hope it works well. _________________ Check out the FreeCol project at http://www.freecol.org |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mghumphrey n00b
Joined: 19 Feb 2003 Posts: 20
|
Posted: Sun Mar 09, 2003 6:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Please post any feedback (positive or negative) you might have here. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Vancouverite Apprentice
Joined: 28 Sep 2002 Posts: 162 Location: Vancouver, Canada
|
Posted: Sun Mar 09, 2003 9:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks. Your ebuild works great for me. I don't have many programs to test this JVM on (at home) so please post some results of your testing. Currently I only have JCDSee from here which is a nice image viewer. It seems to work faster using Sun-J2SDK but tough to tell. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Skydive n00b
Joined: 19 Nov 2002 Posts: 23 Location: Belgium
|
Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2003 12:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
For me JRockit was slower than any JDK I have ever tried. In fact it was so slow that I'm forced to give up on it, my productivity dropped significantly. It may be that it's more stable than the other JDKs but it's just too slow.
Note that I've only used it to do GUI-heavy stuff (check my sig for the project that I'm developing for). When I launched JSwat (a respected debugger) it took ages to launch the application that I was trying to debug, at first I even thought JSwat had crashed.
(my system is an Athlon T-bird with 512 MB DDR RAM so that's certainly not the cause of the slowness) _________________ Check out the FreeCol project at http://www.freecol.org |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mghumphrey n00b
Joined: 19 Feb 2003 Posts: 20
|
Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2003 12:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
yeah, I should have mentioned that it is designed for server usage, not to run GUIs. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|