View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
wolfwolf n00b
Joined: 13 Mar 2003 Posts: 29 Location: Atlanta
|
Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2003 5:12 pm Post subject: question on how to emerge a webserver |
|
|
Hi Guys, I did search the board but there are so many config ways to do it, so I just want to ask simpliest way to get a webserver to run the phpbb boardforum.
--------------------
emerge apache2
emerge mod_php
emerge mysql
--------------------
Should it be working? if I do emerge like that? Any tips or suggestions would be helpful. thank in advance.
ciao |
|
Back to top |
|
|
lghman Guru
Joined: 29 Nov 2002 Posts: 548 Location: Florida
|
Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2003 6:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Make sure to add the approiate use flags to your make.conf :
Code: |
USE="mysql apache2"
|
Also make sure that you have php emerged.
After that , then the fun part, the setup!
--sonik _________________ "What a distressing contrast there is between the radiant intelligence of a child and the feeble mentality of the average adult" --Freud |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kashani Advocate
Joined: 02 Sep 2002 Posts: 2032 Location: San Francisco
|
Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2003 7:12 pm Post subject: Re: question on how to emerge a webserver |
|
|
wolfwolf wrote: | Hi Guys, I did search the board but there are so many config ways to do it, so I just want to ask simpliest way to get a webserver to run the phpbb boardforum.
--------------------
emerge apache2
emerge mod_php
emerge mysql
--------------------
Should it be working? if I do emerge like that? Any tips or suggestions would be helpful. thank in advance.
ciao |
I'd install mysql first so that php can pick it up and use the shared libs.
kashani _________________ Will personally fix your server in exchange for motorcycle related shop tools in good shape. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
wolfwolf n00b
Joined: 13 Mar 2003 Posts: 29 Location: Atlanta
|
Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2003 9:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
thank guys, will give it a try when I finish emerging KDE hehe 16hrs already pass and it still going
ciao |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Sven Vermeulen Retired Dev
Joined: 29 Aug 2002 Posts: 1345 Location: Mechelen, Belgium
|
Posted: Sat Mar 15, 2003 10:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
As strange as it may sound, this is discussed in the "Desktop Configuration Guide". Most ppl forget to issue the "ebuild ... config" commands that are required by mod_php and, if applicable, mod_ssl.
Dunno if it really is necessary, but hey, better be safe than without webserver |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|