View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Floog Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 29 Nov 2002 Posts: 116
|
Posted: Wed Apr 27, 2005 4:13 pm Post subject: ADSL, static ip's, and gentoo routerbox |
|
|
Issue: Cannot ping primary/secondary nameservers and/or access any websites from the routerbox.
Background and Troubleshooting:
1. Not worried about LAN clients right now, just want to get routerbox connected to SBC ADSL. SBC tech. support will not discuss anything related to linux.
2. I have a series of static IP's:
*.128 - *.135
SBC indicated that *.134 is the Gateway IP, and *.135 is Broadcast IP. For now, all I can confirm is that when I connect a commercial router product like a Linksys or Netgear dsl router, the only IP address I see is *.134, and the IP is functional and provides access to the web.
3. I have tried several different ways to connect eth0 on the gentoo routerbox to my ADSL modem to connect to the internet:
a) Set /etc/conf.d/net to ifconfig_eth0="*.134 broadcast *.134 netmask 255.255.255.0". This fails. Ping results: Destination Host Unreachable.
b) Same as a) but changed the netmask to 255.255.255.248 -- saw this in some notes I took in a tech. support call I previously made to SBC. This failed too. Ping results: Destination Host Unreachable.
c) Took the routerbox to another working internet connection and emerged roaring penguin pppoe software to give that a try -- SBC tech. support confirmed the connection protocol is pppoe.
d) Ran the rp-pppoe setup script, plugging in the Account ID, Password, Static IP *.134, Primary DNS, Secondary DNS, etc. I run adsl-start and rp-pppoe says the routerbox is "Connected!"; however, all pings to DNS nameservers fail. Ping results: Destination Host Unreachable. I tried changing the MTU settings for eth0 to 1492, then 1460, then 1452. All attempts fail.
There are no issues with the routerbox --- I used the onboard 10/100 port to install gentoo over the net and everything worked fine using the via_rhine module.
Desperate Request and Conclusion:
I am open to any/all suggestions regarding how to successfully connect a linux router to an adsl modem on an account using Static IP addresses.
Thank you for reading the long post. Apologies for alot of chatter, just trying to show I've been organized and methodical in my attempts.
Thanks,
Mike |
|
Back to top |
|
|
-Craig- Guru
Joined: 03 Jun 2004 Posts: 333
|
Posted: Mon May 02, 2005 9:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
>SBC indicated that *.134 is the Gateway IP, and *.135 is Broadcast IP. For now, all I can confirm is that when I connect
>a commercial router product like a Linksys or Netgear dsl router, the only IP address I see is *.134, and the IP is
>functional and provides access to the web.
>a) Set /etc/conf.d/net to ifconfig_eth0="*.134 broadcast *.134 netmask 255.255.255.0". This fails. Ping results:
>Destination Host Unreachable.
>
>b) Same as a) but changed the netmask to 255.255.255.248 -- saw this in some notes I took in a tech. support call I
>previously made to SBC. This failed too. Ping results: Destination Host Unreachable.
>
>>SBC indicated that *.134 is the Gateway IP, and *.135 is Broadcast IP
134 is the Gateway? You cannot use that address!!
Usually config would be:
*.128 is the Gateway IP,
*.135 is the Broadcast
you can assign IPs for *.129, *.130, *.131, *.132, *.133, *.134
Are you really sure you understood them right!? It seems so strange...
Well ok, if so, try this:
ifconfig_eth0="x.x.x.129 broadcast x.x.x.135 netmask 255.255.248.0"
gateway="eth0/x.x.x.128"
or from console:
ifconfig eth0 x.x.x.129 netmask 255.255.248.0 broadcast x.x.x.135
route add default gw x.x.x.128
then try to ping...
good luck! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Floog Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 29 Nov 2002 Posts: 116
|
Posted: Tue May 03, 2005 2:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Craig,
Thanks for your response. I definitely appreciate your assistance.
What an odd setup, but here goes ------
Here's the final report for anyone that comes after me and might benefit from my trials and errors.
# /etc/conf.d/net:
$Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-src/rc-scripts/etc/conf.d/net,v 1.7 2002/11/18 19:39:22 azarah Exp $
# Global config file for net.* rc-scripts
# This is basically the ifconfig argument without the ifconfig $iface
#
# ADDRESS 111.111.111.134 IS WHAT SBC STATED AS THE
# "GATEWAY" ADDRESS FOR ALL MY STATIC IP'S.
# THE NETMASK WAS ALSO STATED BY SBC, AS USED IN
# EXAMPLE HERE.
iface_eth0="111.111.111.134 broadcast 111.111.111.134 netmask 255.255.255.248"
iface_eth1="199.199.169.1 broadcast 199.199.169.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"
iface_eth2="199.199.170.1 broadcast 199.199.170.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"
# I WAS ABLE TO GET THIS "ADSL" SETUP TO WORK TOO.
# BUT I WANTED TO FILL IN THE STATIC VALUES IN ORDER
# TO MAKE NETMOUNT WORK PROPERLY UPON BOOTING GENTOO.
#
#ifconfig_eth0="adsl"
#
# For setting the default gateway
#
gateway="eth0/111.111.111.1"
_________________
I don't know why using 111.111.111.1 works, as it is definitely NOT in my block of static ip's: *.128 - *.135
But certainly try it in your setup; it is working for me.
The following to be used in conjunction with rp-pppoe software -
/etc/ppp/pppoe.conf:
ETH='eth0'
USER='full_username@sbcglobal.net'
DEMAND=no
# YOU COULD PROBABLY SET DNS MANUALLY TOO.
# HAVEN'T TRIED IT YET.
DNSTYPE=SERVER
PEERDNS=no
# Make the PPPoE connection your default route. Set to
# DEFAULTROUTE=no if you don't want this.
DEFAULTROUTE=yes
# - If you have a computer acting as a gateway for a LAN, choose "1412".
# The setting of 1412 is safe for either setup, but uses slightly more
# CPU power.
CLAMPMSS=1412
____________________________
/etc/ppp/pap-secrets:
"full_username@sbcglobal.net" * "password"
_____________________________
While testing all of the above, make sure your iptables firewall is NOT running.
In Gentoo, as root: /etc/init.d/iptables stop
If you are using eth0 as your WAN device (internet-facing NIC for routers), then you must change every mention of "eth0" in your iptables firewall to "ppp0". Once the rp-pppoe software is started, the connected NIC becomes ppp0 and takes the static ip address you placed in /etc/conf.d/net.
________________________________
To finish off, I put the command /usr/sbin/adsl-start into /etc/conf.d/local.start, so the routerbox boots, NIC modules get loaded, NIC devices are assigned ip addresses, firewall starts, ip forwarding starts, and finally the dsl connection is commenced with the adsl-start command.
_______________________________
Now that I've had a little time to take some looks at the connection, I do find this pppoe system a little strange.
The results of route -n:
Code: |
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
204.60.4.34 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.255 UH 0 0 0 ppp0
111.111.111.128 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.248 U 0 0 0 eth0
199.199.170.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth2
199.199.169.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth1
127.0.0.0 127.0.0.1 255.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 lo
0.0.0.0 204.60.4.34 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 ppp0
|
Can't figure out why the "Destination" and "Gateway" for my ppp0 device are now set at 204.60.4.34. And eth0 got switched to *.128
Here's the results of ifconfig:
ppp0
Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol
inet addr:111.111.111.134 P-t-P:204.60.4.34 Mask:255.255.255.255
UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST MTU:1492 Metric:1
RX packets:764708 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:758450 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
RX bytes:137166037 (130.8 Mb) TX bytes:51826617 (49.4 Mb)
eth0
Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:11:3P:A9:G3:37
inet addr:111.111.111.134 Bcast:111.111.111.134 Mask:255.255.255.248
Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:766749 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:760509 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:154116739 (146.9 Mb) TX bytes:68584026 (65.4 Mb)
Interrupt:11 Base address:0xe000
I don't see how these different addresses are thrown into the mix of my connection. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
-Craig- Guru
Joined: 03 Jun 2004 Posts: 333
|
Posted: Tue May 24, 2005 7:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
111.111.111.134 ?!? How strange, I never heard of something like that...
I'm lucky I could help you |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|