View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
jrmontg n00b
Joined: 17 May 2005 Posts: 61
|
Posted: Tue May 31, 2005 11:50 pm Post subject: Help I am missing net.eth0 net.lo |
|
|
I am trying to enable my wireless card. I am following a guide that tells me to
you need to symlink to net.lo instead of net.eth0
I don't have either.
I followed the setup guide that told me to
# cd /etc/init.d
# ln -s net.eth0 net.eth1
# rc-update add net.eth1 default
I do have that file with its contents.
net.eth1
----------
# Copyright 1999-2005 Gentoo Foundation
# Distributed under the terms of the GNU General Public License v2
# $Header: $
How to I get these files? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Sadako Advocate
Joined: 05 Aug 2004 Posts: 3792 Location: sleeping in the bathtub
|
Posted: Tue May 31, 2005 11:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
What is the output of ifconfig and "/etc/init.d/net.lo status"? _________________ "You have to invite me in" |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jrmontg n00b
Joined: 17 May 2005 Posts: 61
|
Posted: Tue May 31, 2005 11:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
mako conf.d # ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:02:B3:BF:61:61
inet addr:192.168.5.101 Bcast:192.168.5.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:97050 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:72276 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:64279163 (61.3 Mb) TX bytes:12353340 (11.7 Mb)
eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:40:05:39:AF:97
inet addr:192.168.5.8 Bcast:192.168.5.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
Interrupt:11 Base address:0xc000
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
mako conf.d # /etc/init.d/net.lo status
* status: started
I can ssh to 192.168.5.8 and 192.168.5.101(DHCP'd) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
RayDude Advocate
Joined: 29 May 2004 Posts: 2091 Location: San Jose, CA
|
Posted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 12:44 am Post subject: Re: Help I am missing net.eth0 net.lo |
|
|
jrmontg wrote: | I am trying to enable my wireless card. I am following a guide that tells me to
you need to symlink to net.lo instead of net.eth0
I don't have either.
I followed the setup guide that told me to
# cd /etc/init.d
# ln -s net.eth0 net.eth1
# rc-update add net.eth1 default
I do have that file with its contents.
net.eth1
----------
# Copyright 1999-2005 Gentoo Foundation
# Distributed under the terms of the GNU General Public License v2
# $Header: $
How to I get these files? |
Have you emerged the latest baselayout?
You need the latest to use the wireless features of sysvinit.
Code: | * sys-apps/baselayout
Latest version available: 1.11.12-r4 <-- You need this version
Latest version installed: 1.9.4-r6 <- This is the stable version
Size of downloaded files: 152 kB
Homepage: http://www.gentoo.org/
Description: Filesystem baselayout and init scripts
License: GPL-2 |
The way to do this is:
Code: | echo sys-apps/baselayout ~x86 >> /etc/portage/package.keywords
emerge -v baselayout |
Raydude _________________ Some day there will only be free software. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jrmontg n00b
Joined: 17 May 2005 Posts: 61
|
Posted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 12:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
I got this
mako conf.d # echo sys-apps/baselayout ~x86 >> /etc/portage/package.keywords
mako conf.d # emerge -v baselayout
Calculating dependencies -
!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy ">=sys-libs/readline-5.0-r1" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- sys-libs/readline-5.0-r2 (masked by: ~x86 keyword)
For more information, see MASKED PACKAGES section in the emerge man page or
section 2.2 "Software Availability" in the Gentoo Handbook.
!!! (dependency required by "sys-apps/baselayout-1.11.12-r4" [ebuild]) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
RayDude Advocate
Joined: 29 May 2004 Posts: 2091 Location: San Jose, CA
|
Posted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 12:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
jrmontg wrote: | I got this
mako conf.d # echo sys-apps/baselayout ~x86 >> /etc/portage/package.keywords
mako conf.d # emerge -v baselayout
Calculating dependencies -
!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy ">=sys-libs/readline-5.0-r1" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- sys-libs/readline-5.0-r2 (masked by: ~x86 keyword)
For more information, see MASKED PACKAGES section in the emerge man page or
section 2.2 "Software Availability" in the Gentoo Handbook.
!!! (dependency required by "sys-apps/baselayout-1.11.12-r4" [ebuild]) |
Oh, I forgot, do this:
Code: | echo sys-libs/readline ~x86 >> /etc/portage/package.keywords
emerge -v baselayout |
Raydude _________________ Some day there will only be free software. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jrmontg n00b
Joined: 17 May 2005 Posts: 61
|
Posted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 1:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
About the same
mako conf.d # echo sys-apps/baselayout ~x86 >> /etc/portage/package.keywords
mako conf.d # emerge -v baselayout
Calculating dependencies -
!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy ">=sys-libs/readline-5.0-r1" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- sys-libs/readline-5.0-r2 (masked by: ~x86 keyword)
For more information, see MASKED PACKAGES section in the emerge man page or
section 2.2 "Software Availability" in the Gentoo Handbook.
!!! (dependency required by "sys-apps/baselayout-1.11.12-r4" [ebuild])
mako conf.d #
mako conf.d # echo sys-libs/readline ~x86 >> /etc/portage/package.keywords
mako conf.d # emerge -v baselayout
Calculating dependencies \
!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy ">=sys-apps/sysvinit-2.84" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- sys-apps/sysvinit-2.85-r1 (masked by: ~x86 keyword)
- sys-apps/sysvinit-2.86 (masked by: ~x86 keyword)
For more information, see MASKED PACKAGES section in the emerge man page or
section 2.2 "Software Availability" in the Gentoo Handbook.
!!! (dependency required by "sys-apps/baselayout-1.11.12-r4" [ebuild]) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
MrApples Guru
Joined: 13 Dec 2002 Posts: 511
|
Posted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 3:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
heh, now you need to Code: | echo sys-apps/sysvinit ~x86 >> /etc/portage/package.keywords
emerge -v baselayout |
follow the same protocol for others _________________ http://www.whatsinyourbox.org -- Technology discussion, news, and more. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jrmontg n00b
Joined: 17 May 2005 Posts: 61
|
Posted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 3:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
mako conf.d # echo sys-apps/sysvinit ~x86 >> /etc/portage/package.keywords
mako conf.d # emerge -v baselayout
Calculating dependencies |
!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy ">=app-shells/bash-3.0-r10" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- app-shells/bash-3.0-r11 (masked by: ~x86 keyword)
For more information, see MASKED PACKAGES section in the emerge man page or
section 2.2 "Software Availability" in the Gentoo Handbook.
!!! (dependency required by "sys-apps/baselayout-1.11.12-r4" [ebuild]) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
overkll Veteran
Joined: 21 Sep 2004 Posts: 1249 Location: Austin, Texas
|
Posted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 3:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
jrmontg
You get the idea now? Every one of the blocked packages is a dependency of the baselayout package. Keep going....you are almost there.....bash should be the last one.....
echo "app-shells/bash ~x86" >> /etc/portage/package.keywords
emerge baselayout
Nextime you want to emerge a masked package, you can check the dependencies first, then manually add them to your /etc/portage/package.keywords file
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86" emerge baselayout -p
Code: | polly linux # ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86" emerge baselayout -p
These are the packages that I would merge, in order:
Calculating dependencies ...done!
[ebuild U ] sys-libs/readline-5.0-r2 [4.3-r5]
[ebuild N ] sys-apps/sysvinit-2.86
[ebuild U ] app-shells/bash-3.0-r11 [2.05b-r9]
[ebuild U ] sys-apps/baselayout-1.11.12-r4 [1.9.4-r6] |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
jrmontg n00b
Joined: 17 May 2005 Posts: 61
|
Posted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 12:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ok...I see how that works, thanks.
I have those installed now.
This is what I have in my /etc/init.d so its there.
bootmisc crypto-loop halt.sh localmount netmount rsyncd syslog-ng
checkfs depscan.sh hdparm modules nscd runscript.sh urandom
checkroot domainname hostname net.eth0 numlock serial vixie-cron
clock functions.sh keymaps net.eth1 reboot.sh shutdown.sh
consolefont gpm local net.lo rmnologin sshd
Following the instructions
Quote: |
Then symlink any net.* devices to net.lo instead of net.eth0
|
So I did a
mako init.d # ln -f net.lo net.eth1
mako init.d # ln -f net.lo net.eth0
do I do the same for net.ath0?[/code] |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jrmontg n00b
Joined: 17 May 2005 Posts: 61
|
Posted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 1:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I went ahead and did it and I did a
mako init.d # vi /etc/conf.d/net
mako init.d # /etc/init.d/net.ath0 start
* Caching service dependencies ... [ ok ]
* Bringing ath0 up ... [ ok ]
but it is not showing up
mako init.d # ifconfig -a
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:02:B3:BF:61:61
inet addr:192.168.5.101 Bcast:192.168.5.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:108486 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:83853 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:69937674 (66.6 Mb) TX bytes:13577885 (12.9 Mb)
eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:40:05:39:AF:97
inet addr:192.168.5.8 Bcast:192.168.5.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
Interrupt:11 Base address:0xc000
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
mako init.d # iwconfig
lo no wireless extensions.
eth0 no wireless extensions.
eth1 no wireless extensions. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
RayDude Advocate
Joined: 29 May 2004 Posts: 2091 Location: San Jose, CA
|
Posted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 4:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
jrmontg wrote: | I went ahead and did it and I did a
mako init.d # vi /etc/conf.d/net
mako init.d # /etc/init.d/net.ath0 start
* Caching service dependencies ... [ ok ]
* Bringing ath0 up ... [ ok ]
but it is not showing up
mako init.d # ifconfig -a
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:02:B3:BF:61:61
inet addr:192.168.5.101 Bcast:192.168.5.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:108486 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:83853 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:69937674 (66.6 Mb) TX bytes:13577885 (12.9 Mb)
eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:40:05:39:AF:97
inet addr:192.168.5.8 Bcast:192.168.5.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
Interrupt:11 Base address:0xc000
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
mako init.d # iwconfig
lo no wireless extensions.
eth0 no wireless extensions.
eth1 no wireless extensions. |
Please post /etc/conf.d/net so we can check it over.
Do you have WEP or WPA enabled on your wireless network?
Raydude _________________ Some day there will only be free software. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
overkll Veteran
Joined: 21 Sep 2004 Posts: 1249 Location: Austin, Texas
|
Posted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 5:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | So I did a
mako init.d # ln -f net.lo net.eth1
mako init.d #ln -f net.lo net.eth0 |
Woah, backup sparky! I think you just terminated your net.eth0 file!
Do:
Code: | ls -l /etc/init.d/net* |
What you got there? Full output please. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jrmontg n00b
Joined: 17 May 2005 Posts: 61
|
Posted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 9:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | Woah, backup sparky! I think you just terminated your net.eth0 file!
Do: |
Yep, I did.
Is there a way to restore? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
overkll Veteran
Joined: 21 Sep 2004 Posts: 1249 Location: Austin, Texas
|
Posted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 9:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
emerge baselayout |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jrmontg n00b
Joined: 17 May 2005 Posts: 61
|
Posted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 10:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I don't have a working interface anymore |
|
Back to top |
|
|
overkll Veteran
Joined: 21 Sep 2004 Posts: 1249 Location: Austin, Texas
|
Posted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 10:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
DOH! That makes sense.
You should still have the necessary files on your machine to install w/o a connection. Portage saves downloaded dist files in /usr/portage/distfiles. Did you try? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
RayDude Advocate
Joined: 29 May 2004 Posts: 2091 Location: San Jose, CA
|
Posted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 10:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
jrmontg wrote: | I don't have a working interface anymore |
You can't boot from CD and do a chroot? I don't know what you mean by working interface...
Make sure you delete net.lo, net.ath0, and net.eth0 before doing the emerge baselayout.
And don't forget to do your etc-update if necessary.
Raydude _________________ Some day there will only be free software. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jrmontg n00b
Joined: 17 May 2005 Posts: 61
|
Posted: Thu Jun 02, 2005 3:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ok I am where I was at the start.
I did the following
Code: |
echo "=sys-apps/baselayout-1.11.0 ~x86" >> /etc/portage/package.keywords
emerge sync
emerge -av sys-apps/baselayout
etc-update
|
I have
livecd conf.d # ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:02:B3:BF:61:61
inet addr:192.168.5.101 Bcast:192.168.5.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::202:b3ff:febf:6161/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:137801 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:85096 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:75921398 (72.4 Mb) TX bytes:23681962 (22.5 Mb)
eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:40:05:39:AF:97
inet addr:192.168.5.8 Bcast:192.168.5.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::240:5ff:fe39:af97/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:5 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:378 (378.0 b)
Interrupt:11 Base address:0xc000
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
I did this
livecd conf.d # ls -l /etc/init.d/net*
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 9776 Jun 2 09:47 /etc/init.d/net.eth0
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 9776 Jun 2 08:35 /etc/init.d/net.eth0.copy
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 8 Jun 2 08:35 /etc/init.d/net.eth1 -> net.eth0
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 512 Jun 2 09:47 /etc/init.d/net.lo
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 2520 Jun 2 09:47 /etc/init.d/netmount
I still don't think I did it right. I cannot find wireless.example. The guide said that it would be in /etc/conf.d |
|
Back to top |
|
|
overkll Veteran
Joined: 21 Sep 2004 Posts: 1249 Location: Austin, Texas
|
Posted: Thu Jun 02, 2005 3:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
From your ifconfig output, looks like you have two interfaces up, eth0 and eth1. both have an ip address assigned to them and both are up. From the output of ls -l /etc/init.d/net*, net.eth1 is a symlink linked to net.eth0. This doesn't work?
I have some questions.
Are you looking the file /etc/conf.d/net? This is the networking configuration file.
What kind of wireless card are you using?
What package/module/software are you using?
What guide are you following?
Do you have a Gentoo base system installed already or are you trying to do a network install by getting you wireless up first?
What's the output of iwconfig?
FYI, The command
Code: | echo package-category/package ~x86" >> /etc/portage/package.keyword |
only needs to be done once per package. You can view/edit the file /etc/portage/package.keywords with
Code: | nano -w /etc/portage/package.kewords |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
jrmontg n00b
Joined: 17 May 2005 Posts: 61
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
overkll Veteran
Joined: 21 Sep 2004 Posts: 1249 Location: Austin, Texas
|
Posted: Thu Jun 02, 2005 4:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
AFAIK, You DO need some type of driver for a wireless card, and it needs work for you specific card. For example, I have an Hawking pci 54mb card based on the RaLink 2500 chip. Luckily for me, RaLink has released there source code, and there's a good package in portage for it. Most wireless chipsets code HAS NOT been released so you need to find a way to make it work by either using ndiswrapper with a windows driver for that chip, or another method.
Basically, the driver is a kernel module. I don't know which you need to use with that card, but if I were you, I'd do a search on these forums with "DWL-G520". I think your card is widely available at retail stores so I'm sure someone has figured out which driver/module to use, and how to get it to work.
Do you have a driver already? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jrmontg n00b
Joined: 17 May 2005 Posts: 61
|
Posted: Thu Jun 02, 2005 4:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I have used madwifi on a fedora server. I guess I will try emerge madwifi |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jrmontg n00b
Joined: 17 May 2005 Posts: 61
|
Posted: Thu Jun 02, 2005 5:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I emerged madwifi-drivers
I opened /etc/conf.d/net
and added
iface_ath0="dhcp"
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=0
ap_scan=1
network={
ssid="myinformation"
psk="mypasswrd"
# The higher the priority the sooner we are matched
priority=5
}
then I ln -s net.eth0 net.ath1
then tried to bring the interface up:
/etc/init.d/net.ath0 start
and got this
init.d # /etc/init.d/net.ath0 start
/sbin/runscript.sh: line 32: /var/lib/init.d/softlevel: No such file or directory
* Bringing ath0 up via DHCP... [ !! ] |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|