View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
zeveck Apprentice


Joined: 17 Mar 2005 Posts: 173 Location: Boston, MA
|
Posted: Sun May 29, 2005 11:01 pm Post subject: Apache Problems [solved] |
|
|
When I try emerge -up world it tries to emerge both:
Code: |
...
[ebuild U ] net-www/apache-2.0.54-r5
[ebuild NS ] net-www/apache-1.3.33-r4
...
|
I only intentionally installed apache-2; why is it trying to emerge a parallel install of apache-1.3? I assume because something else I have installed has apache-1.3.33-r4 has a dependency? If so, how would I be able to find out what is requiring it?
It also includes NS for mod_php5.0.4 even though emerge -s mod_php indicates that 5.0.3-r2 is the latest version installed. Shouldn't it say U if this is the case? Why would it try to install in parallel with the existing version instead?
Last edited by zeveck on Sat Jun 04, 2005 8:01 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
adaptr Watchman


Joined: 06 Oct 2002 Posts: 6730 Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
|
Posted: Sun May 29, 2005 11:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Do you run ~x86 or have you used package.keywords like a good boy ?
To see what packages depend on apache 1.3 do a:
Code: | equery depgraph apache-1.3.33-r4 |
or some other combination to distinguish between the global apache package and a specific version.
man equery for more. _________________ >>> emerge (3 of 7) mcse/70-293 to /
Essential tools: gentoolkit eix profuse screen |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ronnie n00b

Joined: 21 Jul 2004 Posts: 66
|
Posted: Mon May 30, 2005 7:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
Add "apache2" to your USE flags. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zeveck Apprentice


Joined: 17 Mar 2005 Posts: 173 Location: Boston, MA
|
Posted: Fri Jun 03, 2005 2:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
I do have apache2 in my use flags, but for some reason it appears that mod_ssl-2.8.22-r1 wants apache-1.3.33-r4.
Any thoughts on this? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
zeveck Apprentice


Joined: 17 Mar 2005 Posts: 173 Location: Boston, MA
|
Posted: Fri Jun 03, 2005 2:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
So...I've determined the problem might be that I am retarded. Does apache2 even require mod_ssl? I went to www.modssl.com and noted that it is an SSL module specifically for apache 1.x. I also found some sites suggesting that to get SSL in apache2 all one needs to do is include the SSL use flag. Does this sound right or am I making shit up?  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
adaptr Watchman


Joined: 06 Oct 2002 Posts: 6730 Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
|
Posted: Fri Jun 03, 2005 10:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
You don't ever need to emerge mod_ssl or openssl directly; they will be pulled in as needed if you have set the USE flag.
So the answer would appear to be yes  _________________ >>> emerge (3 of 7) mcse/70-293 to /
Essential tools: gentoolkit eix profuse screen |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|