View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
brain salad surgery Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 21 Apr 2004 Posts: 216
|
Posted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 3:50 pm Post subject: reboot command not really rebooting... |
|
|
can somenone tell me why on my compaq armada m700
with kernel 2.6.11-gentoo-r6, when i type reboot,
the system is not really rebooting nor halting...
it hangs somewhere after having closed the services
and i have to power it off and on manually
i'd really like to make a router of it and to be able to reboot
it remotely
thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
pem Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/2100555766415dbfbd9f3e3.png)
Joined: 29 Aug 2004 Posts: 390 Location: France
|
Posted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 9:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
You have to set APM or ACPI under your kernel's config. They manage the halt/reboot. _________________ Registered user #30505 |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
brain salad surgery Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 21 Apr 2004 Posts: 216
|
Posted: Tue Jul 12, 2005 2:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
of course, i have set acpi directly in the kernel that i uses successfully
for the sleep state and all, with acpid running. Maybe is it
acpid that has to be set properly ?
here are the relevant parts from my kernel config:
#
# Power management options (ACPI, APM)
#
CONFIG_PM=y
CONFIG_PM_DEBUG=y
CONFIG_SOFTWARE_SUSPEND=y
CONFIG_PM_STD_PARTITION=""
#
# ACPI (Advanced Configuration and Power Interface) Support
#
CONFIG_ACPI=y
CONFIG_ACPI_BOOT=y
CONFIG_ACPI_INTERPRETER=y
CONFIG_ACPI_SLEEP=y
CONFIG_ACPI_SLEEP_PROC_FS=y
CONFIG_ACPI_AC=y
CONFIG_ACPI_BATTERY=y
CONFIG_ACPI_BUTTON=y
CONFIG_ACPI_VIDEO=y
CONFIG_ACPI_FAN=y
CONFIG_ACPI_PROCESSOR=y
CONFIG_ACPI_THERMAL=y
# CONFIG_ACPI_ASUS is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_IBM is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_TOSHIBA is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_BLACKLIST_YEAR=0
# CONFIG_ACPI_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_BUS=y
CONFIG_ACPI_EC=y
CONFIG_ACPI_POWER=y
CONFIG_ACPI_PCI=y
CONFIG_ACPI_SYSTEM=y
CONFIG_X86_PM_TIMER=y
# CONFIG_ACPI_CONTAINER is not set
#
# APM (Advanced Power Management) BIOS Support
#
# CONFIG_APM is not set
#
# CPU Frequency scaling
#
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ=y
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEBUG is not set
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_STAT=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_STAT_DETAILS=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_PERFORMANCE=y
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_USERSPACE is not set
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_PERFORMANCE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_POWERSAVE=m
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_USERSPACE=m
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_ONDEMAND=m
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_TABLE=y |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
pem Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/2100555766415dbfbd9f3e3.png)
Joined: 29 Aug 2004 Posts: 390 Location: France
|
Posted: Tue Jul 12, 2005 5:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
There are few things that could interfere:
- CONFIG_PM_DEBUG should be unset
- if you set CONFIG_SOFTWARE_SUSPEND, you should provide a partition for it under CONFIG_PM_STD_PARTITION="". Note that it must be around twice the real memory equipped on your box.
The rest seems quite OK. _________________ Registered user #30505 |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
pem Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/2100555766415dbfbd9f3e3.png)
Joined: 29 Aug 2004 Posts: 390 Location: France
|
Posted: Tue Jul 12, 2005 5:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
BTW brain salad surgery, the halt or reboot are normally managed by the kernel. The acpid is just a relay. To be sure that your kernel is able to do it without being annoyed by some services messing around a simple program is always welcome:
fast_reboot.c
Code: | #include <unistd.h>
#include <linux/reboot.h>
void main(void) {
reboot(LINUX_REBOOT_CMD_RESTART);
} |
Now compile it with:
Code: | gcc fast_reboot.c -c fast_reboot |
Synchronize your file 'caus it's bleeding fast:
And execute it as root:
_________________ Registered user #30505 |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
brain salad surgery Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 21 Apr 2004 Posts: 216
|
Posted: Sun Jul 17, 2005 11:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
thanks,
could you explain why fast_reboot this would bypass services shutdown ??
anyway, this did not work any better...
i've recompiled my kernel removing
- CONFIG_PM_DEBUG
- CONFIG_SOFTWARE_SUSPEND,
now using the reboot command stops
each of the opened services and
i even see the message:
Restarting system.
Right after, the screen comes black
and the damn hard drive led
stays on 30-60sec, then nothing.
i have to power off and on manually
Do you think the system has really
rebooted (right after the restarting
system message) and have
instead some problems at boot
(before lilo) ? It's difficult to tell...
I've checked in the
bios but haven't seen anything related
(bios for laptops are quite different
and this is my first one) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
dgaffuri Advocate
![Advocate Advocate](/images/ranks/rank-G-1-advocate.gif)
Joined: 05 Jun 2005 Posts: 2078 Location: Italy
|
Posted: Mon Jul 18, 2005 12:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
Had similar problem on a Toshiba Tecra M2 notebook, do you have ipw2200? I had to rmmod it explicitly (after bringing interface down) to make reboot work. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
brain salad surgery Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 21 Apr 2004 Posts: 216
|
Posted: Mon Jul 18, 2005 11:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
nope, no ipw2200 driver implied here... |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
pem Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/2100555766415dbfbd9f3e3.png)
Joined: 29 Aug 2004 Posts: 390 Location: France
|
Posted: Mon Jul 18, 2005 5:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
brain salad surgery wrote: | could you explain why fast_reboot this would bypass services shutdown ??
anyway, this did not work any better... |
This little util call directly the kernel. Thus, it's not bothered by any misconfigured services or things alike. If it works, it means that your kernel is properly configured for your hardware
brain salad surgery wrote: | i've recompiled my kernel removing
- CONFIG_PM_DEBUG
- CONFIG_SOFTWARE_SUSPEND,
now using the reboot command stops
each of the opened services and
i even see the message:
Restarting system.
Right after, the screen comes black
and the damn hard drive led
stays on 30-60sec, then nothing.
i have to power off and on manually |
All right, from my point of view, I would carry on the way we have started. One other option has been validated under your kernel conf and I don't think it's of any use. Just to be sure, I think you could remove it:
Code: | CONFIG_ACPI_SLEEP=y
CONFIG_ACPI_SLEEP_PROC_FS=y |
These are both for ACPI driver developper.
brain salad surgery wrote: | Do you think the system has really
rebooted (right after the restarting
system message) and have
instead some problems at boot
(before lilo) ? It's difficult to tell... |
Well, I don't think so. Though, you could give a try to grub just to be sure. _________________ Registered user #30505 |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
brain salad surgery Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 21 Apr 2004 Posts: 216
|
Posted: Tue Jul 19, 2005 1:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
thanks i'll try to remove the acpi options i don't need.
i was wondering if a command such as fast_reboot
is safe for partitions (if they are really unmounted ok
in the process). If so, i could think of a similar fast_halt
command that i could use on my server (not my laptop).
It has a big raid 5 partition that i really don't want to loose
(about a teraB). Anyway, the system is protected
with a tripp-lite ups that won't last more than
a few minutes (<5min).
a fast halt command would then be useful to be
sure the system halt even if, say, mldonkey
would make some troubles while stopping and
hang... Just want to be sure it is safe
for my partition md0
for a halt, what would be the fast_halt.c i
would need ?
i'll recompile my laptop's kernel...
thanks a lot guys, |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
brain salad surgery Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 21 Apr 2004 Posts: 216
|
Posted: Tue Jul 19, 2005 2:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
just to be sure: the fast_reboot program didn't work
and without
CONFIG_ACPI_SLEEP
CONFIG_ACPI_SLEEP_PROC_FS
the kernel doesn't do any better
would like to know why...
a bios issue ? anyone's got a compaq armada m700 ? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
dgaffuri Advocate
![Advocate Advocate](/images/ranks/rank-G-1-advocate.gif)
Joined: 05 Jun 2005 Posts: 2078 Location: Italy
|
Posted: Tue Jul 19, 2005 2:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Have you tried to play with reboot= kernel parameter? I don't remember exactly the allowed values now. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
pem Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/2100555766415dbfbd9f3e3.png)
Joined: 29 Aug 2004 Posts: 390 Location: France
|
Posted: Tue Jul 19, 2005 8:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
brain salad surgery wrote: | i was wondering if a command such as fast_reboot
is safe for partitions (if they are really unmounted ok
in the process). |
It's not safe caus' data are not sync on drive. Everything in the cache is lost or journalled. Thus I do not recommend it for a server...
brain salad surgery wrote: | for a halt, what would be the fast_halt.c i
would need ? |
There are 2 choices. Just replace LINUX_REBOOT_CMD_RESTART by:
LINUX_REBOOT_CMD_HALT or LINUX_REBOOT_CMD_POWER_OFF
You can have a look at the man page for some details:
brain salad surgery wrote: | would like to know why...
a bios issue ? anyone's got a compaq armada m700 ? |
Probably a BIOS issue... And dgaffuri comes with a good idea. The reboot method can be tuned on the kernel line. According to /usr/src/linux/arch/i386/kernel/reboot.c Just add that to your kernel line:
- warm" reboot (no memory testing etc)
cold reboot (with memory testing etc)
bios reboot by jumping through the BIOS: This could better handle a BIOS issue
hard reboot by toggling RESET and/or crashing the CPU
_________________ Registered user #30505 |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
DiD@SyN n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/13713608173edd8e5eea64b.jpg)
Joined: 04 Jun 2003 Posts: 30 Location: Switzerland
|
Posted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 11:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
try using ACPI OR APM. In your case, I would say disable all APM options in your kernel. If you really need APM support try disabling all ACPI options.
Give it a try. _________________ Use the force, read the source |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
brain salad surgery Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 21 Apr 2004 Posts: 216
|
Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 4:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
thanks a lot guys, i'm happy to have that
much suggestions
only acpi is set, and i did give a try to apm without success
(and moreover sleeping state wasn't well supported, so
i switched back to acpi)
i'm pretty sure now that the system has really shut down
using the reboot command and is having trouble booting
because i hear the cdrom make a little sound
i trying all of the reboot kernel parameter using
a line like:
append="reboot=h"
but none of them changed anything...
the system still hangs on a black screen before
lilo and before i can read "COMPAQ" like in a
usual boot process |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
brain salad surgery Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 21 Apr 2004 Posts: 216
|
Posted: Sat Jul 30, 2005 4:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i tried recently a live cd (WHAX) that was able to
reboot the laptop, no problema !
but the fast_reboot script is not able.
someone has an idea ? Another kernel option
that conflicts ? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
pem Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/2100555766415dbfbd9f3e3.png)
Joined: 29 Aug 2004 Posts: 390 Location: France
|
Posted: Sat Jul 30, 2005 4:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
You could check if this livecd relies on APM instead of ACPI. May be your laptop is not compatible with ACPI. That would explain a lot. If this is the case, you will have to remove everything concerning ACPI and validate every options for APM. _________________ Registered user #30505 |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|