View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
mirek Guru
Joined: 20 Sep 2004 Posts: 489 Location: Oslo Norway
|
Posted: Tue Aug 02, 2005 3:19 pm Post subject: Connection missed after emerging the new baselayout |
|
|
My /etc/conf.d/net
Code: |
# /etc/conf.d/net: Global config file for net.* rc-scripts
# $Header: /var/cvsroot/gentoo-src/rc-scripts/etc/conf.d/net,v 1.11 2004/08/01 22:28:18 agriffis Exp $
##############################################################################
#
# READ THIS COMMENT FIRST
#
# PLEASE PICK ONE of the configuration methods listed below. If you
# don't know which to pick, use the top one, NEW-STYLE IFCONFIG.
# The other two possible options are OLD-STYLE IFACE and
# IPROUTE2-STYLE.
#
# If you have multiple sections (for example IFCONFIG and IPROUTE2)
# the network scripts will attempt to make reasonable assumptions
# about what to use, but there is no guarantee on the results, so
# PLEASE just use one set of configuration variables.
#
# At the bottom there is an ADVANCED CONFIGURATION section with some
# additional configuration possibilities
#
##############################################################################
##############################################################################
# NEW-STYLE IFCONFIG examples
# ---------------------------
# This uses /sbin/ifconfig and /sbin/route to set the network up.
# It is suitable for most home users.
##############################################################################
# To use DHCP on eth0, simply uncomment the following line:
ifconfig_eth0=( "dhcp" )
ifconfig_eth1=( "dhcp" )
# For passing custom options to dhcpcd use something like the following. This
# example reduces the timeout for retrieving an address from 60 seconds (the
# default) to 10 seconds. Note that this might be too short for some servers,
# so the default is encouraged unless you know what you're doing.
dhcpcd_eth0="-R -t 10"
dhcpcd_eth1="-R -t 10"
# For a static configuration, use something like this. This sets the primary
# eth0 address to 192.168.0.2 and adds two aliases, eth0:1 and eth0:2
#ifconfig_eth0=(
# "192.168.0.2 broadcast 192.168.0.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"
# "192.168.0.3 broadcast 192.168.0.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"
# "192.168.0.4 broadcast 192.168.0.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"
#)
# This is just like setting the gateway config option in the old-style iface
# config, but allows one to add custom routes. This should not be needed if you
# are obtaining an address via DHCP since the default route should be set
# automatically.
#routes_eth0=(
# "default gw 192.168.0.1"
#)
# VLAN support - emerge net-misc/vconfig
# Please ensure your VLAN IDs are NOT zero-padded
#vlans_eth0="1 2"
#ifconfig_eth0_1=( "dhcp" )
#ifconfig_eth0_2=( "172.16.2.1 broadcast 172.16.3.255 netmask 255.255.254.0" )
##############################################################################
# OLD-STYLE IFACE examples (deprecated)
# -------------------------------------
# This uses /sbin/ifconfig and /sbin/route to set the network up,
# but is not as flexible as the IFCONFIG method above or the
# IPROUTE2 method below.
##############################################################################
# To use DHCP on eth0, simply uncomment the following line:
#iface_eth0="dhcp"
# For passing custom options to dhcpcd use something like the following. This
# example reduces the timeout for retrieving an address from 60 seconds (the
# default) to 10 seconds. Note that this might be too short for some servers,
# so the default is encouraged unless you know what you're doing.
#dhcpcd_eth0="-t 10"
# To set a static IP address use a line similar to this
#iface_eth0="192.168.0.2 broadcast 192.168.0.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"
# For setting the default gateway. You should not need to do this if you use
# DHCP since the default gateway should be set automatically.
#gateway="eth0/192.168.0.1"
# For adding aliases to a interface, specify them space-separated in the
# following string
#alias_eth0="192.168.0.3 192.168.0.4"
# To add a custom netmask/broadcast address to created aliases, specify them in
# the same order as the alias_eth0 string. If you find yourself doing this, you
# might consider switching to the new-style
#broadcast_eth0="192.168.0.255 192.168.0.255"
#netmask_eth0="255.255.255.0 255.255.255.0"
# VLAN support - emerge net-misc/vconfig
# Please ensure your VLAN IDs are NOT zero-padded
#vlans_eth0="1 2"
#iface_eth0_1="dhcp"
#iface_eth0_2="172.16.2.1 broadcast 172.16.3.255 netmask 255.255.254.0"
##############################################################################
# IPROUTE2-STYLE CONFIGURATION
# ----------------------------
# This makes use of the /sbin/ip command to set routes and ip
# addresses. This style is very useful if you are building an
# advanced linux router or using VRRP For more information on how to
# use the iproute2 command have a look at the ip(8) man page.
#
# NOTE: You must emerge sys-apps/iproute2 to use this configuration
##############################################################################
# To use DHCP on eth0, simply uncomment the following line:
#ipaddr_eth0=( "dhcp" )
# For passing custom options to dhcpcd use something like the following. This
# example reduces the timeout for retrieving an address from 60 seconds (the
# default) to 10 seconds. Note that this might be too short for some servers,
# so the default is encouraged unless you know what you're doing.
#dhcpcd_eth0="-t 10"
# For a static configuration, use something like this. This sets the primary
# eth0 address to 192.168.0.2 and adds two aliases, eth0:1 and eth0:2.
# You may also pass advanced ip addr commands via this option.
#ipaddr_eth0=(
# "192.168.0.2/24 brd 192.168.0.255"
# "192.168.0.3/24 brd 192.168.0.255"
# "192.168.0.4/24 brd 192.168.0.255"
#)
# The following will set up the default gateway. You can also pass advanced
# route configs via this option.
#iproute_eth0=(
# "default via 192.168.0.1"
#)
# VLAN support - emerge net-misc/vconfig
# Please ensure your VLAN IDs are NOT zero-padded
#vlans_eth0="1 2"
#ipaddr_eth0_1=( "dhcp" )
#ipaddr_eth0_2=( "172.16.2.1/23 brd 172.16.3.255" )
##############################################################################
# ADVANCED CONFIGURATION
# ----------------------
# The items in this section can be combined with one of the sections
# above to create a complete network configuration. None of the
# items in this section are necessary to configure for most users.
##############################################################################
# Four functions can be defined which will be called surrounding the
# start/stop operations. The functions are called with the interface
# name first so that one function can control multiple adapters.
#
# The return values for the preup and predown functions should be 0
# (success) to indicate that configuration or deconfiguration of the
# interface can continue. If preup returns a non-zero value, then
# interface configuration will be aborted. If predown returns a
# non-zero value, then the interface will not be allowed to continue
# deconfiguration.
#
# The return values for the postup and postdown functions are ignored
# since there's nothing to do if they indicate failure.
#preup() {
# # Uncomment this function below if you want to check for link
# # Remember to uncomment the preup_linkdetect function!
# #preup_linkdetect $1
#
# # Enable this function with this next line if you want to change your
# # MAC address. Remember to uncomment the preup_macchanger function!
# #preup_macchanger $1
#
# # Remember to return 0 on success
# return 0
#}
#predown() {
# # Test to make sure the root filesystem is not mounted via NFS.
# # Interface ($1) is ignored but could also be tested.
# #if grep -q ' / nfs ' /proc/mounts; then
# # ewarn "Root is NFS mounted, aborting deconfiguration of $1"
# # return 1
# #fi
#
# # Bonding support
# #predown_bonding $1
#
# # Remember to return 0 on success
# return 0
#}
#postup() {
# # This function could be used, for example, to register with a
# # dynamic DNS service. Another possibility would be to
# # send/receive mail once the interface is brought up.
#
# # Enable this function with the next line if you want to use bonding.
# # Remember to uncomment the preup_bonding function!
# #postup_bonding $1
#
# # Return 0 for success (ignored)
# return 0
#}
#postdown() {
# # This function is mostly here for completeness... I haven't
# # thought of anything nifty to do with it yet ;-)
#
# # Return 0 for success (ignored)
# return 0
#}
# For changing MAC addresses - emerge net-analyzer/macchanger
# - to set a specific MAC address
#mac_eth0="00:11:22:33:44:55"
# - to randomize the last 3 bytes only
#mac_eth0="random-ending"
# - to randomize between the same physical type of connection (eg fibre, copper, wireless) , all vendors
#mac_eth0="random-samekind"
# - to randomize between any physical type of connection (eg fibre, copper, wireless) , all vendors
#mac_eth0="random-anykind"
# - full randomization - WARNING: some MAC addresses generated by this may NOT act as expected
#mac_eth0="random-full"
# custom - passes all parameters directly to net-analyzer/macchanger
#mac_eth0="some custom set of parameters"
# uncomment this function for support for changing MAC addresses
# also uncomment it's invocation in preup() above
#preup_macchanger() {
# eval mac_IFACE=\"\$\{mac_${IFACE}\}\"
# if [ -n "${mac_IFACE}" ]; then
# if [[ -x /sbin/macchanger ]]; then
# local macchanger_opts=""
# case "${mac_IFACE}" in
# # specific mac-addr, i wish there were a shorter way to specify this
# [0-9a-zA-Z][0-9a-zA-Z]:[0-9a-zA-Z][0-9a-zA-Z]:[0-9a-zA-Z][0-9a-zA-Z]:[0-9a-zA-Z][0-9a-zA-Z]:[0-9a-zA-Z][0-9a-zA-Z]:[0-9a-zA-Z][0-9a-zA-Z]) macchanger_opts="${macchanger_opts} --mac=${mac_IFACE}" ;;
# # increment MAC address, default macchanger behavior
# increment) macchanger_opts="${macchanger_opts}" ;;
# # randomize just the ending bytes
# random-ending) macchanger_opts="${macchanger_opts} -e" ;;
# # keep the same kind of physical layer (eg fibre, copper)
# random-samekind) macchanger_opts="${macchanger_opts} -a" ;;
# # randomize to any known vendor of any physical layer type
# random-anykind) macchanger_opts="${macchanger_opts} -A" ;;
# # fully random bytes
# random-full) macchanger_opts="${macchanger_opts} -r" ;;
# # default case is just to pass on all the options
# *) macchanger_opts="${macchanger_opts} ${mac_IFACE}" ;;
# esac
# #echo "/sbin/macchanger ${macchanger_opts} ${IFACE}"
# /sbin/macchanger ${macchanger_opts} ${IFACE} >/dev/null
# retval=$?
# if [ $retval -gt 0 ]; then
# eerror "Failed to set MAC address"
# return 1
# fi
# else
# eerror "For changing MAC addresses, emerge net-analyzer/macchanger"
# return 1
# fi
# fi
# return 0 #important
#}
# For link bonding/trunking - emerge net-misc/ifenslave
# if you are using any of the slave interfaces, it is important that you remove
# configurations for them and take them down first!
#slaves_bond0="eth2"
#ipaddr_bond0=( "172.16.2.1/23 brd 172.16.3.255" )
#postup_bonding() {
# # return silently if this is not a bonding interface
# if [ -n "${IFACE/bond*/}" ]; then
# return 0
# fi
# eval slaves_IFACE=\"\$\{slaves_${IFACE}\}\"
# if [[ -n "${slaves_IFACE}" ]]; then
# if [[ -x /sbin/ifenslave ]]; then
# # must force the slaves to a particular state before adding them
# for slaveiface in ${slaves_IFACE}; do
# ifconfig ${slaveiface} 0.0.0.0 up
# done
# # now force the master to up
# ifconfig ${IFACE} up
# # finally add in slaves
# /sbin/ifenslave ${IFACE} ${slaves_IFACE}
# else
# eerror "For link aggregation (bonding), emerge net-misc/ifenslave"
# return 1
# fi
# fi
# return 0 #important
#}
#predown_bonding() {
# # return silently if this is not a bonding interface
# if [ -n "${IFACE/bond*/}" ]; then
# return 0
# fi
# # don't trust the config, get the active list instead
# slaves_IFACE=$(awk '/^Slave Interface:/ { printf $3" " }' /proc/net/bonding/${IFACE})
# if [[ -n "${slaves_IFACE}" ]]; then
# # remove all slaves
# echo /sbin/ifenslave -d ${IFACE} ${slaves_IFACE}
# /sbin/ifenslave -d ${IFACE} ${slaves_IFACE}
# # reset all slaves
# for slaveiface in ${slaves_IFACE}; do
# ifconfig ${slaveiface} 0.0.0.0 down
# done
# fi
# return 0
#}
#preup_linkdetect() {
# # Test for link on the interface prior to bringing it up. This
# # only works on some network adapters and requires the ethtool
# # package to be installed.
# if ethtool $1 | grep -q 'Link detected: no'; then
# ewarn "No link on $1, aborting configuration"
# return 1
# fi
#}
RC_VERBOSE="yes"
key_lan="myWEPkey"
|
/etc/init.d/net.eth1 restart
Code: |
Caching service dependencies …
Starting eth1
Loading networking modules for eth1
Modules: iwconfig essidnet iptunnel ifconfig dhcpcd apipa
iwconfig provides wireless
ifconfig provides interface
dhcpcd provides dhcpcd
Configuring wireless network for eth1
Scanning for access points
Found “lan” at 00:04:ED:05:2D:36 (WEP required)
WEP key is not set for “lan” – not connecting
Couldn’t associate with any access points on eth1
Failed to configure wireless for eth1 |
My WEP key was configured in /etc/hotplug/pci/prism54 before |
|
Back to top |
|
|
rwgeorge Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 28 Aug 2004 Posts: 87 Location: Indianapolis, Indiana - USA
|
Posted: Tue Aug 02, 2005 6:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
This happened to me, and I was able to connect by using iwconfig and manually entering my info...I connected once, and then after reboot, it works automatically each time. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
UberLord Retired Dev
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
Posted: Tue Aug 02, 2005 6:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Your config can be trimmed down to this
Code: | RC_VERBOSE="yes"
config_eth0=( "dhcp" )
dhcpcd_eth0="-R -t 10"
config_eth1=( "dhcp" )
dhcpcd_eth1="-R -t 10"
key_lan="myWEPkey" |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
mirek Guru
Joined: 20 Sep 2004 Posts: 489 Location: Oslo Norway
|
Posted: Tue Aug 02, 2005 7:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
@UberLord
OK, I have trimmed my config, but you now it not changed anything.
@rwgeorge
What do you mean as " manually entering my info..."
Could you explain a little more? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
UberLord Retired Dev
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
mirek Guru
Joined: 20 Sep 2004 Posts: 489 Location: Oslo Norway
|
Posted: Tue Aug 02, 2005 8:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
YES!! It works with the new iwconfig
Thanks a lot
What I have to do in the future. Have I do the same with iwconfig?
Can I unmask now
Code: |
=sys-apps/baselayout-1.12.0_pre3
=sys-apps/baselayout-1.12.0_pre3-r1
=sys-apps/baselayout-1.12.0_pre3-r2
=net-wireless/wireless-tools-28_pre8-r1
=net-wireless/wireless-tools-27-r1 |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
mirek Guru
Joined: 20 Sep 2004 Posts: 489 Location: Oslo Norway
|
Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 11:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
I have unmasked sys-apps/baselayout-1.12.0_pre3-r2 and missed my connection again. It is samething wrong with the new baselayouts. I am back on sys-apps/baselayout-1.11.13. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
UberLord Retired Dev
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 11:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
You'll need to use the same iwconfig file from my dev area with both 1.11.13 and 1.12.0_pre3-r2 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mirek Guru
Joined: 20 Sep 2004 Posts: 489 Location: Oslo Norway
|
Posted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 11:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
I have tied but it not worked |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mirek Guru
Joined: 20 Sep 2004 Posts: 489 Location: Oslo Norway
|
Posted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 7:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
I emerged the new sys-apps/baselayout-1.12.0_pre5 yesterday, and missed my connection again.
@UberLord
I used the same iwconfig file from your dev area but it not worked correctly.
I am back on sys-apps/baselayout-1.11.13. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mirek Guru
Joined: 20 Sep 2004 Posts: 489 Location: Oslo Norway
|
Posted: Mon Aug 22, 2005 5:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
Not working with sys-apps/baselayout-1.12.0_pre6 either. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mirek Guru
Joined: 20 Sep 2004 Posts: 489 Location: Oslo Norway
|
Posted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 9:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
I have changed
key_lan="myWEPkey"
to
iwconfig eth1 key myWEPkey
in my /etc/conf.d/net and now the wireless card is working well. It can be only temporary solution, because it makes trouble with my cable setup.
What I have to put here to get it working correctly? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
UberLord Retired Dev
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
mirek Guru
Joined: 20 Sep 2004 Posts: 489 Location: Oslo Norway
|
Posted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 12:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I have got this error
Code: | WEP key is not set for lan not connecting
Couldnt associate with any access points on eth1
Failed to configure wireless for eth1 |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
UberLord Retired Dev
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
mirek Guru
Joined: 20 Sep 2004 Posts: 489 Location: Oslo Norway
|
Posted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 2:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I have got:
Code: | # /root/weptest
/root/weptest: line 5: /etc/conf.d/wireless: No such file or di rectory
off |
Because my WEP key is configured in /etc/hotplug/pci/prism54 I have changed weptest to:
Code: | #!/bin/bash
source /sbin/functions.sh
source /etc/conf.d/net
#source /etc/conf.d/wireless
source /etc/hotplug/pci/prism54
source /lib/rcscripts/net.modules.d/iwconfig
ESSID="lan"
ESSIDVAR=$( bash_variable "${ESSID}" )
iwconfig_get_wep_key |
and now the result is:
Code: | # /root/weptest
off |
My /etc/hotplug/pci/prism54
Code: | #!/bin/bash
#/etc/init.d/net.eth1 start
iwconfig eth1 mode Managed
iwconfig eth1 key MyKeyHere
iwconfig eth1 essid "lan"
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
UberLord Retired Dev
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
mirek Guru
Joined: 20 Sep 2004 Posts: 489 Location: Oslo Norway
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
UberLord Retired Dev
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
Posted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 3:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I have a prism54 card as well.
I am the principal developer of networking in Gentoo's baselayout.
I wrote the documentation for Gentoo networking.
Given the above, I can tell you that the forum thread to prism54 is old and a poster there called robpatriot even mentions me saying that I have way integrated into Gentoo.
So, when I say that setting anyting in /etc/hotplug/pci/prism54 will not work I mean it.
Try using official Gentoo documentation or from the non-official Gentoo wiki instead of non-official documentation. _________________ Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|