View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
iain_mh n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 27 Aug 2005 Posts: 7
|
Posted: Sat Aug 27, 2005 1:56 pm Post subject: resolv.conf |
|
|
My newly installed Gentoo partition cannot find a host. /sbin /ifconfig shows a properly installed ethernet device and the modem and street-to-house connection have been pinged and come up golden.
I copied the resolv.conf file as per instruction upon installation, but I suspect it 's flawed.
It reads:
nameserver 64.59.114.18
nameserver 64.59.114.19
search vc.shawcable.net
The Live/InstallCD and the chroot environment found the network just fine before I compiled the kernel. And yes, the appropriate modules have been compiled. I've even installed a D-Link network card in addition to my onboard Marvell Gigabit LAN for troubleshooting purposes. Neither gives any joy.
I've had heaps of connection problems over the last month but have managed to correct most of them. IE, this may be a Shawcable problem but I need to know before they show up at my front-door next Monday.
Bare-bones Gentoo boots correctly.
Any help will be greatly appreciated.
thx, |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
anello Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
Joined: 17 Jul 2005 Posts: 557 Location: EU -> DE -> Stuttgart
|
Posted: Sat Aug 27, 2005 2:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Both of your DNS Server seem down or at least aren't pingable. Did you try to add some other DNS Server instead? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
nixnut Bodhisattva
![Bodhisattva Bodhisattva](/images/ranks/rank-bodhisattva.gif)
![](images/avatars/29856733845fd04c0f3d8c.gif)
Joined: 09 Apr 2004 Posts: 10974 Location: the dutch mountains
|
Posted: Sat Aug 27, 2005 2:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Moved from Installing Gentoo to Networking & Security. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
jmbsvicetto Moderator
![Moderator Moderator](/images/ranks/rank-mod.gif)
![](images/avatars/131796264c80fa19b97a2.png)
Joined: 27 Apr 2005 Posts: 4735 Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)
|
Posted: Sat Aug 27, 2005 2:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi and welcome to the forums.
If you suspect networking problems, you should follow a troubleshooting methodology.
1. Try to ping forums.gentoo.org
If that works, your network is ok. If not, do the following
2. Try to ping forums.gentoo.org by IP address
Code: | # ping -c 20 140.211.166.170 |
If that works, you have a DNS resolution problem. If not, you have a networking problem.
To solve your DNS resolution problem make sure that your /etc/resolv.conf file is properly configured. Here is an example
Code: | atl64 linux # cat /etc/resolv.conf
nameserver 172.28.2.5
nameserver 172.28.2.2
nameserver 195.22.0.136
domain acores.pt
atl64 linux #
| 3. Look at your nic config.
Does your interface have an IP address? If not, you have to configure it by hand or make sure that DHCP is running in your network and that you have installed a DHCP client - dhcpcd is a good option.
4. Check your routing table
If your interface has an IP address, are your routing entries ok? Do you have a 0.0.0.0 route? If not, you're missing the default gateway and will not be able to connect to the Internet. If you know the IP address of your default gateway do
5. Add default route
Code: | # route add default gw gateway_address |
Now check if you can ping the forums.gentoo.org by name or IP address.
6. If you still can't ping by IP address, you must have a local network problem. Try to ping your default gateway
Code: | # ping -c 20 default_gateway |
If you can't ping the default gateway, check that your nic, network cable and switch or router is working properly. Replace the network cable, try to ping another host in your network, use another nic if you can. If you're sure that you have no problem here, follow the list. If you still can't ping the default gateway or any other host in your network and are sure the problem is not caused by the network cable or the switch or routers, make sure that your nic is working properly in your system. Look at dmesg and ifconfig -a and make sure there are no errors and that your nic shows any activity. You must correct this before trying anything else.
7. If your nic is working and you can connect to other hosts and your default gateway, but can't connect to the Internet, make sure that your Internet connection is up and running. Look at the output of
Your system should be able to contact your ISP routers. Some ISPs block traceroute, but you should see at least their first router. If you can get to your ISP routers, then the problem is probably theirs. Try to ping one of the ISP systems, such as a DNS server or mail server, just to check that you can connect to their network. You should also try to ping another Internet hosts such as http://www.google.com http://www.yahoo.com http://www.suse.de or http://au.samba.org _________________ Jorge.
Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
Last edited by jmbsvicetto on Sat Aug 27, 2005 2:43 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
iain_mh n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 27 Aug 2005 Posts: 7
|
Posted: Sat Aug 27, 2005 2:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Did you try to add some other DNS Server instead?
I haven't and I don't really know how for sure.
Your instruction would be taken very kindly.
I |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
m_sqrd Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
Joined: 18 Jul 2005 Posts: 367
|
Posted: Sat Aug 27, 2005 2:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I have a ? how did you get your /etc/resolv.conf by DHCP ?
if so I think some one is been up to something! |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
jmbsvicetto Moderator
![Moderator Moderator](/images/ranks/rank-mod.gif)
![](images/avatars/131796264c80fa19b97a2.png)
Joined: 27 Apr 2005 Posts: 4735 Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)
|
Posted: Sat Aug 27, 2005 3:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The option to use the DNS servers provided by the DHCP server can be set or removed in /etc/conf.d/domain.
Code: | # When setting up resolv.conf, what should take precedence?
# If you wish to always override DHCP/whatever, set this to 1.
OVERRIDE=1 |
_________________ Jorge.
Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
m_sqrd Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
Joined: 18 Jul 2005 Posts: 367
|
Posted: Sat Aug 27, 2005 3:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Do a dig -x on his namesevers and you'll see why I ask. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
jmbsvicetto Moderator
![Moderator Moderator](/images/ranks/rank-mod.gif)
![](images/avatars/131796264c80fa19b97a2.png)
Joined: 27 Apr 2005 Posts: 4735 Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)
|
Posted: Sat Aug 27, 2005 4:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yep, you're right! There's something fishy in there. _________________ Jorge.
Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
jmbsvicetto Moderator
![Moderator Moderator](/images/ranks/rank-mod.gif)
![](images/avatars/131796264c80fa19b97a2.png)
Joined: 27 Apr 2005 Posts: 4735 Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)
|
Posted: Sat Aug 27, 2005 4:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
iain_mh,
from your first post I've gathered the following.
Code: | atl64 linux # dig -t any vc.shawcable.net
; <<>> DiG 9.3.1 <<>> -t any vc.shawcable.net
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 55679
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 3, AUTHORITY: 2, ADDITIONAL: 0
;; QUESTION SECTION:
;vc.shawcable.net. IN ANY
;; ANSWER SECTION:
vc.shawcable.net. 172800 IN NS pd2ns1.st.vc.shawcable.net.
vc.shawcable.net. 172800 IN NS pd2ns2.st.vc.shawcable.net.
vc.shawcable.net. 1800 IN SOA pd2ns1.st.vc.shawcable.net. dnsadmin.shaw.ca. 2129633692 10800 3600 604800 600
;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
vc.shawcable.net. 172800 IN NS pd2ns1.st.vc.shawcable.net.
vc.shawcable.net. 172800 IN NS pd2ns2.st.vc.shawcable.net.
;; Query time: 244 msec
;; SERVER: 172.28.2.5#53(172.28.2.5)
;; WHEN: Sat Aug 27 16:26:41 2005
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 159
atl64 linux #
pd2ns1.st.vc.shawcable.net. 86400 IN A 64.59.144.52
pd2ns2.st.vc.shawcable.net. 86390 IN A 64.59.144.53 |
From this, you should set your /etc/resolv.conf to
Code: | nameserver 64.59.114.52
nameserver 64.59.114.53
search vc.shawcable.net |
_________________ Jorge.
Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
jmbsvicetto Moderator
![Moderator Moderator](/images/ranks/rank-mod.gif)
![](images/avatars/131796264c80fa19b97a2.png)
Joined: 27 Apr 2005 Posts: 4735 Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)
|
Posted: Sat Aug 27, 2005 4:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
iain_mh,
how confident are you on your provider? I wouldn't like to see the following in my provider.
Code: | 18.114.59.64.in-addr.arpa. 193 IN PTR xxx-hardcore-women.com.
19.114.59.64.in-addr.arpa. 127 IN PTR hot-foxy-women.com.
pd2ns1.st.vc.shawcable.net. 86400 IN A 64.59.144.52
pd2ns2.st.vc.shawcable.net. 86390 IN A 64.59.144.53 |
I just don't like to see this proximity! _________________ Jorge.
Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
iain_mh n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 27 Aug 2005 Posts: 7
|
Posted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:32 am Post subject: nameserver problem with shaw |
|
|
Apart from having had to occasionally kill some unsolicted pop-ups, I can think of no reason why a porn site would show up in my system files. I've got teenage boys but I pretty much trust them and besides, they don't use this partition. I'm truly mystified and disturbed.
As for Shaw, they are one of the top three cable providers in Canada. I have my quibbles with them but never before on this type of security issue.
As I said in my original post, the cable guy is coming out tomorrow to do a physical check on the modem and the tree-to-house connection, even though the electronic tests show a live if mildly degraded signal. And as I also said, my cable-feed has been extremely erratic over the past month or so. But in addition, the box itself has been performing oddly. Particulary, the monitor output has to be tweaked on boot about 75% of the time in order for it to display properly. The onset of that behaviour roughly coincides with the problems I've been encountering with my cable connection. I've never had a virus under Linux but I'm beginning to wonder....
I'm going to print the output of the query showing the questionable resolution of my nameservers for my tech to see, but I'm not confident he'll be able to decipher it. They don't support Linux. Anything you guys could add would be greatly appreciated.
Thx in advance,
I |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
m_sqrd Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
Joined: 18 Jul 2005 Posts: 367
|
Posted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 5:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I still like to know how your getting you address
if by DHCP then cat /var/lib/dhcpc/dhcpcd-eth0.info and look at the
Code: |
DHCPSIADDR=
DHCPSHADDR=
|
and see if they don't point to said site.
maybe he/she is running a DHCP-server and it not configured correctly.
or some one else is. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
gakula n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/1675595067427d77a863340.jpg)
Joined: 05 Jan 2004 Posts: 72
|
Posted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 6:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I'd suggest to install local DNS server in caching mode. I do that to be independent of ISP's DNS problems. All ISP I ever had experience with were dumb enough to have misconfigured or unreliable DNS servers. Beside that, you'd get slight improvement as you wont need to send DNS requests by network.
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
iain_mh n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 27 Aug 2005 Posts: 7
|
Posted: Sun Sep 11, 2005 11:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
Have finally installed Gentoo pretty correctly I think...
A few problems were encountered and lots are left but things are improving.
Had the cable-guy out but he just made things worse. Shaw has as much as admitted their culpability for the network problem. They've installed new routers which were in the process of being adjusted.
Anyway, I bypassed the Gigabit driver and stuck with the D-Link card I installed, but the fact that the extra network card is eth1 seemed to send the installation for a bit of a loop: It would connect but only if I manually ran dhcpcd eth1 in the console once the system was booted. The handbook suggested linking eth1 to eth0 but I also had to find and uncomment the eth1 entry in /etc/conf.d/net in order to connect at boot.
Also, the installation recognised my wheel-mouse but failed to activate its scroll function (the wheel). But when I went to amend the xorg.conf file to correct things, I found I had no xorg.conf file!. Anyway, I ran xorgconfig and then manually edited my new xorg.conf file to introduce my mouse's ZAxisMapping function and all is now well in that department. Thx to Gentoo Forums for that.
Still having problems with defaulting to NumLock though. When I boot to the prompt it works but when I start KDE it disappears. Also, when I elect to boot startx by default, KDE refuses to allow me to login as root.
Thx
I |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|