View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Elenyon n00b
Joined: 11 Feb 2005 Posts: 44 Location: Philadelphia
|
Posted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 3:17 am Post subject: Motorola A780 : Howto in progress |
|
|
Well I just got my Motorola A780 in the mail (sweet phone works great with cingular)
and I am working on getting it to work just the way i like it with Gentoo
so I have started this thread to hopefully help anyone who is also trying to get this
phone to work with Gentoo. I have a list of goals I would like to accomplish and I will
update this post as I figure out how to get each one to work.
1) Connect the phone to GPRS
Code: |
NOTE: This is for a cingular account in the USA i can't speak for other providers
goto Menu->Settings->Data Network
from the menu select new and use these settings ( ones not listed can be left blank)
Profile Name: Cingular GPRS
APN: wap.cingular
User Name: wap@cingulargprs.com
Timeout Off
select save and your GPRS access point is setup
To connect the web browser fire up Opera
Menu->WWW
Select Menu->Setup->Profiles
Select Menu->New
Profile Name: Cingular GPRS
Primary Gateway: 66.209.11.61
Port: 9201
Secondary Gateway: 0.0.0.0
Port: 0
Homepage: device.home
Network Link: cingular GPRS
you can now Browse the web
|
2) Set up E-mail Client
Code: |
Set up a new Mailbox using the built in client
goto Menu->E-mail
if you have no mail boxes set up it will prompt you to configure a new one
If a mailbox is alread configures it will bing you to the inbox
select Menu->Mailbox Setup->New
Fill in the server address and port numbers for your mail server
Example for receiving mail
server pop.foo.net:143 UN: jonny PW: bravo
Server: pop.foo.bar
Port 143
Username: jonny
Password: bravo
( I am sure the other boxes do something but when selected my IMAP box fails to sync)
Select OK when done
Repeat for sending mail
select OK
mailbox is now setup
the above informaiton can be found form your ISP or the host of your Mail box
(NOTE: The build in client does not support Secure connections for passwords
This means it does not work with GMail or any other mail provider that requires a secure connection)
|
3) Set Up SSH Client
Code: |
The Motorola A780 is a MIDP complient device so MIDPSSH will work as a ssh client
To install the program point the internal browser at this url
[url]http://xk72.com/midpssh/midpssh-full.jad[/url]
Follow the on screen prompts to install the program into the catagory of your choice
The program is now installed but the default gentoo SSHD is not set up to allow us to connect
<edit> This was sent to me by thrashed as a TIP for thoes of you who don't have unlimited bandwith to your phone
Downloaded this file http://www.xk72.com/midpssh/midpssh-full.jar (108kb) with a Gentoo PC :-D, mount the phone via usb. transfer the midpssh-full.jar to the myprogramms folder on the phone then Disconnect the phone from the PC. Go into to the file explorer in the phone and double click the midpssh-full.jar. The installation should began automatically.
To set up the Host for SSH:
First you must edit /etc/ssh/sshd_config ( or have the host administrator edit it) and uncommet this line
PubkeyAuthentication yes
you then must comment the following line i have included the comment as it is a good warning
# To disable tunneled clear text passwords, change to no here!
#PasswordAuthentication no
This implys that by using this program to connect to a shell you are in essence sening a clear text password
( I understand this circumvents the whole secure shell concept but hey it works and I didn't have to pay for it)
Once this is done restart sshd (/etc/init.d/sshd restart) and your host is set up
To Configure the Client:
from the client navigate to Applicaitons->MidpSSH
Select Sessions then New ( New is on the bottom bar)
Fill in the alias with a name that will remind you of who this host is and enter its IP or DNS name
Select SSH as the type of connection then enter your Username and Password
Select Create and the session is configured simply click on it to start the session up
|
4) Set UP VNC
5) Make phone work with G-Mail
6) Get phone to SYNC with Evolution
7) Mount phone to allow file transfer
Code: |
Again another TIP by thrashed and confermed by Elenyon.
Mounting this device is as simple as plugging it in via usb and issueing this command
mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/phone <- Simply replace phone with your perfered mount folder
This has not been verified to access the MicroSD card ,but it may work
|
8) Figure out how to use phone as USB Modem
9) How to get a shell from the A780 Kernel
10) Bluetooth file transfer and the A780
11) Bluetooth SYNC and the A780
12) How to create a beowolf cluster of Motorola A780 _________________ Visit the Lug DUGLUG
Last edited by Elenyon on Wed Sep 21, 2005 12:29 pm; edited 2 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mundi n00b
Joined: 27 Jun 2003 Posts: 60
|
Posted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 9:33 pm Post subject: Re: Motorola A780 : Howto in progress |
|
|
Elenyon wrote: | Well I just got my Motorola A780 i |
I am going to get mine tomorrow (the european version including gps).
So im am going to join you in your quest.
And i will of course have some additional goals:
1) write some applications using qt3/embeded for the phone
2) port something like xterm
3) get root-access
4) mess with the kernel |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Elenyon n00b
Joined: 11 Feb 2005 Posts: 44 Location: Philadelphia
|
Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2005 1:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | (the european version including gps). |
I want GPS No fair
but I have updated the SSH Portion of the How to and figured something else out
If you happen to let this phone competly discharge and then turn it off you cannot charge it with the USB Cable
( It will just not respond to anything making you think your brand new phone is broken )
You must use the Outlet Charger to re-charge the phone at least enought to get it booted then USB will work normally _________________ Visit the Lug DUGLUG |
|
Back to top |
|
|
celer n00b
Joined: 06 Sep 2005 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2005 4:00 pm Post subject: A780/w GPS |
|
|
Couple of quick questions
Where did you get your A780 with GPS from? Are you in the US?
I am not sure the GPS feature on the A780 will have much value for US users of the phone It looks like there is pretty much only one piece of software for GPS navigation, Co-pilot Live, and it only has maps of europe and asia
Secondly, I wonder if the interface to the GPS is something proprietary, which won't be accessable outside of the one navigation app that ships with the phone.
I am a developer and would like to access the GPS but I suspect that I probably won't be able to Hopefully you can prove me wrong. I am excited about getting an A780 because I wrote one popular application for the Zaurus, which I plan on using again, and have a bunch of others that need to be finished (My Zaurus died before I could finish them).
I plan on ordering an A780 later this week. I am probably going to get it from www.ctinyc.com
celer |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mundi n00b
Joined: 27 Jun 2003 Posts: 60
|
Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2005 7:13 pm Post subject: Re: A780/w GPS |
|
|
celer wrote: | Couple of quick questions
Where did you get your A780 with GPS from? Are you in the US?
I am not sure the GPS feature on the A780 will have much value for US users of the phone It looks like there is pretty much only one piece of software for GPS navigation, Co-pilot Live, and it only has maps of europe and asia
Secondly, I wonder if the interface to the GPS is something proprietary, which won't be accessable outside of the one navigation app that ships with the phone.
I am a developer and would like to access the GPS but I suspect that I probably won't be able to Hopefully you can prove me wrong. I am excited about getting an A780 because I wrote one popular application for the Zaurus, which I plan on using again, and have a bunch of others that need to be finished (My Zaurus died before I could finish them).
I plan on ordering an A780 later this week. I am probably going to get it from www.ctinyc.com
celer |
Hi !
I got mine in europe, thats right, and i got it from http://t-online-shop.com.
The GPS package is AKL Co Pilot, but ther should be US-Maps to (not inkluded in the package you buy at t-online (see http://www.alk.eu.com/support/copilot_A780/faqs.asp)
regards mundi |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Henning Rogge Apprentice
Joined: 20 Sep 2002 Posts: 178
|
Posted: Fri Sep 09, 2005 12:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I'm thinking about buying the A780 phone too ( I live in Germany so I will get the GPS version ) but I'm not sure what's necessary to write some software for the phone myself. Even the Java-ME seems to be locked down to Motorola signed stuff if you want to access the phone/gps part I heared. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
celer n00b
Joined: 06 Sep 2005 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Fri Sep 09, 2005 6:27 pm Post subject: I just got mine |
|
|
I don't think it is locked down, but it is not easy to access without setting up TCP/IP over USB. Otherwise it should be pretty simple. In my experiance doing development for the Zaurus, after that it is a cake walk. And this should be even easier to since the phone has internet access. So you should be able to point it at existing qtopia apps on the web and simply have them work.
I just got my A780 this morning so I will fill you in once I learn more.
We should probably setup a site somewhere else to deal with linux users and A780 info, at the moment it seems pretty scattered. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Henning Rogge Apprentice
Joined: 20 Sep 2002 Posts: 178
|
Posted: Fri Sep 09, 2005 8:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Here is another site about the A780 ( and other motorola handys )...
http://rcsc.sisrs.com/mfc/index.php
at least I have seen description how to get a root access and to get a bootloader working. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bluedevils Apprentice
Joined: 21 Jul 2004 Posts: 252 Location: Vancouver BC -> NYC, NY
|
Posted: Fri Sep 09, 2005 9:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
while the zaurus was mentioned and a unified place for the a780, why don't you setup a forum at the oesf.org (open embedded). The simpad guys did. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Pietschy Apprentice
Joined: 25 Jul 2002 Posts: 237
|
Posted: Thu Sep 22, 2005 10:51 am Post subject: Re: Motorola A780 : Howto in progress |
|
|
mundi wrote: | Elenyon wrote: | Well I just got my Motorola A780 i |
2) port something like xterm
|
1. Install linloader (little bit tricky)
2. Install neo-installer
3. Install Qonsole
4. Join, Forum at http://www.rcsc.sisrs.com/mfc to download this 3 packages
Login on phone via telnet
patch gentoo kernel usbnet driver (/usr/src/linux/drivers/usb/net/usbnet.c)
add after Code: |
USB_DEVICE (0x8086, 0x07d3), // "blob" bootloader
.driver_info = (unsigned long) &blob_info,
},
|
this
Code: |
{
USB_DEVICE (0x22b8, 0x600c), // USBNET Motorola E680
.driver_info = (unsigned long) &linuxdev_info,
}, {
USB_DEVICE (0x22b8, 0x3802), // USBNET Motorola E680i
.driver_info = (unsigned long) &linuxdev_info,
},
|
plug a780 via USB in Modem-Mode
modprobe usbnet (on gentoo)
on phone (Qonsole)
Code: | echo MotNet > /proc/usbd-switch |
on gentoo
root password is blank.
sorry, maybe my english is bad
Pietschy |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Elenyon n00b
Joined: 11 Feb 2005 Posts: 44 Location: Philadelphia
|
Posted: Thu Sep 22, 2005 1:08 pm Post subject: Re: Motorola A780 : Howto in progress |
|
|
Pietschy wrote: |
<Lots of good info> |
Do you think there is a proper method to get a change like that into a offical Gentoo patch or into the kernel offically ? _________________ Visit the Lug DUGLUG |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Henning Rogge Apprentice
Joined: 20 Sep 2002 Posts: 178
|
Posted: Thu Sep 22, 2005 10:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Any idea if the calendar on the A780 can be synced with the KDE organizer ? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mundi n00b
Joined: 27 Jun 2003 Posts: 60
|
Posted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 8:17 pm Post subject: Re: Motorola A780 : Howto in progress |
|
|
Elenyon wrote: |
7) Mount phone to allow file transfer
Code: |
Again another TIP by thrashed and confermed by Elenyon.
Mounting this device is as simple as plugging it in via usb and issueing this command
mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/phone <- Simply replace phone with your perfered mount folder
This has not been verified to access the MicroSD card ,but it may work
|
|
mounting the sd-card is in fact as easy as mounting the internal memory just do a
Code: | mount /dev/sdb1 -t vfat /mnt/sdb |
Quote: | 9) How to get a shell from the A780 Kernel |
just follow the steps given in the posting by Pietschy regarding how to install Qonsole from http://www.rcsc.sisrs.com/mfc
as i now have shell and telnet root access to the phone i will start working on developing and installing nativ qt3/embedded apps.
have fun mundi |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Elenyon n00b
Joined: 11 Feb 2005 Posts: 44 Location: Philadelphia
|
Posted: Sat Oct 15, 2005 8:38 pm Post subject: Re: Motorola A780 : Howto in progress |
|
|
mundi wrote: |
mounting the sd-card is in fact as easy as mounting the internal memory just do a
Code: | mount /dev/sdb1 -t vfat /mnt/sdb |
Quote: | 9) How to get a shell from the A780 Kernel |
just follow the steps given in the posting by Pietschy regarding how to install Qonsole from http://www.rcsc.sisrs.com/mfc
as i now have shell and telnet root access to the phone i will start working on developing and installing nativ qt3/embedded apps.
have fun mundi |
So i have been having issues getting my shiny net SD card to mount in Linux. I see it fine in the phone ,but when i try to mount it i get a block device not aviable ? Checking the dev nodes it appears only /dev/sda, /dev/sda1 and /dev/sd0 have changed when i plug in the phone.
Also i have had no luck at all getting telnet to work correctly i have it to a point where when the phone gets plugged in the usblan mode i get a net device of usb0 with an ip of 192.168.1.1 but i can't see any og eth device on the network.
Also has anyone had any issues with the phone hanging up on people when it is removed form its carrying case ? _________________ Visit the Lug DUGLUG |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pinger Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 18 Mar 2004 Posts: 128
|
Posted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 4:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I'm sorry that this is very much off topic, but since gentoo-forums have never let me down for anything, I figured I would ask you guys before roaming off somewhere else
- Does anyone have problems with their a780 shutting itself down for no apparent reason every now and then (battery fully charged)?
- How do I activate voice dialing? Every review I read says the a780 has it, but I cannot for the life of me get it to work... and since the user manual I have is in German and my German quite approximative, RTFM is not an option
Thanks in advance! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Pietschy Apprentice
Joined: 25 Jul 2002 Posts: 237
|
Posted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 8:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
- There is an "Auto Power-Off" option in, you can found und Setup --> Power Management, maybe you set it ...
- The euro/german Version of A780 dosn't support Voicedialing ...
Quote: | I have is in German and my German quite approximative, RTFM is not an option |
I'm from germany and my English iss maybe approximative
Pietschy |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pinger Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 18 Mar 2004 Posts: 128
|
Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2005 10:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for your answer!
The "auto power off" and "battery save" options are off in my Power Management menu. Any oder ideas? Or should I return the phone as faulty?
Thanks again |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Pietschy Apprentice
Joined: 25 Jul 2002 Posts: 237
|
Posted: Fri Dec 30, 2005 7:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
no
Quote: | should I return the phone as faulty? |
You should try Master Reset and/or Master Clear (last two options in Setup). If this not help i think its better you return the phone.
Pietschy |
|
Back to top |
|
|
RockMan n00b
Joined: 10 Jun 2005 Posts: 14 Location: Sciacca (Italy)
|
Posted: Wed Apr 05, 2006 4:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Henning Rogge wrote: | Any idea if the calendar on the A780 can be synced with the KDE organizer ? |
Just implemented in kmobiletools SVN.
Unfortunately for the moment i'll keep it read-only (you can import from mobile to korganizer, but not viceversa), since currently motorola writing commands are undocumented.. yes i already discovered them, so it's possible to have write support.. but i've no time now...
I'm waiting for testers, so let me know.. _________________ http://www.kmobiletools.org KDE Mobile Phones Suite
Last edited by RockMan on Mon Apr 24, 2006 5:48 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
meyerm Veteran
Joined: 27 Jun 2002 Posts: 1311 Location: Munich / Germany
|
Posted: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It's a pity that motorola missed to chance to offer a truly open platform.
But are there any plans or even already works in getting a free linux to work on the phone? Perhaps with opie etc.? So that one can get the phone really compatible?
I'm really interessted into this phone, but I don't want to buy another linux device which isn't truly OSS supported (I have one of the first Zaurus-PDAs where some drivers where CSS).
thanks,
M |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|