View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
IRON n00b
Joined: 21 Nov 2004 Posts: 71
|
Posted: Sun Sep 18, 2005 11:30 am Post subject: Recover data on fat32 partition |
|
|
How I may recover data with broken fat32 partition ?
Filesystem mouning without errors, but when I do #ls -la, I see errors:
Code: | # ls -la
ls: ADMFiles: Input/output error
ls: nvidia: Input/output error
ls: squid: Input/output error
ls: <html>
.</h: No such file or directory
ls: .
p� Input/output error
ls: t$(qrh: Input/output error
ls: �phx.0c: Input/output error
ls: �l�$.l$h: Input/output error
ls: t$hh�c.r: Input/output error
ls: 3?�u+.v� Input/output error
ls: jh?0c: Input/output error
ls: .j: Input/output error
ls: l: Input/output error
ls: [?+.�$: Input/output error
ls: uq��j� Input/output error
ls: .$: Input/output error
ls: lwqh�.c: Input/output error
ls: �?�$: Input/output error
ls: d$
�$: Input/output error
ls: �c: Input/output error
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54578 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sun Sep 18, 2005 11:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
IRON,
It looks like you have broken long filenames at least.
Try mounting it with Code: | mount /dev/... /mnt/<mountpoint> -t dos -o -ro |
That will force it to use the 8.3 filenames if they are still intact.
Force a read only mount so you don't do more damage _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
IRON n00b
Joined: 21 Nov 2004 Posts: 71
|
Posted: Sun Sep 18, 2005 12:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
NeddySeagoon wrote: | IRON,
It looks like you have broken long filenames at least.
Try mounting it with Code: | mount /dev/... /mnt/<mountpoint> -t dos -o -ro |
That will force it to use the 8.3 filenames if they are still intact.
Force a read only mount so you don't do more damage |
With options "-t dos -o -ro" can't mount.
Code: | # mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/c -t dos -o -ro
mount: unknown filesystem type 'dos' |
Code: | # mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/c -t msdos -o -ro
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/hda1,
or too many mounted file systems |
Partition mounting with just "-t vfat" or "-t msdos" options.
Code: | IRON mnt # mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/c -t msdos
IRON mnt # cd /mnt/c
IRON c # ls -la
ls: admfiles: Input/output error
ls: nvidia: Input/output error
ls: squid: Input/output error
ls: <html>
.</h: No such file or directory
ls: .u: No such file or directory
ls: �d$j.p� No such file or directory
ls: .pqh: No such file or directory |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54578 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sun Sep 18, 2005 12:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
IRON,
Time to make a file image of the drive/partition if you have space and work on that. You may well find that you want an undo facility, so you need a copy. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
IRON n00b
Joined: 21 Nov 2004 Posts: 71
|
Posted: Sun Sep 18, 2005 12:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
NeddySeagoon wrote: | IRON,
Time to make a file image of the drive/partition if you have space and work on that. You may well find that you want an undo facility, so you need a copy. |
today I create image if broken partition.
Code: | dd if=/dev/hda1 of=hda1.img |
What I can do now ? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54578 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sun Sep 18, 2005 12:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
IRON,
I'm not sure if fsck works on FAT32 volumes - its worth a try.
Testdisk is another well regraded recovery program.
Google for other FAT32 data recovery tools.
Its also worth ensuring your IDE cables are pushed fully home.
After that, you need to decide how much time you want to put into data recovery.
It depends on how valuable your data is and if its binary or text. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
IRON n00b
Joined: 21 Nov 2004 Posts: 71
|
Posted: Sun Sep 18, 2005 1:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
NeddySeagoon wrote: | IRON,
I'm not sure if fsck works on FAT32 volumes - its worth a try.
Testdisk is another well regraded recovery program.
Google for other FAT32 data recovery tools.
Its also worth ensuring your IDE cables are pushed fully home.
After that, you need to decide how much time you want to put into data recovery.
It depends on how valuable your data is and if its binary or text. |
I can't find Linux tools for recover fat32 partition on google
Help me please. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
wrc1944 Advocate
Joined: 15 Aug 2002 Posts: 3456 Location: Gainesville, Florida
|
Posted: Sun Sep 18, 2005 5:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I assume you can't see the FAT32 partition from a running linux system on the same hard disk, and your fstab is correct.
Have you tried booting from a Knoppix or other similar live cd, and finding out if you can see and mount the FAT32 partition from there? You could then possibly retrieve or copy your data to another media.
Another option would be to put the hard disk in another system as a slave drive. _________________ Main box- AsRock x370 Gaming K4
Ryzen 7 3700x, 3.6GHz, 16GB GSkill Flare DDR4 3200mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD R7 350 2GB DDR5
OpenRC Gentoo ~amd64 plasma, glibc-2.40-r5, gcc-14
kernel-6.11.3 USE=experimental python3_12.7-final-0 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
IRON n00b
Joined: 21 Nov 2004 Posts: 71
|
Posted: Sun Sep 18, 2005 7:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
wrc1944 wrote: | I assume you can't see the FAT32 partition from a running linux system on the same hard disk, and your fstab is correct.
|
I see partition? but I can't get data from him.
Code: | # fdisk -l
Disk /dev/hda: 200.0 GB, 200049647616 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 24321 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/hda1 * 1 1276 10249438+ c W95 FAT32 (LBA)
/dev/hda2 1277 4081 22531162+ 83 Linux
/dev/hda3 4082 4213 1060290 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/hda4 4214 24321 161517510 f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
/dev/hda5 4214 4225 96358+ 83 Linux
/dev/hda6 4226 16709 100277698+ b W95 FAT32
/dev/hda7 16710 24321 61143358+ 83 Linux
|
Quote: |
Have you tried booting from a Knoppix or other similar live cd, and finding out if you can see and mount the FAT32 partition from there? You could then possibly retrieve or copy your data to another media. |
Why I should do this ? I have installed Gentoo linux.
Quote: | Another option would be to put the hard disk in another system as a slave drive. |
And recover means Windows or dos utilits ?
If I don't have another machine ? Only my Linux and internet. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
wrc1944 Advocate
Joined: 15 Aug 2002 Posts: 3456 Location: Gainesville, Florida
|
Posted: Mon Sep 19, 2005 12:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
IRON wrote:
Quote: | Why I should do this ? I have installed Gentoo linux. |
Because there seems to be (or might be) some undiagnosed problem with the OS installed on your hard drive preventing access to your FAT32 partition. Either that, or the FAT32 Partition actually does have a problem. Using a live cd running off ram only bypasses your hard drive partitions and their installed OS, and thus any system problems they may have.
Am I correct that since your hda1 is bootable, it has a windows OS installed on it? Or is it a data partition only?
Are we sure your /etc/fstab hasn't been corrupted or changed?
Did you just recently do any Gentoo updates and run etc-update?
Am I correct in thinking your Gentoo installation is operating normally, except for this one problem with the hda1 FAT32 Partition?
Can you access the other FAT32 non (LBA) hda6 partition OK, or has it got the same problem? If you can access hda6, you might be able to use a live cd to move data from hda1 to the much larger hda6. Perhaps tar up the entire hda1 and put it onto hda6, then untar it on hda6 to recover your data.
These problems can be tough to diagnose, so we need all the info possible. _________________ Main box- AsRock x370 Gaming K4
Ryzen 7 3700x, 3.6GHz, 16GB GSkill Flare DDR4 3200mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD R7 350 2GB DDR5
OpenRC Gentoo ~amd64 plasma, glibc-2.40-r5, gcc-14
kernel-6.11.3 USE=experimental python3_12.7-final-0 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|