View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
teassumaire n00b
Joined: 30 Sep 2005 Posts: 50
|
Posted: Sun Oct 02, 2005 5:12 am Post subject: Logging in to a computer remotely [SOLVED] |
|
|
I need to help a friend install gentoo on his system remotely. He will be at the computer to remove disks, make passwords, etc...but alas, i do not know ssh well enough to know how to log in....can anyone out there post the commands needed on each side of the connection for me to make the link and be able to type away? I cant seem to find the details in the gentoo manual or in previous threads. If i do it through my root user on my computer, do i need to worry about any security issues? Thanks for the help.
Last edited by teassumaire on Sun Oct 02, 2005 11:20 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
lghman Guru
Joined: 29 Nov 2002 Posts: 548 Location: Florida
|
Posted: Sun Oct 02, 2005 6:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
On your friends end: Code: | #/etc/init.d/sshd start |
then he needs to set the password to something with the passwd command.
And on your end: Code: | #ssh root@his.ip.address |
It doesnt matter whether you do this as root or another user. I would do it as a normal user, but thats just me.
--sonik _________________ "What a distressing contrast there is between the radiant intelligence of a child and the feeble mentality of the average adult" --Freud |
|
Back to top |
|
|
CriminalMastermind Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 19 Nov 2003 Posts: 132 Location: toronto
|
Posted: Sun Oct 02, 2005 6:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
is your friend behind a firewall and would he have the ability to forward a port to this computer you are going to install gentoo on?
or, are you behind a firewall or does your friend have the ability to log into an account on your gentoo box with ssh over the internet?
my $.02, your friend should probably install gentoo themself. you learn alot during the install that will help later. _________________ "I can picture a perfect world that knows of no war... and I can picture me attacking that world, because they'd never expect it." |
|
Back to top |
|
|
teassumaire n00b
Joined: 30 Sep 2005 Posts: 50
|
Posted: Sun Oct 02, 2005 6:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
my friend is behind whatever firewall is in his ISP gateway at home. I am behind whatever firewall is established on the ASU network system. He can likely forward ports, i can not. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
lghman Guru
Joined: 29 Nov 2002 Posts: 548 Location: Florida
|
Posted: Sun Oct 02, 2005 6:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
CriminalMastermind wrote: |
my $.02, your friend should probably install gentoo themself. you learn alot during the install that will help later. |
I agree. Just talk to him/her on AIM or something to help them if they need help.
--sonik _________________ "What a distressing contrast there is between the radiant intelligence of a child and the feeble mentality of the average adult" --Freud |
|
Back to top |
|
|
CriminalMastermind Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 19 Nov 2003 Posts: 132 Location: toronto
|
Posted: Sun Oct 02, 2005 7:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
teassumaire wrote: | He can likely forward ports, i can not. |
then you will have to get them to forward tcp, port 22 to the install box, then follow what sonikntails said in the first post. or listen to what was suggested in sonikntails second post. _________________ "I can picture a perfect world that knows of no war... and I can picture me attacking that world, because they'd never expect it." |
|
Back to top |
|
|
teassumaire n00b
Joined: 30 Sep 2005 Posts: 50
|
Posted: Sun Oct 02, 2005 9:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
I cant seem to get the connection to work. I type
ssh root@his ip address (i use his numbers, not the words)
and all i get is a blinking cursor, no prompt for login or anything
we forwarded port 22 on his router. i use the ip address that /sbin/ifconfig shows on his computer right? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
teassumaire n00b
Joined: 30 Sep 2005 Posts: 50
|
Posted: Sun Oct 02, 2005 9:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
I just tried again.....i get a time out error
ssh: connect to host (insert ip here) port 22: Connection timed out |
|
Back to top |
|
|
teassumaire n00b
Joined: 30 Sep 2005 Posts: 50
|
Posted: Sun Oct 02, 2005 10:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
after some fiddling we decided to try to connect from his side....he can log into mine, but on my side it times out if i try and log into his computer. any clues? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
lghman Guru
Joined: 29 Nov 2002 Posts: 548 Location: Florida
|
Posted: Sun Oct 02, 2005 3:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Your probably trying to log into the ip address that his router his giving him which is incorrect. You need to connect to his world viewable ip address. That is the ip address of his router. Have him to go what is my ip dot com to find out his external ip address and then it should work.
--sonik _________________ "What a distressing contrast there is between the radiant intelligence of a child and the feeble mentality of the average adult" --Freud |
|
Back to top |
|
|
teassumaire n00b
Joined: 30 Sep 2005 Posts: 50
|
Posted: Sun Oct 02, 2005 8:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ill right, i will do that when he gets home. that is im sure the problem. next question is though, how can we make it so that he can see what i am doing? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Monkeh Veteran
Joined: 06 Aug 2005 Posts: 1656 Location: England
|
Posted: Sun Oct 02, 2005 10:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
teassumaire wrote: | ill right, i will do that when he gets home. that is im sure the problem. next question is though, how can we make it so that he can see what i am doing? |
Code: | less /root/.bash_history |
Then hold shift and hit f. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
teassumaire n00b
Joined: 30 Sep 2005 Posts: 50
|
Posted: Sun Oct 02, 2005 11:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|