View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
spiralvoice Apprentice
Joined: 09 Mar 2004 Posts: 238
|
Posted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 9:35 pm Post subject: What to do when replacing Intel PIII with AMD Sempron? |
|
|
Hi,
currently I have
Code: | cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor : 0
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 6
model : 8
model name : Pentium III (Coppermine)
stepping : 6
cpu MHz : 903.513
cache size : 256 KB
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 2
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 mmx fxsr sse
bogomips : 1809.09 |
and I want to replace it with an AMD Sempron 2200+ CPU.
make.conf currently looks like that:
Code: | CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-O3 -march=pentium3 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer -mpush-args -w"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
USE="acpi arts cddb cdparanoia chroot cjk cups divx4linux dvd dvdr dvdread faac flac \
foreign-package ftp gmp gtk2 hal ieee1394 imap jpeg2k kde lzo lzw-tiff \
matroska mbox mhash mmx mng mozilla mpeg4 mplayer nls nptl ooo-kde openexr \
opengl pcre pic real rtc samba sse svg symlink tiff theora transcode \
unicode usb v4l v4l2 vcd win32codecs xine xmms xprint xvid zvbi \
truetype-fonts type1-fonts kdeenablefinal \
-fam -motif -apm -java -svga -gnome -gstreamer -mysql -static" |
What do I have to change? I saw some CFLAGS which look like that:
Code: | CFLAGS="-march=athlon-xp -O3 -pipe -msse2 -fomit-frame-pointer -momit-leaf-frame-pointer -fno-ident" |
and put "sse2" into USE flags because the Sempron supports as its a stripped down Athlon XP 64.
But what is the safest way for upgrading my current binaries?
Will they still work with the Sempron so I can recompile everything?
Is
Code: | emerge -e system
emerge -e world |
enough for that?
For the transition would it be a good idea to change the kernel (2.6.13) CPU type to M586 so it boots with
both setups? Its currently set to MPENTIUMIII. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
adaptr Watchman
Joined: 06 Oct 2002 Posts: 6730 Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
|
Posted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 9:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
An Athlon / Sempron can do anything a P3 can; there is no need to change anything to be able to boot.
There is no such thing as an "Athlon XP 64", and the Sempron 2200 isn't one, in any case - it's a plain Athlon XP with a crippled cache.
Don't mess with CFLAGS if you still have to ask questions like these... _________________ >>> emerge (3 of 7) mcse/70-293 to /
Essential tools: gentoolkit eix profuse screen |
|
Back to top |
|
|
loki99 Advocate
Joined: 10 Oct 2003 Posts: 2056 Location: Vienna, €urope
|
Posted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 11:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Safe Cflags |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|