View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
spamspam Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 05 Dec 2003 Posts: 153
|
Posted: Thu Oct 13, 2005 9:46 pm Post subject: No Consoles, shutdown doesn't, USB activity locks desktop? |
|
|
OK, so as mentioned a while ago, we have this desktop that has no consoles for some reason. No VCs (no login prompts, but console messages appear fine ) and KDM won't start automatically. /etc/init.d/xdm start does nothing, but sshing in and running kdm works.
Well now shutdown does nothing but send the shutdown announcement, forcing us to hard-poweroff (yank power cable).
To make matters worse, we're trying to use it to write a bunch of USB drives for our customers and when run under sudo, our hard-drive populating script (essentially just partition, mkdosfs, tar -xzf image.tgz) locks the desktop, forcing a reboot (CTL-ALT-Backspace restarts X in a normal state, but the clerk didn't know to do that, and has left now)
Does anyone have any idea WTF is going on with this machine? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
spamspam Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 05 Dec 2003 Posts: 153
|
Posted: Fri Oct 14, 2005 8:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Anyone? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
widan Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/142533236243680bda6f27b.jpg)
Joined: 07 Jun 2005 Posts: 1512 Location: Paris, France
|
Posted: Fri Oct 14, 2005 11:24 pm Post subject: Re: No Consoles, shutdown doesn't, USB activity locks deskto |
|
|
spamspam wrote: | OK, so as mentioned a while ago, we have this desktop that has no consoles for some reason. No VCs (no login prompts, but console messages appear fine) |
Check you have gettys running, that you have the console device nodes, and you have VT support in the kernel (but normally it's not easy to remove it by accident, so that last one would be strange). You should have something similar to this:
Code: | melanie ~ # ps aux | grep getty
root 9870 0.0 0.0 3620 4 tty3 Ss+ Sep28 0:00 /sbin/agetty 38400 tty3 linux
root 9871 0.0 0.0 3620 4 tty4 Ss+ Sep28 0:00 /sbin/agetty 38400 tty4 linux
root 9872 0.0 0.0 3620 4 tty5 Ss+ Sep28 0:00 /sbin/agetty 38400 tty5 linux
root 9873 0.0 0.0 3616 4 tty6 Ss+ Sep28 0:00 /sbin/agetty 38400 tty6 linux
root 21574 0.0 0.0 3620 524 tty2 Ss+ Oct11 0:00 /sbin/agetty 38400 tty2 linux
root 6022 0.0 0.0 2676 508 pts/0 R+ 01:15 0:00 grep getty
melanie ~ # ls /dev/tty*
/dev/tty
/dev/tty0
/dev/tty1
...
melanie ~ # zcat /proc/config.gz | grep VT
CONFIG_VT=y
CONFIG_VT_CONSOLE=y |
spamspam wrote: | Well now shutdown does nothing but send the shutdown announcement, forcing us to hard-poweroff (yank power cable). |
If you have to do that, at least remount all the partitions read-only and run "sync" before you kill the power. It will limit the risk to the filesystems (journalled filesystems ensure that metadata will be consistent, but they do not protect data). |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
spamspam Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 05 Dec 2003 Posts: 153
|
Posted: Mon Oct 17, 2005 7:57 pm Post subject: Got VTs, no gettys |
|
|
Yup,
Code: |
persephone etc # zcat /proc/config.gz | grep VT
CONFIG_VT=y
CONFIG_VT_CONSOLE=y
persephone etc # ls /dev/tty*
/dev/tty /dev/tty34 /dev/tty60 ...
persephone etc # ps aux | grep getty
root 15815 0.0 0.0 1500 464 pts/0 S+ 12:46 0:00 grep getty
|
and this is my inittab:
Code: |
#
# /etc/inittab: This file describes how the INIT process should set up
# the system in a certain run-level.
#
# Author: Miquel van Smoorenburg, <miquels@cistron.nl>
# Modified by: Patrick J. Volkerding, <volkerdi@ftp.cdrom.com>
# Modified by: Daniel Robbins, <drobbins@gentoo.org>
# Modified by: Martin Schlemmer, <azarah@gentoo.org>
#
# $Header: /var/cvsroot/gentoo-x86/sys-apps/sysvinit/files/inittab,v 1.2 2004/12/22 03:25:20 vapier Exp $
# Default runlevel.
id:3:initdefault:
# System initialization, mount local filesystems, etc.
si::sysinit:/sbin/rc sysinit
# Further system initialization, brings up the boot runlevel.
rc::bootwait:/sbin/rc boot
l0:0:wait:/sbin/rc shutdown
l1:S1:wait:/sbin/rc single
l2:2:wait:/sbin/rc nonetwork
l3:3:wait:/sbin/rc default
l4:4:wait:/sbin/rc default
l5:5:wait:/sbin/rc default
l6:6:wait:/sbin/rc reboot
#z6:6:respawn:/sbin/sulogin
# TERMINALS
c1:12345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 tty1 linux
c2:12345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 tty2 linux
c3:12345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 tty3 linux
c4:12345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 tty4 linux
c5:12345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 tty5 linux
c6:12345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 tty6 linux
# SERIAL CONSOLES
#s0:12345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 9600 ttyS0 vt100
#s1:12345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 9600 ttyS1 vt100
# What to do at the "Three Finger Salute".
ca:12345:ctrlaltdel:/sbin/shutdown -r now
# Used by /etc/init.d/xdm to control DM startup.
# Read the comments in /etc/init.d/xdm for more
# info. Do NOT remove, as this will start nothing
# extra at boot if /etc/init.d/xdm is not added
# to the "default" runlevel.
x:a:once:/etc/X11/startDM.sh
# End of /etc/inittab
|
After upgrading to kernel 2.6.12.5, there is still no gettys and no KDM. If I manually run
Code: |
agetty /dev/tty0 19200
|
or
Code: |
//usr/kde/3.4/bin/kdm
|
It works. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|