View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Mr. Hahn Apprentice
Joined: 05 Apr 2003 Posts: 250
|
Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2003 2:58 am Post subject: Recompiling kernel for p4 |
|
|
What is the difference between the regular pentium4 option and the Pentium4(gcc>31) option? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
taskara Advocate
Joined: 10 Apr 2002 Posts: 3763 Location: Australia
|
Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2003 2:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
don't know but suffice to say that if you are using GCC 3.1.1 or greater (latest is 3.2.2) then choose the p4>gcc3.1 option. _________________ Kororaa install method - have Gentoo up and running quickly and easily, fully automated with an installer! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jt42 n00b
Joined: 04 Apr 2003 Posts: 45 Location: Hamilton, ON, CA
|
Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2003 3:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
With pentium4 only you get the gcc2 arch defines: -march=i686
With pentium4 (gcc >=3.1) you get the gcc3 arch defines: -march=pentium4 -mmmx -msse -msse2
There have been discussions about whether or not using -march=pentium4 is a good thing for portage ebuilds (the /etc/make.conf file talks about generating invalid instructions). Does anyone know whether this is true for kernels as well? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mr. Hahn Apprentice
Joined: 05 Apr 2003 Posts: 250
|
Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2003 3:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
jt42 wrote: | With pentium4 only you get the gcc2 arch defines: -march=i686
With pentium4 (gcc >=3.1) you get the gcc3 arch defines: -march=pentium4 -mmmx -msse -msse2
There have been discussions about whether or not using -march=pentium4 is a good thing for portage ebuilds (the /etc/make.conf file talks about generating invalid instructions). Does anyone know whether this is true for kernels as well? |
Yeah I figured it had soemthing to do w/ the march=pentium4 issue w/ the make.conf . Anyways, I forgot to do /sbin/lilo last time I was messing w/ the boot image stuff and setting up the boot loader, so I'm stuck with windoze til the begining of may when my finals finish . |
|
Back to top |
|
|
taskara Advocate
Joined: 10 Apr 2002 Posts: 3763 Location: Australia
|
Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2003 3:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
well I think there was a problem with gcc 3.1 and -march=pentium4, but everyone using gcc 3.1> has said they have not had any problems.
I have built a complete system on a dell inspiron notebook 8200 with gcc 3.2.2 and -march=pentium4. no problems at all so far. _________________ Kororaa install method - have Gentoo up and running quickly and easily, fully automated with an installer! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mr. Hahn Apprentice
Joined: 05 Apr 2003 Posts: 250
|
Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2003 6:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
taskara wrote: | well I think there was a problem with gcc 3.1 and -march=pentium4, but everyone using gcc 3.1> has said they have not had any problems.
I have built a complete system on a dell inspiron notebook 8200 with gcc 3.2.2 and -march=pentium4. no problems at all so far. |
What all is in your cflag? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
taskara Advocate
Joined: 10 Apr 2002 Posts: 3763 Location: Australia
|
Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2003 6:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
just Quote: | -march=pentium4 -03 -fomit-frame-pointer | nothing too drastic _________________ Kororaa install method - have Gentoo up and running quickly and easily, fully automated with an installer! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mr. Hahn Apprentice
Joined: 05 Apr 2003 Posts: 250
|
Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2003 7:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
taskara wrote: | just Quote: | -march=pentium4 -03 -fomit-frame-pointer | nothing too drastic |
You don't have any problems running the -O3? I thought that was just an Athlon thing, bu for P4s -O2 was best. I just watn the most optimization I can and still run a pretty stable setup (otherwise I'd use windoze, stupid unstable piece of crap). |
|
Back to top |
|
|
taskara Advocate
Joined: 10 Apr 2002 Posts: 3763 Location: Australia
|
Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2003 7:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
like I mentioned.. I haven't had a single compiling issue.. atm I am compiling openoffice with those settings, and it's going strong.
I think -03 is safe _________________ Kororaa install method - have Gentoo up and running quickly and easily, fully automated with an installer! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mr. Hahn Apprentice
Joined: 05 Apr 2003 Posts: 250
|
Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2003 11:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
taskara wrote: | like I mentioned.. I haven't had a single compiling issue.. atm I am compiling openoffice with those settings, and it's going strong.
I think -03 is safe |
try some of the other flags like -mmmx -msse -msse2 and -mfpmath=sse,387 . I'll do p4 flag, but only for the sse2, the mpfmath doubles you math throughput, and you know the rest. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dizzy n00b
Joined: 04 Aug 2002 Posts: 50 Location: Melb.OZ.Terra.Sol
|
Posted: Tue Apr 15, 2003 12:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
taskara wrote: | well I think there was a problem with gcc 3.1 and -march=pentium4, but everyone using gcc 3.1> has said they have not had any problems.
I have built a complete system on a dell inspiron notebook 8200 with gcc 3.2.2 and -march=pentium4. no problems at all so far. |
Check this thread, gcc-3.2.2 still has problems with -march=pentium4. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mr. Hahn Apprentice
Joined: 05 Apr 2003 Posts: 250
|
Posted: Tue Apr 15, 2003 4:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ok, well all I want is sse2 support. Can anyone tell me the best way to set this up in my cflags? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
taskara Advocate
Joined: 10 Apr 2002 Posts: 3763 Location: Australia
|
Posted: Tue Apr 15, 2003 9:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
include -sse2 _________________ Kororaa install method - have Gentoo up and running quickly and easily, fully automated with an installer! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mr. Hahn Apprentice
Joined: 05 Apr 2003 Posts: 250
|
Posted: Wed Apr 16, 2003 2:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
taskara wrote: | include -sse2 |
Are you sure? I believe the flag is -msse2, and it *doesn't* work with the -march=pentium3 flag. Did you look that up even? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mr. Hahn Apprentice
Joined: 05 Apr 2003 Posts: 250
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
taskara Advocate
Joined: 10 Apr 2002 Posts: 3763 Location: Australia
|
Posted: Wed Apr 16, 2003 3:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
ahh yeah sorry.. was typing from memory -
-msse2 i your CFLAGS you can also put "sse2" in your USE variables I believe.
and I am pretty sure -march=pentium4 -03 is fine - I have built and entire system with it.. not a single compiling problem - infact I have had less problem with compiling things than with my athlon.. _________________ Kororaa install method - have Gentoo up and running quickly and easily, fully automated with an installer! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mr. Hahn Apprentice
Joined: 05 Apr 2003 Posts: 250
|
Posted: Wed Apr 16, 2003 4:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
taskara wrote: | ahh yeah sorry.. was typing from memory -
-msse2 i your CFLAGS you can also put "sse2" in your USE variables I believe.
and I am pretty sure -march=pentium4 -03 is fine - I have built and entire system with it.. not a single compiling problem - infact I have had less problem with compiling things than with my athlon.. |
coool, thanks. Hopefully everything will run fin for me too, it ism just that everywhere I see that people say the -march=pentium4 flag causes so many problems |
|
Back to top |
|
|
taskara Advocate
Joined: 10 Apr 2002 Posts: 3763 Location: Australia
|
Posted: Wed Apr 16, 2003 4:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
if it causes problems.. change back to pentium3!
I think you'll be right! _________________ Kororaa install method - have Gentoo up and running quickly and easily, fully automated with an installer! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mr. Hahn Apprentice
Joined: 05 Apr 2003 Posts: 250
|
Posted: Wed Apr 16, 2003 12:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
taskara wrote: | if it causes problems.. change back to pentium3!
I think you'll be right! | aww man, I did emerge e world before, it was a biznatch! Hopefully it won' t be so bad when I upgrade to a gig of ram (itwas using almost the whole 512 last time!). |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tolle n00b
Joined: 05 Nov 2002 Posts: 42 Location: Dorotea in Lappland in Sweden
|
Posted: Wed Apr 16, 2003 2:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Mr. Hahn wrote: | Anyways, I forgot to do /sbin/lilo last time I was messing w/ the boot image stuff and setting up the boot loader, so I'm stuck with windoze til the begining of may when my finals finish . |
Eh? Just boot with the installation cd and run lilo? takes like nada time. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mr. Hahn Apprentice
Joined: 05 Apr 2003 Posts: 250
|
Posted: Wed Apr 16, 2003 3:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Last edited by Mr. Hahn on Wed Apr 16, 2003 3:24 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mr. Hahn Apprentice
Joined: 05 Apr 2003 Posts: 250
|
Posted: Wed Apr 16, 2003 3:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
tolle wrote: | Mr. Hahn wrote: | Anyways, I forgot to do /sbin/lilo last time I was messing w/ the boot image stuff and setting up the boot loader, so I'm stuck with windoze til the begining of may when my finals finish . |
Eh? Just boot with the installation cd and run lilo? takes like nada time. |
well too late now, my idiot arse replaces it all w/ an ntfs partition to store like 80 gigs of movies. Getting one of those 120GB Seagate Barracuda 5s so, My gentoo install will be on that one. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|