View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
count_zero Guru
Joined: 17 May 2004 Posts: 460 Location: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
|
Posted: Fri Apr 29, 2005 12:41 pm Post subject: NVIDIA TV Out the Easy Way [HOWTO] |
|
|
If you're like me, the only time you use TV out is to watch some video that you've downloaded off the web on your television. I never could get my NVIDIA TwinView to work correctly, but I think that this method is better for watching movies anyway. I can right click on any movie file, and there is now an option under "actions" in my KDE menu to "View on TV" (adapted from http://www.kde-look.org/content/show.php?content=13948 and http://www.iofcea.de/cgi-bin/seite.pl?file=linuxtvout). This way uses KDE servicemenus, but there's probably an equivelant for Gnome, etc.
The way this is set up, the movie opens on the television, and my laptop screen turns off while the movie is playing. Once the movie is done or you hit escape, the tv picture turns off and your laptop display is back to normal. The tricky part for me was setting up my xorg.conf to enable this.
Here are the relevant snippets from my xorg.conf. You may have to change some resolution sizes based on your TV. Also, I have an NVIDIA graphics card, so the options are probably different on other cards:
Code: |
-----------------snip------------------
######## X Server ########
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Alps" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection
Section "ServerFlags"
Option "Xinerama" "false"
EndSection
----------------snip-------------------
######## Monitors ##########
#### LAPTOP LCD ####
Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName "Dell 1600x1200 Laptop Display Panel"
HorizSync 31.5 - 90.0
VertRefresh 59.0 - 85.0
Option "dpms"
EndSection
#### TV SCREEN ####
Section "Monitor"
Identifier "TV-monitor"
VendorName "Sony"
ModelName "Television"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "TV"
HorizSync 30-50
VertRefresh 60
Option "dpms"
EndSection
######### Graphics Cards ############
#### NVIDIA DEFAULT ####
Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
BoardName "nVidia GeForce 2 Go"
VideoRam 32768
Option "NoLogo" "true"
Option "NvAGP" "2"
Option "RenderAccel" "On"
Option "AllowGLXWithComposite" "true"
EndSection
#### TV-OUT ####
Section "Device"
Identifier "TV-device"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
BoardName "nVidia GeForce 2 Go"
VideoRam 32768
Option "NoLogo" "true"
Option "NvAGP" "2"
Option "RenderAccel" "On"
Option "AllowGLXWithComposite" "true"
Screen 0
Option "TVStandard" "NTSC-M"
Option "TVOutFormat" "COMPOSITE" # (or "SVIDEO" if that's what you're using)
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "TV"
EndSection
####### Screens #########
#### LAPTOP LCD ####
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1600x1200" "1400x1050" "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1152x864" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubsection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1600x1200" "1400x1050" "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1152x864" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubsection
EndSection
#### TV SCREEN ####
Section "Screen"
Identifier "TV"
Device "TV-device"
Monitor "TV-monitor"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "800x600"
EndSubSection
EndSection
--------------------snip-------------------------
|
Basically what is done here is creating a new "screen" or profile, which utilizes the graphics card in a different configuration as well as the TV monitor instead of the laptop LCD. Notice that the custom screen "TV" calls on the custom device "TV-device" and monitor "TV-monitor".
You need MPlayer installed for this to work (there was also an option for xine, complete with a bash script, http://www.iofcea.de/files/tvout, but it didn't work for me). The KDE service menu looks like this:
Code: |
# ~/.kde/share/apps/konqueror/servicemenus/View_on_TV.desktop
# Service Menu for viewing Videos on TV
# based on an idea for TV-Out with Nvidia Cards seen on
# http://www.iofcea.de/cgi-bin/seite.pl?file=linuxtvout
# Thanks go to Markus Iofcea
[Desktop Entry]
ServiceTypes=video/*
Actions=ViewOnTvMplayer
[Desktop Action ViewOnTvMplayer]
Name=View on TV (MPlayer)
Icon=mplayer
Exec=/bin/sh -c "X -screen TV :1 -ac & sleep 2; DISPLAY=:1 mplayer -fs -vo x11 -zoom -really-quiet %U; ps ax|grep 'X -screen TV'|cut -f 1 -d' '|xargs kill"
|
Just copy this file, "View_on_TV.desktop" to ~/.kde/share/apps/konqueror/servicemenus/.
That's all there is to it. I hope this helps someone.
Thanks go to Cellardoor and Markus Iofcea _________________ "We must all hang together, or assuredly we shall all hang separately."
-Ben Franklin |
|
Back to top |
|
|
atdsm Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 15 Jun 2003 Posts: 118 Location: Pennsylvania
|
Posted: Mon May 02, 2005 9:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Nifty. I'll have to try it out with my card... _________________ There are 10 kinds of people: those who know binary and those who don't. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
svf n00b
Joined: 01 Feb 2005 Posts: 50
|
Posted: Tue May 03, 2005 2:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
thanks _________________ uchafu! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jdoe Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 02 Jun 2003 Posts: 122 Location: Italy - Florence - Empoli
|
Posted: Tue May 03, 2005 11:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
works here
thanks... that's what I was looking for
I manage it with a nautilus script
~/.gnome2/nautilus-scripts/watch_on_tv
(must be chmod +x )
Code: |
X :1 -screen "Screen TV" &
sleep 2
DISPLAY=":1" xine "$NAUTILUS_SCRIPT_SELECTED_FILE_PATHS" ; ps aux | grep "Screen TV" | grep -v grep | sed s/"root "/""/ | cut -f1 -d' ' | xargs kill
|
it doesn't work when you select a directory or multiple files, but it does work for me with one right file
select a divx -> right click -> scripts -> watch_on_tv
john _________________ me |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jspr n00b
Joined: 03 Oct 2004 Posts: 12 Location: Odense, Denmark
|
Posted: Thu May 05, 2005 2:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Work perfectly here
thank you! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tommy_haaland Guru
Joined: 04 Oct 2003 Posts: 320
|
Posted: Sun May 29, 2005 11:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Mine doesn't seem to work. I have Gainward card which is a Geforce FX 5200, 128 mb.
When I start gnome, I see the nvidia screen, so the driver is loaded. I copied this to ~/.gnome2/nautilus-scripts/watch_on_tv :
Code: |
X :1 -screen "Screen TV" &
sleep 2
DISPLAY=":1" xine "$NAUTILUS_SCRIPT_SELECTED_FILE_PATHS" ; ps aux | grep "Screen TV" | grep -v grep | sed s/"root "/""/ | cut -f1 -d' ' | xargs kill
|
This is my xorg.conf, I had to add Option "IgnoreDisplayDevices" "TV" so that TV didn't load automatically when I started Gnome
Code: |
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "X.org Configured"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection
Section "ServerFlags"
Option "Xinerama" "false"
EndSection
Section "Files"
RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
ModulePath "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/misc/"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/TTF/"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/Type1/"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/CID/"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi/"
# FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/lfp-fix/"
EndSection
Section "Module"
Load "extmod"
#Load "dri"
Load "dbe"
Load "record"
Load "xtrap"
Load "glx"
Load "type1"
Load "freetype"
EndSection
Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbLayout" "no-latin1"
EndSection
Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/usbmouse"
Option "Buttons" "7"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
# Option "Resolution" "100"
EndSection
######### MONITORS #########
Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName "Monitor Model"
#HorizSync 30-70
#VertRefresh 50-160
Option "dpms"
EndSection
#### TV SCREEN ####
Section "Monitor"
Identifier "TV-monitor"
VendorName "Sanyo"
ModelName "Television"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "TV"
HorizSync 30-50
VertRefresh 60
Option "dpms"
EndSection
######### Graphics cards ###########
Section "Device"
### Available Driver options are:-
### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
### [arg]: arg optional
#Option "SWcursor" # [<bool>]
#Option "HWcursor" # [<bool>]
#Option "NoAccel" # [<bool>]
#Option "ShadowFB" # [<bool>]
#Option "UseFBDev" # [<bool>]
#Option "Rotate" # [<str>]
#Option "VideoKey" # <i>
#Option "FlatPanel" # [<bool>]
#Option "FPDither" # [<bool>]
#Option "CrtcNumber" # <i>
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "nVidia Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce FX 5200"
VideoRam 128000
#Option "NoLogo" "true"
Option "IgnoreDisplayDevices" "TV"
Option "NvAGP" "3"
Option "RenderAccel" "On"
Option "AllowGLXWithComposite" "true"
EndSection
#### TV-OUT ####
Section "Device"
Identifier "TV-device"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "nVidia Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce FX 5200"
VideoRam 128000
#Option "NoLogo" "true"
Option "NvAGP" "3"
Option "RenderAccel" "On"
Option "AllowGLXWithComposite" "true"
Screen 0
Option "TVStandard" "PAL-B"
Option "TVOutFormat" "COMPOSITE"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "TV"
EndSection
########### Screens ###########
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
#Modes "1024x768"
Modes "1280x1024"
Viewport 0 0
EndSubSection
# SubSection "Display"
# Viewport 0 0
# Depth 4
# EndSubSection
# SubSection "Display"
# Viewport 0 0
# Depth 8
# EndSubSection
# SubSection "Display"
# Viewport 0 0
# Depth 15
# EndSubSection
# SubSection "Display"
# Viewport 0 0
# Depth 16
# EndSubSection
# SubSection "Display"
# Viewport 0 0
# Depth 24
# EndSubSection
EndSection
#### TV SCREEN ####
Section "Screen"
Identifier "TV"
Device "TV-device"
Monitor "TV-monitor"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "800x600"
EndSubSection
EndSection |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
killercow Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 29 Jan 2004 Posts: 86 Location: Netherlands
|
Posted: Mon May 30, 2005 2:00 pm Post subject: tried it on a geforce 256 deluxe |
|
|
I tried this on a geforce 265 deluxe, and since it doesn;t support twinview i had to alter the config a tad.
When i booted with the monitor on the card, it played nice, and gave me 800x600 on the monitor.
After setting the correct settings to x it gave 800x600 on the tv. so i was happy, things were good.
After the first reboot (without the monitor attatched) my entire screen has been displaced, almost 20% of the screen has fallen of the bottom. (not virtual desktop).
I tried a bunch of different hsync,and vsync, but the all either screw up the entire screen or displace the screen even more.
also tried overscan options in the config, doesn't do squat.
does anyone know how to fix this? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
El Tazar n00b
Joined: 06 Nov 2004 Posts: 57
|
Posted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 10:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Using Nautilus under Gnome and mplayer, I had some problems with paths containing whitespaces. I now use the following:
Code: |
X -screen ScreenTV :1 -ac &
sleep 2
DISPLAY=":1" mplayer -fs -vo x11 -zoom -really-quiet "$@"
|
Note that this code does not automatically shut down the running X-server after mplayer exit as the other scripts. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
marcowave Apprentice
Joined: 10 Feb 2004 Posts: 284 Location: Paris, France
|
Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2005 10:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
works almost perfect!
3 little problems:
1. It works in Black&White.. I try to set PAL-B and PAL-G in xorg.conf but it doesn't change... I have to change something else?
1. If I want to play a DVD on tv?
2. If I want to play a .rm file on TV? rm files work perfectly on mPlayer, but I don't have the option in the menù "play on TV"
one question:
is it possible to switch between the two screens?
avi and mpeg work perfectly! _________________ Linux User #351189 --->A.K.A. "Johnny"<---
Acer TM292LMi: PentiumM 1,5 GHz - 1 GB ram - Radeon 9700M 64MB - Intel 802.11b/g WLAN - DVD-RW - Gentoo Linux - KDE 3.5.2
GentooServer: AMD Athlon 700 MHz - 512 MB ram - HD 80 GB - Kernel 2.6 - Fluxbox |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JSharku Apprentice
Joined: 09 Feb 2003 Posts: 189 Location: Belgium
|
Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
marcowave wrote: | works almost perfect!
3 little problems:
1. It works in Black&White.. I try to set PAL-B and PAL-G in xorg.conf but it doesn't change... I have to change something else?
|
Have you tried composite/s-video? Could be what's causing the problem. No idea on the rest though.
Sharku _________________ If only life were portage-driven: Code: | USE="-bitch -in-laws nice gorgeous smart" emerge girlfriend | *sigh*
--
Open Source for Windows! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
marcowave Apprentice
Joined: 10 Feb 2004 Posts: 284 Location: Paris, France
|
Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2005 4:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
JSharku wrote: |
Have you tried composite/s-video? Could be what's causing the problem. No idea on the rest though.
Sharku |
the cable is s-video.. I set "SVIDEO" in xorg.conf... maybe i have to set "S-VIDEO"?
now I try _________________ Linux User #351189 --->A.K.A. "Johnny"<---
Acer TM292LMi: PentiumM 1,5 GHz - 1 GB ram - Radeon 9700M 64MB - Intel 802.11b/g WLAN - DVD-RW - Gentoo Linux - KDE 3.5.2
GentooServer: AMD Athlon 700 MHz - 512 MB ram - HD 80 GB - Kernel 2.6 - Fluxbox |
|
Back to top |
|
|
marcowave Apprentice
Joined: 10 Feb 2004 Posts: 284 Location: Paris, France
|
Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2005 4:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ok now is on color
the other problem is that in the "View on TV (mPlayer)" contextual menù appears only with .avi and .mpg files...
I want it to work even with .rm files (always in mPlayer)
how can I do this? _________________ Linux User #351189 --->A.K.A. "Johnny"<---
Acer TM292LMi: PentiumM 1,5 GHz - 1 GB ram - Radeon 9700M 64MB - Intel 802.11b/g WLAN - DVD-RW - Gentoo Linux - KDE 3.5.2
GentooServer: AMD Athlon 700 MHz - 512 MB ram - HD 80 GB - Kernel 2.6 - Fluxbox |
|
Back to top |
|
|
rawoul n00b
Joined: 27 Dec 2003 Posts: 65
|
Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 12:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
I have a much better way of doing this, but i think it only works on dual head graphic cards.
This method simply sets up two X screen on one display (:0.0 and :0.1), instead of two displays (:0 and :1). This way only one X server is active, and you can have both screens displaying something at the same time. This is also better than TwinView since it doesn't use Xinerama.
Now to play a video on the TV you just have to do
Code: | DISPLAY=:0.1 mplayer blabla.avi |
Here is my xorg config:
Code: | Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "dual"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
Screen 1 "Screen1" LeftOf "Screen0"
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "single"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection
Section "Files"
RgbPath "/usr/lib/X11/rgb"
ModulePath "/usr/lib/modules"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/misc/"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/TTF/"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/Type1/"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi/"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/artwiz/"
EndSection
Section "Module"
Load "record"
Load "extmod"
Load "dbe"
Load "glx"
Load "xtrap"
Load "freetype"
Load "type1"
EndSection
Section "ServerFlags"
Option "Xinerama" "false"
EndSection
Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
EndSection
Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "evdev"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "Buttons" "10"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "9 10"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "false"
EndSection
Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
HorizSync 30-96
VertRefresh 50-160
Option "DPMS"
EndSection
Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor1"
HorizSync 30-50
VertRefresh 60
EndSection
Section "Device"
Option "CursorShadow" "true"
Option "NoLogo" "true"
Option "RenderAccel" "true"
Identifier "Card0"
Driver "nvidia"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Screen 0
EndSection
Section "Device"
Option "TVStandard" "PAL-B"
Option "TVOutFormat" "COMPOSITE"
Option "CursorShadow" "true"
Option "NoLogo" "true"
Option "RenderAccel" "true"
Identifier "Card1"
Driver "nvidia"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Screen 1
EndSection
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Card0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Card1"
Monitor "Monitor1"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
Modes "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Pajarico Guru
Joined: 01 May 2004 Posts: 493 Location: Madrid, España.
|
Posted: Sat Oct 15, 2005 10:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Why mine doesn't work? I have a geforce 5200 fx with VGA, DVI and S-VIDEO. I'm currently trying to get VGA+SVIDEO. I try with:
Code: | DISPLAY=:0.1 mplayer foo.avi |
I get the avi played but in the same terminal and played with aalib (i don't know why). Just in case, i tried forcing another video output:
Code: | DISPLAY=:0.1 mplayer -vo x11 foo.avi |
And i get:
Code: | vo: couldn't open the X11 display (:0.1)! |
If i try:
Code: | X -screen TV :0 -ac & sleep 2; DISPLAY=:1 mplayer -fs -vo x11 -zoom |
I get:
Code: |
Fatal server error:
Server is already active for display 0
If this server is no longer running, remove /tmp/.X0-lock
and start again.
...
[1]+ Exit 1 X -screen TV :0 -ac
...
vo: couldn't open the X11 display (:1)! |
My xorg.conf:
Code: |
# **********************************************************************
# Server flags section.
# **********************************************************************
### X Server ###
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen 0 "tarjeta" 0 0
Screen 1 "TV" LeftOf "tarjeta"
# Screen 1 "TV" 0 1
Option "Xinerama" "off"
Option "Clone" "on"
# InputDevice "Alps" "CorePointer"
# InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection
Section "ServerFlags"
# Option "DefaultServerLayout" "Default Layout"
Option "Xinerama" "false"
# Option "NoTrapSignals"
# Option "DontVTSwitch"
# Option "DontZap"
# Option "Dont Zoom"
# Option "DisableVidModeExtension"
# Option "AllowNonLocalXvidtune"
# Option "DisableModInDev"
# Option "AllowNonLocalModInDev"
EndSection
# **********************************************************************
# Monitor section
# **********************************************************************
Section "Monitor"
Identifier "samsung"
HorizSync 31-61
VertRefresh 56-75
EndSection
#### TV SCREEN ####
Section "Monitor"
Identifier "tele"
VendorName "Panasonic"
ModelName "Quintrix"
HorizSync 30-50
VertRefresh 60
# Option "ConnectedMonitor" "TV"
# Option "dpms"
EndSection
# **********************************************************************
# Graphics device section
# **********************************************************************
Section "Device"
Identifier "Standard VGA"
VendorName "Unknown"
BoardName "Unknown"
# The chipset line is optional in most cases. It can be used to override
# the driver's chipset detection, and should not normally be specified.
# Chipset "generic"
Driver "vga"
# BusID "PCI:0:10:0"
# VideoRam 256
# Clocks 25.2 28.3
EndSection
Section "Device"
Identifier "5200fx"
Driver "nvidia"
Option "CursorShadow" "true"
Option "CursorShadowAlpha" "50"
Option "CursorShadowXOffset" "4"
Option "CursorShadowYOffset" "2"
Option "NoLogo" "true"
Screen 0
VideoRam 128
# Option "NvAGP" "2"
# Option "RenderAccel" "On"
# Option "AllowGLXWithComposite" "true"
# VideoRam 32768
# Insert Clocks lines here if appropriate
EndSection
#### TV-OUT ####
Section "Device"
Identifier "TV-out"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
Screen 1
Option "TVStandard" "PAL-G"
Option "TVOutFormat" "SVIDEO"
# Option "TVOverScan" 0.0
# Option "ConnectedMonitor" "TV"
EndSection
# **********************************************************************
# Screen sections
# **********************************************************************
### MONITOR ###
Section "Screen"
Identifier "tarjeta"
Device "5200fx"
Monitor "samsung"
DefaultDepth 24
Subsection "Display"
Depth 8
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
ViewPort 0 0
EndSubsection
Subsection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
ViewPort 0 0
EndSubsection
Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
ViewPort 0 0
EndSubsection
EndSection
### TV ###
Section "Screen"
Identifier "TV"
Device "TV-out"
Monitor "tele"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "800x600"
EndSubSection
EndSection
|
I'm probably missing a small thing but i find the xorg confs rather confusing. Thanks in advance. _________________ Gentoo: the only software worth paying that is free. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
count_zero Guru
Joined: 17 May 2004 Posts: 460 Location: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
|
Posted: Sun Oct 16, 2005 1:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
@Pajarico:
try this instead:
Code: | X -screen TV :1 -ac & sleep 2; DISPLAY=:1 mplayer -fs -vo x11 -zoom |
_________________ "We must all hang together, or assuredly we shall all hang separately."
-Ben Franklin |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Pajarico Guru
Joined: 01 May 2004 Posts: 493 Location: Madrid, España.
|
Posted: Sun Oct 16, 2005 12:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks.
Ummh I get the same again:
Code: | (EE) Screen 0 deleted because of no matching config section.
...
[1]+ Aborted X -screen TV :1 -ac
...
vo: couldn't open the X11 display (:1)! |
_________________ Gentoo: the only software worth paying that is free. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Pajarico Guru
Joined: 01 May 2004 Posts: 493 Location: Madrid, España.
|
Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 7:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
*bump* _________________ Gentoo: the only software worth paying that is free. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bigun Advocate
Joined: 21 Sep 2003 Posts: 2198
|
Posted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 1:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
*bookmarked* _________________ "It's ok, they might have guns but we have flowers." - Perpetual Victim |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bigun Advocate
Joined: 21 Sep 2003 Posts: 2198
|
Posted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 3:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ideas what this means?
Code: | Xlib: connection to ":1.0" refused by server |
It refuses connection to the new X session... _________________ "It's ok, they might have guns but we have flowers." - Perpetual Victim
Last edited by Bigun on Fri Oct 21, 2005 1:07 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bigun Advocate
Joined: 21 Sep 2003 Posts: 2198
|
Posted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 7:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Pajarico wrote: | Thanks.
Ummh I get the same again:
Code: | (EE) Screen 0 deleted because of no matching config section.
...
[1]+ Aborted X -screen TV :1 -ac
...
vo: couldn't open the X11 display (:1)! |
|
Yeah, that won't work because of the twinview setup you tried. You may want to go with the xorg.conf setup at the beginning of the howto.
*EDIT*
Also Pajarico, try running this command in a terminal after you setup your xorg.conf just like above (hit "Ctrl+Alt+Bckspce" after you have tried it):
Code: | X :1 -screen "TV" & sleep 4 && DISPLAY=":1" xine "$NAUTILUS_SCRIPT_SELECTED_FILE_PATHS" ; ps aux | grep "Screen TV" | grep -v grep | sed s/"root "/""/ | cut -f1 -d' ' | xargs kill |
I want to see if you get the same error I do when you come back to your original desktop. _________________ "It's ok, they might have guns but we have flowers." - Perpetual Victim |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bigun Advocate
Joined: 21 Sep 2003 Posts: 2198
|
Posted: Fri Oct 21, 2005 7:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Nevermind, got it to work beautifully with mplayer-bin:
Code: | X -screen TV :1 -ac &
sleep 2
mplayer-bin -display :1 -vo x11 -fs -zoom "$@"; ps ax|grep 'X -screen TV'|cut -f 1 -d' '|xargs kill |
_________________ "It's ok, they might have guns but we have flowers." - Perpetual Victim |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Pajarico Guru
Joined: 01 May 2004 Posts: 493 Location: Madrid, España.
|
Posted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 5:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ok, as suggested by bigun89 i reverted my xorg.conf to look like the one of the first poster.
Something was going wrong, not sure about what, but also the euroconnector at the back of my TV cannot take S-video, so i have to plug it on the front of the TV, a bit annoying but it's ok.
Now the problem comes with the output. I created this script:
Code: | X :1 -screen TV -ac &
sleep 2
DISPLAY=":1" mplayer -fs -vo x11 foo.avi |
The first i see is that my monitor turns off, and my TV shows the nvidia logo for a moment and then the bare X desktop (just a gray background and the x-shaped cursor. The output is positive, i don't get any errors and according to it mplayer plays the movie as expected but on the TV i don't see mplayer, i just see the X server and the cursor. Why?
It seems like the parallel X process starts, but mplayer doesn't use it. Why?
Also i see that the image has no color, althought i have set it:
Code: | #### TV-OUT ####
Section "Device"
Identifier "TV-device"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
BoardName "nVidia GeForce 2 Go"
Option "NoLogo" "true"
Screen 0
Option "TVStandard" "PAL-M"
Option "TVOutFormat" "S-VIDEO"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "TV"
EndSection
|
Any help much appreciated.
EDIT: Additionally: Can i make the spawned the new X process to run in the background? so i can still use my monitor at the same time i play a movie. _________________ Gentoo: the only software worth paying that is free. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bigun Advocate
Joined: 21 Sep 2003 Posts: 2198
|
Posted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 8:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Pajarico wrote: | Code: | X :1 -screen TV -ac &
sleep 2
DISPLAY=":1" mplayer -fs -vo x11 foo.avi |
|
Try this "exact" script.
Code: | X -screen TV :1 -ac &
sleep 2
mplayer -display :1 -vo x11 -fs -zoom "$@"; ps ax|grep 'X -screen TV'|cut -f 1 -d' '|xargs kill |
If worse goes to worse... open and run the script as a commandline in a terminal so you can see the output:
Code: | X -screen TV :1 -ac & sleep 2 && mplayer -display :1 -v 3 -vo x11 -fs -zoom <type filename here> |
You may see some errors that explain a few things. _________________ "It's ok, they might have guns but we have flowers." - Perpetual Victim |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Pajarico Guru
Joined: 01 May 2004 Posts: 493 Location: Madrid, España.
|
Posted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 9:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Tried both ways and i'm still getting the Xorg desktop and the x cursor. Is the same again, X starts, mplayer starts, but they don't connect to each other.
I don't see any errors with the last command, then again is too long and i might missed something. What did you expected to see?
_________________ Gentoo: the only software worth paying that is free. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Bigun Advocate
Joined: 21 Sep 2003 Posts: 2198
|
Posted: Sat Oct 22, 2005 10:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Pajarico wrote: | Tried both ways and i'm still getting the Xorg desktop and the x cursor. Is the same again, X starts, mplayer starts, but they don't connect to each other.
I don't see any errors with the last command, then again is too long and i might missed something. What did you expected to see?
|
I had the same issue... run the commandline on a terminal and see what text is shown, it may give a clue. _________________ "It's ok, they might have guns but we have flowers." - Perpetual Victim |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|