View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
seren Guru
Joined: 27 Aug 2005 Posts: 448 Location: Wisconsin
|
Posted: Sat Oct 29, 2005 5:01 pm Post subject: share internet / files over crossover cable |
|
|
i have two gentoo boxes i was wondering how i could connect them to share the internet / files etc. i tried this http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/home-router-howto.xml
but its for a dedicated box and i just want to link one to the other i was able to get the boxes talking to each other but couldnt get any of them to ping any websites. when i broought the eth0 on the 2nd box i cant access the internet from the first anymore,and the second wont ping any websites. any programs or ideas would GREATLY appreciated. i have a dynamic ip its usually in the range of 69.210.X.X my dsl modem is at 192.168.0.1. the pc that the modem is connected to has two nics and they both work. the nic in the second box works fine too. first box in runnig gentoo sources 2.6.13.4 second is runnig 2.6.14 nitro-sources. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54799 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sat Oct 29, 2005 5:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
seren,
To share files, you need to give the interfaces at the ends of the crossover cable different static IPs in the same subnet but a different subnet to the one in use for the internet.
Then build the nfs filesystem into the kernel at each end and emerge net-fs/nfs-utils at each end
On the host PC create an /etc/exports to export the filesystem you want to share
will tell you what you need to put in the /etc/exports file
On the client PC mount the shared filesystem - put it in /etc/fstab if you want.
the bit about nfs will tell you about mounting the exported filesystem
Sharing the internet is a bit harder. If your internet PC is already behind a router, on a private IP range its much easier, since you do not need to provide Network Address Translation to the second PC. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
seren Guru
Joined: 27 Aug 2005 Posts: 448 Location: Wisconsin
|
Posted: Sat Oct 29, 2005 5:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
the host pc is directly connected to the adsl modem, my connection uses dhcp. thanks for the quick reply, ill work on sharing files for now. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
seren Guru
Joined: 27 Aug 2005 Posts: 448 Location: Wisconsin
|
Posted: Sun Oct 30, 2005 9:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hard to believe no one knows how to, tryed, wanted get this running. or maybe its a stupid n00b networking question? but i have searched and searched and i can't find nothing. i would REALLY appreciate any help or suggestions. thanks james |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JSharku Apprentice
Joined: 09 Feb 2003 Posts: 189 Location: Belgium
|
Posted: Mon Oct 31, 2005 12:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
Uhm, I don't understand why you can't use the info given in the home router guide? It assumes a dedicated box as router, yes, but the methods described will work just as good on a machine that you use for other stuff. You say that 1 machine has 2 NICs? Make that one the "router", using 1 card to connect to the ADSL modem, and the other to connect to your second box.
As for sharing files, the easiest way to do that is using NFS:
compile your kernel with support for NFS (under filesystems)
emerge nfs-utils on both boxes
fill out /etc/exports with the directories you want to share
start nfs
mount a shared directory using mount -t nfs box1:/path/to/dir /mnt/dir
You can even put your nfs mounts in fstab so they get automatically mounted at boot.
Sharku _________________ If only life were portage-driven: Code: | USE="-bitch -in-laws nice gorgeous smart" emerge girlfriend | *sigh*
--
Open Source for Windows! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
seren Guru
Joined: 27 Aug 2005 Posts: 448 Location: Wisconsin
|
Posted: Mon Oct 31, 2005 2:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
i followed every step in the guide, didnt work, how do i set up the second box? do i need the same things compiles in the kernel? does iptables need to be configures the same? same for dnsmasq? its not very clear.
the part i dont understand is this
# LAN utilizes the private 192.168.0.xxx network
# router is hardcoded to the standard 192.168.0.1 IP
if i go to 192.168.0.1 i get the modem set up page, speed stream modem. so will this conflict with the other pc? how so i knoe that box 1 "router" is "# router is hardcoded to the standard 192.168.0.1 IP"?
sorry if i dont make any sense
thx |
|
Back to top |
|
|
suicidal_orange_II Apprentice
Joined: 04 Sep 2004 Posts: 299
|
Posted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 11:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
On the second box give it a static ip of 192.168.0.2, and then type
Code: | route add default gw 192.168.0.1 | and it should work. If it does edit /etc/conf.d/net to Code: | config_eth0=( "192.168.0.2 netmask 255.255.255.0" )
routes_eth0=( "default via 192.168.0.1" ) |
so it will work on next boot.
If it still doesnt work (as i have found before while following the router guide) i recommend fw-jay (http://sourceforge.net/projects/firewall-jay, but its not in portage. Sourceforge has a mysql error for me at the moment so you cant goto the homepage to read the instructions. Im sure they will fix it soon tho
good luck
[EDIT]
Can you confirm that you have a modem not a router connected to the box you want to use as a router? Seems strange to have the modem with a 69.210.X.X IP and say it is on 192.168.0.1 for the config.
If it is a router, change the ip on the router box to 192.168.0.3 and change the route to Code: | route add default gw 192.168.0.3 | and in /etc/conf.d/net to Code: | config_eth0=( "192.168.0.2 netmask 255.255.255.0" )
routes_eth0=( "default via 192.168.0.3" ) |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
seren Guru
Joined: 27 Aug 2005 Posts: 448 Location: Wisconsin
|
Posted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 5:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
its modem straight to the computer, the modems configure address is 192.168.0.1, what i meant was when dhcp gets me the ip address for internet its usually 69.210.*.*
thanks for the reply ill try it soon currently emerging gcc-4.0.2 on reiser4 and its going soooooooooo smooth i cant wait =). |
|
Back to top |
|
|
seren Guru
Joined: 27 Aug 2005 Posts: 448 Location: Wisconsin
|
Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 6:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
glad you all cared to help but i got help in another forum actually it was the kororaa forums and the funny thing is i DONT use kororaa on those boxes, gentoo mods got a stick up their you know what because they banish members from posting about kororaa on gentoo forums but kororaa has not problem with helping this is ass backwards thank you mods...................... get a grip |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54799 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 8:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
seren,
We even help Windows users here ... _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
seren Guru
Joined: 27 Aug 2005 Posts: 448 Location: Wisconsin
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
|