View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
ham_se17 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 20 Jul 2005 Posts: 131
|
Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 2:48 pm Post subject: Can't see console when i kill X! [SOLVED] |
|
|
I have just installed native gentoo instead of colinux, so I emerged the latest nvidia drivers (nvidia-glx/kernel).
After some trouble to get X working, I have found a new wierd problem.
X starts fine now (with fluxbox) and Ii can use it, but when i want to kill X (I do it with CTRL+ALT+F1), the i get a black screen with some green squares.
Then I can't do anything else than CTRL-ALT-DEL!
See the monitor here: http://hamed.dk/untitled.jpg.
Last edited by ham_se17 on Wed Nov 09, 2005 4:35 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
AliasXZ l33t
Joined: 08 Feb 2005 Posts: 847 Location: England, Wakefield
|
Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 2:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
wow that looks cool, how u do it?
hmm first time ive heard of this, anyone got any ideas? _________________ Main:
Kernel: 5.4.38 amd64
RAM: 4GB
Lappy:
Macbook Pro 10.14.6
------------------------------
Please add (solved) to your first post when your issue is resolved |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ham_se17 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 20 Jul 2005 Posts: 131
|
Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 3:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
AliasXZ wrote: | wow that looks cool, how u do it?
hmm first time ive heard of this, anyone got any ideas? |
Well, sometimes some of them are purple too
But here is my xorg.conf:
Code: |
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Layout0"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection
Section "Files"
RgbPath "/usr/lib/X11/rgb"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/misc/"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/TTF/"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/Speedo/"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/Type1/"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/CID/"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi/"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/local/"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/TrueType/"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/freefont/"
EndSection
Section "Module"
Load "freetype"
SubSection "extmod"
Option "omit xfree86-dga"
EndSubSection
Load "glx"
Load "dbe"
Load "record"
Load "xtrap"
Load "type1"
EndSection
Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "Auto"
Option "Emulate3Buttons"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection
Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "keyboard"
Option "XkbModel" "pc104"
Option "XkbLayout" "dk"
EndSection
Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
HorizSync 31.5 - 64.3
VertRefresh 50.0 - 60.0
EndSectionSection "Device"
Identifier "Card0"
Driver "nvidia"
VideoRam 131072
EndSection
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Card0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
dTr Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 30 Oct 2005 Posts: 103 Location: UK
|
Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 3:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Don't know if this is the same problem but I had similar results recently, it was todo with having a framebuffer startup. Have you tried to set one up? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ham_se17 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 20 Jul 2005 Posts: 131
|
Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 3:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
dTr wrote: | Don't know if this is the same problem but I had similar results recently, it was todo with having a framebuffer startup. Have you tried to set one up? |
To set a framebuffer up? No... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dTr Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 30 Oct 2005 Posts: 103 Location: UK
|
Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 3:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Do you see then console when you boot up? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Dizzutch Guru
Joined: 09 Nov 2004 Posts: 463 Location: Worcester, MA
|
Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 3:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
yeah, sounds like your framebuffer device isn't setup correctly. Might want to recheck your kernel config. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ham_se17 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 20 Jul 2005 Posts: 131
|
Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 3:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
dTr wrote: | Do you see then console when you boot up? |
yes i do.
And I have framebuffer support en my kernel, my bad
But i'm compiling a new kernel right now, a kernel with nvidia framebuffer:
Code: |
# cat /usr/src/linux/.config | grep FRAME
CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE=y
# CONFIG_FRAME_POINTER is not set
# cat /usr/src/linux/.config | grep NVIDIA
CONFIG_AGP_NVIDIA=y
CONFIG_FB_NVIDIA=y
CONFIG_FB_NVIDIA_I2C=y
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
ham_se17 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 20 Jul 2005 Posts: 131
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
dTr Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 30 Oct 2005 Posts: 103 Location: UK
|
Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 4:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
do
Code: | $ cat /usr/src/linux/.config | grep VESA |
and
Code: | $ cat /usr/src/linux/.config | grep VIDEO |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
ham_se17 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 20 Jul 2005 Posts: 131
|
Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 4:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
dTr wrote: | do
Code: | $ cat /usr/src/linux/.config | grep VESA |
and
Code: | $ cat /usr/src/linux/.config | grep VIDEO |
|
Code: |
$ cat /usr/src/linux/.config | grep VESA
CONFIG_FB_VESA=y
# CONFIG_FB_VESA_STD is not set
CONFIG_FB_VESA_TNG=y
CONFIG_FB_VESA_DEFAULT_MODE="640x480@60"
$ cat /usr/src/linux/.config | grep VIDEO
CONFIG_IEEE1394_VIDEO1394=m
# CONFIG_VIDEO_DEV is not set
CONFIG_VIDEO_SELECT=y
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
ham_se17 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 20 Jul 2005 Posts: 131
|
Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 4:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yes, SOLVED!
After i compiled nvidiafrb in my kernel, and reemerged nvidia-kernel, I can return to my console
thnx everyone... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
AliasXZ l33t
Joined: 08 Feb 2005 Posts: 847 Location: England, Wakefield
|
Posted: Thu Nov 10, 2005 8:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
ham_se17 wrote: | Well, sometimes some of them are purple too |
omg _________________ Main:
Kernel: 5.4.38 amd64
RAM: 4GB
Lappy:
Macbook Pro 10.14.6
------------------------------
Please add (solved) to your first post when your issue is resolved |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|