View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
rainbow flag n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/15201452442c7fff7dcf42.jpg)
Joined: 03 Jul 2005 Posts: 33
|
Posted: Tue Nov 15, 2005 5:04 pm Post subject: ndiswrapper |
|
|
i have the problem, that my wireless-card does not detect the wlan - but i know it is there (because other people can connect).
according to lspci -v, the wireless-card is "Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4306 802.11b/g Wireless LAN Controller (rev 03) Subsystem: Belkin Belkin F5D7010 54g Wireless Network card Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 64, IRQ 9 Memory at 11000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=8K]"
ndiswrapper -l claims "bcmwl5 driver present, hardware present"
dmesg: Code: | ndiswrapper: using irq 9
ieee1394: Initialized config rom entry `ip1394'
wlan0: vendor: ''
wlan0: ndiswrapper ethernet device 00:b0:21:f6:8b:44 using driver bcmwl5, 14E4:4
321.5.conf
wlan0: encryption modes supported: WEP; TKIP with WPA; AES/CCMP with WPA
...
wlan0: no IPv6 routers present |
as far -
but dhcpcd does not start without telling the cause;
Code: | * Starting eth1
* Bringing up eth1
* dhcp
* Running dhcpcd ... [ !! ] |
wlassistent
Code: | ifconfig_status: /sbin/ifconfig wlan0
ifup: /sbin/ifconfig wlan0 up
scan: /sbin/iwlist wlan0 scan
==>stderr: Warning: Driver for device wlan0 recommend version 18 of Wireless Extension,
but has been compiled with version 17, therefore some driver features
may not be available...
No networks found!
|
how could i find out in the card and the driver is actually functioning or if it is only an error in some script?
thx. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
aqu Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
![](images/avatars/1254907671446f5f261ebdc.gif)
Joined: 12 Nov 2005 Posts: 249 Location: Kalisz, Poland
|
Posted: Tue Nov 15, 2005 7:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
do you have wirelesstools emerged ?
try to set network manually, by iwconfig, then write a scritp.
Or put this script here, so we can check what is wrong. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
rainbow flag n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/15201452442c7fff7dcf42.jpg)
Joined: 03 Jul 2005 Posts: 33
|
Posted: Wed Nov 16, 2005 12:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
thx.
yes - i have wireless-tools.
if i try to setup by iwconfig, iwconfig behaves totally normal but finds no wlan / no accesspoint. so that after that iwconfig returns: Code: | wlan0 IEEE 802.11g ESSID:off/any
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.462 GHz Access Point: 00:00:00:00:00:00
Bit Rate:54 Mb/s Tx-Power:16 dBm
RTS thr:2347 B Fragment thr:2346 B
Encryption key:xxxxxxxxxxx Security mode:restricted
Power Management:off
Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0
|
and - wich script should i put here. as far as i know, any application has its own script (ndiswrapper, wireless-tools, ...) - but no one of these should be used if i try to connect manually. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
eyeL Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
![](images/avatars/1216205942437a7cd817a63.jpg)
Joined: 13 Nov 2005 Posts: 82 Location: Missouri
|
Posted: Wed Nov 16, 2005 1:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
Here's a script I wrote on slackware for my d-link card
#!/bin/bash
echo "Loading modules..."
# Be sure to update these periodically
# They have had security flaws
modprobe wlan_tkip
modprobe wlan_acl
modprobe wlan_xauth
modprobe wlan_wep
modprobe ath_pci
modprobe ath_rate_sample
modprobe wlan
modprobe ath_hal
echo "Setting up card..."
ifconfig ath0 up
iwconfig ath0 essid "SSID"
iwconfig ath0 mode managed
# You may be able to just set the previous command to iwconfig ath0 mode auto
echo "Setting AP..."
iwconfig ath0 ap APHERE
echo "Setting WEP key..."
iwconfig ath0 key PUThereIFyouHAVEone
echo "Attempting to get IP via DHCP..."
dhcpcd ath0 _________________ [theNPA - down for updates] | [Adopt an unanswered post]
gentoo 2005.1 [lazy] - gcc 4.1.1 |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
rev138 l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
![](images/avatars/115186396341f6ff26dd887.gif)
Joined: 19 Jun 2003 Posts: 848 Location: Vermont, USA
|
Posted: Wed Nov 16, 2005 2:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
I think your problem is that ndiswrapper creates the interface wlan0, but you're running an init script for eth1.
Try this:
Code: | # ln -s /etc/init.d/net.eth0 /etc/init.d/net.wlan0
# rc-update del net.eth0
# rc-update add net.wlan0 default |
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
rainbow flag n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/15201452442c7fff7dcf42.jpg)
Joined: 03 Jul 2005 Posts: 33
|
Posted: Thu Nov 17, 2005 1:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
thx.
1. after making creating net.wlan0 the same problem
Code: | sudo /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 start
* Starting wlan0
* Configuring wireless network for wlan0
* no access points found
* Couldn't find any access points on wlan0
* Failed to configure wireless for wlan0 [ !! ] |
2. some missing modules may be the cause, but my computer doesn't find the modules which the script of you (eyeL) uses and in Device Drivers --> Networking support --> Wireless Lan (with make menuconfig) everything is enabled (as modules). |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
rev138 l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
![](images/avatars/115186396341f6ff26dd887.gif)
Joined: 19 Jun 2003 Posts: 848 Location: Vermont, USA
|
Posted: Thu Nov 17, 2005 1:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Check this thread |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
rainbow flag n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/15201452442c7fff7dcf42.jpg)
Joined: 03 Jul 2005 Posts: 33
|
Posted: Fri Nov 18, 2005 2:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
well, thanx very much.
like it is described for acer-notebooks in the other thread (link posted by rev138) it seems to be necessary to load some more modules to swich wireless radio on (or something similar), even for non-acer-notebooks (i have asus) - loading asus_acpi, hermes, orinoco, orinoci_pci (i don't know why, found out just by trial and error) helps insofar that iwconfig wlan0 scan is at least able to find the wlan. i didn't try to connect right now (cause it' s very late).
i think as soon as i can figure out a somewhat mor profound solution/theory i will post it (... which may be next week ...)
thx |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|