View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
mndar n00b
Joined: 04 Apr 2005 Posts: 52
|
Posted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 7:37 pm Post subject: multiple pppoe sessions |
|
|
I wish to connect using two different ISPs with the same LAN card ( if thats not possible then with two diff LAN cards) and want to use the bandwidth provided by both the accounts. How do I do this?
I created the interface eth0:1. So I do I login to both the accounts simultaneously ? There is just one command adsl-start. There aren't scripts like FC (ifcfg-ppp0 and ifcfg-pp1) in gentoo.
If I am able to connect to both the ISPs, will the following command allow me to use the bandwidth of both the accounts ?
ip route add default proto static scope global equalize nexthop dev ppp0 nexthop dev ppp1 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
egberts Guru
Joined: 04 Nov 2003 Posts: 357 Location: Dimmed Cathode Ray Tube
|
Posted: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
If your gentoo is 2005.1 or current, then the easiest method of connecting two ISPs is to go out and purchase a 2nd ethernet card.
Edit /etc/conf.d/net
Code: | iface_eth0="dhcp"
config_eth0={ "adsl" }
adsl_user_eth0={ "useraccountname@isp1.com" }
dhcpcd_eth0="-C -G -N -R -Y -o"
iface_eth1="dhcp"
config_eth1={ "adsl" }
adsl_user_eth1={ "useraccountname@isp2.com" }
dhcpcd_eth1="-C -G -N -R -Y -o"
iface_eth2="192.168.1.1 netmask 255.255.255.0"
|
Stick your passwords into /etc/ppp/pap-secrets file
then perform
Code: | /etc/init.d/net.eth0 restart
/etc/init.d/net.eth1 restart |
If you want this to start up automatically at bootup, then ensure that rc-update records net.eth0 and net.eth1 by doing:
Code: | ln -s /etc/init.d/net.eth0 /etc/init.d/net.eth1
rc-update add net.eth0 default
rc-update add net.eth1 default |
_________________ Clusters of Fry's Special, AMD 2200, 2 GB DDR, 220 GB (2008.1/desktop, stage 1, -O3) x8
HP Compaq Fry's SPecial, AMD 2100, 2 GB DDR, 260 GB (2008.0/server, stage 1, -O3)
Ultra Sparc 5, 256MB, 3GB (2006.1/server, stage 1, -O3) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
egberts Guru
Joined: 04 Nov 2003 Posts: 357 Location: Dimmed Cathode Ray Tube
|
Posted: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | ip route add default proto static scope global equalize nexthop dev ppp0 nexthop dev ppp1 |
No, it would not give you the kind of load-sharing that you are (I'm presuming here) seeking.
Quick fix. Remove the word 'equalize' and use the word 'weight'.
The problem lies in two areas of IP networking principle:
1. Any server you talk to must expect a steady and fixed source IP address (yours).
2. TCP connection must maintain the same source IP address throughout its one TCP session (connection).
You want per-flow routing, not per-packet routing.
Checkout http://www.policyrouting.org/PolicyRoutingBook/ONLINE/CH05.web.html _________________ Clusters of Fry's Special, AMD 2200, 2 GB DDR, 220 GB (2008.1/desktop, stage 1, -O3) x8
HP Compaq Fry's SPecial, AMD 2100, 2 GB DDR, 260 GB (2008.0/server, stage 1, -O3)
Ultra Sparc 5, 256MB, 3GB (2006.1/server, stage 1, -O3) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|