View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Ross_O n00b
Joined: 23 Nov 2005 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 10:05 am Post subject: network / 8139too? |
|
|
Can someone help me with my network please.
I have been going off the following steps this post
Quote: |
1. Boot your live cd
2. run #lspci
3. look for the line "Ethernet controller" Write down this line.
4. run #lsmod
5. look for your evdev module. write down the name of the next one
6. reboot to your normal install.
7. cd to /usr/src/linux
8. enter #make menuconfig
9. Go to device drivers --> networking support --> networking options
10. Search through the "Ethernet(10 or 100Mbit)" and the "Ethernet(1000)"
11. find the matching ethernet controller from step 3 and press m to compile it as a module
12. Exit (go back) until you are asked whether you want to save - yes you do.
13. install with #make install && make modules_install
14 edit /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6, and add a line which is the result of step 5. It should be only one word.
|
First of all when I execute the command #lsmod I do not get evdev, 8139too, or mii. Is this a problem? If so how should I fix it. (netsemi is listed)
Other Info:
From lspci: my ether net card is...
0000:02:0a.0 Ethernet controller: National Semiconductor Corporation DP83815 (MacPhyter) Ethernet Controller
Going through the make menuconfig I checked National Semiconductor as an "M"
The error I get when I boot up is something like:
...
failed to load netsemi
...
eth0 does not exist
...
ERROR: Problem starting needed services.
"netmount" was not started
Thanks,
~R |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Monkeh Veteran
Joined: 06 Aug 2005 Posts: 1656 Location: England
|
Posted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 12:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It won't show 8139too unless your card uses that module. And yours does not. Build the correct driver (netsemi) into the kernel. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ross_O n00b
Joined: 23 Nov 2005 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 7:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ah, that makes sense, but I must still be missing something because...
I did #make menuconfig and I searched for natsemi. It turns out that I already put an "M" next to this one (AKA National Semiconductor DP8381x Series PCI Ethernet Support).
After I did this I did
#make install && make modules_install
from the /usr/src/linux directory.
Then I added "natsemi" in a file called
/etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6
Did I do something work or am I forgetting to do something? Should it be a "*" and not an "M"?
Do I have to mount anything or copy the kernel to a different directory?
(I believe netsemi was a typo on my last post and it is actually natsemi)
~R |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Monkeh Veteran
Joined: 06 Aug 2005 Posts: 1656 Location: England
|
Posted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 8:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yes, it is natsemi, I didn't notice that either (despite it being in my face in caps when I typed that post).
You'd be better off building it in the kernel instead of as a module. I have little experience with them (I avoid them. Even if it means patching and rebuilding my kernel), so I can't really help with module specific problems. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ross_O n00b
Joined: 23 Nov 2005 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 8:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I just read
Quote: |
Make sure [ ]Networking support (at the top) is enabled!
|
Mine shows "---" next to it and I can not change it. What does this mean, and is this bad?
Like you said I changed National Semiconductor to a * from an M and took out natsemi from the kernel-2.6 file. When I boot up I don not get the error about if failing to load natsemi but I still get
eth0 does not exist
and
ERROR: Problem starting needed services.
"netmount" was not started
Am I not compiling the kernel correctly? All I do is execute
#make install && make modules_install |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Monkeh Veteran
Joined: 06 Aug 2005 Posts: 1656 Location: England
|
Posted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 8:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
That means it's forced on by another choice, so you cannot turn it off.
Running make install installs it correctly if you use LILO. Just run make, and install it manually. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ross_O n00b
Joined: 23 Nov 2005 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 9:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ah ok! I'm using Grub. So to install it manually execute #make from the /usr/src/linux directory, then what? Do I have to mount or copy something? Sorry for my ignorance; I am new to compiling kernels.
Thanks,
~R |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Monkeh Veteran
Joined: 06 Aug 2005 Posts: 1656 Location: England
|
Posted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 9:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It's all explained in the handbook. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ross_O n00b
Joined: 23 Nov 2005 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 11:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I don't think I was compiling and installing the kernel right. Here are the commands that I executed to get it to boot with the changes to my kernel.
Code: | cd /usr/src/linux
make && make modules_install
mount /boot
cp arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot/kernel-2.6.12-gentoo-r6
|
So I was able to get the natsemi module working, but when I boot up it gives me the Error...
No loaded modules "dhcp" (DHCP_start)
...
ERROR: Problem starting needed services.
"netmount" was not started
When I try to ping something I get
ping: unknown host www.google.com
I have the following line in /etc/conf.d/net
config_eth0=( "dhcp" )
Is that correct? Do I have to edit anything else? Do I need to install more modules?
Thanks,
~R |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Monkeh Veteran
Joined: 06 Aug 2005 Posts: 1656 Location: England
|
Posted: Wed Nov 23, 2005 11:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
That would be how you install the kernel. I think I know the problem here.. You're using DHCP, but have no DHCP client. It never got this far before as you had no eth0 to run DHCP on in the first place. Run a static config, I despise DHCP |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Diezel l33t
Joined: 04 Feb 2003 Posts: 600 Location: Karjaa, Finland
|
Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2005 6:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
Just install a DHCP client. You should find one by
Code: |
#emerge --search dhcp
|
Monkeh, DHCP is a great thing. Atleast in larger networks, I would never give it up at work. _________________ A bus station is where a bus stops, a train station is where a train stops. On
my desk I have a work station..
Nixadmins.net
FLUG member 473 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Monkeh Veteran
Joined: 06 Aug 2005 Posts: 1656 Location: England
|
Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2005 7:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
Diezel wrote: | Just install a DHCP client. You should find one by
Code: |
#emerge --search dhcp
|
Monkeh, DHCP is a great thing. Atleast in larger networks, I would never give it up at work. |
True. However, I don't trust it. Several reasons:
1: My router is general crap
2: It doesn't work half the time (refer to above reason)
3: It gives me incorrect DNS servers
4: Dynamic IPs suck on small networks
5: I like knowing my IP (see above)
On a small network, manually assigned IPs > DHCP. On a larger (and dynamic, for a fixed workstation setup, see small network) network, it's invaluable. I just think it's better to use a static IP unless there's a specific reason to use DHCP. (of course it's great for LiveCDs.. Except when linux simply doesn't work with the DNS servers it spits out) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|