View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Cenrim Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Dec 2004 Posts: 142 Location: Germany
|
Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 12:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hm.. rebuild with JoseJX' softmac repo, but when I type
Code: | # iwconfig eth2 channel 11 |
a running iwevent still gives me: Code: | # iwevent
Waiting for Wireless Events from interfaces...
12:46:14.934564 eth2 Set Channel=0 |
and shouldn't iwconfig show the channel?
Code: | # iwconfig eth2
eth2 IEEE 802.11b/g ESSID:off/any Nickname:"Broadcom 4306"
Mode:Monitor Frequency=2.432 GHz Bit Rate:54 Mb/s Tx-Power=2346 dBm
RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:off |
maybe it has something to do with the FIXME line in my dmesg: Code: |
$ dmesg | tail
fill_kobj_path: path = '/devices/pci0001:10/0001:10:12.0'
kobject_hotplug: /sbin/udevsend firmware seq=974 HOME=/ PATH=/sbin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin ACTION=remove DEVPATH=/class/firmware/0001:10:12.0 SUBSYSTEM=firmware
bcm43xx: InitVals written
bcm43xx: Radio turned on
bcm43xx: FIXME: Possibly broken code in bcm43xx_phy_setupg() at /home/floh/AEnative/trunk/driver/bcm43xx_phy.c:333
bcm43xx: Chip initialized
bcm43xx: DMA initialized
bcm43xx: 80211 cores initialized
kobject 0001:10:12.0: cleaning up
eth2: no IPv6 routers present
|
of cause this showed up when the dev was initialized before I tried to change the channel
but iwlist eth2 scanning works
and since switching the mode to Monitor works I think kismet will work too soon ^^ _________________ [/garbage] |
|
Back to top |
|
|
simprix n00b
Joined: 01 Mar 2003 Posts: 4
|
Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 4:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Im trying to get this to work, I am using kernel 2.6.15-rc1 but i can't get it to compile i got 2.6.15-r5 ro compile but it won't load the firmware_class modules. Does anyone out there have a 12in powerbook titanium. If so could you post your .config |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JoseJX Retired Dev
Joined: 28 Apr 2002 Posts: 2774
|
Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 5:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Cenrim:
Kismet actually already works with just a small patch to change the ethernet type. It'll probably make it into the SoftMAC sooner or later. Using tcpdump and ethereal works flawlessly already, which is cool. :) The channel changing is working properly, it's just the information printing part that's messed up. A minor bug considering. ;)
simprix:
Just compile in firmware loading, don't use it as a module. This should pull in all of the required kernel options. _________________ Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Cenrim Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Dec 2004 Posts: 142 Location: Germany
|
Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 7:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
yeah, the printings are really messed up..
iwlist says, my iBook is tranceiving with over 2 Megawatt
I gotta search a open wireless with a clear signal.. the one next to me is on the same channel as 2 other, the APs not more than 30m from each other...
oh, and Code: | iwconfig eth2
eth2 IEEE 802.11b/g ESSID:off/any Nickname:"Broadcom 4306"
Mode:Managed Frequency=2.437 GHz Bit Rate:54 Mb/s Tx-Power=2346 dBm
RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:off
[root|i-do] ~ # iwconfig eth2 channel 1
[root|i-do] ~ # iwconfig eth2
eth2 IEEE 802.11b/g ESSID:off/any Nickname:"Broadcom 4306"
Mode:Managed Frequency=2.412 GHz Bit Rate:54 Mb/s Tx-Power=2346 dBm
RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:off |
the frequency is changing, so it works.
tried the mentioned wireless, but couldn't get a authentification
too many stupid people with wireless equibment, all using channel 11 _________________ [/garbage] |
|
Back to top |
|
|
darklesi n00b
Joined: 23 Jul 2004 Posts: 12 Location: Portugal
|
Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 8:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi there, i just can't get it to work!
my iwconfig shows me this:
Code: |
eth2 IEEE 802.11b/g ESSID:off/any Nickname:"Broadcom 4306"
Mode:Managed Bit Rate:1 Mb/s Tx-Power=off
RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:off
|
and when i do
It gives me this error
SIOCSIFFLAGS: No such file or directory
And my dmesg shows this:
Code: |
bcm43xx: Error: Microcode "bcm43xx_microcode5.fw" not available or load failed.
|
The hotplug firmware loding option and the wireless extentions are compiled in kernel. I think i'm not missing any step, so any help would be apreciated.
Thanks in advance and sorry for my bad english
Cheers |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JoseJX Retired Dev
Joined: 28 Apr 2002 Posts: 2774
|
Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 8:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The microcode isn't available. Please make sure that you've got it in the right place /lib/firmware and that the files are named correctly (this changed yesterday) and that hotplug and firmware loading are both working correctly. _________________ Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml |
|
Back to top |
|
|
darklesi n00b
Joined: 23 Jul 2004 Posts: 12 Location: Portugal
|
Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 9:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ok the file is in that directory! so i just assume that my problem is related to the hotplug and firmware loading. Well how can i check if they are working correctly?
Cheers |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Cenrim Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Dec 2004 Posts: 142 Location: Germany
|
Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 10:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
darlesi:
do you have CONFIG_NET_RADIO=y ?
I had this error too, because I forgot to enable this option... so the kernel knows about ieee 802.11 and stuff but can't talk to the hardware
btw: it's working!
i'm sittin' in my kitchen chatting and typing this ^^
it's a pity that I can't get an open wireless in my room... 7 nets, but the one that's open belongs to the 5 on the other side of the building _________________ [/garbage] |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sceptiq Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 29 Nov 2004 Posts: 103
|
Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 10:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
can some one please post url to an _clean_ Airport-driver?
so that i can fwcut on it?
this would be real nice! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JoseJX Retired Dev
Joined: 28 Apr 2002 Posts: 2774
|
Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 10:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
sceptiq:
You *DO NOT* need an airport driver, please nobody post one, I'll have to remove the link. Any version listed in the fwcutter readme will work as long as it contains the firmware files you need. Any recent version (see the version #'s in the list) should have the required firmware. Make sure that you have an updated version of fwcutter since the name of the firmware files changed from yesterday.
Cenrim:
Glad you got it working. :) _________________ Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bz31 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 20 Apr 2005 Posts: 108
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
cocozz Apprentice
Joined: 31 Jul 2004 Posts: 160
|
Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 11:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I have exactly the same problem as darklesi _________________ Soy tu amigo, amigo . |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sceptiq Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 29 Nov 2004 Posts: 103
|
Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 11:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
which of the files listed in trunk/fwcutter/README do i have to get?
i dont understand it the *.exe is confusing me
maybe my bad englisch is confusing me too...
bz31, i have this file, but i dont know howto extrackt it and locate the file i need |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bz31 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 20 Apr 2005 Posts: 108
|
Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2005 11:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
sceptiq wrote: | bz31, i have this file, but i dont know howto extrackt it and locate the file i need | I downloaded the apple driver under mac os x, then using Pacifist ( http://www.charlessoft.com/ ) to extract the file. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JoseJX Retired Dev
Joined: 28 Apr 2002 Posts: 2774
|
Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2005 7:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
Following the directions in the README, I select a file. For example, I'll choose this one because it's a recent release and I can download it direct.
Code: | wget http://openwrt.inf.fh-brs.de/~nbd/wl_apsta.o |
I then use fwcutter on it as it says in the howto:
Code: | fwcutter wl_apsta.o |
I then install the firmware as is says in the howto:
_________________ Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sceptiq Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 29 Nov 2004 Posts: 103
|
Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2005 7:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
THX!!!
eyery thing works fine! but... after loading all the neccesary modules, i cant use "ifconfig" any longer
after typing "ifconfig" i get no prompt back
(using 2.6.15-rc5) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JoseJX Retired Dev
Joined: 28 Apr 2002 Posts: 2774
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
bz31 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 20 Apr 2005 Posts: 108
|
Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2005 7:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
JoseJX wrote: | Following the directions in the README, I select a file. For example, I'll choose this one because it's a recent release and I can download it direct.
Code: | wget http://openwrt.inf.fh-brs.de/~nbd/wl_apsta.o |
| Thanks !!!
I understand now what is firmware. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sceptiq Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 29 Nov 2004 Posts: 103
|
Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2005 8:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
JoseJX wrote: | That doesn't make much sense. What does dmesg say? What exactly are you doing? |
Im inserting the modules i need...
Code: |
modprobe ieee80211
modprobe firmware_class
insmod ieee80211softmac.ko
insmod bcm43xx.ko
|
thats it
dmesg:
Code: |
ieee80211_crypt: registered algorithm 'NULL'
ieee80211: 802.11 data/management/control stack, git-1.1.7
ieee80211: Copyright (C) 2004-2005 Intel Corporation <jketreno@linux.intel.com>
tun: Universal TUN/TAP device driver, 1.6
tun: (C) 1999-2004 Max Krasnyansky <maxk@qualcomm.com>
bcm43xx: Unknown symbol release_firmware
bcm43xx: Unknown symbol request_firmware
bcm43xx driver 0.0.1
PCI: Enabling device 0001:10:12.0 (0004 -> 0006)
bcm43xx: Chip ID 0x4318, rev 0x2
bcm43xx: Number of cores: 4
bcm43xx: Core 0: ID 0x800, rev 0xd, vendor 0x4243, enabled
bcm43xx: Core 1: ID 0x812, rev 0x9, vendor 0x4243, disabled
bcm43xx: Core 2: ID 0x804, rev 0xc, vendor 0x4243, enabled
bcm43xx: Core 3: ID 0x80d, rev 0x7, vendor 0x4243, enabled
bcm43xx: PHY connected
bcm43xx: Detected PHY: Version: 3, Type 2, Revision 7
bcm43xx: Invalid PHY Revision 7
bcm43xx: Detected Radio: ID: 8205017f (Manuf: 17f Ver: 2050 Rev: 8)
bcm43xx: Radio turned off
bcm43xx: Radio turned off
bcm43xx: PHY connected
bcm43xx: InitVals written
bcm43xx: Radio turned on
bcm43xx: FIXME: Possibly broken code in bcm43xx_phy_setupg() at /home/sceptiq/tmp/airport/trunk/driver/bcm43xx_phy.c:333
bcm43xx: Chip initialized
bcm43xx: DMA initialized
bcm43xx: 80211 cores initialized
SoftMAC: /home/sceptiq/tmp/airport/source/ieee80211softmac_assoc.c:106:ieee80211softmac_assoc_work()
SoftMAC: Associate: Network not known, trying to initiate scan: SoftMAC: Start scanning with channel: 1
SoftMAC: Scanning 13 channels
ok.
SoftMAC: Flags for channel 1: 0000
SoftMAC: FIXME: Probing Channel 1
bcm43xx: TODO: Incomplete code in bcm43xx_set_iwmode() at /home/sceptiq/tmp/airport/trunk/driver/bcm43xx_main.c:2441
SoftMAC: Scanning finished
SoftMAC: /home/sceptiq/tmp/airport/source/ieee80211softmac_assoc.c:106:ieee80211softmac_assoc_work()
SoftMAC: Associate: Network not known, trying to initiate scan: SoftMAC: Start scanning with channel: 1
SoftMAC: Scanning 13 channels
ok.
SoftMAC: Scanning finished
SoftMAC: /home/sceptiq/tmp/airport/source/ieee80211softmac_assoc.c:106:ieee80211softmac_assoc_work()
SoftMAC: Associate: Network not known, trying to initiate scan: SoftMAC: Start scanning with channel: 1
SoftMAC: Scanning 13 channels
ok.
SoftMAC: Scanning finished
SoftMAC: /home/sceptiq/tmp/airport/source/ieee80211softmac_assoc.c:106:ieee80211softmac_assoc_work()
SoftMAC: Unable to find network after scan!
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
bz31 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 20 Apr 2005 Posts: 108
|
Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2005 10:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
sceptiq,
Maybe you should retry, retry and retry ... to connect.
Sometimes I must make several try to obtain connection. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
cocozz Apprentice
Joined: 31 Jul 2004 Posts: 160
|
Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2005 10:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
Im testing with 4 o 5 firmwares but I have always the same error.
lsmod:
Code: |
root@floquet:/home/cocozz/Programas/bcm43/trunk/fwcutter# lsmod | grep bcm
bcm43xx 418644 0
ieee80211softmac 35456 1 bcm43xx
firmware_class 12160 2 bcm43xx,pcmcia
ieee80211 35176 2 bcm43xx,ieee80211softmac
root@floquet:/home/cocozz/Programas/bcm43/trunk/fwcutter#
|
dmesg:
Code: |
[ 895.035428] bcm43xx driver 0.0.1
[ 895.059643] bcm43xx: Chip ID 0x4318, rev 0x2
[ 895.059653] bcm43xx: Number of cores: 4
[ 895.059658] bcm43xx: Core 0: ID 0x800, rev 0xd, vendor 0x4243, enabled
[ 895.059666] bcm43xx: Core 1: ID 0x812, rev 0x9, vendor 0x4243, enabled
[ 895.059677] bcm43xx: Core 2: ID 0x804, rev 0xc, vendor 0x4243, enabled
[ 895.059685] bcm43xx: Core 3: ID 0x80d, rev 0x7, vendor 0x4243, enabled
[ 895.062332] bcm43xx: PHY connected
[ 895.062359] bcm43xx: Detected PHY: Version: 3, Type 2, Revision 7
[ 895.062363] bcm43xx: Invalid PHY Revision 7
[ 895.062384] bcm43xx: Detected Radio: ID: 8205017f (Manuf: 17f Ver: 2050 Rev: 8)
[ 895.062408] bcm43xx: Radio turned off
[ 895.062417] bcm43xx: Radio turned off
[ 916.560733] bcm43xx: PHY connected
[ 916.652532] bcm43xx: Error: Microcode "bcm43xx_microcode5.fw" not available or load failed.
[ 916.666910] SoftMAC: /home/cocozz/Programas/softmac/softmac/ieee80211softmac_assoc.c:106:ieee80211softmac_assoc_work()
[ 916.666924] SoftMAC: Associate: Network not known, trying to initiate scan: failed.
|
iwlist eth1 scan:
Code: |
root@floquet:/home/cocozz/Programas/bcm43/trunk/fwcutter# iwlist eth1 scan
Warning: Driver for device eth1 has been compiled with version 19
of Wireless Extension, while this program supports up to version 18.
Some things may be broken...
eth1 Interface doesn't support scanning : No such device
|
_________________ Soy tu amigo, amigo . |
|
Back to top |
|
|
IncudE n00b
Joined: 08 Dec 2005 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 4:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
Exact same error as darklesi, can't seem to load
Code: | bcm43xx: Error: Microcode "bcm43xx_microcode5.fw" not available or load failed. |
and when ifconfig ethx up
Code: | SIOCSIFFLAGS: No such file or directory |
Tried several firmwares from fwcutter README, every time... same result!
Can anyone post a working kernel .config? Just to eleminate probable causes!
THANKS! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JoseJX Retired Dev
Joined: 28 Apr 2002 Posts: 2774
|
Posted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 2:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
You must have CONFIG_FW_LOADER=y (or as a module and have the module loaded) and have hotplug installed and running. _________________ Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml |
|
Back to top |
|
|
IncudE n00b
Joined: 08 Dec 2005 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 3:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Everything is correct in the kernel! What could it be? well me, obviously! solved it with emerge hotplug!
now i get from dmesg
Code: | bcm43xx: FIXME: Possibly broken code in bcm43xx_phy_setupg() at /home/incude/trunk/driver/bcm43xx_phy.c:333 |
not sure if this is really a problem!
Can't test it now though, i am nowhere near a wireless lan!
I NEED COFFEE! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JoseJX Retired Dev
Joined: 28 Apr 2002 Posts: 2774
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
|