Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Problems rebuilding kernel
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gauntalus
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Dec 2004
Posts: 125
Location: University of Michigan

PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2005 3:30 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] Problems rebuilding kernel Reply with quote

Since its christmas time and I don't have lots of assignments due, I figured I'd update gnome and rebuild/update my kernel. I've had a lot of problems, but I finally got things working so that I can actually get to a command line running on the new kernel (2.6.14-r5); however. When boot into the new kernel, my ndiswrapper module now fails to load, and when xorg/gnome tries to start, it seems to try and fail to start 3 times before I get a message saying:

Code:

I cannot start the X server (your graphical
interface).  It seems that the pointer device
(your mouse) is not set up correctly.  Would
you like to view the X server output to
diagnose the problem?
< Yes >   < No >


When this screen appears, yes is highlighted and my keyboard won't let me switch to No or anything, so I select yes and get a new screen:

Code:

I will disable this X server for now.
Restart GDM when it is configured correctly
< Ok >


So I press ok and get back to a login prompt where I can do what I wish. If I run lsmod, it doesn't return _anything_, I just get
Code:

azrael ~ # lsmod
Module                               Size Used by

And if I try to manually modprobe any modules, say ndiswrapper for example I get:
Code:

azrael ~ # modprobe ndiswrapper
FATAL: Module ndiswrapper not found.

Everything was working just great (and still is) under my old kernel, 2.6.10-r9, but when I boot into the new one nothing seems to work. It seems that my modules aren't installed properly.. but I did run make && make modules && make modules_install.

Can anyone help me out?
_________________
Mike Cook Online
-- Brutal Chess


Last edited by gauntalus on Tue Dec 27, 2005 2:12 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoo_dude
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 May 2004
Posts: 645
Location: Washington, DC

PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2005 3:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you need to re-emerge the drivers not built in the kernel, such as ndiswrapper, cisco-vpnclient, ipw2200, etc.
Everything that you have built against the 2.6.10 kernel needs to be rebuilt against the new kernel. Also make sure you modify /usr/src/linux to point to the new kernel.
Hope this helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoo_dude
l33t
l33t


Joined: 08 May 2004
Posts: 645
Location: Washington, DC

PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2005 3:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

about your X server, you might want to run xorgconfig. Before you do this, backup your current xorg.conf file because it will be overwritten (/etc/x11/xorg.conf)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gauntalus
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Dec 2004
Posts: 125
Location: University of Michigan

PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2005 3:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

argh, alright

Its really stressful the way that all of this has to work, since everything is working fine under the old kernel... but I guess I can just use windows if things don't start working after the reinstalls...

thanks for the help! you'll here from me soon enough i'm sure
_________________
Mike Cook Online
-- Brutal Chess
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gauntalus
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Dec 2004
Posts: 125
Location: University of Michigan

PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2005 4:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

err no dice... I can't even bring up eth0... no updating for me i guess
_________________
Mike Cook Online
-- Brutal Chess
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sneakymcgrew
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 Dec 2005
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2005 5:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you possibly forget to make modules_install?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
syg00
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 907
Location: Brisbane, AUS

PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2005 6:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

gentoo_dude wrote:
Also make sure you modify /usr/src/linux to point to the new kernel.
Mmmm - I'd be looking closely at this. Also see if /lib/modules/ has a directory for your new kernel level. The following should show;
Code:
ls -l /usr/src/linux
ls /lib/modules
uname -a
As an aside, I only load what I have to as module (basically the ATI requirements) - the rest, especially network, are compiled in.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nixnut
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 09 Apr 2004
Posts: 10974
Location: the dutch mountains

PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2005 7:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Installing Gentoo to Kernel & Hardware.
Kernel problem, so moved here.
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered

talk is cheap. supply exceeds demand
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gauntalus
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Dec 2004
Posts: 125
Location: University of Michigan

PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2005 11:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sneakymcgrew wrote:
Did you possibly forget to make modules_install?

Nope, I did remember to do that.
syg00 wrote:
gentoo_dude wrote:
Also make sure you modify /usr/src/linux to point to the new kernel.
Mmmm - I'd be looking closely at this. Also see if /lib/modules/ has a directory for your new kernel level. The following should show;
Code:
ls -l /usr/src/linux
ls /lib/modules
uname -a
As an aside, I only load what I have to as module (basically the ATI requirements) - the rest, especially network, are compiled in.

I checked my /lib/modules/<kernel>/ directory, and there were modules in there. Here are the exact results of the above commands:
Code:
azrael ~ # ls -l /usr/src/linux
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root 22 Dec 25 18:24 /usr/src/linux -> linux-2.6.14-gentoo-r5


azrael ~ # ls -l /lib/modules/2.6.14-gentoo-r5
total 132
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root    31 Dec 23 01:01 build -> /usr/src/linux-2.6.14-gentoo-r5
drwxr-xr-x  7 root root   168 Dec 25 15:44 kernel
-rw-r--r--  1 root root 29172 Dec 25 10:48 modules.alias
-rw-r--r--  1 root root    69 Dec 25 10:48 modules.ccwmap
-rw-r--r--  1 root root 10386 Dec 25 10:48 modules.dep
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   517 Dec 25 10:48 modules.ieee1394map
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   132 Dec 25 10:48 modules.inputmap
-rw-r--r--  1 root root   235 Dec 25 10:48 modules.isapnpmap
-rw-r--r--  1 root root 33587 Dec 25 10:48 modules.pcimap
-rw-r--r--  1 root root  9663 Dec 25 10:48 modules.symbols
-rw-r--r--  1 root root 24262 Dec 25 10:48 modules.usbmap
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root    31 Dec 25 15:44 source -> /usr/src/linux-2.6.14-gentoo-r5


azrael ~ # uname -a
Linux azrael 2.6.14-gentoo-r5 #1 PREEMPT Sun Dec 25 15:43:34 EST 2005 i686 Mobile Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4     CPU 3.06GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux

Also, I compiled in about everything that I knew I needed, and included modules for those that I wasn't sure about. Any more ideas? I actually just noticed the "PREEMPT" part of the uname response, could this be causing some of my problems? I don't know what it means...

Also, lsmod is giving some output now for no good reason:
Code:
azrael ~ # lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
ohci_hcd               19716  0
b44                    20612  0
ehci_hcd               30088  0
uhci_hcd               31376  0
usbcore               111232  4 ohci_hcd,ehci_hcd,uhci_hcd

_________________
Mike Cook Online
-- Brutal Chess
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
syg00
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 907
Location: Brisbane, AUS

PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2005 1:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mmmm - have you tried to reboot ???.
If you're not game to try, how about trying to restart eth0 now that you can see the (presumably) Broadcom module.
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.eth0 restart

Don't worry about the PREEMPT setting - it's recommended for desktop/laptop (i.e. non-server boxes).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gauntalus
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Dec 2004
Posts: 125
Location: University of Michigan

PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2005 3:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

syg00 wrote:
Mmmm - have you tried to reboot ???.
If you're not game to try, how about trying to restart eth0 now that you can see the (presumably) Broadcom module.
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.eth0 restart

Don't worry about the PREEMPT setting - it's recommended for desktop/laptop (i.e. non-server boxes).

Hey, I was able to bring up eth0 this time, I'm doing an emerge sync right now. I am still unable to get into xorg however, I tried running xorgconfig but it gave me the same issue described above.

What do you propose?
_________________
Mike Cook Online
-- Brutal Chess
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
syg00
l33t
l33t


Joined: 23 Aug 2004
Posts: 907
Location: Brisbane, AUS

PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2005 6:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Turn it off leave it (overnight) to cool down.

See what problems remain.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gauntalus
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Dec 2004
Posts: 125
Location: University of Michigan

PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2005 7:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

syg00 wrote:
Turn it off leave it (overnight) to cool down.

See what problems remain.

I don't think its overheated, the computer isn't even warm to the touch, unless you were referring to my mind being fried lol.
_________________
Mike Cook Online
-- Brutal Chess
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gauntalus
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Dec 2004
Posts: 125
Location: University of Michigan

PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I left it turned off for about 12 hours and tried it again, but I am still having the same problems.
_________________
Mike Cook Online
-- Brutal Chess
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RuiP
l33t
l33t


Joined: 15 Jan 2005
Posts: 643

PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi,
seems to me that either you forgot compile modules for your mouse(from your first post) or you forget to emerge drivers for your graphical card (nvidia-kernel or what ever you use).

What the output of
Code:
cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | grep EE


can you boot from your old kernel (you didn't delete it didn't you?)?

why not try to redo the kernel, coping the config file of your old kernel to your /usr/src/linux?...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gauntalus
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Dec 2004
Posts: 125
Location: University of Michigan

PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2005 11:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey,

I did have my display drivers compiled in:
Code:
<*> ATI Radeon display support
[*]   DDC/I2C for ATI Radeon support
[*]   Lots of debug output from Radeon driver

I got the output you asked for, its here:
Code:
azrael gauntalus # cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | grep EE
Current Operating System: Linux azrael 2.6.14-gentoo-r5 #1 PREEMPT Sun Dec 25 15:43:34 EST 2005 i686
        (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(II) Loading extension MIT-SCREEN-SAVER
(EE) xf86OpenSerial: Cannot open device /dev/mouse
(EE) Mouse1: cannot open input device
(EE) PreInit failed for input device "Mouse1"

I am still able to boot from the old kernel (I'm using it right now), and I'll try copying the config file from the old kernel directly. From the output above, do you know what might be causing those problems?
_________________
Mike Cook Online
-- Brutal Chess
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RuiP
l33t
l33t


Joined: 15 Jan 2005
Posts: 643

PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2005 11:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi,
lines marqued (EE) on your xorg log are errors (errors usually make xorg fails or abort to load)
it seems that your new kernel couldn't load mouse drivers.

So, or you forget to included the correct driver or xorg configuration is different from the one you use.
(you are trying to upgrade from 2.6.10-r6 to 2.6.14-r5, right... i don't know if changes to mouse config happen from one to the other...)
The first one is simple.
Diff (or use kompare, meld or some of the kind) and check differences on .config files of both kernels.
Its on Device Drivers->Input Device support.
Or you can simple do a
Code:
cat /usr/src/linux-2.6.10-gentoo-r6/.config | grep INPUT

and compare with
Code:
cat /usr/src/linux-2.6.14-gentoo-r5/.config | grep INPUT

The second, is to reboot to the new kernel and ls /dev/ for mouse.
If is not there, check /dev/input/mouse (or mouse0)... if that exist just change your /etc/X11/xorg.conf to that pass and restart X... probabilly it will work.

If anything fails, maybe then a try to a new kernel rebuild with a copy of the good .config after a
Code:
make mrproper

good luck... keep posting on failure or success
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gauntalus
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Dec 2004
Posts: 125
Location: University of Michigan

PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2005 12:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey, I changed occurrences of "/dev/mouse" to "/dev/input/mouse0" in my xorg.conf and gnome is now able to start. I'm in the process of reinstalling ndiswrapper now to see if I can get my wireless to work under the new kernel.

Another issue, my touchpad is working fine, but my external mouse is not.
_________________
Mike Cook Online
-- Brutal Chess
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RuiP
l33t
l33t


Joined: 15 Jan 2005
Posts: 643

PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2005 12:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

gauntalus wrote:
Hey, I changed occurrences of "/dev/mouse" to "/dev/input/mouse0" in my xorg.conf and gnome is now able to start. I'm in the process of reinstalling ndiswrapper now to see if I can get my wireless to work under the new kernel.

Another issue, my touchpad is working fine, but my external mouse is not.


hello, so your xorg is working. Good! But problem with mouses persists.
That seems indicate that you forgot something on your kernel configuration.
Could you post the output of the .config files with the grep INPUT filter?

Anyway, is strange that an upgrade of kernel gives so many problems... usually is a boring smooth process.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gauntalus
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Dec 2004
Posts: 125
Location: University of Michigan

PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2005 12:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey, here's the output of the diff, thanks so much for the help by the way, i love the gentoo community.
Code:
azrael gauntalus # cat /usr/src/linux-2.6.10-gentoo-r6/.config | grep INPUT > input2610.txt
azrael gauntalus # cat /usr/src/linux-2.6.14-gentoo-r5/.config | grep INPUT > input2614.txt
azrael gauntalus # diff input2610.txt input2614.txt
6c6
< # CONFIG_INPUT_JOYDEV is not set
---
> CONFIG_INPUT_JOYDEV=y
12c12
< # CONFIG_INPUT_JOYSTICK is not set
---
> CONFIG_INPUT_JOYSTICK=y

_________________
Mike Cook Online
-- Brutal Chess
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gauntalus
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Dec 2004
Posts: 125
Location: University of Michigan

PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2005 1:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just realised I'm getting this on boot:
Code:
 * Failed to mount USB device filesystem

That's obviously the problem, now I just gotta figure out how to fix that, if anyone knows it off the top of their head please let me know.
_________________
Mike Cook Online
-- Brutal Chess
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RuiP
l33t
l33t


Joined: 15 Jan 2005
Posts: 643

PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2005 1:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry gauntalus but it seems that the only diference then was to joystick stuff that should have nothing to do with the problem.

Your saying that your mouse (is a plain usb or ps2 mouse or anything more sofisticated?) work with 2.6.10 and not with 2.6.14? or i missunderstood it? if that was the case then is not a configuration problem, but something related to the kernel. ls /dev/mouse exist when you start with the old kernel?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RuiP
l33t
l33t


Joined: 15 Jan 2005
Posts: 643

PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2005 1:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OOps you fired first.
So usb was the guilty one...
You should diff then the usb section.

You are on the good way :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gauntalus
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 23 Dec 2004
Posts: 125
Location: University of Michigan

PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2005 2:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

fixed it

First I fixed my USB stuff, but that didn't actually fix my mouse, in xorg.conf I needed to change "/dev/input/mouse0" to "/dev/input/mice", then it worked on restart.

Thanks everyone for the help! This rebuild has been a bit of a battle, I probably would've given up entirely without your help!

SOLVED... w00t
_________________
Mike Cook Online
-- Brutal Chess
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum