View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
caminoix n00b
Joined: 29 Dec 2005 Posts: 7 Location: cracow, poland
|
Posted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 3:07 pm Post subject: [SOLVED] eth0 does not exist |
|
|
hello
i'm sorry for coming back to this but i've tried reading the faq and searching the forum and none of advises i've found there seems to work for me.
so, as most people, i've just installed gentoo and everything's great except for that it can't see the eth0 interface.
- lsmod in livecd didn't return anything that looked like network.
- while compiling the kernel (manually) i've already had the ethernet options marked. anyway, i have a marvell card and did a search for marvell which returned one result. i've marked that, too, as a module. however, after a reboot lsmod shows nothing.
- ifconfig -a apart from lo shows something like this: Code: |
sit0 Link encap:IPv6-in-IPv4
NOARP NTV:1480 Metric:1
(...) |
- dmesg | grep eth0 shows: Code: |
forcedeth.c: Reverse Engineered nForce ethernet driver. Version 0.41 |
- dmesg | grep 3c59x shows nothing
- /etc/init.d/net.eth0 (re)start shows (and this is also shows at boot-time): Code: |
* Starting eth0 [ok]
* bringing up eth0 [ok]
* dhcp [ok]
* eth0 does not exist [!!] |
perhaps it can help you if i show you these settings on my working linux box (linnexos, based on pclos):
- lsmod: Code: |
Module Size Used by
autofs4 16484 0
snd_seq_oss 32384 0
snd_seq_midi_event 6112 1 snd_seq_oss
snd_seq 49744 4 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_pcm_oss 48960 0
snd_mixer_oss 17376 1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_via82xx 23040 0
snd_ac97_codec 74648 1 snd_via82xx
snd_pcm 84004 3 snd_pcm_oss,snd_via82xx,snd_ac97_codec
snd_timer 21668 2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
snd_page_alloc 7492 2 snd_via82xx,snd_pcm
gameport 3456 1 snd_via82xx
snd_mpu401_uart 6176 1 snd_via82xx
snd_rawmidi 20160 1 snd_mpu401_uart
snd_seq_device 6860 3 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_rawmidi
snd 47652 11 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_via82xx,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm,snd_timer,snd_mpu401_uart,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_device
soundcore 7392 1 snd
ppdev 7620 0
parport_pc 25220 1
lp 9672 0
parport 33064 3 ppdev,parport_pc,lp
sk98lin 170696 1
af_packet 17096 2
button 4816 0
thermal 10792 0
processor 15692 1 thermal
fan 3044 0
ac 3268 0
battery 8132 0
ide_cd 39044 0
loop 12712 0
reiserfs 269332 1
nls_cp850 4480 2
vfat 11488 2
fat 38048 1 vfat
nls_iso8859_1 3680 3
ntfs 214104 1
amd64_agp 9096 1
nvidia_agp 5788 0
agpgart 28712 2 amd64_agp,nvidia_agp
evdev 7552 0
bttv 148432 0
video_buf 17412 1 bttv
firmware_class 7584 1 bttv
i2c_algo_bit 8776 1 bttv
v4l2_common 4608 1 bttv
btcx_risc 3784 1 bttv
i2c_core 18288 2 bttv,i2c_algo_bit
videodev 7360 1 bttv
dm_mod 54172 0
usblp 10848 0
uhci_hcd 30768 0
ehci_hcd 28356 0
ohci_hcd 20200 0
usbcore 110232 5 usblp,uhci_hcd,ehci_hcd,ohci_hcd
rtc 10456 0
sata_vsc 4900 0
sata_via 4580 6
sata_svw 4740 0
sata_sil 5348 0
sata_promise 7236 0
sata_nv 5668 0
BusLogic 79252 0
aic7xxx 205580 0
aha152x 37584 0
a100u2w 9792 0
sg 35328 0
sr_mod 15428 0
cdrom 38784 2 ide_cd,sr_mod
ata_piix 6852 0
sd_mod 15536 8
libata 40676 7 sata_vsc,sata_via,sata_svw,sata_sil,sata_promise,sata_nv,ata_piix
scsi_mod 115456 9 sata_promise,BusLogic,aic7xxx,aha152x,a100u2w,sg,sr_mod,sd_mod,libata
ext3 126952 1
jbd 55224 1 ext3 |
- dmesg | grep eth0: Code: |
eth0: Yukon Gigabit Ethernet 10/100/1000Base-T Adapter
eth0: network connection up using port A |
could you help me, please?
Last edited by caminoix on Mon Jan 02, 2006 11:51 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ewtrowbr Apprentice
Joined: 08 May 2004 Posts: 153 Location: Columbus, OH
|
Posted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 4:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It seems that the SKGE driver is the one to use for marvell chips with gentoo. Configure you kernel with the setting
DeviceDrivers->NetworkDeviceSupport->Ethernet(1000Mbit)->NewSysconGigaEthernetSupport
set this to either on or module. If you choose module, be sure to add skge to your /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 file
If that deosn't work, boot up withthe livecd and do a lspci, and let us know what card model is shown...
erich |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54633 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 5:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
caminoix,
This comes up fairly regularly, so I'll write a networking debug guide.
NeddySeagoons' Rough guide to Fixing Networking
Boot normally and run if eth0 is not listed at all, your kernel module is not loaded.
Proceed as follows:-
Boot the liveCD and check that networking works. Now run write down the module names that are listed.
One of them is your ethernet module.
Boot normally and run cross off the list any modules that appear. You don't have an eth0 so nome of these modules provided it. For every module not crossed off the list do Code: | modprobe <module_name>
ifconfig -a | When eth0 appears, you have discovered your module.
Add the module to the list to be loaded at boot with Code: | nano -w /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 | put the name you used in modprobe on a line on its own at the end of the file, save and exit.
Bring up networking with the command Code: | /etc/init.d/net.eth0 restart | if it works you are done, it will work after a reboot.
Genkernel users will probably be OK, since almost every module known to Linus is made. If you made your kernel manually, you may have left the module out, in which case some of the modprobe attempts will result in error messages and you will need to make a module for your kernel. You will know this if you get to the end of your list and eth0 has not appeared.
if eth0 exists and has a HWAddr consisting of lots of zeros Your eth0 is Ethernet over firewire. you may also have an eth1, which is your real ethernet or eth1 may be missing, in which case, you need to follow the steps for if eth0 is not listed at all, above but look for the appearance of eth1.
Next delete the eth1394 module from the kernel modules tree. In future, when you build kernels, ensure that Ethernet over firewire is not selected in make menuconfig - no need to do that just now.
run the command Code: | modprobe -l | grep eth1394 | to find the file eth1394.ko and remove it with Code: | rm /path/to/eth1394.ko |
Reboot. Your real Ethernet will be eth0 and if your /etc/conf.d/net is correct, eth0 will get an IP. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
caminoix n00b
Joined: 29 Dec 2005 Posts: 7 Location: cracow, poland
|
Posted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 9:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ewtrowbr:
thank you very much for a fast answer it worked
NeddySeagoon:
i know i'm not the first one with this problem. i've read the posts concerning it and the faq but somehow didn't manage to make the answers work for me.
i've actually did an lsmod in livecd and then tried to know something more about the modules with modinfo but still couldn't find out it was skge. anyway, even if i had found out that was it, i wouldn't know how to find it in the kernel menu, and lsmod in the installed gentoo showed nothing... so ewtrowbr's answer helped me a lot
but naturally your guide is certainly much more general and can help lots of people, not just me it's a very nice piece of help and i think it could be very helpful if it was extracted from this thread and sticked somewhere. thank you
oh, if it was to really get sticked, i think it would be great if you were so kind as to add some information on how to find the right module in the kernel menu.
all:
thank you both very much for your fast and acurate help
ps. i hope this post looks ok; it's my first time in lynx |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54633 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 9:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
caminoix,
Thank you for your comments. See this other guide, for DIY kernels. Its difficult to know how much to put in one place.
Maybe these Rough guides will get smoothed off a little and added to the handbook as a trouble shooting section. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
UberLord Retired Dev
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
caminoix n00b
Joined: 29 Dec 2005 Posts: 7 Location: cracow, poland
|
Posted: Mon Jan 02, 2006 11:56 am Post subject: |
|
|
NeddySeagoon wrote: | See this other guide, for DIY kernels. Its difficult to know how much to put in one place. |
it's very nice, too
i know it's a very hard thing to guess what a newbie will not know... i've recently tried to teach my wife programming
but if i could have one more question: when i do lsmod in gentoo livecd, it lists a number of loaded modules by their short names. how can i know, when compiling a kernel, which entries are for which short names?
i mean, i have say via82xx, now how can i find it in the menuconfig (simply pressing "/" for search and typing "via82xx" returns no results)?
i've tried googling and searching the forum for it but without much success. i don't really even know how to formulate the query... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54633 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Mon Jan 02, 2006 1:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
caminoix,
Its not showing newbies how to do something right thats hard, its picking up the pieces when they have done something wrong.
They often don't know the question to ask or the information to offer. Most of all, they are always finding new ways of getting it wrong.
I hope the guides were useful. I intend to write them up as UberLord suggested.
Going from module file names back to make menuconfig is quite difficult. I can tell you that your example is the Via ALSA PCI sound chip driver because I 'know'. Probably from too much time spend doing these things.
When you are really stuck a command like Code: | /usr/src/linux $ grep -R via82xx ./ | in the kernel tree will pick it out of the help, source code, etc. so you get a good idea of were to look. These lines from the output Code: | ./Documentation/sound/alsa/ALSA-Configuration.txt: Module snd-via82xx
./Documentation/sound/alsa/ALSA-Configuration.txt: Module snd-via82xx-modem
./sound/pci/Kconfig: will be called snd-via82xx.
./sound/pci/Kconfig: will be called snd-via82xx-modem.
| are a strong hint. You can add some context to each line out output by asking grep for some lines before and afer the hits. I'll leave you to readto see how to do that. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
rimian n00b
Joined: 31 Dec 2005 Posts: 42 Location: Australia
|
Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 3:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
this information looks to be very useful. but i am stuck with which modules to load as my lsmod return nothing [no modules loaded] and i can't work out in menuconfig which option is the right one for my network card. where can i find information on each option in menuconfig? some of them are too cryptic for my n00b skills [though i am picking it up at a good pace]
i tried modprobe on the cd but that doesn't seem to work.
the installation instruction were great except:
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?part=1&chap=7#kernel_modules
"If you require it, don't forget to include support in the kernel for your ethernet card."
any help is much appreciated. thanks for the help so far. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
rimian n00b
Joined: 31 Dec 2005 Posts: 42 Location: Australia
|
Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 9:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
i did it the other way.
boot from the cd and modprobe -r <module name> until the eth0 stopped working and i found it! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
shareaweb n00b
Joined: 01 Mar 2006 Posts: 2 Location: Philippines
|
Posted: Wed Mar 01, 2006 4:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
NeddySeagoon's guide NEEDS TO BE PLACE IN THE GENTOO MANUAL so a million forum posts can dissipate..
how about a section in networking part 3 where it says.. "Troubleshooting eth0 after install reboot"...
Im not new to Linux, but Im dang new to Gentoo and my memory was jarred a bit, so Neddy, AAAA+++
Thanks.
BTW I used genkern and it was missing tulip.. a needed driver for my Microsoft VPC 2004 image networking support.
_________________ Practice Sesquipedilianism! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Brayshakes Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 27 Apr 2006 Posts: 129
|
Posted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 3:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
thank you. Helped a lot. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Aurisor Guru
Joined: 20 Sep 2003 Posts: 361 Location: Boston MA
|
Posted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 4:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
rimian wrote: | i did it the other way.
boot from the cd and modprobe -r <module name> until the eth0 stopped working and i found it! |
You know that's a really bad idea, right? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
soldstatic Guru
Joined: 02 Jun 2006 Posts: 305
|
Posted: Sat Apr 28, 2007 3:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
For kicks and giggles, could somebody post the output of that lsmod from the livecd? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
soldstatic Guru
Joined: 02 Jun 2006 Posts: 305
|
Posted: Sat Apr 28, 2007 3:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hell, i'll do it!
Quote: |
Module Size Used by
floppy 40644 0
mptspi 7948 0
mptscsih 12288 1 mptspi
mptbase 33760 2 mptspi,mptscsih
scsi_transport_spi 12544 1 mptspi
pcnet32 18564 0
mii 3584 1 pcnet32
rtc 6836 0
nfs 70412 0
lockd 36616 1 nfs
sunrpc 90172 2 nfs,lockd
jfs 134764 0
dm_mirror 11856 0
dm_mod 29720 1 dm_mirror
pdc_adma 4484 0
sata_mv 10760 0
ata_piix 5892 0
ahci 8452 0
sata_qstor 4612 0
sata_vsc 3588 0
sata_uli 2820 0
sata_sis 3460 0
sata_sx4 7940 0
sata_nv 4100 0
sata_via 3844 0
sata_svw 3588 0
sata_sil24 6148 0
sata_sil 4488 0
sata_promise 5764 0
libata 36492 15 pdc_adma,sata_mv,ata_piix,ahci,sata_qstor,sata_vsc,sata_uli,sata_sis,sata_sx4,sata_nv,sata_via,sata_svw,sata_sil24,sata_sil,sata_promise
sbp2 13960 0
ohci1394 22576 0
ieee1394 50488 2 sbp2,ohci1394
sl811_hcd 7936 0
ohci_hcd 12932 0
uhci_hcd 14216 0
usb_storage 52416 0
usbhid 28256 0
ehci_hcd 19080 0
usbcore 70400 7 sl811_hcd,ohci_hcd,uhci_hcd,usb_storage,usbhid,ehci_hcd
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
soldstatic Guru
Joined: 02 Jun 2006 Posts: 305
|
Posted: Sat Apr 28, 2007 3:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Usually I can kind of tell what something does, but the module names are a bit more cryptic or somethin. Anyone have an idea of which modules are at least network related/ I doubt the usb module not being probed is causing me to not get internet... lol I'd just rather not go through the entire list! (but i will anyway...) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
CKirocZ n00b
Joined: 23 Jan 2006 Posts: 26 Location: Alabama
|
Posted: Sat Sep 15, 2007 8:03 pm Post subject: eth0 does not exist |
|
|
I have found that even with a properly configured /etc/conf.d/net, /etc/dhcp/dhclient.conf, etc., sometimes networking just stops networking!!
Maybe it is because of an update or changes in file permissions(executable or not?) or just an actual network problem (GREMLINS?!?!?!?); whatever it is, once it happens, it usually happens over and over again no matter what you do.
My solution was to use static DNS servers (OpenDNS= 208.67.220.220, 208.67.222.222) because that is what I always lose- DNS resolution. If you choose to do this you can set your /etc/resolv.conf file to be "immutable" AFTER you get connectivity. The resolv.conf file stores the IP addresses of your DNS servers along with your hostname and who knows what else. Get your network up and running then check /etc/resolv.conf for any entries that can be made static.
Find the appropriate config files and edit them, restart your network, check connectivity, check /etc/resolv.conf once again to make sure your static settings are in use, and IF they are do:
Code: | chattr -v +i /etc/resolv.conf |
The -v is for verbose and the +i makes the file "immutable", it can't be changed or deleted by anyone or anything until you do:
Code: | chattr -v -i /etc/resolv.conf |
The -i is "minus i" to remove the immutable bit, then you can change your settings and reset it by using +i (plus i).
You will see an error scroll by when booting, but if all your settings are correct you can ignore it!!
I hope this was clear enough for everyone!
Good luck. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Littlenux n00b
Joined: 07 Mar 2011 Posts: 27
|
Posted: Mon Mar 07, 2011 11:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
rimian wrote: | this information looks to be very useful. but i am stuck with which modules to load as my lsmod return nothing [no modules loaded] |
Unless I'm wrong, this is because modules are compiled with the kernel in your linux system.
The solution is to change, in VirtualBox preferences, the emulated network card so it match the lan driver already compiled in the kernel. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|