View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
JeffW_ Retired Dev
Joined: 19 Sep 2004 Posts: 80 Location: Fremont CA, USA
|
Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2006 6:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Code: | CC arch/i386/kernel/reboot.o
arch/i386/kernel/reboot.c: In function `machine_shutdown':
arch/i386/kernel/reboot.c:286: warning: implicit declaration of function `wait_for_flush'
arch/i386/kernel/reboot.c: At top level:
arch/i386/kernel/reboot.c:353: warning: type mismatch with previous implicit declaration
arch/i386/kernel/reboot.c:286: warning: previous implicit declaration of `wait_for_flush'
arch/i386/kernel/reboot.c:353: warning: `wait_for_flush' was previously implicitly declared to return `int' |
Yes, I need to fix this, but my compile didn't drop dead here, it kept going. Mind posting an `emerge --info`? _________________ JeffWalter |
|
Back to top |
|
|
BulletSponge n00b
Joined: 30 Sep 2003 Posts: 26 Location: Calgary, Canada
|
Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2006 6:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i didn't even think about that. the stage used was jackass one, and some of the compile flags might be too agressive.
Code: |
Portage 2.0.54 (default-linux/x86/2006.0, gcc-3.4.5, glibc-2.3.6-r2, 2.6.12-gentoo-r6 i686)
=================================================================
System uname: 2.6.12-gentoo-r6 i686 AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3500+
Gentoo Base System version 1.6.14
Jackass! Optimized Toolkit 2006.0-beta
Jackass! Optimized Toolkit 2006.0-beta
dev-lang/python: 2.4.2
sys-apps/sandbox: 1.2.12
sys-devel/autoconf: 2.13, 2.59-r6
sys-devel/automake: 1.4_p6, 1.5, 1.6.3, 1.7.9-r1, 1.8.5-r3, 1.9.6-r1
sys-devel/binutils: 2.16.1
sys-devel/libtool: 1.5.22
virtual/os-headers: 2.6.11-r2
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="x86"
AUTOCLEAN="yes"
CBUILD="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-march=i686 -mtune=i686 -pipe -O3 -fweb -frename-registers -fforce-addr -fomit-frame-pointer -ftracer"
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /usr/kde/2/share/config /usr/kde/3/share/config /usr/share/config /var/qmail/control"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/gconf /etc/terminfo /etc/env.d"
CXXFLAGS="-march=i686 -mtune=i686 -pipe -O3 -fweb -frename-registers -fforce-addr -fomit-frame-pointer -ftracer -fvisibility-inlines-hidden"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
FEATURES="autoconfig distlocks sandbox sfperms strict userpriv usersandbox"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://gentoo.osuosl.org http://www.ibiblio.org/pub/Linux/distributions/gentoo"
LDFLAGS="-Wl,-O1 -Wl,--sort-common -s"
MAKEOPTS="-j2"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/local/portage"
SYNC="rsync://rsync.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
USE="x86 X alsa apache2 apm arts avi berkdb bitmap-fonts bzip2 crypt cups eds emboss encode esd expat foomaticdb fortran gdbm gif gnome gpm gstreamer gtk gtk2 imlib ipv6 jpeg kde libg++ libwww mad mikmod motif mp3 mpeg ncurses nls nptl nptlonly ogg opengl oss pam pcre pdflib perl png python qt quicktime readline sdl spell ssl tcpd truetype truetype-fonts type1-fonts udev vorbis xml xmms xv zlib userland_GNU kernel_linux elibc_glibc"
Unset: ASFLAGS, CTARGET, LANG, LC_ALL, LINGUAS
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
JeffW_ Retired Dev
Joined: 19 Sep 2004 Posts: 80 Location: Fremont CA, USA
|
Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2006 6:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
If anything those flags caught an omission that would have otherwise gone unfixed. I'm putting together a patch that has that fixed. _________________ JeffWalter |
|
Back to top |
|
|
BulletSponge n00b
Joined: 30 Sep 2003 Posts: 26 Location: Calgary, Canada
|
Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2006 6:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for your fast reply!
since the latest stable kernel is linux-2.6.15-gentoo-r1 is there any chance of just doing the patch for that version?
i tried applying it, and the only problems were in version.h and that same reboot.c compile error. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JeffW_ Retired Dev
Joined: 19 Sep 2004 Posts: 80 Location: Fremont CA, USA
|
Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2006 6:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yeah, I'll do one for that as well. _________________ JeffWalter |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JeffW_ Retired Dev
Joined: 19 Sep 2004 Posts: 80 Location: Fremont CA, USA
|
Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2006 8:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
New patch up at http://gentoo.404ster.com/projects.php?action=view&id=4. Shouldn't have any trouble with it. After you put the minimal config in the directory be sure to run `make menuconfig` and add any filesystem support you'd like, iptables, etc. Just mind the 1800k compressed limit _________________ JeffWalter |
|
Back to top |
|
|
BulletSponge n00b
Joined: 30 Sep 2003 Posts: 26 Location: Calgary, Canada
|
Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2006 8:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
That was fast! Thanks again for the quick work.
i just built the kernel. works like a charm! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JeffW_ Retired Dev
Joined: 19 Sep 2004 Posts: 80 Location: Fremont CA, USA
|
Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2006 9:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Glad to hear. Drop by #Gentoo-Cobalt-Dev on FreeNode if you need something. _________________ JeffWalter |
|
Back to top |
|
|
alterself.com Apprentice
Joined: 13 Nov 2003 Posts: 175 Location: Iowa
|
Posted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 9:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hey guys, i have recently come upon a RaQ 3i. The OS appears to be non-booting.
I have since pulled the drive and examined the contents. From looking at the drive I dont see any reason that it shouldnt boot...
to make a long story short, does anyone know how to repair (need to find issue first...) an existing RaQ install? (i BELIEVE its the stock OS, but have no clue...where to look?)
I have *many* other gentoo linux boxes, and would love to get this guy running it.
also, what is the biggest cpu anyone has tossed in one of these RaQ (3i's)?
thanks all in advance
-drew _________________ Gentoo ROCKS! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JeffW_ Retired Dev
Joined: 19 Sep 2004 Posts: 80 Location: Fremont CA, USA
|
Posted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 10:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The CPU in the 3i cannot, as far as I'm aware, be upgraded. Repairing an existing Cobalt install... Well, that depends on exactly where it's breaking down. Have you put a serial console on it? If so, would it be possible for you to post what you get from first line to last breath? _________________ JeffWalter |
|
Back to top |
|
|
alterself.com Apprentice
Joined: 13 Nov 2003 Posts: 175 Location: Iowa
|
Posted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 11:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
what sort of serial cable do i need? I have a few (different pinouts) and will try them. I will be using my xp/gentoo dual booted laptop (under xp) for serial support as I have never setup serial support or serial apps on linux before. (eventually I would love to, just dont have the time right now... :S)
thanks! _________________ Gentoo ROCKS! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JeffW_ Retired Dev
Joined: 19 Sep 2004 Posts: 80 Location: Fremont CA, USA
|
Posted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 12:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
For serial connections to a RaQ you need a normal "null modem" serial cable. As far as Linux applications go... Minicom. But I usually use a FreeBSD machine and a program called "tip". _________________ JeffWalter |
|
Back to top |
|
|
alterself.com Apprentice
Joined: 13 Nov 2003 Posts: 175 Location: Iowa
|
Posted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 12:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
ok. i will see if i can find one and test that after 24 is on tonight...
thanks for the help, i will post my results of what is happeneing to it as soon as i know.
-drew _________________ Gentoo ROCKS! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JeffW_ Retired Dev
Joined: 19 Sep 2004 Posts: 80 Location: Fremont CA, USA
|
Posted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 1:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
Two episodes tonight _________________ JeffWalter |
|
Back to top |
|
|
alterself.com Apprentice
Joined: 13 Nov 2003 Posts: 175 Location: Iowa
|
Posted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 1:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
heck yea..almost forgot!
btw...what are the settings that i need for the serial port?? (im sure they are in a howto...so i will search as well) _________________ Gentoo ROCKS! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JeffW_ Retired Dev
Joined: 19 Sep 2004 Posts: 80 Location: Fremont CA, USA
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
alterself.com Apprentice
Joined: 13 Nov 2003 Posts: 175 Location: Iowa
|
Posted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 1:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
Code: | Cobalt Networks, Inc. - Connecting the Dots
Firmware version 2.3.28
Current date: Sun Mar 06 19:12:52 UTC 2006
ROM build info: Tue Jul 18 10:22:46 PDT 2000 laserbeak.cobalt.com
System serial number: 3C05CM0427571
Memory found: 256 MB
Initializing I2C bus: done
Scanning PCI bus: done
Initializing IDE: done
IDE 0 master: found
Initializing SCSI: done
Initializing ethernet: 2 ethernet controllers installed - done
Initializing flash: done
Flash Bank 0: AMD AM29F080B 1MB
Flash Bank 1: not installed.
Mounting rom_fs: done
Initializing i18n - language "en": done
Press spacebar to enter ROM mode
Booting default method - From disk
First stage kernel: Decompressing - done |
rinse, wash, repeat... think it can be fixed? or is it ready for me to kill the parts and continue on the HOW-TO?
btw..i added a 128MB stick of ram, and stuck a AMD 550MHz CPU in it...
(commercial break ) _________________ Gentoo ROCKS! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
alterself.com Apprentice
Joined: 13 Nov 2003 Posts: 175 Location: Iowa
|
Posted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 2:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
Code: | Main Menu
------------------------------------------------------------
boot Loading and booting
eeprom EEPROM manipulation
lowlevel Lowlevel hardware access
test Tests and validation
bfd Load kernel image from disk and boot
bfr Load kernel image from romfs and boot
bfn Boot from net
reboot Reboot the system now
quit Quit and boot default method
Cobalt:Main Menu> bfr
First stage kernel: Decompressing - done
Linux version 2.2.16C2 (konkers@laserbeak.cobalt.com) (gcc version egcs-2.91.66 19990314/Linux (egcs-1.1.2 release)) #59 (ROM kernel) Tue Jul 18 10:09:29 PDT 2000
Detected 298812 kHz processor.
Pending 0x00
Calibrating delay loop... 596.38 BogoMIPS
Memory: 257648k/262144k available (1168k kernel code, 416k reserved, 2840k data, 72k init)
Dentry hash table entries: 32768 (order 6, 256k)
Buffer cache hash table entries: 262144 (order 8, 1024k)
Page cache hash table entries: 65536 (order 6, 256k)
VFS: Diskquotas version dquot_6.4.0 initialized
CPU: L1 I Cache: 32K L1 D Cache: 32K
Enabling new style K6 write allocation for 256 Mb
CPU: AMD AMD-K6(tm) 3D processor stepping 0c
Checking 386/387 coupling... OK, FPU using exception 16 error reporting.
Checking 'hlt' instruction... OK.
POSIX conformance testing by UNIFIX
mtrr: v1.35a (19990819) Richard Gooch (rgooch@atnf.csiro.au)
PCI: Using configuration type 1
PCI: Probing PCI hardware
Linux NET4.0 for Linux 2.2
Based upon Swansea University Computer Society NET3.039
NET4: Unix domain sockets 1.0 for Linux NET4.0.
NET4: Linux TCP/IP 1.0 for NET4.0
IP Protocols: ICMP, UDP, TCP, IGMP
TCP: Hash tables configured (ehash 262144 bhash 65536)
IPv4 over IPv4 tunneling driver
early initialization of device tunl0 is deferred
GRE over IPv4 tunneling driver
early initialization of device gre0 is deferred
NET4: AppleTalk 0.18 for Linux NET4.0
Initializing RT netlink socket
Starting kswapd v 1.5
Cobalt temperature sensor v1.2 enabled
Serial driver version 4.27 with no serial options enabled
keyboard: Timeout - AT keyboard not present?
keyboard: Timeout - AT keyboard not present?
ttyS00 at 0x03f8 (irq = 4) is a 16550A
ttyS01 at 0x02f8 (irq = 3) is a 16550A
pty: 256 Unix98 ptys configured
Real Time Clock Driver v1.09
lcd: Cobalt LCD Driver v3.01 by
lcd: Andrew Bose <andrew@cobaltnet.com>, Timothy Stonis <tim@cobaltnet.com>
serialnumber: Version 1.5 initialized. Serial number=270000074be08f01. Copyright (c) 1994-2000 Axent Technologies, Inc
RAM disk driver initialized: 16 RAM disks of 4096K size
loop: registered device at major 7
Uniform Multi-Platform E-IDE driver Revision: 6.30
ide: Assuming 33MHz system bus speed for PIO modes; override with idebus=xx
ALI15X3: IDE controller on PCI bus 00 dev 78
ALI15X3: 100% native mode on irq 14
ide0: BM-DMA at 0xf000-0xf007, BIOS settings: hda:DMA, hdb:DMA
ide1: BM-DMA at 0xf008-0xf00f, BIOS settings: hdc:DMA, hdd:DMA
hda: ST315323A, ATA DISK drive
ide0 at 0x1f0-0x1f7,0x3f6 on irq 14
hda: ST315323A, 14592MB w/512kB Cache, CHS=29649/16/63, UDMA(33)
md driver 0.90.0 MAX_MD_DEVS=256, MAX_REAL=12
translucent personality registered
linear personality registered
raid0 personality registered
raid1 personality registered
raid5 personality registered
raid5: measuring checksumming speed
raid5: MMX detected, trying high-speed MMX checksum routines
pII_mmx : 662.940 MB/sec
p5_mmx : 577.215 MB/sec
8regs : 320.802 MB/sec
32regs : 180.975 MB/sec
using fastest function: pII_mmx (662.940 MB/sec)
sym53c8xx: at PCI bus 0, device 14, function 0
sym53c8xx: 53c875 detected
sym53c875-0: rev=0x04, base=0xa0000000, io_port=0x6100, irq=12
sym53c875-0: NCR clock is 40218KHz, 40037KHz
sym53c875-0: ID 7, Fast-20, Parity Checking
sym53c875-0: on-chip RAM at 0xa0001000
sym53c875-0: restart (scsi reset).
sym53c875-0: Downloading SCSI SCRIPTS.
scsi0 : sym53c8xx - version 1.3g
scsi : 1 host.
scsi : detected total.
PPP: version 2.3.7 (demand dialling)
TCP compression code copyright 1989 Regents of the University of California
PPP line discipline registered.
eepro100.c:v1.09j-t 9/29/99 Donald Becker http://cesdis.gsfc.nasa.gov/linux/drivers/eepro100.html
eepro100.c: $Revision: 1.14 $ 2000/05/31 Modified by Andrey V. Savochkin <saw@saw.sw.com.sg> and others
eth0: Invalid EEPROM checksum 0xeaf2, check settings before activating this device!
eth0: Intel PCI EtherExpress Pro100 82559ER, 00:10:E0:02:12:D8, I/O at 0x6200, IRQ 11.
Board assembly 000000-000, Physical connectors present:
Primary interface chip None PHY #0.
General self-test: passed.
Serial sub-system self-test: passed.
Internal registers self-test: passed.
ROM checksum self-test: passed (0xdbd8681d).
Receiver lock-up workaround activated.
eth1: Invalid EEPROM checksum 0x93f0, check settings before activating this device!
eth1: Intel PCI EtherExpress Pro100 82559ER, 00:10:E0:02:10:81, I/O at 0x6240, IRQ 10.
Board assembly 000000-000, Physical connectors present:
Primary interface chip None PHY #0.
General self-test: passed.
Serial sub-system self-test: passed.
Internal registers self-test: passed.
ROM checksum self-test: passed (0xdbd8681d).
Receiver lock-up workaround activated.
eepro100.c:v1.09j-t 9/29/99 Donald Becker http://cesdis.gsfc.nasa.gov/linux/drivers/eepro100.html
eepro100.c: $Revision: 1.14 $ 2000/05/31 Modified by Andrey V. Savochkin <saw@saw.sw.com.sg> and others
md.c: sizeof(mdp_super_t) = 4096
Partition check:
hda: hda1 hda2 hda3 hda4
autodetecting RAID arrays
autorun ...
... autorun DONE.
Kernel panic: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on 03:02
disabling network interfaces.
Rebooting in 5 seconds..
Cobalt Networks, Inc. - Connecting the Dots
Firmware version 2.3.28
Current date: Sun Mar 06 19:37:30 UTC 2006
ROM build info: Tue Jul 18 10:22:46 PDT 2000 laserbeak.cobalt.com
System serial number: 3C05CM0427571
Memory found: 256 MB
Initializing I2C bus: done
Scanning PCI bus: done
Initializing IDE: done
IDE 0 master: found
Initializing SCSI: done
Initializing ethernet: 2 ethernet controllers installed - done
Initializing flash: done
Flash Bank 0: AMD AM29F080B 1MB
Flash Bank 1: not installed.
Mounting rom_fs: done
Initializing i18n - language "en": done
Press spacebar to enter ROM mode
Cobalt:Main Menu> |
there ya go! _________________ Gentoo ROCKS! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
symbiat n00b
Joined: 20 Aug 2003 Posts: 36 Location: New York
|
Posted: Tue Mar 21, 2006 1:42 am Post subject: Re: HOWTO or general install procedure? |
|
|
JeffW_ wrote: |
Currently the initial install still needs to be done on a seperate system by pulling the drive(s). I've been working on a netboot install LiveCD, but continue to have problems with the NFS mounts. Each time I try I learn something that doesn't work, so it's only a matter of time until it works.
|
Any progress on getting some kind of LiveCD working for the RAQ3/4 machines? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JeffW_ Retired Dev
Joined: 19 Sep 2004 Posts: 80 Location: Fremont CA, USA
|
Posted: Wed Mar 22, 2006 12:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I apologize for the slow reply. I haven't tried the current LiveCD with regard to whether or not the NFS system actually works. I'll give it a shot in the coming week. _________________ JeffWalter |
|
Back to top |
|
|
symbiat n00b
Joined: 20 Aug 2003 Posts: 36 Location: New York
|
Posted: Wed Mar 22, 2006 4:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Anybody tried hooking up a CDROM to a Cobalt ? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
JeffW_ Retired Dev
Joined: 19 Sep 2004 Posts: 80 Location: Fremont CA, USA
|
Posted: Wed Mar 22, 2006 4:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
symbiat wrote: | Anybody tried hooking up a CDROM to a Cobalt ? |
Yes, and no... it doesn't work. The ROM kernel has no notion to boot from a CD-ROM drive. Nice thought though _________________ JeffWalter |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mzeeuw n00b
Joined: 23 Feb 2005 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 2:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
@symbiat
I've installed a combined card with 2*FireWire and 3*USB 2.0 in the only available PCI-bus of my Cobalt Cube3. Anything hooked up to either USB or FW worked flawlessly. DVD/CD you name it. Can't recall if I've tried to hook up my old HP CD-writer to the SCSI interface though... Did not feel the need.
I'm unaware if a cube is capable of booting via either one of the interfaces. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Redhatter Retired Dev
Joined: 20 Sep 2003 Posts: 548 Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
|
Posted: Wed Mar 29, 2006 1:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
I'm pretty sure it won't be able to boot off the USB or FireWire interfaces... those require pretty complicated firmware. It's worth noting that much of this was brand new when the Qube3 was released.
As for a LiveCD: I'm considering putting together such a disc. Since the Cobalt hardware isn't capable of booting a CD (the Qube2 with a flashed BOOTROM can apparently read EXT3 off a CD, but it's not straightforward), the way I see it working, is you'd use a host x86 PC, hooked up to the primary interface of the Cobalt via a cross-over cable. You could then hook the secondary interface to your LAN to get network connectivity directly with the Cobalt. The LiveCD would have minicom, an NFS server, BOOTP, netboot images and stage tarballs.
The initial ones will be for the RaQ2/Qube2 only for now though... as I'm unaware of any netboot images for Qube3 ... but as soon as JeffW produces a couple, they could be included as well.
We'll see what happens... Right now though... Uni demands my attention. _________________ Stuart Longland (a.k.a Redhatter, VK4MSL)
I haven't lost my mind - it's backed up on a tape somewhere...
Gentoo/MIPS Cobalt developer, Mozilla herd member. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
raq-2.6 n00b
Joined: 03 May 2006 Posts: 10
|
Posted: Wed May 03, 2006 5:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi folks.
I am trying to get 2.6.16-12 to work on a RAQ4 (2.10.3-ext3 rom), and I am getting pretty far.
But so far, I am stuck at this (below). When booting, it seems to go fine, until this: Quote: | hda: cache flushes supportedER: mapping 22M-32M for ride
hda: hda1 hda2 hda3 hda4 < hda5 hda6 >
BOOTLOADER: disabling interrupts
sym0: <875> rev 0x4 at pci 0000:00:0e.0 irq 12ushing cache
hub 1-0:1.0: USB hub found
hub 1-0:1.0: 2 ports detected
Initializing USB Mass Storage driver...
usbcore: registered new driver usb-storage
USB Mass Storage support registered.
mice: PS/2 mouse device common for all mice
NET: Registered protocol family 2
IP route cache hash table entries: 32768 (order: 5, 131072 bytes)
TCP established hash table entries: 131072 (order: 7, 524288 bytes)
TCP bind hash table entries: 65536 (order: 6, 262144 bytes)
TCP: Hash tables configured (established 131072 bind 65536)
TCP reno registered
TCP bic registered
NET: Registered protocol family 1
NET: Registered protocol family 17
Using IPI Shortcut mode
XXX cobalt_init
TYPE : 2, 3, 2
EXT3-fs: mounted filesystem with ordered data mode.
VFS: Mounted root (ext3 filesystem) readonly.
Freeing unused kernel memory: 128k freed
kjournald starting. Commit interval 5 seconds
Warning: unable to open an initial console.
|
After the last warning, it just hangs.
Does anyone have any tips? I am getting pretty frustrated here
Thanks in advance!! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|