Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Solved] wireless without access point
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
stefan.ciobaca
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jan 2006
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 9:33 pm    Post subject: [Solved] wireless without access point Reply with quote

I have at home one desktop computer and one laptop. The desktop computer is connected
through a cablemodem to the internet. I want to connect wirelessly with my laptop to the
internet, without having to buy an access point or a wireless router.

Is there any way to connect the two using just two normal wireless cards? (I don't see any
physical impossibility)

If it is possible, could you please point me to some tipps on configuring this?

If it is not possible, please let me know as well.

Thanks in advance.


Last edited by stefan.ciobaca on Wed Mar 08, 2006 11:36 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
no_hope
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Jun 2003
Posts: 482

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 10:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's definitely possible to do what you want, though some details may depend on peculiarities of your set-up.

Details of how to make your desktop into an AP will depend on your wireless card and drivers. Normally your would do something like this (assuming ath0 is the name of your wireless interface):

On the desktop:
Code:

iwconfig ath0 essid name-you-want-your-wireless-network-to-have mode master
ifconfig ath0 up


On the laptop:
Code:

iwconfig ath0 essid name-you-want-your-wireless-network-to-have mode managed
ifconfig ath0 up


To make sure it worked, run "iwconfig ath0" on the laptop. If link quality is not 0, chances are everything is working (i.e. you have MAC-layer connectivity). If you assign IP addresses to your wireless interfaces they should be able to ping each other. You will have to edit /etc/conf.d/wireless to make your settings persistent

Now you'll need to set up your desktop as a router so that wireless traffic is routed to the cable modem. See Gentoo Home Router Guide: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/home-router-howto.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2006 10:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If the card/driver does not support master then you can run in ad-hoc mode
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stefan.ciobaca
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jan 2006
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 2:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok. I have the thing up and running but the strangest thing is happening.

There are some webpages that I can only access as root. I'm serious. For example
www.mozilla.org loads just fine in links when I'm root. When I run as a normal user,
the same address yields: Host not found. (gentoo.org seems to work ;-) )

The computer acting as router is running Fedora 3. I'm running Gentoo.

To set the whole thing up, I followed the docs in the
masquerading howto from tldp.org (which doesn't work either here)

Any ideas on this ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6835
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 2:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds like you cannot read resolv.conf as a normal user - check its permissions.
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Use dhcpcd-ui (GTK+/Qt) as your System Tray Network tool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stefan.ciobaca
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jan 2006
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2006 11:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. The problem wasn't actually that the rights were wrong. The problem was that
I didn't have the correct nameserver stuff (I had leftovers from another connection).

Anyway, I solved everything. Thank you all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum