View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
thor_n n00b
Joined: 30 Sep 2003 Posts: 40 Location: Slovakia
|
Posted: Wed Apr 05, 2006 6:35 am Post subject: kernel freeze - please help to troubleshoot |
|
|
My computer hangs almost everytime I run
Code: | ifconfig eth ... up |
I thought it was dhcpcd posted a week ago.
But it's not. kfiaciarka suggested to use static network configuration - so I did.
But after Code: | ifconfig eth0 ${IP_ADDR} broadcast ${BROADCAST} netmask ${NETMASK} up |
computer gets to limbo - almost always but not always - otherwise I wouldn't be able to post here.
I know this kernel 2.6.15-gentoo-r1 worked fine some time ago.
I have ethernet 1000Mbit card 3c940. I used to use skge driver for several months without problem. I tried deprecated sk98lin driver - that freezes computer less often.
Could it be there's something wrong with hardware eth card? Or dsl router?
Or is it kernel?
I've even reemerged entire freaking world - no change.
Anyone please to give me some advice?
What should I do, what should I try. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kfiaciarka Veteran
Joined: 20 May 2005 Posts: 1498 Location: Dobre Miasto, Poland
|
Posted: Wed Apr 05, 2006 10:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi:)
I did but you should know when to use static network. I don't know if you have dynamic IP. Maybe try dhcp just for testing. Emerge dhcpcd and also coldplug(add to rc-update boot level) , hotplug (to default level) and see if it will help you. Net.eth0 must also be added to rc-update default level.
BTW static network is set in /etc/conf.d/net . I will send you my config on PW:)
Edit: Just one more thing : for dhcp you need hotplug/colplug, for static there is no such need. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
thor_n n00b
Joined: 30 Sep 2003 Posts: 40 Location: Slovakia
|
Posted: Wed Apr 05, 2006 10:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi kfiaciarka,
Thanks for dhcp config. The problem is not there. I configured mine ok, used it for some time.
I guess I need to be more verbose.
I have home dsl router to which I used to connect with dhcp with proper /etc/init.d/net.eth0. It was working fine for a year or so.
dhcpcd, coldplug, hotplug - all installed, started at default runlevel (excluding hotplug).
Some time ago my computer started hanging after /etc/init.d/net.eth0 so I started searching for reason why this was happening. It said Bringing up eth0 with dhcp bla bla (see previous thread).
You've suggested to try static network. Here's what I use:
Code: | IP_ADDR=10.0.0.11
NETMASK=255.255.255.0
BROADCAST=10.0.0.255
GATEWAY=10.0.0.2
ifconfig eth0 ${IP_ADDR} broadcast ${BROADCAST} netmask ${NETMASK} up
route add default gw ${GATEWAY} |
Here I figured out that it freezes after launching ifconfig.
But not always! It freezes few times in the morning and then it brings up eth0 and thing work.
I'm sick of this 2-5 time rebooting to get net up.
And I want to know why. Hardware problem? Device for eth0 not in its place? Kernel problem?
Should I replace sys-apps/net-tools with sys-apps/iproute2 to use iproute2 instead of ifconfig?
Would it help any?
I'd need some pointers what to do. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
kfiaciarka Veteran
Joined: 20 May 2005 Posts: 1498 Location: Dobre Miasto, Poland
|
Posted: Wed Apr 05, 2006 11:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
Arghhh... my opera restartedand I didn't manage to save post:/
1. Feel free to test all your ideas and share results:)
2. Maybe install new gentoo on another partition for testing:) Mainly to check whether problem remains.
Happy gentooing |
|
Back to top |
|
|
thor_n n00b
Joined: 30 Sep 2003 Posts: 40 Location: Slovakia
|
Posted: Thu Apr 06, 2006 6:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
installed iproute2...
and today morning - again 2 hard reboots.
3rd one worked. crap. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|