Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED]Problem with Internet connection - again!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dmband
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Mar 2006
Posts: 33
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 5:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The situation looks like this:
My current dmesg is here: http://dmband.w.interia.pl/linux/dmesg
Code:

localhost kuba # lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
pcspkr                  1156  0
rtc                     8948  0
ipw2200                78828  0
ieee80211              22792  1 ipw2200
ieee80211_crypt         2656  1 ieee80211
firmware_class          6176  1 ipw2200
yenta_socket           18252  0
rsrc_nonstatic          8608  1 yenta_socket
pcmcia_core            24116  2 yenta_socket,rsrc_nonstatic
ntfs                   81744  1
8139too                19296  0
mii                     3040  1 8139too
eth1394                14536  0
dm_mirror              14672  0
dm_mod                 37048  1 dm_mirror
pdc_adma                6212  0
sata_mv                12516  0
ata_piix                6532  0
ahci                    9124  0
sata_qstor              6468  0
sata_vsc                5316  0
sata_uli                4644  0
sata_sis                5220  0
sata_sx4               10052  0
sata_nv                 5924  0
sata_via                5668  0
sata_svw                4932  0
sata_sil24              7684  0
sata_sil                6244  0
sata_promise            7716  0
libata                 35912  15 pdc_adma,sata_mv,ata_piix,ahci,sata_qstor,sata_vsc,sata_uli,sata_sis,sata_sx4,sata_nv,sata_via,sata_svw,sata_sil24,sata_sil,sata_promise
sbp2                   16484  0
ohci1394               25140  0
ieee1394               57272  3 eth1394,sbp2,ohci1394
sl811_hcd               9344  0
ohci_hcd               14916  0
uhci_hcd               24144  0
usb_storage            49920  1
usbhid                 28992  0
ehci_hcd               22856  0
usbcore                80068  7 sl811_hcd,ohci_hcd,uhci_hcd,usb_storage,usbhid,ehci_hcd
localhost kuba #

Code:

localhost kuba # ifconfig
eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:15:F2:46:BE:DE
          inet addr:192.168.8.212  Bcast:192.168.8.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
          Interrupt:20 Base address:0x8c00

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:888 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:888 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:45136 (44.0 Kb)  TX bytes:45136 (44.0 Kb)

localhost kuba #

Code:

localhost kuba # route -n
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
192.168.8.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 eth1
127.0.0.0       127.0.0.1       255.0.0.0       UG    0      0        0 lo
0.0.0.0         192.168.8.251   0.0.0.0         UG    0      0        0 eth1
localhost kuba #

Code:

localhost kuba # ping 192.168.8.251
PING 192.168.8.251 (192.168.8.251) 56(84) bytes of data.
From 192.168.8.212 icmp_seq=1 Destination Host Unreachable
From 192.168.8.212 icmp_seq=2 Destination Host Unreachable
From 192.168.8.212 icmp_seq=3 Destination Host Unreachable

--- 192.168.8.251 ping statistics ---
5 packets transmitted, 0 received, +3 errors, 100% packet loss, time 4018ms
, pipe 3
localhost kuba #

:roll:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dmband
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Mar 2006
Posts: 33
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2006 11:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

After one month I've solved this problem! The thing was in hibernating WindowsXP, When I shutdown Windows normally then everything works fine, but after hibernating network under Linux doesn't want to work! I don't know why it's so wird, but at last now I can connect to the Internet! :D

But I've got another problem now. I can't make my Gentoo start eth1 on the startup :(
After starting the system I get:
ifconfig:
Code:

localhost kuba # ifconfig
lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:52 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:52 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:2600 (2.5 Kb)  TX bytes:2600 (2.5 Kb)

localhost kuba # ifconfig eth0
eth0      Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 00-E0-18-00-03-43-4C-30-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
          BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

And I want my normal ethernet connection to work (it's on eth1 now)
In /etc/conf.d/net I've got:
Quote:

#iface_eth0="dhcp"
iface_eth1="192.168.8.212 broadcast 192.168.8.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"
#iface_eth1="dhcp"
#iface_eth2="dhcp"
#iface_eth3="dhcp"
#iface_eth4="dhcp"
gateway="eth1/192.168.8.251"

Now to have connection I have to do:
Code:

localhost kuba # ifconfig eth1 192.168.8.212 netmask 255.255.255.0
localhost kuba # route add default gw 192.168.8.251

What should I do to make it work?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nativemad
Developer
Developer


Joined: 30 Aug 2004
Posts: 918
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2006 5:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
but after hibernating network under Linux doesn't want to work!
This is very strange!?!
Anyway...
Code:
cp /etc/init.d/net.eth0 /etc/init.d/net.eth1
rc-update del eth0
rc-update add eth1 default
That's it...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dmband
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Mar 2006
Posts: 33
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2006 8:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks a lot!:) Everything works now!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyberdork33
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 71
Location: Huntsville, AL

PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2006 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My laptop has the same problem. If you do not load the eth1394 module (ethernet over firewire) then your 8139too module should load and be eth0.

It acts funny as long as the eth1394 module is loaded. If I get the problem you are having, I

Code:
# modprobe -r eth1394
# modprobe -r 8139too
# modprobe 8139too


then you should have no problems dealing with eth0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lmcogs
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Apr 2005
Posts: 340

PostPosted: Sun Apr 09, 2006 5:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi all

I have had the same problem and have been trying to get it sorted all day. The last post from cyberdork33 got success.

This all started when I got rid of windows partition to get more space. I thought I would try out the livecd 2006 install. After 5 goes I got an install success but then I got the problem with host name lookup failure. I also don't have a kernel source installed from the GRP livecd install.

However after rebooting I have no eth0 etc and have to do again
# modprobe -r eth1394
# modprobe -r 8139too
# modprobe 8139too

What do I do to get this going automatically each time I boot.

Thanks
lmcogs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nativemad
Developer
Developer


Joined: 30 Aug 2004
Posts: 918
Location: Switzerland

PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 10:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi lmcogs

It's very simple... You must look, that 8139too module gets loaded before eth1394 (it could also be usb-net or so...).
Anyway, you could do an entry in /etc/conf.d/local.start like:
Code:
rmmod eth1394 && rmmod 8139too && modprobe 8139too

Or you could prevent the System from loading eth1394 at all with an entry in /etc/hotplug/blacklist. simply enter eth1349 on a new line.
Another way would be eliminating the kernel-module... :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyberdork33
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Jan 2005
Posts: 71
Location: Huntsville, AL

PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 2:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yea if you do not use ethernet over firewire, then just do not build that module or blacklist it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum