View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
steelrose Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Futurama/cartoon_futurama_tiny_tim.gif)
Joined: 06 May 2002 Posts: 245 Location: Cyprus
|
Posted: Sat Jun 29, 2002 4:23 pm Post subject: upgrading kernel |
|
|
i have a problem while upgrading from gentoo r5 kernel to r7.i go to r7 directory trying both make menuconfig and make mrproper +make menuconfig ,following the instructions in installation guide and when i reboot and type uname -r the result is that i have gentoo r5.can anybody help me to fix this? _________________ Hey.I am new to Linux and i will ask some stupid questions sometimes so please don't get angry with me and help |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Naan Yaar Bodhisattva
![Bodhisattva Bodhisattva](/images/ranks/rank-bodhisattva.gif)
Joined: 27 Jun 2002 Posts: 1549
|
Posted: Sat Jun 29, 2002 5:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Did you copy the kernel to /boot and set it up in grub? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
steelrose Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Futurama/cartoon_futurama_tiny_tim.gif)
Joined: 06 May 2002 Posts: 245 Location: Cyprus
|
Posted: Sat Jun 29, 2002 5:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
yes i copy the kernel in boot but i didnt edit grub.i thought that grub see the change automatically.how can i edit grub? _________________ Hey.I am new to Linux and i will ask some stupid questions sometimes so please don't get angry with me and help |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Jowilly Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
Joined: 22 Jun 2002 Posts: 319
|
Posted: Sat Jun 29, 2002 6:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Did you mount /boot before copying bzImage over ?
If /boot is not mounted you don't copy it to the boot partition, but to the /boot dir on / , so grub will not see it as it is not there. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Naan Yaar Bodhisattva
![Bodhisattva Bodhisattva](/images/ranks/rank-bodhisattva.gif)
Joined: 27 Jun 2002 Posts: 1549
|
Posted: Sat Jun 29, 2002 7:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
You need to add a new section in the file: /boot/grub/menu.lst. If your original file looks like this:
default 0
timeout 30
splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
title=My example Gentoo Linux
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/bzImage root=/dev/hda3
You would need to add a new stanza like this the end of the file:
title=My new kernel
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/<name_of_new_kernel_image> root=/dev/hda3
You can change the "default" entry to 1 for convenience in order to boot the second (new) kernel - assuming you had only one kernel available for booting before your kernel recompile. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
crahen2 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 17 Jun 2002 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Sat Jun 29, 2002 10:24 pm Post subject: This may seem silly |
|
|
But what do you do so that the r7 kernel is visible to portage (or for other updated apps in general)? For me, emerege search linux only shows the v5 kernel. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Jowilly Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
Joined: 22 Jun 2002 Posts: 319
|
Posted: Sat Jun 29, 2002 11:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
emerge rsync
Also, try kportagemaster, a nice gui for kde. It automatically unmasks the ebuilds.
portagemaster should be the shell version, never tried it; does anyone have some experience with it ? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
AutoBot l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
![](images/avatars/3555162163f2ed6c2a30f1.jpg)
Joined: 22 Apr 2002 Posts: 968 Location: Usually Out
|
Posted: Sat Jun 29, 2002 11:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Jowilly wrote: | emerge rsync
Also, try kportagemaster, a nice gui for kde. It automatically unmasks the ebuilds.
portagemaster should be the shell version, never tried it; does anyone have some experience with it ? |
Actually portagemaster is a java implementation of portage, very nice tool for looking to see whats available anyway. _________________ This message self destructed a long time ago. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Naan Yaar Bodhisattva
![Bodhisattva Bodhisattva](/images/ranks/rank-bodhisattva.gif)
Joined: 27 Jun 2002 Posts: 1549
|
Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2002 12:18 am Post subject: Re: This may seem silly |
|
|
Try "emerge -s gentoo". It shows up in sys-kernel/gentoo-sources.
[quote="crahen2"]But what do you do so that the r7 kernel is visible to portage (or for other updated apps in general)? For me, emerege search linux only shows the v5 kernel.[/quote] |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
AutoBot l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
![](images/avatars/3555162163f2ed6c2a30f1.jpg)
Joined: 22 Apr 2002 Posts: 968 Location: Usually Out
|
Posted: Sun Jun 30, 2002 8:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Do this:
Code: |
# clean rsync
emerge rsync --clean
# make sure portage is going to install r7
emerge -p gentoo-sources
# if all is ok above
emerge gentoo-sources
# change the symlink
ln -sf /usr/src/your-kernel-version /usr/src/linux
|
_________________ This message self destructed a long time ago. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|