View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Cryptix Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/127851570642f655c5131e6.gif)
Joined: 06 Mar 2005 Posts: 315
|
Posted: Fri Apr 28, 2006 11:47 pm Post subject: Ethernet Problem |
|
|
So my ethernet connection eth1 was working on the gentoo amd64 universal install cd... but now i get into the actual operating system and it says eth1 doesnt exist... is there some common problem i missed?
Last edited by Cryptix on Sat Apr 29, 2006 4:09 pm; edited 2 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Cryptix Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/127851570642f655c5131e6.gif)
Joined: 06 Mar 2005 Posts: 315
|
Posted: Fri Apr 28, 2006 11:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
when i go to my /etc/init.d and check for net.eth1 and it says "Too many levels of symbolic links" |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Cryptix Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/127851570642f655c5131e6.gif)
Joined: 06 Mar 2005 Posts: 315
|
Posted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 3:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i didnt use genkernel... do i have to find my specific driver in the ncurses thing for the kernel? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Cryptix Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/127851570642f655c5131e6.gif)
Joined: 06 Mar 2005 Posts: 315
|
Posted: Sun Apr 30, 2006 1:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
my ethernet is Marvell 88E8036 Fast Ethernet which driver do i need to compile in the kernel for that? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
think4urs11 Bodhisattva
![Bodhisattva Bodhisattva](/images/ranks/rank-bodhisattva.gif)
![](images/avatars/8534934054bad29b51e5fa.jpg)
Joined: 25 Jun 2003 Posts: 6659 Location: above the cloud
|
Posted: Sun Apr 30, 2006 12:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Cryptix wrote: | my ethernet is Marvell 88E8036 Fast Ethernet which driver do i need to compile in the kernel for that? |
skge
Code: | Device Drivers
---> Network device support
---> Ethernet (1000 Mbit)
---> New SysKonnect GigaEthernet support (EXPERIMENTAL) |
_________________ Nothing is secure / Security is always a trade-off with usability / Do not assume anything / Trust no-one, nothing / Paranoia is your friend / Think for yourself |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
gerdesj l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Simpsons/simpsons_homer.gif)
Joined: 29 Sep 2005 Posts: 622 Location: Yeovil, Somerset, UK
|
Posted: Sun Apr 30, 2006 12:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Cryptix wrote: | when i go to my /etc/init.d and check for net.eth1 and it says "Too many levels of symbolic links" |
Make sure that net.eth1 is a symlink to net.lo for example on my laptop:
Code: |
jglaptop ~ # ls -l /etc/init.d/net.*
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 6 Apr 30 10:50 /etc/init.d/net.eth0 -> net.lo
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 6 Mar 5 08:12 /etc/init.d/net.eth1 -> net.lo
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 29751 Apr 30 10:50 /etc/init.d/net.lo
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 6 Dec 18 23:37 /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 -> net.lo
|
Cheers
Jon |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Cryptix Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/127851570642f655c5131e6.gif)
Joined: 06 Mar 2005 Posts: 315
|
Posted: Mon May 01, 2006 12:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
alright thanks guys ill try that when i get back home |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Cryptix Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/127851570642f655c5131e6.gif)
Joined: 06 Mar 2005 Posts: 315
|
Posted: Mon May 01, 2006 10:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
how do i restore the symlink on /etc/init.d/net.eth1 because right now its pointing to net.eth1 instead of net.lo |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Cryptix Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/127851570642f655c5131e6.gif)
Joined: 06 Mar 2005 Posts: 315
|
Posted: Tue May 02, 2006 11:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
i think the symlink is the only problem for this, having gone through it again i remember i think i messed up somewhere in the install... how do i change the symlink back to net.lo? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
UberLord Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/16007251014200867ea775c.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Cryptix Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/127851570642f655c5131e6.gif)
Joined: 06 Mar 2005 Posts: 315
|
Posted: Tue May 02, 2006 10:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
k so i restored the symlink and added eth1 to startup... i get this error now:
Code: |
Starting eth1
Bringing up eth1
192.168.1.97
eth1 does not exist
ERROR: Problem starting needed services.
"netmount" was not started.
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Cryptix Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/127851570642f655c5131e6.gif)
Joined: 06 Mar 2005 Posts: 315
|
Posted: Wed May 03, 2006 12:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
lspci recognizes the nic in case your wondering. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
jmbsvicetto Moderator
![Moderator Moderator](/images/ranks/rank-mod.gif)
![](images/avatars/131796264c80fa19b97a2.png)
Joined: 27 Apr 2005 Posts: 4735 Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)
|
Posted: Wed May 03, 2006 1:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi.
Look at the output of ifconfig -a. Are you sure that your nic is eth1 and not eth0? If you have an IEEE1394 port, it's possible that the live-cd saw that as eth0. _________________ Jorge.
Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Cryptix Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/127851570642f655c5131e6.gif)
Joined: 06 Mar 2005 Posts: 315
|
Posted: Wed May 03, 2006 2:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
i do have an IEEE1394 port, but eth0 is having the same problems as eth1
Code: |
lo: Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addrs: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets: 24 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:24 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:1752 (1.7Kb) TX bytes:1752 (1.7Kb)
sit0: Link encap:IPv6-inIPv4
NOARP MTU:1480 Metric:1
RX packets: 0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
jmbsvicetto Moderator
![Moderator Moderator](/images/ranks/rank-mod.gif)
![](images/avatars/131796264c80fa19b97a2.png)
Joined: 27 Apr 2005 Posts: 4735 Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)
|
Posted: Wed May 03, 2006 3:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
In that case, let's return to the basics.
You have two nics. You talked about a Marvell 88E8036. What is the other? Please post the output of lspci | grep -i net. Did you remember to load the modules - lsmod?
Let us see your init scripts ls -l /etc/init.d/net* and the contents of /etc/conf.d/net. _________________ Jorge.
Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Cryptix Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/127851570642f655c5131e6.gif)
Joined: 06 Mar 2005 Posts: 315
|
Posted: Wed May 03, 2006 10:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
lspci | grep -i net:
Code: |
Ethernet controller: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. 88E8036 Fast Ethernet Controller (rev 10)
Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4318 [AirForce One 54g] 802.11g Wireless LAN Controller (rev 02)
|
i have no idea what u mean when u say load the modules - lsmod, sorry
ls -l /etc/init.d/net*:
Code: |
/etc/init.d/net.eth0 -> net.lo
/etc/init.d/net.eth1 -> net.lo
/etc/init.d/net.lo
/etc/init.d/netmount
|
/etc/conf.d/net:
Code: |
config_eth1=( "192.168.1.97 netmask 255.255.255.0 brd 192.168.1.255" )
routes_eth1=( "default gw 192.168.1.1" )
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Cryptix Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/127851570642f655c5131e6.gif)
Joined: 06 Mar 2005 Posts: 315
|
Posted: Thu May 04, 2006 9:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
figured out lsmod... im clueless... anyways it didnt have anything that seemed to be related to my card version (Marvel Technology 88E8036)
i can't copy/paste it so ill write ones that are being used by the livecd:
Code: |
rsrc_nonstatic 9216 1 yenta_socket
pcmcia_core 26660 2 yanta_socket,rsrc_nonstatic
dm_mod 38864 1 dm_mirror
libata 39696 15 pdc_adma,sata_mv,ata_piix,ahci,sata_qstor,sata_vsc,sata_uli,sata_sx4,sata_nv,sata_via,sata_svw,sata_sil24,sata_sil,sata_promise
ieee1394 64120 3 eth1394,sbp2,ohci1394
usbcore 92328 7 sl811_hcd,ohci_hcd,uhci_hcd,usb_storage,usbhid,ehci_hcd
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
jmbsvicetto Moderator
![Moderator Moderator](/images/ranks/rank-mod.gif)
![](images/avatars/131796264c80fa19b97a2.png)
Joined: 27 Apr 2005 Posts: 4735 Location: Angra do Heroísmo (PT)
|
Posted: Fri May 05, 2006 12:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
Sorry for letting this go by, but I was convinced that it was a driver problem and I didn't knew your nic. After reading this post, it seems that your nic should use the forcedeth driver. Look at the output of the following:
Code: | # grep -i forcedeth /usr/src/linux/.config |
_________________ Jorge.
Your twisted, but hopefully friendly daemon.
AMD64 / x86 / Sparc Gentoo
Help answer || emwrap.sh
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Cryptix Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/127851570642f655c5131e6.gif)
Joined: 06 Mar 2005 Posts: 315
|
Posted: Fri May 05, 2006 2:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
CONFIG_FORCEDETH=y
so i should take off the driver that you told me to put on previously and compile the forcedeth driver? compile it as a module? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Cryptix Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/127851570642f655c5131e6.gif)
Joined: 06 Mar 2005 Posts: 315
|
Posted: Sat May 06, 2006 4:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i cant find the forcedeth driver in the kernel setup, im assuming it isnt called forcedeth in there? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Cryptix Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/127851570642f655c5131e6.gif)
Joined: 06 Mar 2005 Posts: 315
|
Posted: Sat May 06, 2006 4:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i googled it and found the forcedeth driver name, i compiled it as a module and i just rebooted and i still get the same error. however, when i lsmod, nothing is listed... |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
syouth Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
![](images/avatars/27620385046fbb91e0b4ed.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2004 Posts: 275
|
Posted: Sat May 06, 2006 4:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
There must be, if you ain't using some too old 2.6 kernel.
Code: | Device Drivers --->
Network device support --->
Ethernet (10 or 100Mbit) --->
<*> Reverse Engineered nForce Ethernet support (EXPERIMENTAL) |
And it work pretty stable in my box. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Cryptix Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/127851570642f655c5131e6.gif)
Joined: 06 Mar 2005 Posts: 315
|
Posted: Sat May 06, 2006 5:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
this might be relevant, whenever i build the kernel i get a "dnsdomainname: Host name lookup failure" error. but the compile continues anyways, by the way i compiled the forcedeth driver in the kernel and rebooted and it stil didnt work |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Cryptix Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/127851570642f655c5131e6.gif)
Joined: 06 Mar 2005 Posts: 315
|
Posted: Sat May 06, 2006 5:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
also another idea, dont i have to add something into the /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 when i add a module? do i just add forcedeth for the forcedeth driver? and also when i went looking through my network drivers in the kernel config i found many other drivers selected, should i unselect them? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
syouth Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
![](images/avatars/27620385046fbb91e0b4ed.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2004 Posts: 275
|
Posted: Sat May 06, 2006 6:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
When you compiled something as module and want to use it in every boot, you should put the module name in /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 . Some modules are loaded by latest udev or coldplug, if you don't have latest udev at hand.
And disabling drivers, you don't need, is certainly sensible -> it speeds up kernel compilation and makes the size of a kernel smaller. And you lose nothing when you don't have such hardware in your PC. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|