Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Welcome Message on Boot
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
christsong84
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Apr 2003
Posts: 1003
Location: GMT-8 (Spokane)

PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2003 4:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm really bad a shell scripting...is there a way to make the login screens refresh themselves with uptime? (while not disturbing the other consoles with people loged in or X running)...just wondering.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
compuboy86
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Apr 2003
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2003 11:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I fixed my errors on my motd script by pretty much going line by line and appyling my c++ knowledge to anything that didn't look right. Pretty simple errors.

To update the uptime and fortune (if you have it) simply add */ 5 * * * * to your /etc/crontab. Follow the examples below and change the location of your motd/issue. Hope that helps!

-Compuboy86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
christsong84
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Apr 2003
Posts: 1003
Location: GMT-8 (Spokane)

PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2003 4:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

so the cron will automatically refresh the screen? I though it just updated the file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
compuboy86
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Apr 2003
Posts: 79

PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2003 8:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok here is what I did, I may have an extra file or two floating around but oh well.

wrote my motd that I wanted to display, saved it in /etc/init.d/motd
Code:

cp that file to /etc/motd
chmod 755 /etc/init.d/motd
chmod 755 /etc/motd


At this point motd wouldn't refresh by itself (either that or I didn't wait longer enough :)) so I wrote a simple update script.

Code:

#!/bin/bash
cp /etc/init.d/motd /etc/motd
chmod 755 /etc/motd
/etc/motd


I put that file in /etc and /etc/init.d. Then rc-update add updatemotd default and add the following line to your /etc/crontab.

Code:

*/5 * * * *      root     /etc/updatemotd


Viola! Every 5 minutes and/or login the update script is called. Hope that helps.

-Compuboy86
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
christsong84
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Apr 2003
Posts: 1003
Location: GMT-8 (Spokane)

PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2003 12:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmmm...the cron entry only updates the file...that means I have to log-out and login to get updated results...it would be nice to have it automatically refresh every so often...I've never seen it done (in console) but I was wondering if it was possible? (to update the uptime on the login screen while it's still up)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Verbal
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Feb 2003
Posts: 11
Location: Your Post

PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2003 9:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for this. I had a setup similar to this, but not as nice. I like these aditions. Here is a screenshot of mine, if you're interested: http://verbal.wronger.com/gentoologin.jpg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sedated
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 32
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2003 9:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

install linux_logo:
Code:
# emerge -p linux_logo

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

Calculating dependencies ...done!
[ebuild  N   ] app-misc/linux_logo-4.07

# emerge linux_logo


init script config
file: /etc/conf.d/linux_logo
Code:
# Seq   Description             Output
# ----------------------------------------------------------------
# ##                            #
# #B    Bogomips                374.37
# #C    Compiled Date           #47 Fri Jan 8 10:37:09 EST 1999
# #E    User Text               My Favorite Linux Distribution
#       Displayed with -t
# #H    Hostname                deranged
# #L    Load average            Load average 0.04, 0.01, 0.01
# #M    Megahertz               188Mhz
#       where supported
# #N    Number of CPU's         Two
# #O    OS Name                 Linux
# #P    Processor or Processors Processor
# #R    Ram                     64M
#       in Megabytes
# #S    Plural                  s
# #T    Type of CPU             K6
# #U    Uptime                  Uptime 10 hours 59 minutes
# #V    Version of OS           2.2.0-pre5
# #X    CPU Vendor              AMD
# \\n   carriage return

FORMAT="Gentoo #O `cat /etc/gentoo-release | awk '{ print $5,$6 }'`\n#O #V, Compiled #C\n#N #X #T #M CPU#S, #R RAM, #B Bogomips\n#U\n#H / \l  \n"
FORMATNET="Gentoo #O `cat /etc/gentoo-release | awk '{ print $5,$6 }'`\n#O #V, Compiled #C\n#N #X #T #M CPU#S, #R RAM, #B Bogomips\n#U\n#H\n"
OPTIONS="-L 3 -f -u"


init script
file: /etc/init.d/linux_logo
Code:
#!/sbin/runscript

start() {
  LOGOBIN="/usr/bin/linux_logo"
  if [ ! -x $LOGOBIN ]
  then
    eerror "ERROR:  linux_logo not found !"
    return 1
  fi

  einfo "Starting linux_logo"

  ebegin "  Creating /etc/issue"
  $LOGOBIN $LOGO $OPTIONS -F "${FORMAT}" > /etc/issue
  eend $? "  Failed to create /etc/issue"

  ebegin "  Creating /etc/issue.net"
  $LOGOBIN $LOGO $OPTIONS -F "${FORMATNET}" > /etc/issue.net
  eend $? "  Failed to create /etc/issue.net"
}


let it run hourly
file: /etc/cron.hourly/linux_logo
Code:

#!/bin/sh

if [ -x /etc/init.d/linux_logo ]
then
  /etc/init.d/linux_logo restart
fi


make the init executable, add it to the default runlevel and run it once:
Code:
# chmod 755 /etc/init.d/linux_logo
# chmod 644 /etc/conf.d/linux_logo
# rc-update add linux_logo default
 * linux_logo added to runlevel default...
 * Caching service dependencies...                                        [ ok ]
# /etc/init.d/linux_logo start
 * Starting linux_logo
 *   Creating /etc/issue...                                               [ ok ]
 *   Creating /etc/issue.net...                                           [ ok ]


results:
Code:
.....####......................................###.............................
....#######....................... ###.........###.............................
...##########.....................####....#############........................
...####..#######....#####........######...#############...#####.......#####....
...#############...#######......########...############..#######.....#######...
....###########.. ###.####..... ####.####......####.... #########...#########..
......########...########......#####..####.....####....###########.###########.
.......######....######........####....####....####....###########.###########.
......######.....######.......#####.....####...####....#####..####.#####..####.
.....######......##########...####.......####..####....##########..##########..
.....#####.......###########.#####........####.####.....########....########...
.....####.........##########.#####........####.####......######......######....
......##...........######## . ####.........##...###.......####........####.....
................................................................... ...........


                             Gentoo Linux 1.4.2.9
        Linux 2.4.20-gentoo-r4, Compiled #2 Sat May 10 12:29:35 MDT 2003
            One Intel Celeron 500MHz CPU, 191M RAM, 999.42 Bogomips
                           Uptime 0 hours 15 minutes
                          therapy.nymphony.net / tty2

therapy.nymphony.net login:

_________________
Sedated
Quote:
sedated@therapy:tty3:~$ fortune
"If you lend someone twenty dollars, and never see that person again, it was probably worth it."


Last edited by Sedated on Fri May 23, 2003 2:20 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
christsong84
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Apr 2003
Posts: 1003
Location: GMT-8 (Spokane)

PostPosted: Wed May 21, 2003 4:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry to bring this up again so soon...but I kinda want a definate answer...no is ok but I just need to know...a constantly updating uptime count is not possible? (on the screen...sorta like the screen would be refreshed every minute or so, but only on the login)...perhaps it is not clear what I want?
_________________
while(true) {self.input(sugar);} :twisted:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sedated
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 32
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

PostPosted: Thu May 22, 2003 12:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

christsong84 wrote:
sorry to bring this up again so soon...but I kinda want a definate answer...no is ok but I just need to know...a constantly updating uptime count is not possible? (on the screen...sorta like the screen would be refreshed every minute or so, but only on the login)...perhaps it is not clear what I want?


The only way i know of is to have it crontabbed or something and then hit "enter" on the login screen when you want it to update. Running "killall -HUP agetty" after each time the issue files are updated would do it, but i have no idea what possible consequences there might be from this... seemed to work for me, but i have no intention of doing that regularly.
_________________
Sedated
Quote:
sedated@therapy:tty3:~$ fortune
"If you lend someone twenty dollars, and never see that person again, it was probably worth it."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Master_Of_Disaster
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 610
Location: 15.05072° East, 48.13747° North (aka Mauer), Austria

PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2003 12:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fine, made it as Sedated suggested, there is just one anoying problem:
Code:
fuero@bmfh fuero $ sudo /etc/init.d/issue start
 * Could not get dependency info for "issue"!
 * Could not get dependency info for "issue"!
 * Building Linux Welcome Message
 *      Creating /etc/issue...                     [ ok ]
 *      Creating /etc/issue.net...                 [ ok ]
fuero@bmfh fuero $


I think baselayout may be the culprit in this case, but I can't figure out why...
Code:
emerge -s baselayout
Searching...
[ Results for search key : baselayout ]
[ Applications found : 1 ]

*  sys-apps/baselayout
      Latest version available: 1.8.6.8-r1
      Latest version installed: 1.8.6.8-r1
      Size of downloaded files: 89 kB
      Homepage:    http://www.gentoo.org/
      Description: Base layout for Gentoo Linux filesystem (incl. initscripts and sysvinit)


BTW: @Sedated: You might change your entry in the crontab to
Code:
/etc/init.d/linux_logo restart && killall -HUP agetty

_________________
post tenebras lux, post fenestras tux
Registered Linux User Nr. 312509
Adopt an unanswered post today!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sedated
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 32
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2003 2:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Weird. Works great for me.
Code:
hp root # /etc/init.d/linux_logo restart
 * Starting linux_logo
 *   Creating /etc/issue ...                                              [ ok ]
 *   Creating /etc/issue.net ...                                          [ ok ]
hp root #

works find with sudo too:
Code:
gokeefe@hp gokeefe $ sudo /etc/init.d/linux_logo restart
 * Starting linux_logo
 *   Creating /etc/issue ...                                              [ ok ]
 *   Creating /etc/issue.net ...                                          [ ok ]
gokeefe@hp gokeefe $

Does it fail to make the issue files, or is it just a goofy error message that means nothing? You renamed the init script to "issue", did you also rename /etc/conf.d/linux_logo to /etc/conf.d/issue? I have baselayout 1.8.5.9 installed... slightly older than yours.
_________________
Sedated
Quote:
sedated@therapy:tty3:~$ fortune
"If you lend someone twenty dollars, and never see that person again, it was probably worth it."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Master_Of_Disaster
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 610
Location: 15.05072° East, 48.13747° North (aka Mauer), Austria

PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2003 10:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This error occurs even when booting...
But the script is executed correctly, the files are created.

Here is mine: (/etc/init.d/issue)

Code:
#!/sbin/runscript
buildissue() {
        if [ -f /etc/gentoo-release ]; then
                printf "\e[2J\e[H" > /etc/issue
                R=$(cat /etc/gentoo-release | awk '{ print $5,$6 }')
                C=$(cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep 'model name' | awk '{ print $4,$5,$6 }')
                CS=$(cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep 'cpu MHz' | awk '{ print $4 }')
                CB=$(cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep 'bogomips' | awk '{ print $3 }')
                K=$(uname -r)
                H=$(/bin/hostname)
                M=$(( `dmesg | grep "Dentry" | awk '{print $9}'` /1024 ))
                KS=`dmesg | grep "Swap" | awk '{print $3}'`
                S=$(( ${KS%k} / 1024 ))
                U=$(uptime)
                F=$(fortune -n 80  -s)

                DARK="\033[1;30m" # dark grey
                GREY="\033[0m" # default grey / white
                WHITE="\033[1;37m" # bright / bold white
                PURPLE="\033[0;35m" # purple
                BR_GREEN="\033[1;32m" # bright green
                BR_BLUE="\033[1;34m" # bright blue
                COLOR_RESET="\033[0m"

                echo -e "$PURPLE       __q@@@@m_" >> /etc/issue
                echo -e "$PURPLE     _q@@@@@@@@@@_" >> /etc/issue
                echo -e "$PURPLE    _@@@@@@@@@@@@@@m        $BR_GREEN Gentoo$BR_BLUE Linux$GREY release $R" >> /etc/issue
                echo -e "$PURPLE   q@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@_" >> /etc/issue
                echo -e "$PURPLE  _@@@@@@@@@@##@@@@@@@h     $GREY Hostname: $WHITE $H" >> /etc/issue
                echo -e "$PURPLE  @@@@@@@@@@@ ##@@@@@@@@_" >> /etc/issue
                echo -e "$PURPLE  7##@@@@@@@___@@@@@@@@@@,  $GREY Kernel:   $WHITE $K" >> /etc/issue
                echo -e "$PURPLE    ####@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@  $GREY Processor:$WHITE $C ( $CS MHz => $CB bogomips)" >> /etc/issue
                echo -e "$PURPLE      ####@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@  $GREY Memory:   $WHITE $M Mb" >> /etc/issue
                echo -e "$PURPLE       q@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@#W  $GREY Swap:     $WHITE $S Mb" >> /etc/issue
                echo -e "$PURPLE      q@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@/" >> /etc/issue
                echo -e "$PURPLE    _@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@#@@    $GREY Uptime:  $WHITE $U" >> /etc/issue
                echo -e "$PURPLE   q@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@#@##^" >> /etc/issue
                echo -e "$PURPLE  m#@@@@@@@@@@@@@@#@#W" >> /etc/issue
                echo -e "$PURPLE _q@@@@@@@@@@@@@#@#*>       $BR_GREEN Unauthorized users _WILL_ be shot!" >> /etc/issue
                echo -e "$PURPLE  p@@@@@@@@@@@#@##%" >> /etc/issue
                echo -e "$PURPLE   _##@@@@@##@#@#g" >> /etc/issue
                echo -e "$PURPLE     _#@@@@@@#@@" >> /etc/issue
                echo -e "$PURPLE       _p@@@@q" >> /etc/issue
                echo "" >> /etc/issue
                echo -e "$BR_GREEN $F" >> /etc/issue
                echo "" >> /etc/issue
                echo -e "$COLOR_RESET" >> /etc/issue
        fi
}

start() {
        einfo "Building Linux Welcome Message"
        ebegin "\tCreating /etc/issue"
        buildissue
        eend $? "\tFailed creating /etc/issue"
        ebegin "\tCreating /etc/issue.net"
        cp -f /etc/issue /etc/issue.net
        eend $? "\tFailed creating /etc/issue.net"
}

_________________
post tenebras lux, post fenestras tux
Registered Linux User Nr. 312509
Adopt an unanswered post today!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cmay4
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 May 2002
Posts: 109

PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2003 8:27 pm    Post subject: ssh message Reply with quote

I am trying to get a message to display before the prompt when I ssh into the box. I read this thread, and can't seem to get anything to work.

I simplified the problem to this:

Code:
$ echo testing > /etc/issue.net
$ chmod 755 /etc/issue.net


and I thought the message "testing" would appear before the login prompt when I ssh into my box. But no message appears.

Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sedated
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 32
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2003 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

add or uncomment the following line from your sshd_config file, probably /etc/ssh/sshd_config:
Code:
Banner /etc/issue.net

/etc/issue and /etc/issue.net are only simple text files, they don't need to be executable. just give them 644 permissions.
_________________
Sedated
Quote:
sedated@therapy:tty3:~$ fortune
"If you lend someone twenty dollars, and never see that person again, it was probably worth it."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cmay4
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 May 2002
Posts: 109

PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2003 11:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sedated wrote:
add or uncomment the following line from your sshd_config file, probably /etc/ssh/sshd_config:
Code:
Banner /etc/issue.net

/etc/issue and /etc/issue.net are only simple text files, they don't need to be executable. just give them 644 permissions.


That was it. Thanks for the help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fuzeron
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Apr 2003
Posts: 25
Location: California

PostPosted: Sat May 24, 2003 5:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sedated, i get errors when i try to start linux_logo

Code:

root@localhost etc # /etc/init.d/linux_logo start
/sbin/runscript.sh: line 4:  : command not found
/sbin/runscript.sh: line 5:  : command not found
/sbin/runscript.sh: line 6:  : command not found
/sbin/runscript.sh: line 7:  : command not found
/sbin/runscript.sh: line 8:  : command not found
/sbin/runscript.sh: line 9:  : command not found
/sbin/runscript.sh: line 11:  : command not found
/sbin/runscript.sh: line 13:  : command not found
/sbin/runscript.sh: line 14:  : command not found
/sbin/runscript.sh: line 15:  : command not found
/sbin/runscript.sh: line 17:  : command not found
/sbin/runscript.sh: line 18:  : command not found
/sbin/runscript.sh: line 19:  : command not found


what did i do wrong? besides being a newb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sedated
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Feb 2003
Posts: 32
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

PostPosted: Sat May 24, 2003 9:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fuzeron wrote:
Sedated, i get errors when i try to start linux_logo

Code:

root@localhost etc # /etc/init.d/linux_logo start
/sbin/runscript.sh: line 4:  : command not found
/sbin/runscript.sh: line 5:  : command not found
<snip>


what did i do wrong? besides being a newb

i can't even begin to guess... perhaps didn't copy and paste properly, i have no idea.
_________________
Sedated
Quote:
sedated@therapy:tty3:~$ fortune
"If you lend someone twenty dollars, and never see that person again, it was probably worth it."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SeJo
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 08 Oct 2002
Posts: 298
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2003 9:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi there,

been playing round with it, but got a problem:

here is my code:

Code:

#!bin/sh
rm -f /etc/issue
/usr/bin/clear >> /etc/issue
echo -e "SeJo's Gentoo $(uname -sr) on $(uname -p)" >> /etc/issue
echo "$(cowsay -f stimpy "w00t")" >> /etc/issue
echo >> /etc/issue
cp -f /etc/issue /etc/issue.net


but the stimpy image isn't properly displayed the is properly in the /etc/issue but displayed on console some of the chars are escaped or something...

how do i solve that?
_________________
"I am not bound to please thee with my answers."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joda
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Apr 2003
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2003 8:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ive been playing around with this myself, and i made an ascii for gentoo if anyone's interested.
if anyone would clean up my code, add extra features, please feel free to do so. some pointers on how to make the script start just before the login prompt would also be nice.

screenshot here: http://www.smallville.no/joda2k/console.png

ascii logo + the perl script i made for the info can be found here:
http://www.smallville.no/joda2k/bootinfo.tar.gz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
_r00t_
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Sep 2002
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2003 1:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, look at a Gentoo logo.

Code:
#!/sbin/runscript

buildissue() {
                PURPLE="\033[0;35m" # purple
      GREY="\033[0m" # default grey / white

echo -e "$PURPLE       __q@@@@m_" >> /etc/issue
echo -e "$PURPLE     _q@@@@@@@@@@@_" >> /etc/issue
echo -e "$PURPLE    _@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@m" >> /etc/issue
echo -e "$PURPLE   q@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@_" >> /etc/issue
echo -e "$PURPLE  _@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@" >> /etc/issue
echo -e "$PURPLE  @@@@@@@@@   #@@@@@@@@@@" >> /etc/issue
echo -e "$PURPLE  @##@@@@@@@___#@@@@@@@@@|" >> /etc/issue
echo -e "$PURPLE   ####@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@" >> /etc/issue
echo -e "$PURPLE    #@##@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@" >> /etc/issue
echo -e "$PURPLE     *o@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@#W" >> /etc/issue
echo -e "$PURPLE     /@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@" >> /etc/issue
echo -e "$PURPLE    @@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@#*" >> /etc/issue
echo -e "$PURPLE   q@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@#@^" >> /etc/issue
echo -e "$PURPLE  m#@@@@@@@@@@@@#@#" >> /etc/issue
echo -e "$PURPLE  @@@@@@@@@@@@@@'" >> /etc/issue
echo -e "$PURPLE  p@@@@@@#@#@'" >> /etc/issue
echo -e "$PURPLE   @@##g@*'" >> /etc/issue
echo -e "$PURPLE    **'" >> /etc/issue
echo "" >> /etc/issue
echo -e "$GREY " >> /etc/issue
echo "" >> /etc/issue
fi
}

start() {
        einfo "Building Linux Welcome Message"
        ebegin "\tCreating /etc/issue"
        rm -f /etc/issue /etc/issue.net
        buildissue
        eend $? "\tFailed creating /etc/issue"
        ebegin "\tCreating /etc/issue.net"
        cp -f /etc/issue /etc/issue.net
        eend $? "\tFailed creating /etc/issue.net"
}

_________________
r00t [Geleira]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
koma
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Posts: 2702
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2003 7:50 pm    Post subject: mhh Reply with quote

Code:
# rc-update add issue default
 * issue not executable; skipping
 * Caching service dependencies...                                        [ ok ]
 * rc-update complete.


why?
iv'e done all :\
_________________
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_yoJI-Tl94g GLORY GLORY HYPNOTOAD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aridhol
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2003
Posts: 509
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2003 7:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

try
Code:
#chmod 755 /etc/init.d/issue

_________________
72 of Pitcairn Islands 49 inhabitants use Seti@Home
"If you buy a DVD you have a copy. If you want a backup copy you buy another one."
"Anyone who is capable of getting themselves made President should on no account be allowed to do the job."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
koma
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Posts: 2702
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2003 12:34 pm    Post subject: Thankyou Reply with quote

Thz A lot =)
_________________
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_yoJI-Tl94g GLORY GLORY HYPNOTOAD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Headhunter123
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Oct 2002
Posts: 509

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2003 7:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi !

I don't know if someone has already mentioned it, but you can also edit your /etc/issue to display boot messages. And if you put and "clear" in .bash_profile you'll get an double effect ;)

Btw, for some nice ascii art (requires mostly 1024x768 text console), you can look here : http://jojo.j-ws.de/showtopic.php?forum=computer.for&index=2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DrkPlague
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Jun 2003
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2003 7:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

for a good ascii converter, play around with this: http://www.text-image.com/

Additionally, for those who havn't heard of it, AAlib is the most amazing advance in ascii-art ever. try the following sometime:
Code:
emerge -v aalib
aafire


I would really likes someone to do something here with aafire. i think it would make a GREAT login screen if you could find a way to "contain" it. until then i will just have to continure to use it as my console screensaver.[/code]
_________________
DKP

There are 10 kinds of people in the world:
Those who understand binary and those who don't...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 3 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum